PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread

cky80
post May 23 2007, 03:59 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

Has anyone tried to buy from Amazon or Dell (US)? The prices are so much cheaper!

Im thinking Amazon.com ($279 = ~RM980).
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002WPSBC/ref=no...BC&linkCode=asn

Is this worth it? Know anyone who bought it through this way? sad.gif
cky80
post Jun 5 2007, 12:31 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

hi all fellow z5500'ers!

i just got mine this weekend!! rclxms.gif will attach some pics later....at office now...

I got mine at rm1440 at thunder match in lowyat (top floor) but i feel kind of cheated.

i know they actually used the speakers before (got scratch on top of 1 satelite) and when i got the unit home i only realized no remote. KNNCCB THEM! vmad.gif mad.gif

then when i actually pasang the unit, i feel the bass not powerful enough! cry.gif cry.gif

i think they either sold me a 2nd hand or one return Z5500...cause they din wan to give warranty card with the set.

I need help:
1) I tried the test mode on the speakers, all 6 are firing, but im worried about the subwoofer. Doesnt feel like it has enough power as its suppose to be.

- any idea how to test the subwoofer? I need to know if its performing per the spec and wanna t*u kao the stupid THUNDERMATCH IN LOWYAT TOP FLOOR ppl if i find fault.

damn piss off with them...

cky80
post Jun 5 2007, 01:46 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(singleguy @ Jun 5 2007, 01:11 PM)
insist on warranty card ler.. if not better keep ur receipt well. Bass.. yeah mine to.. was expecting more like 680.. it feel like tune down, but a better sound card helps to.
Try putting ur sub underneath ur table or sumthing?
yeah put on the floor d. now need to email the logitech folks to see wat methods can be used to see if the sub is performing to spec.

aih..

i d/l all the techno and heavy rock songs d....to test it out. hahaha.
cky80
post Jun 6 2007, 10:00 AM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(justone @ Jun 5 2007, 11:44 PM)
S750 and d best 5.1 multimedia speakers Klipsch PM5.1 Ultra were using the BASH amp which is famous in overheating...

Logitech is famous in burning fuses, so its more reliable(cheaper i'd say) and u can easily swap it wif those slow burns...
oooo...how much is the klipsch pm5.1 ultra? man...i should have waited and din buy my z5500 so fast. keekek.

i think darude - sandstorm is a good song to test ur speakers biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
cky80
post Jun 11 2007, 12:18 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jun 11 2007, 12:01 PM)
You're very lucky lol i've been using this speaker for like a week and a half ? Lol. doh.gif

Anyway, i'm happy to report that it is the fuse that blew up. I replaced it with another 2A fuse though i'm not sure it's a slow burn type but it works nontheless. What a relief. Oh RM2 for 4 2A fuses just in case it burns again. laugh.gif I think it was because i was vaccuming my room yesterday. Maybe somewhat because of the high power of the vacuum it overloads the speaker circuit or something. sweat.gif Here's a pic of the original fuse and the one i replaced it with.
cool thanks joseph...will get a few as spares myself biggrin.gif....yeah ur vacum cleaner must have caused some current spikes if sharing the same power socket. tsk tsk...dun on pc same time when vacuming! rclxms.gif

was surfing earlier how to connect a darn digital optical or coax line to the z5500s....sigh. i matched it with my SB x-fi extreme music but no optical/digital out from that sound card directly! they have some funky 3.5mm 'flexijack' that needs a converter.

i have to get their creative i/o module for another ~rm100. what brilliant marketing strategy.. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by cky80: Jun 11 2007, 12:19 PM
cky80
post Jun 12 2007, 01:29 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 11 2007, 07:45 PM)
Haha ya loh, i m fuking sien to find the convetor from RCA male to 3.5mm minijack. Luckily, i got the coaxial cable at the same place i buy the yamaha amp. There do manually for me  tongue.gif bcos that field is their expert one ma  brows.gif 1.5M + minijack 3.55mm + gold head rca male = RM50  biggrin.gif
ehh ehh... u got SB soundcard too? x-fi? cool.gif

im gonna copy u now...cause i also lazy order from creative their 'tipu' converter.

how your sound quality after using co-ax? much better than the 6channel direct analog? sweat.gif

so in summary:

co-ax cable + minijack 3.5mm, + RCA male head = Fit SB card minijack hole?
the RCA male head is because of ur yamaha amp needs it rite?

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by cky80: Jun 12 2007, 01:45 PM
cky80
post Jun 13 2007, 11:59 AM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(justone @ Jun 12 2007, 04:12 PM)
creative cards -> 3.5mm male to RCA female -> coxial (RCA terminated) -> z5500

analog? d DAC is ur soundcard
digital? d DAC is ur Z5500 decoder
cool...thanks for the fyi! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 12 2007, 07:50 PM)
Ya, i got a SB Audigy oldest model SB009x series oem.

yes you are right , 3.5mm minijack for connect to my SB card while RCA male is for connect to Yamaha AV Amp.

I havent test yet, only by this Thurday i will get the amp  sweat.gif Haha seem i need to carry that amp into my school bag and travel by motorcycle  sweat.gif for around 30km.  rclxub.gif
ic ic..gud luck with ur bag! i bet the amp cost few K... $2xxx ? sweat.gif

QUOTE(CoolerMR @ Jun 12 2007, 11:03 PM)
There are 2 groups out there - blown fuse & the other since day 1 not probs.

Myself been using almost 3yrs never encounter blown fuse but unplug when not using.
hmmm...do u guys have this problem when u off the power, all the sub + centre settings dissappear? i thought suppose to save into the memory... hehe. rclxub.gif

cky80
post Jun 15 2007, 03:19 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jun 13 2007, 07:38 PM)
my yamaha amp is the entry level most lowest model one  doh.gif cost me 900  tongue.gif
hi hi jim,

hows ur amp? sounds gud? thumbup.gif

might wanna do the same if the sound cun. biggrin.gif
cky80
post Jul 18 2007, 10:02 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

My RIG! rclxms.gif

need some speaker stands for the rear speakers....kinda messy laugh.gif

cky80
post Jul 21 2007, 12:31 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(amacharu @ Jul 19 2007, 01:24 AM)
You connect it to PS3 also?  tongue.gif
QUOTE(xterminator @ Jul 19 2007, 02:39 PM)
You seems rich...off topic "How much is your cpu casing?"
I saw that casing b4....
Btw, kinda shakey there when turn it on loudly...
been saving up cash tongue.gif

cpu casing? cheap only...rm160! haha..aint that bad.

the table is solid...the sub is still on the floor so aint shaky brows.gif

ya i use the ps3 optical output to my z5500s. pc i used direct6 channel...wanted to get coax but have to buy a damn i/o converter for the soundcard! more cash! sad.gif
cky80
post Jul 23 2007, 05:21 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 22 2007, 02:07 AM)
^ Yeah especially the second skin, i like the purple standby light lol. Too bad the volume is not as loud as the normal skin hehe. sweat.gif

X-Fi? The Digital I/O Module is just RM72 in Trade Zone. Limited though. Mine should arrive next week.

Anyway i was at Lowyat Plaza today because my SPACE UTM class got cancelled so i decided to hang around for a bit and find my speaker cable. I bought 20m worth of cable from that audiophile shop at the ground floor. It's a silver copper branded Pyramid (ever heard of this brand ?) cable with thick plastic thingy covering it. Worth RM250. sweat.gif I already have a cheapo optical connector that i bought from Giant, but that shop offered me an optical cable worth RM99 for RM50 so i ended up spending RM300 at that shop. sweat.gif Now i'm using the cables, i have no idea the cable will need burning in or whatever but it sure sounds damn good.  nod.gif
yeah i got x-fi xtreme music like urs also. haha! rclxms.gif

i got PM from someone selling the i/o module for rm72 also...was wondering if it was really worth it.

hows ur new cables? can u actually hear the difference with them? im not a real audiophile, so wont really notice for me.

but if its really obvious i just might change biggrin.gif

how bout direct6channel to optical/coax? any real difference to the layman? thumbup.gif
cky80
post Jul 24 2007, 01:49 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

print out a copy and show the pic to the shop keeper.

no need words....at most just need to say: Got or not? laugh.gif

0.0529sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:47 AM