How to Use Barnes & Noble Nook Color in Malaysia, The Whats, The Wheres and The Hows

TSstringfellow
post Dec 30 2010, 06:44 AM, updated 15y ago

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

In the Box:-

NOOKcolor
USB Cable
Quick Start Guide
Power Adapter
Rechargeable Battery
(Installed)

Slim, Light & Portable

Height:8.1 inches
Width:5.0 inches
Depth:0.48 inches
Weight:15.8 ounces*

Color Touchscreen Display

Stunning 7 inch VividView™ Color Touchscreen shows more than 16 million colors on the best-in-class IPS** display.
Incredibly clear, sharp text and images from an unsurpassed high resolution display at 1024 x 600 delivering 169 pixels per inch (PPI).
Reduced glare and optimum brightness for reading indoors or outside.
Backlit for easy reading day or night.

Customized Experience

Adjust the font to fit your reading style. Choose from 6 text sizes.
Select font styles, background colors, line and margin spacing.

Expandable Storage

8GB*** (up to 6000 eBooks) built in memory.
Expand your memory up to 32GB with microSD™ memory card.

Media Player

Use NOOKcolor as an audio player for your MP3 and AAC files to listen to audio books or music.
NOOKcolor holds up to 100 hours of audio.
Watch videos in MP4 format.
Built-in mono speaker.
Universal 3.5 mm stereo headphone jack.

Supported File Types****

Load these popular formats for eBooks, graphics, audio, and other file types from your computer or microSD card.
EPUB (including Non or Adobe DRM)
PDF
Other documents: XLS, DOC, PPT, PPS, TXT, DOCM, XLSM, PPTM, PPSX, PPSM, DOCX, XLX, PPTX
Graphics: JPG, GIF, PNG, BMP
Audio: MP3, AAC
Video: MP4
Not Supported: LIT, AMZ (Amazon), LRZ/LRX (Sony)

Powerful Battery

Read for up to 8 hours***** without recharging with wireless off.
Installed Rechargeable Battery.
Charge from a wall outlet using the in-box Power Adapter and USB Cable.
Charging time: approximately 3 hours from wall outlet.

Built-in Wi-Fi® Wireless

Get books, magazines & newspapers in seconds.
Surf the Web and check email.
Wi-Fi (802.11 b/g/n).
Free Wi-Fi in all Barnes & Noble stores.

Personalized Wallpaper

Customize your NOOKcolor quickly and easily.
Load your own photos to create personal wall papers.
Keep a gallery of cherished pictures and fun videos on your NOOKcolor.

* Actual size and weight vary by configuration and manufacturing process.
** In Plane Switching
*** 1GB = 1 billion bytes; Actual formatted capacity is less.
**** Contains Reader® Mobile technology by Adobe Systems Incorporated
***** Battery life depends on device settings, usage, and many other factors. Battery tests are conducted using specific units; actual results may vary.

Two quick introduction videos of the Nook Color

I've recently purchased the Barnes & Noble Nook Color on my trip to Los Angeles last week, and it proves to a very capable tablet once rooted. For a price of USD249/RM770, and the functionalities of a working tablet running Android 2.1, I'm very much pleased with the device.

Only read the spoilered part of this post if you are also interested in expanding the capability of the Nook Color beyond its eReading feature. Otherwise, if you are more than happy to use it solely as an eReader, read on!

Let's start with the purchase. Point your browser to www.bn.com, and navigate to the Nook Color section. A purchase of theNook Color will run you through USD249 with applicable taxes. I strongly suggest getting a screen protector and some form of case, I picked mine from this Clear Kit screen protector and this Leather Writer Cover case made from rich napa leather embossed with prominent writer names.

During the purchasing procedure, the online store will ask credit card details with billing address. At this point, type in your Malaysian credit card Malaysian billing address. HOWEVER, for shipping address, Barnes & Noble will only ship to the States. This necessitates using mail-forwarding service such as VPost to post your device to Malaysia or get someone coming back from the States to bring it back for you. To repeat, use the Malaysian credit card billing address and American shipping address. Done.

Item will now either ship to your designated US address to be picked up by someone you know, or to a mail forwarding address designated by your mail forwarding service of choice. What's next? IF it has not been done already, you should register/create an account with Barnes & Noble now. This should be prompted during your initial purchase, or right after the purchase. Now, I have yet to find any complaints about activating/registering a Nook Color OUTSIDE USA during the first registration. Registration process will be ON THE NOOK COLOR ITSELF. Either way, register your Nook Color now, or if you come across problems registering your Nook Color, employ the use of VPN services like Hotspotshield, BlackVPN or StrongVPN to spoof your IP address into tricking the registration process being done from a US IP address.

Once that is done, the registration process on the Nook Color will ask if you want to tie a credit card to your BN account. To enable purchases to be made from B&N NookStore to buy your books, magazines and periodicals, you will need to do this. Grab your credit card, and fill in the details of name on card, credit card number, expiration date and CVV number as per your Malaysian credit card. When it asks the billing address, DO NOT PUT IN YOUR MALAYSIAN CREDIT CARD BILLING ADDRESS! The tie-in process will be rejected because of the location not being accepted as being in the States. Fill in the billing address as per your shipping address of your Nook Color, or Google up a valid American address and put it in there. Once this is done and you submitted and clicked it, the tie-in process of credit card will go through! For my case, it did. I used my shipping address of the hotel I'm staying in LA where the Nook Color is shipped.

Voila! You can now buy ALL the available offerings on B&N NookStore from a wide selection of more than 2 million books, and a wide range of magazine subscriptions and newspapers. First 30 days of magazines and newspapers subscription is FREE, but will be charged on your tied-in credit card once the period lapses past 30 days.

What about the purchases, you ask? It will be available for download STRAIGHT INTO YOUR NOOK COLOR VIA WIFI! rclxms.gif Or if you're in a place without WiFi, you can choose to download it into your PC/Mac and drag-and-drop it into the Nook Color.

The Nook Color also comes with its own built-in apps of Music Player, Movie player, Web Browser and Pandora. In my rooted Nook Color, my Nook books stay side-by-side with my Kindle books, since I have my Kindle app installed into my Nook Color. This is not possible unless you are willing to root your Nook Color. Now that spoilered section sounds enticing isn't it? tongue.gif Careful though, rooting Nook Color to open up the Android OS running underneath does require a working knowledge of Android Debug Bridge and command line experience. Or you can follow the instructions provided in that spoilered section and hope for the best. I hold no responsibility if you brick your Nook Color.

There you go, the ultimate eReading experience on the Nook Color, how to get one, where to buy one, and how to use one in Malaysia. Any questions pertaining the Nook Color, post them here. I've officially retired my Kindle 2, and now there even more reason not to drag it out of the drawer where it stays.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 30 2010, 06:46 AM
snowcrash
post Dec 30 2010, 10:12 AM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

Some quick Q's

Does the rooted version enable you to play other media files (ie Xvid avi's)? Or at least, once rooted, is there an app for that?

What's the battery life like - ie, for pure reading alone?
TSstringfellow
post Dec 30 2010, 02:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There's an app for that. Rockplayer, mvideoplayer or Vplayerbeta does that.

No idea on the second Q. I've yet to do just pure reading on this.

Two videos uploading as we speak, one showing the general overview of the device and the other showing the Nook reader app running side by side with the Kindle reader app. Only available if you root the device.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 30 2010, 03:16 PM
TSstringfellow
post Dec 30 2010, 03:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Here are 3 videos showing the Nook Color overview running on Eclair with Zeam launcher and Nook overlay playing nice with each other, Nook Color running Kindle app, and Nook Color ingenious packaging box that doubles as a stand, complete with magnetic latchings at the back of the box and a slot to put your Nook Color in.

Rooted Nook Color overview

Nook Color running Kindle reading app

Nook Color packaging box doubling as a nice stand with magnetic latching and a slot!

juwels
post Dec 30 2010, 08:04 PM

161 posts

eh?! this thing is emits light?! shakehead.gif
snowcrash
post Dec 30 2010, 10:17 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

Hmmmm.... wonder if can find someone selling a rooted nook then.....
khairolnizam
post Dec 31 2010, 04:32 PM

ouh.. ok..
1,153 posts

I'm currently using Sony Reader PRS-600. The battery lasts 2 weeks. And e-ink display doesn't strains my eyes.

Now, I'm hoping that the next generation nook will have colour e-ink option. Now that's an upgrade.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 1 2011, 09:46 AM

1,766 posts

This is awesome. I'm always interested with e-book reader devices but could not get a good solid reason to purchase any due to the availabilities of tablet devices like Ipad, Galaxy Tab etc.

The fact that, better reading experience with E-Ink technology is still not enough. LOL.

Maybe Nook Color will change that but with a challenge; rooting it.

Thanks stringfellow for the review.
faithfully
post Jan 1 2011, 10:21 PM

8 hours? thats less than 2 seats of reading time rclxub.gif
and somehow the lighted screen makes me think nook is not targeting serious readers. more like they are targeting ppl who are on the fence about ebook readers, or targeting the group that thinks ebook readers = ipad doh.gif
EightPhantomz
post Jan 1 2011, 11:33 PM

1,766 posts

IPMart is selling it for RM 979.17 excluding shipping fees.
http://www.ipmart.com/main/product/Nook,Co...php?prod=281255

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Feb 12 2011, 02:45 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 2 2011, 10:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I've been doing reading, tweeting, web-surfing, and typing emails on this, and still have 35% battery life at the end of the day. WiFi is on all the time, connected to YES 4G. Reading mainly 70% most of the time, I' trying to juggle between "Sh*t My Dad Says" and Stephen King's "Full Dark, No Stars" reading whenever I can.

There was a test drive session at MacStudio today in Low Yat Plaza, and after intense scrutiny by the folks there, the MacStudio boss went straight to his iMac, punched up www.bn.com, and ordered four units of Nook Color for himself and his family. Kinda speaks for itself now doesn't it?

Will be around MidValley tomorrow after lunch, if anyone wants a look-see with the device, hit me up on PM or email.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 3 2011, 08:38 AM

1,766 posts

Read your tweets that you had convinced 4 ppl(if I'm not mistaken) to buy Nook Color yesterday.

I would love to go to MV to meet you up later but my car would be stuck at the "open air" parking here in Damansara Heights. Maybe some other time.
I'm not in the rush to purchase any.

Added on January 3, 2011, 8:42 amSay stringfellow, how is the backlight? Since you're shifted from Kindle to Nook Color. It's already two different devices.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jan 3 2011, 08:42 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jan 3 2011, 02:39 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The boss of MacStudio got 4 for his family. So that's 4 people, yes.

No, I shifted long time ago from Kindle to the iPad. The backlight isnt that different from the iPad. What I do is turn the brightness all the way down, and read it that way.
EightPhantomz
post Jan 4 2011, 09:25 AM

1,766 posts

Alright. Anybody else bought Nook Color? Any reviews?
Doomsday
post Jan 7 2011, 02:56 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Hello,

I am one of the proud owner of Nook Color. I just got mine on this Monday. smile.gif
OK lets start with my short review of this device.

At first when I got it out from the box, my impression would tell me that this device doesn't feel solid in my hands. Yet I was wrong, the device really feels solid built and not to mention the back are rubberized. This makes it not easily to slip out from your hands even with a single handed on this device.

About the display, the color are vivid and sharp. I had to say that it is comparable sharpness and clarity with those iPhone4/iPad(s). The display are also amazing for those who prefer bed reading with it's adjustable brightness. Right now I just using the lowest brightness and it doesn't gives me any problem with it or eye strain.

How about the e-books? the Device is equip with Barnes and Noble (BN) app that you can easily purchase those e-books over the Wifi connection. The best thing is, the purchased books are stores in your BN account. In case your device's firmware is corrupted, your purchases books are still there in your account smile.gif

Overall, it is a good/cheap decent e-reader or some says Android tablet tongue.gif
BTW, I just installed Angry Birds on my device. Makes people around me jealous with the 7" display with Angry Birds (hahaha)

Recommend to get one if you are living in the States.

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Jan 8 2011, 11:39 AM
EightPhantomz
post Jan 7 2011, 09:29 PM

1,766 posts

Sweet. Its already on my wishlist. Wanted to order last night but I held on. LOL. Need to sort other stuff first.

/Sings Its all about the money
Doomsday
post Jan 8 2011, 12:47 AM

2,491 posts

@EightPhantomz, I think you should get it..put away other stuff first. hahaha
EightPhantomz
post Jan 8 2011, 04:25 AM

1,766 posts

@Doomsday, haha its ok. It can wait. wink.gif Missus will mad at me if I buy it first.

Added on January 8, 2011, 4:32 amBtw, issit rooted? How did you buy it? vpost? I'm currently checking on the cheapest and easiest way to get it.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jan 8 2011, 04:32 AM
Doomsday
post Jan 8 2011, 11:37 AM

2,491 posts

yeah, it is rooted.. I get it from a private seller in Singapore.
snowcrash
post Jan 9 2011, 10:00 PM

Mortal Sword
662 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jan 8 2011, 11:37 AM)
yeah, it is rooted.. I get it from a private seller in Singapore.

Does the seller deal in rooted nooks or was this a one off? Tempted to throw some business his way if it's an ongoing thing....

Doomsday
post Jan 14 2011, 03:32 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(snowcrash @ Jan 9 2011, 10:00 PM)
Does the seller deal in rooted nooks or was this a one off? Tempted to throw some business his way if it's an ongoing thing....
Nope, the seller sell in complete sealed box. So rooting would have to be done personally.

*OFF-TOPIC*
I am letting go my Nook Color for some financial problem. Any takers?
EightPhantomz
post Jan 15 2011, 05:28 PM

1,766 posts

Wah so fast. Too bad.

Btw, wondering if we have sufficient ppl owning a Nook Color to at least form a group. LOL just saying.
themanwithnoname
post Jan 16 2011, 07:05 PM

╭∩╮(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮
1,099 posts

I'm joining this club soon smile.gif Hope can learn many things here
Doomsday
post Jan 17 2011, 10:58 PM

2,491 posts

Yeah, organize a Nook Color gathering would be awesome. Perhaps, I will get another Nook Color after CNY (got extra cash yay!)

@themanwithnoname, how was the Nook Color? biggrin.gif
EightPhantomz
post Jan 19 2011, 05:06 PM

1,766 posts

Nook Color gets overclocked, further blurs the line between tablet and e-reader - Engadget
First, they ported Ubuntu to the Nook Color, and now the intrepid hackers at the XDA Developers Forum have overclocked its stock 800MHz processor to run at speeds up to 1GHz. The mod allows users to have their cake and eat it too, as the custom kernel ups the speed of the CPU while running it at a lower voltage, which means longer battery life -- though we don't know exactly how much longer. Apparently, the developer who wrote the code found that the system became unstable at the 1GHz level, but there were no such problems at 950MHz and below. SOURCE

Doomsday
post Feb 2 2011, 06:43 PM

2,491 posts

Google has an event slated for February 2 to show off its Android 3.0 operating system for tablets, code-named Honeycomb. Well, in advance of that preview an industrious Android enthusiast, who goes by the handle deeper-blue on the xdadevelopers' forum, has hacked the Nook Color to run a preview version of Honeycomb and has posted a video on YouTube.

A custom version of Android firmware is already available for the Nook Color that essentially allows you to turn it into a full-fledged Android tablet (naturally, Barnes & Noble doesn't authorize you "root" your Nook but plenty of people already have). But porting Honeycomb--an operating system truly designed for tablets--to the Nook has a lot of appeal to tech enthusiasts who see the Nook Color as an attractive and affordable tablet at $250.
At this point, it's still a pretty crude port that's missing a lot of Honeycomb's core features, but deeper-blue has already improved performance over the last couple of days, so the future seems bright for Honeycomb on Nook.

Read more: http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20030002-1.html

Honeycomb for Nook Color. I can't wait for my another Nook Color arriving in these 3 days. YAY!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Feb 2 2011, 06:48 PM
Doomsday
post Feb 8 2011, 11:06 AM

2,491 posts

Honeycomb on my Nook smile.gif

wzalman
post Feb 8 2011, 05:53 PM

@Doomsday: How much do you want to sell your NookColor?
mykomputer
post Feb 8 2011, 11:25 PM

333 posts

Doomsday,
The nook application still can be use?
Doomsday
post Feb 8 2011, 11:37 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(wzalman @ Feb 8 2011, 05:53 PM)
@Doomsday: How much do you want to sell your NookColor?
Sorry ya, not selling at the moment..

QUOTE(mykomputer @ Feb 8 2011, 11:25 PM)
Doomsday,
The nook application still can be use?
yeah, the Honeycomb is in uSD... I can switch between Honeycomb and original rooted Nook Color tongue.gif
EightPhantomz
post Feb 12 2011, 02:46 AM

1,766 posts

Ordered mine last night after so many delays. Now waiting for the shipment. biggrin.gif
deadfish
post Feb 12 2011, 02:19 PM

161 posts

I'm gonna get one in March when my friend can bring it back for me from the States!
baretta
post Feb 21 2011, 02:15 AM

1,853 posts

@doomsdau, where u bought i?
EightPhantomz
post Feb 27 2011, 05:37 AM

1,766 posts

Got mine at last. Using VPost. Ordered on the 12th Feb, arrived at my doorstep at 26th Feb. 2 weeks. Oklah not bad. First time using VPost.
dh3x
post Mar 1 2011, 11:43 AM

63 posts

How to use Vpost? Is it www.vpostasia.com ? Any taxes applicable for this Nook Color?

This post has been edited by dh3x: Mar 1 2011, 11:45 AM
EightPhantomz
post Mar 1 2011, 06:41 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(dh3x @ Mar 1 2011, 11:43 AM)
How to use Vpost? Is it www.vpostasia.com ?  Any taxes applicable for this Nook Color?
https://www.vpostasia.com/malaysia/

Didnt see any tax. Just straight forward conversian for the USD249 pricetag.
Then shipping fees from VPostUSA.
dh3x
post Mar 1 2011, 10:54 PM

63 posts

Ok thanks bro. Just placed an order.
EightPhantomz
post Mar 2 2011, 09:27 AM

1,766 posts

Welcome to the club! Do let us know what u think of it and what u have done to it. wink.gif
deadfish
post Mar 8 2011, 01:26 PM

161 posts

Can any owner here let me know the shipping weight and box dimensions?
Want to ship from US...
Thanks a lot!
EightPhantomz
post Mar 8 2011, 02:52 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(deadfish @ Mar 8 2011, 01:26 PM)
Can any owner here let me know the shipping weight and box dimensions?
Want to ship from US...
Thanks a lot!
Below was measured by VPostUSA.

Dimension: 30 X 21 X 12cm, 1.5kg
Actual Weight: 1.5
Chargeable Weight: 1.5
deadfish
post Mar 9 2011, 11:31 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Mar 8 2011, 02:52 PM)
Below was measured by VPostUSA.

Dimension: 30 X 21 X 12cm, 1.5kg
Actual Weight: 1.5
Chargeable Weight: 1.5
Thanks a bunch dude,
BTW how much did it cost you?
I mean with US sales tax and what not...
EightPhantomz
post Mar 9 2011, 12:50 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(deadfish @ Mar 9 2011, 11:31 AM)
Thanks a bunch dude,
BTW how much did it cost you?
I mean with US sales tax and what not...
The NookColor costs me about RM780.96 (USD249).
I bought the NC together with Leather Writer's Cover+screen protector (RM178.46 (USD56.90)).
So they summed the shipping fees together; RM197.33 (Sing$81.74).
Overall I've paid RM1156.75. Still cheaper compare to IPMart.com's device only plus shipping; RM1076.30.

Doomsday
post Mar 30 2011, 02:32 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Feb 21 2011, 02:15 AM)
@doomsdau, where u bought i?
from a private seller in SG
SJ Chua
post Apr 2 2011, 01:21 PM

108 posts

Hi Everybody!! I'm a new user here who's gonna get a Nook Color !!

Just a question for all those pros out there,
which type of microSD card is suitable for Nook Color?
16gb can work? Need at least how many class so tat won't hav problem?

I'm really confused which choice of SD card out there...so many variants @_@
dh3x
post Apr 4 2011, 12:05 PM

63 posts

hi there welcome.
Supported size is up to 32GB.
From what i read, the device can only take advantage of speed up to class 6.
Class 10 can use also no problem.

Personally I'm just using class 4.

This post has been edited by dh3x: Apr 4 2011, 12:06 PM
SJ Chua
post Apr 4 2011, 12:53 PM

108 posts

So buy class 6 then can adi ah? makes sense oso...tatz wat the seller told me too ^^
Anyway, dh3x, can u tell me wat capacity u using? Coz i read online tat 16gb has a lot problem, but is it true or not?

kamemada
post Apr 4 2011, 05:56 PM

165 posts

I'm using 4GB and 8GB. Both class4. Both working great. No issues at all.
SJ Chua
post Apr 4 2011, 10:14 PM

108 posts

Ok, i see, then for memory cards which brand recommended? Any significant difference in brands since some brands the pricing r so different?
kamemada
post Apr 5 2011, 08:06 AM

165 posts

Most of us are using SanDisk brand. Avoid Kingston. The guys at Nookdev did complain about that brand.

Do hover down to:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=860

SJ Chua
post Apr 5 2011, 01:17 PM

108 posts

ok, 1 more question, which type of rooting method did u guys use? (cyanogen,Honeycomb, nookie froyo?)

***Just read this post, it's really helpful for starters like me !!

http://quinxy.com/guides/how-to-pick-your-...nstall-options/

This post has been edited by SJ Chua: Apr 6 2011, 05:41 PM
kamemada
post Apr 6 2011, 08:54 PM

165 posts

Mine is the basic rooting, Auto-Nooter 3.0 (Eclair). Stable.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=942424

Tried Froyo and HC on SD but didnt like it.
SJ Chua
post Apr 6 2011, 09:44 PM

108 posts

I just wondering, example if u rooted the nook color then B&N release an update wat will happen eh?
Do we hav to :
• root again?
• no changes?
• there's a fix for tat?
J_Vansen_S
post Apr 7 2011, 01:35 AM

314 posts

Ha anyone selling theirs? pm me
SJ Chua
post Apr 7 2011, 08:31 AM

108 posts

Maybe u can consider shinogawa in Garage Sales section, I buy from him too
kamemada
post Apr 12 2011, 05:26 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Apr 6 2011, 09:44 PM)
I just wondering, example if u rooted the nook color then B&N release an update wat will happen eh?
Do we hav to :
• root again?
• no changes?
• there's a fix for tat?
I have no idea. Will just wait and see.
dh3x
post Apr 13 2011, 05:36 PM

63 posts

I'm on autonooter 3.0 too. Been itching to flash in the latest CM7... but don't like lower battery life.
SJ Chua
post Apr 14 2011, 11:09 AM

108 posts

Just for knowing, on average how much battery life do u guys get for each type of rooting method in normal usage?
Julian2103
post Apr 20 2011, 10:43 PM

73 posts

I just got one. Have to say it's amazing. Installed cm7 and got some ereaders. Yay to carrying around those thick medical textbooks in such a small package!
SJ Chua
post Apr 21 2011, 09:42 AM

108 posts

Guys, anyone out there to give me a clue on the battery life for each mod please?

Btw, anyone experienced this power cable trouble?

http://www.the-digital-reader.com/2011/01/...-supply-faulty/
Doomsday
post Apr 23 2011, 11:37 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Apr 6 2011, 09:44 PM)
Do we hav to :
• root again?
• no changes?
• there's a fix for tat?
After root, you can manually stop the auto update from B&N too.

I still using 1.0.1 version... blush.gif

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Apr 14 2011, 11:09 AM)
Just for knowing, on average how much battery life do u guys get for each type of rooting method in normal usage?
Average for normal internet browsing + gaming + reading will charge after 5 - 6 hours of usage.

QUOTE(Julian2103 @ Apr 20 2011, 10:43 PM)
I just got one. Have to say it's amazing. Installed cm7 and got some ereaders. Yay to carrying around those thick medical textbooks in such a small package!
Haha, one of my friend was saying quite handy for LAW students too. All text books in one tablet biggrin.gif
abrls
post Apr 23 2011, 01:02 PM

Just curious how many NookColor users in LY Forum since B&N is not selling NC outside US.
kbengmy
post Apr 24 2011, 05:25 PM

42 posts

Anyone of u try chinese PDF ? Considering of getting one ...

Doomsday
post Apr 25 2011, 02:47 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(kbengmy @ Apr 24 2011, 05:25 PM)
Anyone of u try chinese PDF ? Considering of getting one ...

nope never tried before.
SJ Chua
post Apr 25 2011, 09:28 AM

108 posts

Just read online that Nook Color might get Froyo update on April 25
Doomsday
post Apr 25 2011, 09:00 PM

2,491 posts

New update is here 1.2.0
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/u/nookcolor-...date/379002520/

So the big things here? Froyo, of course, and apps. But don't mistake this update for bringing Android Market access. You'll be downloading apps from Barnes & Noble. Market access is still going to require some hackery

Anyone has upgraded to this firmware? blush.gif

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Apr 25 2011, 10:10 PM
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 05:14 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

I'm thinking of getting one when my parents go to the US.

Is the charger compatible with our voltage? Or do we need a transformer?

Added on April 26, 2011, 6:06 pmU guys think anti glare film or clear will be more useful?

I'm using anti glare on my iPad coz the huge screen's glare is a killer for me... Not too sure how it is on the nook

Btw, is it redundant to get the nook if I already have an iPad?

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Apr 26 2011, 06:06 PM
Doomsday
post Apr 26 2011, 06:49 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 26 2011, 05:14 PM)
I'm thinking of getting one when my parents go to the US.

Is the charger compatible with our voltage? Or do we need a transformer?

Added on April 26, 2011, 6:06 pmU guys think anti glare film or clear will be more useful?

I'm using anti glare on my iPad coz the huge screen's glare is a killer for me... Not too sure how it is on the nook

Btw, is it redundant to get the nook if I already have an iPad?
yes the charger is compatible with our voltage. But you have to get a converter plug to convert the US plug to our conventional 3 pin plug.

As far as I use, I doesn't apply any screen protector as I can adjust the brightness to the max to overcome the glare issue. If you are using it for reading purposes, I think Nook is a redundant to you. As iPad can do what the Nook can do too for normal reading basis. But if you are looking for inexpensive Android hackable tablet, then Nook is the answer tongue.gif
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 07:33 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Apr 26 2011, 06:49 PM)
yes the charger is compatible with our voltage. But you have to get a converter plug to convert the US plug to our conventional 3 pin plug.

As far as I use, I doesn't apply any screen protector as I can adjust the brightness to the max to overcome the glare issue. If you are using it for reading purposes, I think Nook is a redundant to you. As iPad can do what the Nook can do too for normal reading basis. But if you are looking for inexpensive Android hackable tablet, then Nook is the answer tongue.gif
great! the converter plug is no problem since I have some of those lying around

hmm... the thing that attracted me towards the nook was the words 'custom ROM' and 'root'... and also it's an inexpensive way to have another tablet in the house so the missus doesn't hog my ipad all the time biggrin.gif

hehehehehe.

Added on April 26, 2011, 7:55 pmoh another question, which case did u buy? I'm looking at this - http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Color-Fiel.../?cds2Pid=35616

or this - http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Wren-Quote.../?cds2Pid=35616

prefer the first one since the thickness is only .75" which doesn't add much to the .48" of the nook

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Apr 26 2011, 07:55 PM
SJ Chua
post Apr 26 2011, 08:30 PM

108 posts

I'm using anti-glare screen protector since it's anti glare & scratch (so far no scratch, my phone's clear screen protector get scratched very soon since I play a lot of angry bird & fruit ninjas...)
Speaking of cover, I asked my seller to help me get a cheap china one from eBay. Works fine but the rubber smell is unbearable, had to soak it with soap & detergent overnight to kill off the weird odor, haha XD

This post has been edited by SJ Chua: Apr 26 2011, 08:31 PM
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 08:44 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Ur anti glare screen can get locally? Should be same size as
Galaxy tab's?
Doomsday
post Apr 26 2011, 08:56 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 26 2011, 07:33 PM)
great! the converter plug is no problem since I have some of those lying around

hmm... the thing that attracted me towards the nook was the words 'custom ROM' and 'root'... and also it's an inexpensive way to have another tablet in the house so the missus doesn't hog my ipad all the time biggrin.gif

hehehehehe.

Added on April 26, 2011, 7:55 pmoh another question, which case did u buy? I'm looking at this - http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Color-Fiel.../?cds2Pid=35616

or this - http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Wren-Quote.../?cds2Pid=35616

prefer the first one since the thickness is only .75" which doesn't add much to the .48" of the nook
yeah the custom rom like CM is available to port into Nook Color, hacks and etc.

For the case, I had 2 case to pair with my daily wears brows.gif
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Brunel-Cov.../?cds2Pid=35616
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Lautner-Bo.../?cds2Pid=35616

One thing funny when I take my Nook Color out for email checking or web surfing at nearby cafe with Wifi access. People would ask, "eh is that Galaxy Tab?" LOL laugh.gif
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 10:31 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

hmm don't those covers add to the thickness?
Doomsday
post Apr 26 2011, 10:38 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 26 2011, 10:31 PM)
hmm don't those covers add to the thickness?
The thickness doesn't effect much.. it still looks like a diary/organizer with the case biggrin.gif
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 10:43 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

icic... coz even with my iPad, I'm still stuck using the Apple original case coz the others just add bulk!

i wonder if i order the Nook now, will it come with the latest firmware... if it does then rooting will prove to be difficult
Doomsday
post Apr 26 2011, 10:52 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 26 2011, 10:43 PM)
icic... coz even with my iPad, I'm still stuck using the Apple original case coz the others just add bulk!

i wonder if i order the Nook now, will it come with the latest firmware... if it does then rooting will prove to be difficult
If you order now, you will get the 1.2.0 firmware.
Rooting for 1.2.0 is still in progress, perhaps give some time to the Nook community to finalize the nooter for Nook smile.gif
Gilthoniel
post Apr 26 2011, 11:30 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

ok sounds ok to me...

think i'll go for this cover = http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/search/ima...1&imid=82357032

if i don't like it, i'll go naked when the nook is in use at home and cover only when on the move

will decide on the anti glare later... i think i can get it from our local stores since nook and galaxy tab should be similar in screen real estate

Added on April 26, 2011, 11:32 pmbut then again, maybe the anti glare properties of the nook's screen is brilliant enough wink.gif

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Apr 26 2011, 11:32 PM
Doomsday
post Apr 26 2011, 11:38 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 26 2011, 11:30 PM)
ok sounds ok to me...

think i'll go for this cover = http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/search/ima...1&imid=82357032

if i don't like it, i'll go naked when the nook is in use at home and cover only when on the move

will decide on the anti glare later... i think i can get it from our local stores since nook and galaxy tab should be similar in screen real estate

Added on April 26, 2011, 11:32 pmbut then again, maybe the anti glare properties of the nook's screen is brilliant enough wink.gif
I plan to get that case last time... but you know with sweat and such would stick on the edges of those wordings, so end up getting the 2 case I have right now.

Maybe we should organise a teh tarik session for Nook Color owners someday.. biggrin.gif
Gilthoniel
post Apr 27 2011, 03:45 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Thanks for the tip. I still hv time to decide so I'll keep staring at the B&N site first. Hehe

Might decide not to get it since I have the iPad already

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Apr 27 2011, 04:36 AM
SJ Chua
post Apr 27 2011, 09:12 AM

108 posts

Can we share out what apps everyone runs on nook color?
so far I can run zenonia 1 & 2, angry birds, some SNES & GBA emulators, crystal defenders
raging thunder 1 & 2 not running fullscreen, slice it in portrait mode

This post has been edited by SJ Chua: Apr 27 2011, 11:31 AM
Doomsday
post Apr 27 2011, 09:38 PM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Apr 27 2011, 03:45 AM)
Thanks for the tip. I still hv time to decide so I'll keep staring at the B&N site first. Hehe

Might decide not to get it since I have the iPad already
No problem wink.gif

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Apr 27 2011, 09:12 AM)
Can we share out what apps everyone runs on nook color?
so far I can run zenonia 1 & 2, angry birds, some SNES & GBA emulators, crystal defenders
raging thunder 1 & 2 not running fullscreen, slice it in portrait mode
Running rooted Nook with Zeam launcher, Minimalistic Text, TypoClock and of course, Live wallpaper .

Many more to be listed..
SJ Chua
post Apr 28 2011, 08:46 PM

108 posts

Have u tried CM7? If yes, can u tell me the difference between rooting & CM7?
Doomsday
post Apr 29 2011, 12:40 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ Apr 28 2011, 08:46 PM)
Have u tried CM7? If yes, can u tell me the difference between rooting & CM7?
Nope I didn't tried out CM7.
kbengmy
post Apr 29 2011, 02:42 PM

42 posts

SJ Chua,

I notice that you bought ur NookColor from Shirogawa.

I have few questions, hope u don't mind to answer
1. screen protector anti glare
- is the screen become dim?
- easy to put on the screen protector?
- affect the sensitivity of touch screen?
- is it from B&N?

2. Nook COLOR Skin Case Cover Clear
- may i hv a look of the picture of the cover?
- from B&N also?

SJ Chua
post Apr 30 2011, 11:23 AM

108 posts

kbengmy,

**unfortunately, yes, anti-glare does cause some dimness due to the texture of the protector itself. I have an iphone with clear screen protector n all i can say is tat it definitely looks better than the nook color, but the fingerprint is too much to handle (i have to constantly wipe my screen!!) i dun think i can stand tat with a 7" screen.
**sensitivity not affected, feels smoother to touch than clear screen protector for me personally (no scratches too as compared to my iphone's which got scratched after playing fruit ninja)
**screen protector quite troublesome to install, dust sticks very easily...
it is from china one, i think so (no idea from where since i dun really care about it) all in, i take around 30 mins to install in a satisfactory way, another 1 hour to perfect it...
*****update : u see the "picture from my service" spoiler no. 5 in shirogawa's nook color & kindle selling topic, the white cover is mine =)

**[URL=http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?_trkparms=65%253A12%257C66%253A2%257C39%253A1%257C72%253A4978&rt=nc&_nkw=Case%20nook%20Silicone&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14.l1513&_pgn=1]
---> this type reveals out the nook handle at the bottom, easy for me to take out the microsd
**nope, all ebay (i guess mostly made in china)
in fact mine had a very strong rubber smell initially, i soaked it in Dynamo overnight to kill off the smell (cheap one is like tat one la...)

Anything can ask me further =)

Cheers

This post has been edited by SJ Chua: Apr 30 2011, 11:27 AM
kbengmy
post Apr 30 2011, 10:01 PM

42 posts

SJ Chua,

Thanks for your time to answer all my questions. Thanks for ur PM also.

My objective for Nook Color is reading some eBooks mainly in PDF format (majority in ENGLISH but some in CHINESE), magazine in mandarin wording and comic (in jpeg format).

I shortlisted Nook Color because of its price & size. Plan to get one unit in another month or two.

Thanks again.
frumpyclunkyboy
post May 1 2011, 10:01 PM

How do you crack it or download the adobe reader? i have one (its for my mother-in-law) and i want to crack it (if it possible) but i dont know how,can anyone help?
SJ Chua
post May 2 2011, 06:18 PM

108 posts

Have u tried looking for tutorials or guides from android central or XDA forums? I think these sites can help a lot (provided u follow the instructions clearly though)
frumpyclunkyboy
post May 2 2011, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(SJ Chua @ May 2 2011, 06:18 PM)
Have u tried looking for tutorials or guides from android central or XDA forums? I think these sites can help a lot (provided u follow the instructions clearly though)
The thing is i dont know where to begin,if you have any site that can help me do recommend to me? I not sure what to do and how to download adobe reader into nook color..
SJ Chua
post May 3 2011, 11:09 AM

108 posts

for this I'm unsure oso...
Needs more deep-finding first (maybe other forumers here might know)
perhaps try google for such stuff first as a start? =)
frumpyclunkyboy
post May 3 2011, 12:30 PM

What i know is that we can download Adobe Reader and install it into Nook Color,how do i do that?
EightPhantomz
post May 3 2011, 02:04 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(frumpyclunkyboy @ May 3 2011, 12:30 PM)
What i know is that we can download Adobe Reader and install it into Nook Color,how do i do that?
PDF files can be viewed immediately on the Nook Color since it has already have Adobe installed.

frumpyclunkyboy
post May 3 2011, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ May 3 2011, 02:04 PM)
PDF files can be viewed immediately on the Nook Color since it has already have Adobe installed.
Ok but since i strolling around here,is it can be hacked? I mean jailbreak it?
EightPhantomz
post May 3 2011, 04:30 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(frumpyclunkyboy @ May 3 2011, 02:20 PM)
The Adobe or Nook Color? Can u explain more on what u're planning to do?

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: May 3 2011, 04:31 PM
SJ Chua
post May 4 2011, 09:04 AM

108 posts

If nook color, u can root it with a variety of choices & custom roms
Doomsday
post May 5 2011, 10:10 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(frumpyclunkyboy @ May 3 2011, 02:20 PM)
"ROOTed" is the correct term of getting privilege access for the Android system biggrin.gif

And to answer another question, Nook Color already has a native pdf reader. So no need any additional Adobe reader to read your pdf files. smile.gif
SJ Chua
post May 5 2011, 07:55 PM

108 posts

hey anyone here has any luck in installing HD games into nook color?

I've been trying to install NFS Shift galaxy tab version into nook color with no success...
(theoretically shud work since NC & GT aren't too far off with same screen resolution)
Doomsday
post May 6 2011, 11:27 AM

2,491 posts

I have tried lots of time installing NFS shift but no good.

- Screen size runs off
- Accelerometer doesn't work
- Sucky display sad.gif
SJ Chua
post May 6 2011, 05:24 PM

108 posts

how about asphalt 5 & 6?
Any success out there? I don't have luck with these too...
Doomsday
post May 6 2011, 08:31 PM

2,491 posts

Nope, never tried Asphalt.
but I can confirm Hawx HD can play biggrin.gif
blazk
post May 8 2011, 04:46 AM

111 posts

anyone here wanna sell their nook color can contact me.
itching to get one
kbengmy
post May 10 2011, 12:37 PM

42 posts

SJ Chua,

Wish to get ur feedback,
1. Is the anti-glare screen protector work? I mean reduce reflection?

2. How's ur NC battery life?

SJ Chua
post May 10 2011, 08:15 PM

108 posts

1. I dunno how is the glare condition without the screen protector. But with my screen protector & I set brightness level to lowest (too bright is very tiring for eyes after long usage)...... The nook color basically has almost no glare indoors. Outdoor under direct sunlight I haven't test yet.

2. With the same brightness setting, CM7 mod, setCPU profiles, wifi on only when used, I can get around almost 9-10 hours battery life as stated by the battery usage stats.
If with heavy surfing or gaming, the battery life is at least 5 hours
Wifi off when unused is very helpful to save battery (significant difference) in fact, dun use task killer, it harms the memory n battery life, just exit wif the back softkey button then enough (tats wat I read from gizmodo/Engadget, I forgot adi =] )

How about ur battery life?
kbengmy
post May 16 2011, 10:24 PM

42 posts

Haven't order my unit yet.

Still shop around ...

Rumors in China website said B&N might announce new NOOK on 24ht May 2011. Not sure NOOK or NOOK COLOR ... so wait till 24th May see what happen.
will_berryz
post May 24 2011, 07:39 PM

20 posts

does any 1 know where can get the nook color's case and screen protector in malaysia? pls give me a pm if know. thx ~
EightPhantomz
post May 25 2011, 09:01 AM

1,766 posts

So the latest Nook is not Nook Color replacement after all. Its a Nook Touch which is an e-Ink touch enabled Nook.
http://www.engadget.com/2011/05/24/barnes-...unces-new-nook/
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/nook/index.asp?PID=35699
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtXRHn-Mh34

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: May 25 2011, 09:03 AM
kbengmy
post May 25 2011, 10:30 AM

42 posts

Well, if the software in it is customizable like Nook Color then i think it will be Kindle killer.

But then there are rumors about Amazon going to come out with their own Android tablet this coming June/August. Not really their own, but with the help from Samsung.

I guest this year will full of surprise on how table change.

p/s: I wish Nook Color will slash its price when this new Nook launch, well it turns out disappoint me ... guess i have to pay full amount for getting a Nook Color huh ... sad.gif

This post has been edited by kbengmy: May 25 2011, 10:31 AM
EightPhantomz
post May 25 2011, 02:15 PM

1,766 posts

IMHO, Nook Color is still cheaper compare to other tablets. And for Android-dev-minded, its already a bonus.

But then again, it depends to your needs. Worth the buy or not.

I used to own Kindle DX and my wife own the Ipad 1.
For me, Nook Color is in between this two.
kbengmy
post May 25 2011, 03:22 PM

42 posts

I would say if you buy in US, yes it is a lot cheaper and value for money compare to other tablets thumbup.gif

Else if ship to malaysia it will roughly the same as getting Samsung Galaxy Tab mad.gif

I wanted Nook Color because of size & andriod OS ... nod.gif

7" size i think is just nice to carry around rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kbengmy: May 25 2011, 05:08 PM
EightPhantomz
post May 25 2011, 07:01 PM

1,766 posts

Issit? Mine is still less than 1k but thats becoz I bought the screen protector and case together.
kbengmy
post May 26 2011, 11:37 AM

42 posts

Cheapest can get from forumer here is about rm895 (nook color ONLY, not yet include screen protector & cover), i guess that's include tax and shipping to malaysia.

This post has been edited by kbengmy: May 26 2011, 11:42 AM
SJ Chua
post May 27 2011, 11:49 AM

108 posts

IMHO, for what it offers, the Nook Color represents a good deal eventhough we have to pay for the postage overseas
RangerRed
post Jun 11 2011, 02:32 PM

2,083 posts

Concerning the Nook Library ebooks... if u buy the an ebook by PC how do u get past the US only purchase?

Added on June 11, 2011, 11:19 pmI see, should have used a US for a nook ebook purchase... so my sister has more or less locked her credit to the malaysian address correct?

This post has been edited by RangerRed: Jun 11 2011, 11:19 PM
mikaperfumes
post Jul 4 2011, 04:23 AM

38 posts

Interested to buy one soon. smile.gif Love NC after reading so many positive reviews!
eugenecctan
post Aug 11 2011, 10:05 AM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

I am flying to US next week, anyone interested to get 1? I am going to get 1 myself. I am selling off my Nook eink for RM500.
mikaperfumes
post Aug 12 2011, 06:59 AM

38 posts

Hi friends,

Got my nook color but failed to download becoz bn says my card don't have us billing address. Did as instructed on the first page by OP but unfortunately not successful.

Any workaround? Thanks. smile.gif
misonina
post Aug 14 2011, 01:19 AM

Hi, I just moved to KL from the US last month and would like to sell my new rooted Nook Color (bought in June 2011) for 1000 RM. It comes with the Barnes & Noble cover, anti-glare screen protector kit, plus the 16GB SanDisk micro-SD card (and of course, the charger and usb cable).

Altogether, I paid:$381.95 USD (1146 RM)

Rooted Nook Color + Shipping: $294.96 + $12.50
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...#ht_5619wt_1185

Muriel Nook Color Cover in Anemone: $29.95
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Muriel-Cov.../9781616865139/

SanDisk Micro SD Card: $27.59

Barnes & Noble Anti-glare Screen Protector Kit for Nook Color: $16.95
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Anti-Glare.../9780594015437/

I just received an IPad as a gift with my name engraved on it, so unfortunately will have to give up my Nook Color!

This Nook Color is in brand-new working condition and has only been used to read 2 books during my flight here to KL. I bought it from a reputable ebay seller, a tech whiz, who takes brand-new Nook Colors, carefully opens them, roots them, and then repackages them for sale (please click on the link above for more information).

It works great as both an Android tablet device and reader- I love the size- fits so neatly into my bag and easy to carry. The colors on the screen are beautiful- definitely beats the Kindle:)

Please feel free to message me for more details, I'm happy to answer any questions.

- Nina
alix_y
post Aug 21 2011, 05:48 PM

Hello Nina,

I am a new owner of NC and wants to root it. Hope you don't mind to advise which class of Sandisk micro sd card your NC is using.

Thank you.
Doomsday
post Aug 23 2011, 03:41 AM

2,491 posts

QUOTE(alix_y @ Aug 21 2011, 05:48 PM)
Hello Nina,

I am a new owner of NC and wants to root it. Hope you don't mind to advise which class of Sandisk micro sd card your NC is using.

Thank you.
Which firmware version of the NC?
I had no problem rooting with Sandisk uSD cards so far biggrin.gif
not9to5
post Sep 15 2011, 08:22 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(misonina @ Aug 14 2011, 01:19 AM)
Hi, I just moved to KL from the US last month and would like to sell my new rooted Nook Color (bought in June 2011) for 1000 RM. It comes with the Barnes & Noble cover, anti-glare screen protector kit, plus the 16GB SanDisk micro-SD card (and of course, the charger and usb cable).

Altogether, I paid:$381.95 USD (1146 RM)

Rooted Nook Color + Shipping: $294.96 + $12.50
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...#ht_5619wt_1185

Muriel Nook Color Cover in Anemone: $29.95
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Muriel-Cov.../9781616865139/

SanDisk Micro SD Card: $27.59

Barnes & Noble Anti-glare Screen Protector Kit for Nook Color: $16.95
http://gifts.barnesandnoble.com/Anti-Glare.../9780594015437/
I just received an IPad as a gift with my name engraved on it, so unfortunately will have to give up my Nook Color!

This Nook Color is in brand-new working condition and has only been used to read 2 books during my flight here to KL. I bought it from a reputable ebay seller, a tech whiz, who takes brand-new Nook Colors, carefully opens them, roots them, and then repackages them for sale (please click on the link above for more information).

It works great as both an Android tablet device and reader- I love the size- fits so neatly into my bag and easy to carry. The colors on the screen are beautiful- definitely beats the Kindle:)

Please feel free to message me for more details, I'm happy to answer any questions.

- Nina
hi nina,
i'm interested. Please PM me.

tx
not9to5
EightPhantomz
post Nov 9 2011, 08:52 AM

1,766 posts

New Nook Tablet! Any takers?
http://www.engadget.com/2011/11/07/nook-ta...hands-on-video/
SJ Chua
post Nov 13 2011, 04:04 PM

108 posts

gonna buy one for christmas =)
cheerybell
post May 9 2012, 02:31 PM

I'm sorry if this sounds like a stupid question. What does "rooting" mean? Is it the same meaning as jailbreaking?
boyzIImen
post May 25 2012, 07:11 PM

No sorry needed.. the term rooting and jail-braking are of the same meaning.........

I need NOOK Colour used one... anyone want to sell please pm me your best price and performance spec.

chengfei
post Aug 29 2012, 08:37 AM

28 posts

I have read all of the comments but I can't seem to find anyone similar case like me.

I thinking of getting a nook color in USA and I am going back Malaysia soon. I want to hook it with the maybank debit card with usa address as billing address , am I allow to do that ?

because what I learn from past experience is I can't tie the debit card if the billing address is different from the one I register with my debit card.

One more question, i read from bn website, they state that ee are not allow to buy books outside of usa,
My question is can i buy if i am in malaysia? Without rooting or ip spoofing.

This post has been edited by chengfei: Aug 29 2012, 09:41 AM
moniqee
post Dec 23 2012, 11:52 PM

7,864 posts

Since there are no nook tablet forum... just wanna chit chat here...

@chengfei - unfortunately, you need a US address and VPN to set up the B&N account first.. then after that you can download the books via nook device...

N2A card really made my life easier... now my nook tablet is on JB and can play loads of games... it made my nook more fun to play with than KF...

0.0575sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:08 PM