PC logitech z5500/z680/z5450 thread, all about logitech speakers thread

Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 04:31 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Sep 16 2005, 09:49 AM)
U sure Z5500 at rm 1.5~1.6k? what about Z680?

Act i read lots of review on logitech Z5500 n Z680..

Some user said that get a "Monster THX certified optical cable" for the Z5500 it works very very well.... Anyone try this setting using opitical cable? It seems Z5500 have much better sound clarity n less hiss compare to Z680...  rolleyes.gif

While Z680 using RCA cable...im very confused...which one is better in terms of wire connection?  huh.gif

The Z5500 still uses the old pattern computer speaekrs cable...Whereas, the Z680 uses a hi-fi wiring connection? Any ways to improved the sound system in Z680? Or any better THX RCA cables for Z680?

Seems useless to replace another 90% same specifications in Z680 n Z5500...but i might consider if the price went down..

P/s" heard Z5500 selling rm 1300 in LYP??
i think i can share some taughts,
first of, z80 does not use a single rca at all, only 5300 does,

680 uses screw cap to connects tha speakers and spring clip to connet to ta woofer, so for connection is pratically same as 5500, as long as its above 5300 range, its okay, just change to some decent audio cables to reduce noise and improve clarity(personal experience)

5500 IS selling about 15xx in lowyat, just check today, actually ta performance does improve alot to 680 if u do examine and listen properly, but casual listening does not really make up alot of different except for ta henfty price.

if u willing to spend on 1.5k pay Rm100 extra get a level entry home theatre set, performs much better and lots of inputs and settings, wink.gif

as for ta Hiss u mention, i call it noise ratio, most high power system have em , but mostly unnotice from a far, but i do notice ...the better the response range the lesser noise ration there is....doesnt not know if its 100 true but just my taughts,

there are ways to reduces the noise try google, but for z680 rev 1.03 the noise tis terrible newer rev 1.12 is much much better.... thumbup.gif

optical cables doesnt help much if your sources produce low digital output, any optical cable will do, i doubt u using this speakers with 2k dvd player or HD player right..... sweat.gif

hopes this help u clear up ur doubts~~ by all means z-680 is very very value or money at the moment,
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 05:59 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

well i have to agreed, logitech's bass is loud ,but dont have tat long throw woofer 's solid feel, tat ooohmmp, as u might say...
but its very decent enough for the price man, we have to agreed price VS performance it all come to value of the product,

i choose (i think mostly also) logitechs speakers mainly on the value of the speakers,

if i want performance i frankly wont choose creative, nor logitech, i move to ta next level, proper home theatre amps and speakers, ANY brand also can beat ta heck out of any pc speakers any hour or time loh~~

so buddy , i have to think for ur self loh, wat u buy the speakers for? no point comparing cause all speakers HAVE limitation, nothing is perfect.

so by buying pc speakers of course u are on budget right, so....
if u want music ,clearity feel, get ones with proper driver like creative or klipsh,

on the other hand, if u want bass and conectivities like optical, spdif, coaxial, get logitech loh....

regards, good luck on ur choice....
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 07:01 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(Silon @ Sep 18 2005, 06:14 PM)
so youre basically saying that all of us [the people who bought and are planning to buy the gigaworks and the PMU] are just fools? biggrin.gif  rolleyes.gif

i dont know if this is true, but it is to my belief that HT Systems are tuned for bass and effects, not *that* suitable for music.

PC speakers? any brand can beat them? the gigaworks and megaworks were built by the engineers from cambridge soundworks. C.soundworks was started by a person [the late henry kloss if im not mistaken] who was very much involded in hifis. the PMU were from Klipsch. they make hifis all the way down to pc speakers. i dont think theyre 'easy' to beat  thumbup.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif not to be sarcastic here, i didnt know i step on your toes boy, sorry loh, i did know u were feeling like a fool for buying pc range speakers . i didnt even try to state or indicate that.... i'm feel u man,,, i'm simpatise u too~ sweat.gif

first of i'm just helping ta dude to choose wat speakers to buy, not insulting u nor making u feels like a fool for buying pc range speakers.....,which i have some doubts now,

just because u think chambridge certified soundworks means absolute perfect for every range of usage dude, its just merely marketing tactics boy, i'm sorry u cant afford to experience proper home theatre sound stage, but tat does mean pc range are bad, man, i just means there are no perfect speakers around boy, its more to personal taste on how u match the built to your listening prefferences....

and klipsh are good no doubt , erm but maybe u and i are on a different level of audiophiles, but thier pc range totally sucks, why would someone built a 5.1 pc range without giving analog 5.1 in? well i believe they sound sweeter than 680 but dont u feel its a very ametuer approches to pc range market by not giving better connectivity?? as for logitech its is powerful in bass but lack multiple driver to makes a more dynamic sound than kilpsh, but its cheap kay....

so like i said nothing is perfect , like u for example, u might not be in ta big league but that doesnt make u a noob, i repect u share ur opinion but peace lah dude, i did say u a noob or an idiot...wats with the fury? doh.gif

everyone here is just trying to help ta chap to make better choices in buying speakers he dont have much chance to test,
so .........cool boy.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Sep 18 2005, 07:11 PM
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 07:13 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

yup yup. i totally agreed on your taughts man, 680 was Rm14xx here last time, but now only Rm9xx, maybe sooner will 5500 also becomes cheaper hahaa....

oh u are in AUS? oooh so even, cari ausie dollar so nice....
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 07:30 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(hippies @ Sep 18 2005, 07:24 PM)
hahaha yalooh loh, actually if i were u,hwoarang,.... i just let him be in his noob states, let him be... people try to share taughts and help others while he thinks people attacking his week mind....ish wat a piece of work.... sweat.gif

i think he is desperate for attention, or maybe mommy never hug him when he was little, just sad.... doh.gif  notworthy.gif
sweat.gif wooi no need to work ah , so free to write insults....

@terencetoo, so u decides to wait for 5500 price drop? are u in AUS or malaysia? if in MY, why not buy 680 , so darn cheap here in malaysia... about Rm990 at Sri only.....
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 10:46 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

@Silon sure sure, no harm done but we all getting smarter by sharing infos, lets dont be negative tats all~

@terencetoo, Gmx is okay loh, much sounds more dynamic than 680 but then again it aint on ta same value (price vs performance) for me, lowyat i saw ALLIT priced at Rm1120, while i got my 680 at Rm980 ,

680 have single drivers so doesnt sound tat clear than GMX, but GMX doesnt have 5.1 analog in, which a total drag when u wanna used it for pc surround gaming unless u used it for xbox then okay loh~ heehehee..

so its more up to user based in the end.....
i'll give creative s750 a thumb ups if...i say...if u willing to spend Rm1.8k loh, but when u reached Rm1.5k for pc speaker range, i preffered to opt for full length amps like level entry pioneer 815,

and match with decent speakers, tat will only top to say RM2.1k without sub..... level entry JBL sub everage about Rm5xx- 600 only.....

much much more worth it, but then again tats a total different league.... hahahaaa..... nanti masuk 3k class pula hahahaaa....

i have an idea of my own, but keep it to urself ssshhhhhhh~~~~ lol
i going to find some decent 2 way bookshelf speakers and change into my 680, while retaining its surround speakers and woofer, see wat it sound like hahaa..... wat u guys thinks? lol~~ simple budget mod...
Hwoarang45
post Sep 18 2005, 11:28 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

well too bad malaysia sucks if not i order this for my pc and console liao ,already an old model, never see here also...

http://reviews.designtechnica.com/review2654.html

it everage at USD 310 only, thats Rm1178+- but ta thing is lever entry home theatre drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

even got analog 5.1 in can be used in pc even small hall gaming/movie hahaa...

10 incher woofer lagi~~ thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Sep 20 2005, 09:19 AM
Hwoarang45
post Sep 19 2005, 04:38 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

good news i'm selling a brand new z-680 for my cousin, here's ta link
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=199447
Hwoarang45
post Sep 19 2005, 10:22 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

actually my cousin estimated one, carry some sattelite while bag ta woofer, but his laptop and stuff already too much, hahaha check ta shipping, shockingly expensive lol~~~
so i have to sell this for him asap....

wah yamaha sooo cheap~~!!? i so so ooooo envy u over there.....
Hwoarang45
post Sep 20 2005, 09:23 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

apa lah yamaha, malay hahaaaa.. its 100% japanese hhahahaa~
anyway, they have better digital processor, Digital Sound Processing (DSP), found in thier much expensive home theatre amps......

Yamaha's patented Advanced Active Servo Technology also generates incredible bass from small speaker enclosures......

96kHz/24-bit digital-to-analog converters,120-watt subwoofer,3/4" balanced dome tweeters and a center speaker .......

hahaha need to say more , hahaa...

USD309 is a steal if u ask me~~

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Sep 20 2005, 09:26 AM
Hwoarang45
post Sep 25 2005, 06:46 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 25 2005, 06:21 PM)
i have checked Logitech.com and Z680 IS NO LONGER in the catalogue list. Does it mean, it has stop production ? if that is the case ... grab the remaining sets that are available people ...
Because different regions carries different product line, for z-680 dont see US region, then dont carry it,

plus ta logitech site is darn slow one, see malaysia region ,have much of the product sold here....is not listed, eg. Z-5500.... shakehead.gif
Hwoarang45
post Sep 29 2005, 11:02 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

boom boom boom, blast away dude, do it late night 3am, syok~~!
Hwoarang45
post Sep 29 2005, 11:02 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

boom boom boom, blast away dude, do it late night 3am, syok~~!
Hwoarang45
post Jun 24 2006, 09:22 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

anyone selling thier z-680 can pm me too, also i'm selling logitech x-530, willing to trade to 680 or 5300 plus top up too...

just moved my pc to ta hall, so need more powerful speakers to pump my hall..

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jun 24 2006, 09:23 PM
Hwoarang45
post Jun 26 2006, 09:15 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(mxploit @ Jun 25 2006, 11:05 PM)
Err...the website exist? Tried but no page found.
go to 4th floor, beside senq, look for PC THREE TECHNOLOGY , look for Boon Fei,

just got a logitech z-5300 there yesterday. cheapest in lowyat,(after some pro sales nego from me hahaa) and thier stock all new and unopen.. unlike SRI, old,
expensive stuff, even ALLIT's one are open (z-5300).

Hwoarang45
post Jul 15 2006, 02:46 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

yes u can if u use coaxial spdif out , connect to coaxial digital in, in your z5500 panel, your sound card have to set digital out only,

but this only benifits when u run movie ,eg. powerdvd set to spdif output, on games, u dont have real surround liao, only prologic. from stereo convert.

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jul 15 2006, 02:46 AM
Hwoarang45
post Jul 15 2006, 02:49 AM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

both also can, since z5500 have both

@Intrigue, keep us updated, kay

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jul 15 2006, 02:50 AM
Hwoarang45
post Jul 16 2006, 03:55 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

i never used mine, so i can't help you to be in detail.

all u need to select spdif out, or something like digital out in your soundcard panel.

are u using optical cable or coaxial?

Hwoarang45
post Jul 17 2006, 07:08 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(hypEr_mad @ Jul 16 2006, 10:03 PM)
hahaha i am using on board sound, no sound card at this particular moment planing to get one but no idea which one to get hahaha any recomendations
well depends on your budget, i'm using xi-fi music, upgraded from audigy 2 zs platinium, frankly, i feel no much different, yup, pretty darn costly upgrade.

if u only use for movies and music i suggest u get any card within your budget with spdif out, if you into gaming ,then an creative series will do decent job fine.

for spdif out on soundblaster , u have to find a fairly rare cable, with connections like this,

mono 3.5mm minijack to mono coaxial.

hopes this helps

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jul 17 2006, 07:09 PM
Hwoarang45
post Jul 19 2006, 07:51 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Jul 17 2006, 11:13 PM)
hmm.. i think must be your Z5300.. change to Z5500 and i think u can feel the difference. : poison :  tongue.gif
i'm talking about xi-fi not the speakers, sweat.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Jul 18 2006, 03:05 PM)
I finally found the Z-2300 the other day for RM599.
Was reallllyyyy tempted to get it. smile.gif
why not get 5300, add abit more, Rm6xx only, u get 5.1 goodness..

This post has been edited by Hwoarang45: Jul 19 2006, 07:52 PM

0.0209sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:34 AM