Tv cabinet, Can anybody share your tvcabinet design

kenloh7
post Mar 31 2021, 11:42 AM

414 posts

any cons to getting a hanging tv cabinet panel design like below? will there be any future wiring issues located behind like replacement?
ChuanHong
post Mar 31 2021, 01:41 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Mar 31 2021, 11:42 AM)
any cons to getting a hanging tv cabinet panel design like below? will there be any future wiring issues located behind like replacement?
Usually there is a place for wiring running area at the back.. just need some technique to move the cables..

Your picture have backboard as backdrop which might costly a bit.. usually that's way.. you could drill and put 1 PVC box to conceal it as well in case no budget like me to have backboard..

kenloh7
post Mar 31 2021, 01:50 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Mar 31 2021, 01:41 PM)
Usually there is a place for wiring running area at the back.. just need some technique to move the cables..

Your picture have backboard as backdrop which might costly a bit.. usually that's way.. you could drill and put 1 PVC box to conceal it as well in case no budget like me to have backboard..
ur cabinet looks pretty too without backboard, maybe ill go for ur way so i can save about 3.5k on the backboard.
So how u conceal ur wire is to cut out a vertical section below ur TV, conceal a PVC pipe inside and slip all your hdmi/power cable in it?
SUSceo684
post Mar 31 2021, 09:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Mar 31 2021, 01:50 PM)
ur cabinet looks pretty too without backboard, maybe ill go for ur way so i can save about 3.5k on the backboard.
So how u conceal ur wire is to cut out a vertical section below ur TV, conceal a PVC pipe inside and slip all your hdmi/power cable in it?
Usually the bulky stuff like sockets, adapters will be hidden by the TV cabinet itself. To make the TV work (power and few HDMI) you can use the rectangular PVC casing/trunking (wide and shallow) eg 50 x 16 or 30 x 13 mm size or smaller (depending on your requirement of the cables you need), to conceal - smaller is better - just surface grind off the mortar layer of the wall to fit in, can putty and paint over as necessary.

See page 11 for range of sizes available, very cheap at your neighbourhood electrical store.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  PVC_LINK_Catalogue_2014.pdf ( 1.92mb ) Number of downloads: 91
kenloh7
post Mar 31 2021, 11:24 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 31 2021, 09:39 PM)
Usually the bulky stuff like sockets, adapters will be hidden by the TV cabinet itself. To make the TV work (power and few HDMI) you can use the rectangular PVC casing/trunking (wide and shallow) eg 50 x 16 or 30 x 13 mm size or smaller (depending on your requirement of the cables you need), to conceal - smaller is better - just surface grind off the mortar layer of the wall to fit in, can putty and paint over as necessary.

See page 11 for range of sizes available, very cheap at your neighbourhood electrical store.
May i know how surface grind works? For 50x16mm size i thought of using the chisel + drill to create the space for the PVC.
SUSceo684
post Apr 1 2021, 12:07 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Mar 31 2021, 11:24 PM)
May i know how surface grind works? For 50x16mm size i thought of using the chisel + drill to create the space for the PVC.
Yup technically about the same concept, grind two lines or polka dot many many small holes in a line, and chisel out the center unwanted portion
ChuanHong
post Apr 1 2021, 09:05 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Mar 31 2021, 01:50 PM)
Yes. Try to find a big one rectangle type. Future easier to replace or remove cable.. most cable are easy to pass through unless softer type like telephone line.. but I use tape tied all of them and push. Easier to achieve it.. I have also put extra cable for other future appliances..

Hmm. Speaker I'm using eArc + wireless subwoofer.. PS5.. astro.. phone cable..

Make a double pole switch to switch off/on all plugs except router&modem..

I_buntu
post Jun 28 2021, 08:27 PM

40 posts

Hi

asking sifu here if my cabinet able to support 30kg (tv+ mount)

Thickness 2CM, not solid wood

[IMG]https://pictr.com/image/BxTZM5
[/IMG]

[IMG]
https://pictr.com/image/BxTmB1[/IMG]

[IMG]
https://pictr.com/image/BxTaFQ[/IMG]
joeblow
post Jun 28 2021, 08:48 PM

1,144 posts

Generally speaking, having customized TV cabinet is more for design show and maybe cabling right?

I surveyed the market customized TV cabinet of the same size around 50 to 100% more expensive. Of course my contractor tells me their wood (MDF something) is much better quality than those selling at furniture shop.

Can I check with the experts here, if I don't mind the design ie no need to blend in the wall etc, should I just buy from furniture shop and assume quality almost the same?

I was quoted

TV Console c/w Laminate Finished, Inner White PVC and ABS Trimming 2190mm(L) x 400mm(W)x 250mm(H)

Around RM1500.

mini orchard
post Jun 29 2021, 07:50 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Jun 28 2021, 08:48 PM)
Generally speaking, having customized TV cabinet is more for design show and maybe cabling right?

I surveyed the market customized TV cabinet of the same size around 50 to 100% more expensive. Of course my contractor tells me their wood (MDF something) is much better quality than those selling at furniture shop.

Can I check with the experts here, if I don't mind the design ie no need to blend in the wall etc, should I just buy from furniture shop and assume quality almost the same?

I was quoted

TV Console c/w Laminate Finished, Inner White PVC and ABS Trimming 2190mm(L) x 400mm(W)x 250mm(H)

Around RM1500.
Buying from furniture shops are always cheaper.

The disadvantage is you are unlikely to get the edge to edge fitting. Custom fit costing will include wastage of material and thickness required.

Material is standard for custom or from shop unless is wood. Price will differ slightly for thickness if same design.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Jun 29 2021, 07:54 AM
joeblow
post Jun 29 2021, 11:41 AM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 29 2021, 07:50 AM)
Buying from furniture shops are always cheaper.

The disadvantage is you are unlikely to get the edge to edge fitting. Custom fit costing will include wastage of material and thickness required.

Material is standard for custom or from shop unless is wood. Price will differ slightly for thickness if same design.
Thanks. Sounds like not need to go customised unless you really know what you want. Most of the times the customised ones (if you just let contractors to design) will be very similar to the furniture shop one. But of course the efforts of shopping for one is quite tedious.

59 Pages « < 57 58 59Top

0.0259sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:18 AM