Torn between iPad and iPad2, worth the wait?

nickygin
post Dec 30 2010, 02:45 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Dec 29 2010, 01:21 AM)
I'm torn between getting a 64GB iPad now or wait for iPad 2 which supposedly comes with:

Advantages:
1. Camera
2. USB connectivity
3. Retina display

Disadvantages:
7" screen - though it may give better battery performance???

As a reading, gaming and photo reviewing tool, I would naturally assume bigger screen is better. But iPad 2 is said to be announced in 100 days. I had initially thought it'd be announced by Christmas 2010. Announced in USA by March means people will actually have to QUEUE UP for it for the first 2 months at least and it will be November before it arrive in Malaysia!

I'm sure I'm not the only one stuck in this situation. What's your advice?
Personally, I think that even if the rumours are true, by the time the iPad 2 comes to our shore, there'll be rumours about iPad 3 and then you'd be having the same dilemma to either get the iPad 2 or iPad 3 smile.gif

In view of that, you might want to see if you are happy with what the current iPad can do and it's price and if you ok with them, just get it now as technology will always be improving and you will never get the best and optimum feature.

I believe that to help you decide, you might want to go to a shop that sells that Samsung Galaxy (I think it's 7" which is the rumoured iPad 2 size) and see if you are confortable with the size and how you'd look like if you are to use that to take photos smile.gif also there are new and unique ways to transfer your files and data that you don't really need a USB port like a camera kit or cloud filings.

Good luck in your decision. smile.gif
pmsoo
post Dec 30 2010, 03:24 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(nickygin @ Dec 30 2010, 02:45 PM)
Personally, I think that even if the rumours are true, by the time the iPad 2 comes to our shore, there'll be rumours about iPad 3 and then you'd be having the same dilemma to either get the iPad 2 or iPad 3 smile.gif

In view of that, you might want to see if you are happy with what the current iPad can do and it's price and if you ok with them, just get it now as technology will always be improving and you will never get the best and optimum feature.

I believe that to help you decide, you might want to go to a shop that sells that Samsung Galaxy (I think it's 7" which is the rumoured iPad 2 size) and see if you are confortable with the size and how you'd look like if you are to use that to take photos smile.gif also there are new and unique ways to transfer your files and data that you don't really need a USB port like a camera kit or cloud filings.

Good luck in your decision. smile.gif
7" will never happen

http://www.9to5mac.com/31121/steve-jobs-cr...-of-7-inch-ipad

The same reason why he will never ever ever allow optical disk tray for laptops and imacs.

The same reason why iPad may never get Adobe Flash support.

Sometimes i feel its ego over practicability but too bad for the rest of us, he is the big man who decides.

xaw5126
post Dec 30 2010, 03:31 PM

3,488 posts

@pmsoo re:Flash why should Apple help Adobe (which has been delaying + lying to them) popularise Flash? why not HTML5 ... at least that's an open standard.

practicability for the consumers, not for us Mcgeekvers smile.gif
AzrinRain
post Dec 30 2010, 07:23 PM

97 posts

@xaw5126,
You realize that you've just created a new term?
McGeekvers..? This is going in the books. ;p
Johan26
post Dec 31 2010, 09:58 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Dec 30 2010, 03:31 PM)
@pmsoo re:Flash why should Apple help Adobe (which has been delaying + lying to them) popularise Flash? why not HTML5 ... at least that's an open standard.

practicability for the consumers, not for us Mcgeekvers smile.gif
biggrin.gif Spot-on bro

Reventon
post Jan 1 2011, 10:27 PM

2,921 posts

I think if you are just craving for it , by all mean get one like 16 GB , ease your mind with that temporary , new ipad is coming but expect it to hit our shore at around the same time as current iPad. Like other said it is never ending wait , every year will have a new model launched.
kc3832
post Jan 2 2011, 02:23 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(AzrinRain @ Dec 29 2010, 11:07 AM)
@CalvinCLK,
Yes. Should be here by then. Now that the iPad has been brought in to Malaysia, SIRIM can't give excuses as to why their approval process is delayed.
IMO, Apple should have learnt from their past experience that they should provide more supply to counterweigh demand.

@Mackiddo,
If you say Malaysia is a "dumping place", how would you explain the other 10 countries who received the iPad the same time as we did?
I have to agree to Mackiddo and sorry for those 10 countries as well... Nevertheless, the price we get is better than lot's of them who go it first.
kuekwee
post Jan 2 2011, 06:49 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

I say dun wait. This is IT gadget you can never wait for the best product, everyday there is new update and new product? How long you wanna wait? Just buy it when u need to use it, just wait when u dun really need it.
kmrdeva
post Jan 2 2011, 09:17 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jan 2 2011, 06:49 AM)
I say dun wait.  This is IT gadget you can never wait for the best product, everyday there is new update and new product? How long you wanna wait? Just buy it when u need to use it, just wait when u dun really need it.
Best advice I've seen. You need or want it, buy now. You're not sure, don't buy it.

In any case, assuming the ipad2 is announced in feb/mar 2011, I believe ori units will only be launched for sale here in end-2011, like the ipad1.

I bought the 16GB wifi+3g model on 1st Dec, sold it off on the 30th and am now holding the 64GB wifi+3g model. Need more space for games ha ha.. biggrin.gif
kapultek
post Jan 3 2011, 07:54 AM

1,376 posts

Wahh.. U install a lot of games...ipad 2 got how many space
kmrdeva
post Jan 3 2011, 08:42 AM

4,790 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Jan 3 2011, 07:54 AM)
Wahh.. U install a lot of games...ipad 2 got how many space
How would I know, I'm not Steve Jobs..

I suspect we'll see a 128GB ipad2 to 'upgrade' over the 64gb ipad1 he he..
Reventon
post Jan 3 2011, 12:30 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Jan 3 2011, 08:42 AM)
How would I know, I'm not Steve Jobs..

I suspect we'll see a 128GB ipad2 to 'upgrade' over the 64gb ipad1 he he..
+1 Let's hope for it, games files are getting bigger and bigger now, 120 GB will be a nice one if you are a gamer , but actually for lazy guy like me because I synched so many games in my iPad but never really touched it. Lol. So if let's say I only store the game I play and apps I use , 32GB also more than enough biggrin.gif , but if the new iPad 2 max size is 120 I would still getting it tongue.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 3 2011, 03:20 PM

///M
8,788 posts

When there's iPad2, you will create another thread and ask if it's worth waiting for iPad3 smile.gif In short, you will never buy an iPad because the wait never ends. This is technology so if you want it, just go out and buy.
kuekwee
post Jan 3 2011, 04:06 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 3 2011, 03:20 PM)
When there's iPad2, you will create another thread and ask if it's worth waiting for iPad3 smile.gif In short, you will never buy an iPad because the wait never ends. This is technology so if you want it, just go out and buy.
yeah true true how long u wanna wait?
TSPennywise
post Jan 3 2011, 07:45 PM

5,796 posts

I was about to buy it until I saw Lowyat news saying iPad will be announce in 100 days or less. I was considering and thought ok maybe I should wait. I didnt get the iPhone4 when it came out either, I had the HTC Desire and was happily rooting away on every rom I can find on the Internet until I got fed up and stick with one device, one OS concept.

I am aware that there will never be a perfect device. Like many of you said, if I waited for iPad2, iPad3 will be in rumor and announced. I will just wait 100 days from now and see how. smile.gif Hahaha... Thanks for sharing your thoughts here.

0.0223sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:57 PM