PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread

weeluvmal
post Oct 4 2005, 02:07 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 18 2005, 05:26 PM)
hello - one thing i think users of Logitech sets that are thinking of getting mega or gigaworks. Hmm i have the luxury of having z680 and gigaworks in one house (another housemate owns giga). If u are used to the multiple input of Z680 and Z5500, please be advice that the feature is NOT available in S750 (unless if u are willing to fork out another RM599 for the creative decoder DDTS-100 - as my housemate did) As u all probably already know, the Logitech Control Center for Z680 and Z5500 have FOUR inputs and a headphone output. One of the reason i bought Z680 was because - i connect my dvd player, my sony mini compo to the Control Center. i also pc connect my PC analoguely and digitally to the Contro Center therefore .. the four inputs are totally used .. i think that is why silon said that for RM999... Z680 IS VERY VALUE FOR MONEY... i totally agree. BUT THEN I GOT MINE FOR RM1430 .. DAMNNNNN shud have wait another two years .. tongue.gif
have been a Megaworks 510d for about a year (until it died on me.. ), and now i'm using z5500. i was surprised to hear that the crispness and clarity of the logitech is actually much superior than the megaworks, and the bass is not as boomy as the megaworks.

Not sure wat kinda bass u r looking for, but the logitech's bass is somewat tighter than the megaworks. the bass is well defined as u can hear the change of bass node as compared to the boomy bass from the megaworks where i can't tell wat node is being played. The bass i get from megaworks is a bit over-emphasized and undefined..

If u ask me, i would prefer the z5500 to the megaworks.
weeluvmal
post Oct 4 2005, 02:10 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 30 2005, 03:25 PM)
Use the same guide as the one for Z-5500. It is around the same.
the z5500 has included a comprehensive Quick Start guide in their massive packaging, so there's no worry in setting it up.. let's worry instead about moving that massive package into ur room..
weeluvmal
post Oct 4 2005, 02:49 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Silon @ Oct 4 2005, 02:24 PM)
did u went for an audition for the gigaworks? why not?

btw, how long have u been using the megaworks before it died on you? somehow, im beginning to question creative's speaker reliability
Have not have any chance to audit on the Gigaworks here in Penang, though it was 2nd in my list after the Z5500. the promedia 5.1 ultra is simply too expensive to my liking, their GMX series on the other hand does not impress me with their lousy control pod design and boomy bass.

i listen to music a lot apart from movie watching, and i would put my priority to music when i make my selection as i believe a reasonable powerful / good set of system should be sufficient to drive the movie watching without the need to specifically emphasizing on bass.

so, call it phobia if u may.. the megaworks didn't actually went 'dead' as it still powers on, but getting pretty close to that state..

the megaworks i got was a refurbished set sold by a fellow forumer. been using it for about 1 & half year, then somehow the volume starts to go high and lows all by itself, until recently the sound went crack/distorted when i turn my volume above 1/3 of the whole range.

been doing some research of the matter, and i end up finding a lot of such similar cases in a Creative's forum, where i seen a lot of case of the forumer with their dead / bad subwoofer-amplifier.

the cause of the problem were due to some badly designed power circuit. there's a case where the transistors even cracked into half.

http://forums.creative.com/creativelabs/bo...ard.id=speakers

can't remember the exact thread, then again, do some searching in this forum, u'll see wat i mean. i do realize that these cases could be some rare case that only happened to the forumers in there. but since i myself is caught once in such situation, i figure i'd better pass the Gigaworks and go for the logitech's highest range ( i still have a set of z640 which served me fine, of which being used by my gf later after the upgrade to megaworks).

i'm a happy user of z5500, even my gf can tell the diff of the sound quality for it's crispness and clarity. the control pod combined with the infra-red remote is working well, the reception of the remote is good, the set up is easy, the Stereo X2 mode is good for music, i use foobar to play DTS-CD and the staging of the speaker set is superb...

hmm.. this is getting very long, ask me if still got anymore questions...

tips: Find the easter eggs in z5500 by doing the following: while the z5500 in standby mode, pressing combinations of buttons on the control pod for 6 seconds will switch / enable some hidden mode. for instance, pressing all buttons except the "Level" button will trigger a Second Skin, which would change the LCD display scheme and even the color of the power button (Red --> Purple).

This post has been edited by weeluvmal: Oct 4 2005, 03:17 PM
weeluvmal
post Oct 4 2005, 03:11 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Silon @ Oct 4 2005, 02:24 PM)
did u went for an audition for the gigaworks? why not?

btw, how long have u been using the megaworks before it died on you? somehow, im beginning to question creative's speaker reliability

edit: also, if its been a year, have you spoken to creative about getting them to 'fix' the megaworks for you or anything like that? or did u just left it alone?

tried to get it repaired through the local distributor, the answer i got was:
Sorry, can't be fixed, the 510d is an obsolete set. and even if it can be fixed, it's better for u to get a new set, as the repairing fees is gonna be close to that.

also went to some electronics appliances repairing shops, ppl there have no idea of the design and dare not to fix the damn thing.. probably i've not search hard enough for a repairing shop, but i'd be leaving it aside for now as i'm happy with the Z5500.

This post has been edited by weeluvmal: Oct 4 2005, 03:12 PM
weeluvmal
post Oct 13 2005, 11:08 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(c3ksam @ Oct 11 2005, 10:10 PM)
logitech z5500 vs promedia gmx 5.1 ultra...... which one better?
i would favour the Z5500 for it's design and crispness.. not being too impressed with the GMX series the last time i audition it in the shop.. have yet to tried on any Promedia Ultra though..
weeluvmal
post Oct 13 2005, 11:13 AM

316 posts

<1k in lowyat..
weeluvmal
post Oct 17 2005, 09:44 AM

316 posts

those rear satelites placement really worth u some bash..

a little sharing of how i set up mine.. i have 4 speaker stands that can't fit my logitech sats.. so in turn i bought 4 foldable chairs (sanded plastic) with rubber feet, and there i have my speaker stands, cheap and nicely position height due to the fixed tilt angle of the z5500 sats..

so, forget the speaker stands, consider getting urself a pair of those, and u'll have distinctive rear surround..
weeluvmal
post Oct 17 2005, 10:23 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(jacky @ Oct 17 2005, 10:10 AM)
terencetoo, are u on an air-cond room?

i cannot let my z680 on in an non air-cond room cause the sub's heat sink will get extremely hot. Fear it will get kaboom..boom.

is your sub hot?
p/s: wah lau PSP drool.gif will get a PSP myself in future hehe thumbup.gif
i presume by not stuffing it to the corner of da room with no air flow, the sub shouldn't have any overheat kinda problem?
weeluvmal
post Oct 17 2005, 11:58 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Oct 17 2005, 11:23 AM)
mind to show how u place the chairs? i got mine speakers stand for rm 240...wasted..cant fit Z680 wonder iz the same for Z5500?
the usual rear left and right corners, put the speakers on the chair, put some tape to hold it in position if u want, a pair of those chair is cost <RM20. for sure this is not the most elegant design, but it's flexible and cheap. and most of all, i can't mount any speaker stand to the z5500 sats as there r not thread or hole for speaker stand mounting.. mad.gif

biggrin.gif and if there're guests in the house, those speakers are always ready to give way to the guests tongue.gif if u get wat i mean.. hehe..
weeluvmal
post Oct 17 2005, 04:36 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 17 2005, 03:09 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  do what Skevelim did lah ... mine are wall (drilled and screwed) mounted. All four sats are wall mounted. The two front sats are place 2 fts from the side of my monitor. Center sat below my monitor (i computer table is a old chepo one got to layer one). Surround speaker one on the left and one on the right of my seat. nothing placed at the back. its a 5.1 system not a 6.1 or 7.1 . therefore no rear sat  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
rented apartment with pre-cast wall, so wall mounting is the last thing in my list that i would do to mount my speakers. that's y i opted for foldable plastic+ aluminium chair mar.. btw, got those chairs in Tesco, and i have not heard any audio distortion/vibration caused by the chairs.. they have about the same foot prints as the speaker stands that i have.

those surround speakers ARE the rear speakers that i mentioned. rear speakers for rear channels, no? the point is to put the two rear ones at a location distanced enough so that positioning of different channels can be heard distinctively..

weeluvmal
post Nov 29 2005, 05:06 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(gryp_enigma @ Nov 27 2005, 08:53 PM)
hey is it normal for my z680 rear speaker to sound louder than my front speakers? will all front n back speakers be equal loudness even if i put my surround option to max?
If the control of Z680 is anything similar to Z5500 that i'm using, try to check ur Surround level, that's the adjustment for u to change the volume level of the rear channels..

if u r sitting slightly closer to ur three front channels, probably u would wanna up ur rear channels a little so that u get the surround feel (well, almost.. ideally u should be at the center of all five satelites).

This post has been edited by weeluvmal: Nov 29 2005, 05:11 PM
weeluvmal
post Feb 10 2006, 10:55 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(silverbolt143 @ Jan 29 2006, 01:14 AM)
hi guys, my z680 was around 2 months old...i had problem with the fuse attached with this speaker...first time the fuse get blown i still got a replacement for it (bundled together with the speaker) sweat.gif ..but now it seems the second fuse was also blown away cry.gif ..the fuse spec is T2AH, 250V 2A...

has anyone faced this problem before? i want to get the replacement for the fuse but not sure where to get it? can i get the replacement fuse at any local electrical shop/store?  unsure.gif
since no one is answering ur fuse question directly, well guess i'll do the honor for u.

just get any 2A fuse u can find.

i'm using Z5500 and the fuse blown twice, the first time was within 2 weeks. after that another one two months, after that the replacement lasted till date. btw, i'm staying in apartment.

This post has been edited by weeluvmal: Feb 10 2006, 10:59 PM
weeluvmal
post May 14 2008, 12:14 AM

316 posts

check if ur bass is rattling ur door or any objects in the loose / hanging..

hope ur hearing still alrite. blasting just for the sake of it is a quick way to kill your hearing.

0.0191sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:56 AM