post Feb 16 2011, 05:47 PM

77 posts

TS. what an awesome project, looking forward to more updates. =D
kInOzAwA
post Feb 18 2011, 01:13 AM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

very nice project. i'm late noticed about this, btw i'll keep my eyes for the updates. smile.gif
huzzLEE_82
post Feb 18 2011, 04:38 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

i can afford to buy those plywood..but can't afford those tools u use..
hahahaha plus not very creative like TS....
great effort,nice touch...
eagerly to see end product..thumbs up...
Jinster
post Feb 22 2011, 09:09 PM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

any latest news?
any progress??
lolz~!
yangchee98
post Feb 26 2011, 12:04 AM

264 posts

no more updates ?sad.gif
dakwan5555
post Feb 26 2011, 02:19 AM

85 posts

Faster update lah..... smile.gif Waiting is painfull...... hehehe
TSultimatedesk
post Feb 26 2011, 04:16 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(yusri6347 @ Feb 11 2011, 10:53 PM)
wow.very creative.nice job.i also want to make own casing.but lack of tool.huhuhu.n not very creative.hahah

Thanks! You never know what you can make with basic tools!

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 14 2011, 09:44 PM)
nice nice~
it'll take a lot of effort to do what u're doing haha
keep up the good work! biggrin.gif

Thanks Jinster wink.gif

QUOTE(weijunmark @ Feb 16 2011, 05:47 AM)
TS. what an awesome project, looking forward to more updates. =D

Thanks weijunmark!

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Feb 17 2011, 01:13 PM)
very nice project. i'm late noticed about this, btw i'll keep my eyes for the updates. smile.gif

Oooh, welcome to the club! Thanks for commenting!

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Feb 18 2011, 04:38 AM)
i can afford to buy those plywood..but can't afford those tools u use..
hahahaha plus not very creative like TS....
great effort,nice touch...
eagerly to see end product..thumbs up...

I know what you mean - I can't afford those tools either! You will see, in the update what my place looks like!

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 22 2011, 09:09 AM)
any latest news?
any progress??
lolz~!

Yes yes, it's been a long time, hasn't it!

QUOTE(yangchee98 @ Feb 25 2011, 12:04 PM)
no more updates ?sad.gif

No more updates. Yes, more updates!

QUOTE(dakwan5555 @ Feb 25 2011, 02:19 PM)
Faster update lah..... smile.gif Waiting is painfull...... hehehe

Hehe, soorryyy dakwan! wink.gif

TSultimatedesk
post Feb 26 2011, 04:17 AM

69 posts

It's been a while since the last update, but basically, I got around to installing the dado blade on the table saw to make some important cuts for the two cabinets, and was able to do a bit of test fitting.

For those of you not really in the know, a dado blade has two regular saw blades (One for the left, one for the right) and some irregular shaped blades of varying thickness that you put in between, until you get the right width. I'll let the pictures do the talking.

The beauty of using dado blades in the table saw (At least I think) is that you can set it up at the right height and width, and then set the fence to the proper width and do all 3 of your supporting boards one after another so they will be lined up perfectly when it comes time for assembly.

I put 3 cuts in each of the 3 supporting walls of the left-hand cabinet. There was a bit of chipping, I should have probably put down some masking tape, but it's nothing major and will be on the inside anyways.

I threw on a bit of wood filler to patch up the chipped parts, and then let these 3 dry while I worked on the right-hand cabinet cuts.

I then had some time to put together a quick test fitting! Not bad! Some of the wood was just a bit crooked, so I'll have to spend some time with the sander to loosen up some of the dado joints.

This pretty much completes the first phase of the project - I won't have any use for any of the big, messy tools anymore.

All that's really left are a few small detail cuts, some holes need to be cut out, the whole thing needs to be sanded to pre-stain state, and then assembly and staining!

I'll be bringing all of the materials back to my place where I'll be doing just that.
TSultimatedesk
post Feb 26 2011, 04:17 AM

69 posts

And, through the miracle of internet technology, I'm bringing you the next update right away!

There wasn't much work done in this update - just thought I'd show everyone where the progress is going to be taking place from now on. The spooky basement in my building!

It's a really old house, at least over a hundred years old, in fact, there's a 12" x 12" solid beam of wood running as the main support member along the entire length of the house, it must be at least 30 feet long. Can't get those any more!!!

My main complaint with the basement is that I am constantly bashing my head on the low ceiling beams, and it's quite cold! Getting motivated to go work down there is not nearly as easy as working in the nice, heated wood shop.

Time to let the pictures do the talking:

I purchased a new shop vac at Canadian Tire along with a bunch of other stuff during the Boxing Week sales after Christmas. Sweet.

I also setup a plastic wall to help prevent sawdust from going all over the basement, as well as to help keep any breezes contained when it comes time to stain.

Some of my personal tools:

And there we have it! Until next time, have a good weekend!
dakwan5555
post Feb 26 2011, 07:57 AM

85 posts

Oh yeah! Thanks for the prompt update biggrin.gif

If only I could get half of the tools to play with here...... sad.gif
Jinster
post Feb 26 2011, 10:57 AM

Saber <3 VioletEvergarden <3
902 posts

it looks kinda scary
both the blades and the place u're at LOL..
limhongwoon
post Feb 26 2011, 01:29 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

What is the brand of the clamp ?
amie_the_fakes3
post Feb 27 2011, 02:50 PM

277 posts

wahhhh...real expert here...
weijunmark
post Feb 28 2011, 11:00 PM

77 posts

if i ever go to canada, can i go visit ur desktop? =)
TSultimatedesk
post Mar 1 2011, 01:35 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(dakwan5555 @ Feb 25 2011, 07:57 PM)
Oh yeah! Thanks for the prompt update biggrin.gif

If only I could get half of the tools to play with here......  sad.gif

Oh yes, thank you, I love tools!!

QUOTE(Jinster @ Feb 25 2011, 10:57 PM)
it looks kinda scary
both the blades and the place u're at LOL..

Hahaha, you are totally right there Jinster - have you ever seen that show called "Dexter" ? You should see the expression on my friends faces when I say "Hey, why don't you come downstairs to check out my project" lol, then they see the plastic sheets and tools!!

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 26 2011, 01:29 AM)
What is the brand of the clamp ?

I think the ones I have are labelled with the "JobMate" brand, but they are pretty generic, and I have seen the same model of clamps without any branding. They are quite cheap, but they do the job, and I haven't broken any of them yet! Here is a link to where I bought them (Canadian Tire)

QUOTE(amie_the_fakes3 @ Feb 27 2011, 02:50 AM)
wahhhh...real expert here...

Thanks amie wink.gif

QUOTE(weijunmark @ Feb 28 2011, 11:00 AM)
if i ever go to canada, can i go visit ur desktop? =)

Haha, yes, of course! Drop by and spend some time in the shop, too!

TSultimatedesk
post Mar 1 2011, 01:36 AM

69 posts

So, I did a bit of work in the basement the other night, and since the next part of the project is going to be assembly, I decided to give it another shot at test fitting, since the last time I tried it was just loosely put together.

Time to get out the sander with some 80 grit. The hose on my shop vac is a little over 2", and I didn't have an adapter to attach it to the DeWalt ROB Sander unfortunately, so a little tape had to do the job.

I took each piece one by one and sanded down the edges where they slide into the dado cuts. I had to do a surprising amount of sanding, as the fit was incredibly tight.

I also took the time to label each piece (Top, Middle, Bottom, and which side faces the front) so that it could be easily repeatable when it comes time for final assembly.

Almost there. So tight! I needed a rubber mallet to set some of them, and then remove them afterwards.

This shelf was just ~slightly~ warped, and needed a lot of sanding so that one end was nice and snug, and this end actually a bit of free space (Hello wood filler!)

A couple more progress shots:

And, all tightly assembled. I could probably jump on this box...

I spent about an hour and a half doing that, and honestly, it was freezing cold down there and that's about all I could stand for that evening. Until next time!
weijunmark
post Mar 1 2011, 02:48 PM

77 posts

awesome bro. i goin US for my studies soon. hope to preorder one for myself if thats possible. =DDDD
night
post Mar 1 2011, 02:52 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

Great job TS. Have been following your updates from the beginning till today. Can't wait to see your completed table.
yangchee98
post Mar 6 2011, 04:20 PM

264 posts

updates please tongue.gif

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:40 AM