PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread
simon82
Oct 26 2009, 03:57 PM
Yo guys.... Just bought an used z5500 set. Just wondering izzit possible to convert spdif to optical output?? Erm... My soundcard is a very old soundblaster 5.1 live.
Can anyone tell me the name of the convertor?? Wanna get better quality hopefully from optical cable.
simon82
Oct 26 2009, 05:14 PM
Ok... I see whether can find this in pasar pudu or not. Dont know they understand what I want also or not.. lolz..
simon82
Oct 27 2009, 11:28 AM
One more thing... I've got a weird problem. I think I've connected it properly since my soundblaster got color-coded miniplug output. Just find n match.
The funny thing is everything is working except my center speaker. I tried to test speakers utility in creative software (those left,right,center thingy) and it does work. But when I played my mp3.... I dont get 5.1. I think its 4.1 onli. How come?
My current setting now is : Input Direct : 6channel surround. (Onli this one works fully when I run the test speakers location thingy).
What am I doing wrong here?
simon82
Nov 1 2009, 12:48 PM
Anyone tried using optical cable?? I'm got some distortion at the rear speakers..... when running DTS..
It's like those sudden spike (pop/hissing sound every 5 sec..) Using spdif passthrough mode in Media Player ..
AC-3 is ok though...
simon82
Dec 4 2009, 06:27 PM
Sigh........ the screen backlight is flickering edi......... mayb signs of dying soon....... sob sob..
simon82
Dec 20 2009, 06:45 PM
Guys.... 2day I came back... turn on my pc.....
and my z5500 stopped working. no backlight but there's some words there....... so I try 2 turn off it back........ n turn on back.....
it turn off straight away.. izzit.. my logitech died edi??
simon82
Jan 12 2010, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Dec 28 2009, 12:37 AM) my zz500 centre speaker port (behind woofer) cant function. left right rear and front no problem. anyone know how to solve the problem? just got my z5500 console fixed...... now I have the same problem as yours..... except mine is rear right..... sigh..... so unlucky..
simon82
Jan 13 2010, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Jan 13 2010, 01:58 PM) any idea where i can find it??so far i only found one forumer selling monster 400 optical cable... and 1 more thing to ask...i am currently using creative X-Fi Surround 5.1(a usb sound card) and i saw it have an optical out on the sound card...so can i use it on z5500?? I bought a cheap optical cable from carrefour for 5 bux
simon82
Jan 14 2010, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(gto87 @ Dec 23 2009, 05:21 AM) Guys, I'm on the verge of buying either DA5000 Pro or Logitech z5500 by the end of this week together with Asus Xonar D2x. That sounds almost perfect for me until I heard many of my friends said that z5500 will die sooner than any other speaker sets. Only one of them used the Logitech before. I'm not like to listen to people as everybody have their own opinion but I read from the net, most of it were saying about the fuse problems. I'm aware that no speaker set is perfect but then then this speaker does not come cheap. It's RM1.3K. Almost similar to sony dvd surround system for god sake~ try google "z5500 fuse", you'll know why. EDIT: Done some thorough research just now and I found that the fuse problem is pretty common and almost every problem solved by replacing the fuse. Gonna search for any other problems and find the solution so that I'll be pretty much prepared when I have the speaker set.. Anyone with any experience with the z5500 can drop their comment. Thanks~ Other than that, the control pod oso got problem (maybe due to overheat)... When I turn on the control pod, I can hear a loud pop. Not sure why. The fuse itself is kinda hard to get in KL.
simon82
Jan 14 2010, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(dlyz @ Jan 14 2010, 02:31 PM) fuse... any decent electrical shop sure have... if it's 13A .. it's easy....... if it's 2A glass/ceramic slow blow fuse.... it's not..
simon82
Oct 5 2010, 09:29 PM
guys... need help here..
my control pod now.. wont response edi.. suddenly on and off by itself..
anyone knows where can fix it? No more warranty edi.. sob sob