vikingw2k
post Jan 4 2011, 08:53 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Jan 4 2011, 08:49 AM)
Hi guys,

Wanna ask..I wanna do some Macro, which is better?

1) Raynox adaptor
2) Reverse Ring
3) Teleconverter

Which is the best?

But dont ask me to buy Macro lens la.. i am a poor fella la. Thanks.
No you don't use a teleconverter to do macro. I guess you were referring to extension tubes. Given a choice, I'll go with Raynox anytime. smile.gif

vikingw2k
post Jan 4 2011, 12:03 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:01 PM)

drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif I'm drooling now...Look at the crabss weeeei drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

and where is ang mo kio?
Singapore.
vikingw2k
post Jan 4 2011, 12:20 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:07 PM)
biggrin.gif Thx! Will visit there or ask my friend to bring me there when I'm there but I cant eat crabs much =( Allergic to it.
There's another one at Toa Payoh Lorong 8 which is pretty notorious for its crabs. $88 for one damn crab. tsk tsk.
vikingw2k
post Jan 6 2011, 01:26 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 6 2011, 01:22 AM)
my laptop going down~! sien hardly to on9....
trying contrasty B&W on other pc which im not familiar the screen with... need C&C plz

The couple blended into the background. I mean, the fence.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Jan 6 2011, 01:26 AM
vikingw2k
post Jan 6 2011, 03:37 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jan 6 2011, 03:22 PM)
previously poisoned by 50mm f/1.4 and now 85mm f/1.4... it will never end =(
If it stops there, Nikon will never be able to last long. So, just buy buy buy! biggrin.gif
vikingw2k
post Jan 6 2011, 03:50 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Jan 6 2011, 03:39 PM)
I haven't bought lenses for 2 months... and it feels like 20 years already...
Buying new toys and upgrading gears is just like smoking cigarattes so don't tell me stuff like you've been smoking plenty packs of cigarattes this month and you are damn sure you won't have any urge the following month. biggrin.gif

vikingw2k
post Jan 6 2011, 04:33 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Jan 6 2011, 04:24 PM)
I am in US now and the lens here are cheaper than Malaysia so i plan to upgrade my D3100 kit lens to a better one, can any sifu here recommend what will be lens i should buy that is with good features and reasonable price ? I am a newbie in DSLR so need some advices here...

I saw these two lens in a camera shop:

Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro Zoom Lens
Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD

Which one is better as both are 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 ?

In US , they offer 6 years worldwide warranty for Tamron lens and cheaper than Malaysia...

What's the pricing for both the lenses?

The difference that I can see here is one has VC and another doesn't. If the price gap is not that much by all means go for the VC version. VC helps a heap especially when you are using long focal length lens.
vikingw2k
post Jan 7 2011, 01:05 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Jan 7 2011, 01:03 AM)
testing my tammy sharpness... long time put in bag only

The color seems like washed out.
vikingw2k
post Jan 7 2011, 03:53 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(g_pentium @ Jan 7 2011, 02:42 PM)
any ideas how to capture perfect bokeh using d7k?
Several factors that will affect bokeh.

Focal Length - The longer the focal length, the more bokeh it is. E.g. Telephoto lenses

Sensor - Full frame bodies produce more umph bokeh compared to cropped sensor bodies if you mount the same lens on both.

Distance between subject and camera - The nearer the distance between the subjecct to the camera, the more bokeh it is.

Distance between subject and background - The further the distance between the subject and the background, the more bokeh you get.

Aperture - The bigger the aperture, the more bokeh you get. e.g. f1.0, f1.2, f1.4

vikingw2k
post Jan 7 2011, 04:08 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(eddy230379 @ Jan 7 2011, 04:01 PM)
those heart shaped bokeh looks really nice ...
Give it a try then, it's easy to produce heart shaped bokeh, but whether you can produce a nice picture with heart shaped bokeh rather than a pointless shot just to show heart shaped bokeh is another matter. You can always refer to the online guides on the other patterns that you can cut out to produce other shapes. smile.gif
vikingw2k
post Jan 16 2011, 12:46 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jan 15 2011, 11:51 AM)
Haha yeah. It is either the 1.8 or 1.2 for Canon users. But at the moment can consider the Sigma 85 f/1.4, I heard about RM2600. Pretty good price.

I've used the 1.2L before for event with both 1Dmk4 and 5Dmk2, horrible experience. Initially friend switched with D90+70200 and he borrowed me his 5Dmk2+85L. Shoot a lot of out of focus, downstep to f/1.4 also bad accuracy. Then I thought its due to 5Dmk2's lousy AF system, took his 1Dmk4 instead. Also same case LOL. Thought my focus method incorrect, cause that time I don't own any big aperture lens.

Until recently when I bought my own 85G, I finally realized how sucky Canon focusing system is indoor tongue.gif. Canon may focus faster than Nikon, but hit rate is bad especially the 24L, 50L and 85L. The 100L seems ok though.
I see that you are having hard time handling big aperture lenses. Perhaps you should stick to lenses above f2.8 considering you mentioned that 100L seems ok. biggrin.gif

Let me enlighten you a little, testing a lens is not like eating nasi lemak where you get to taste everything the moment you swallow it down your throat. You'll have learn its characteristic and it takes time to understand it. You might have screwed up your first experience with those premium lenses due to your inexperienced handling in big aperture lenses but if you were to conclude saying all of their focusing sucks then I would suggest you to just stick with budget lenses.

On the other hand, focusing on 85mm f1.4 is obviously a lot faster compared to f1.2. The F number is already obvious unless you have difficulty in differentiating between f1.2 and f1.4. I own a 85L and also a Sigma 85mm f1.4 HSM. The Kegma beats my Keg in focusing speed significantly, I wouldn't deny that. I own a 5D2, 1D3 and 50D and I hardly need to whip out my 1D3 to shoot just because my 5D2 focusing forces me to do so. I own close to 20 Canon premium lenses and the lenses which actually gives me some 'challenge' in focusing is my 85L and 50mm f1.0. I wouldn't blame them cause they reward me heavily when I manage to tame them.

Also, if the focusing is really that bad, I guess those NatGeo photographers must be damn noob to have use Canon whitey bazooka to shoot. Same goes to Olympic official photos. Almost every big events you can see whiteys don't ya? smile.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Jan 15 2011, 07:52 PM)
@bold : Must be user problems. I handle 24, 35, 50, 85, 135 and even 200L all can get in focus. Hit rate is very very high with MKIV or MKII.
LoL, couldn't agree more. Very obvious user's problem. I fully agree that both my Canon EF 85mm f1.2 Mark II L USM and Canon EF 50mm f1.0 L USM are slowpokey lenses. They are damn hard to tame when I first got them, once you get used to handling big apertures, your hit rate will certainly improve and you'll start loving them.

This post has been edited by vikingw2k: Jan 16 2011, 12:50 PM
vikingw2k
post Jan 16 2011, 02:28 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jan 16 2011, 01:26 PM)
not sure wat aperture i was using(that time very noob) when i tried Viking's 5DMkII with 85L
but i did get better AF than my D5000(maybe its D5000 problem)
it was then i was poison by 85mm on FF sensor, so hence my hunt for 50mm on cropped sensor begins  tongue.gif
Get a Siggy 50mm f1.4 HSM. Damn good 50mm. Don't need to go that extreme for f1.2 unless you got extra money to splash.
vikingw2k
post Jan 16 2011, 08:05 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(nooboy @ Jan 16 2011, 07:19 PM)
hi
between this 2
Nikkor 50mm f1.4 AIS and Nikkor 50mm f1.8

which is good ?? any comment?

Added on January 16, 2011, 7:20 pmhow abot this?
Nikon AF 50mm F1.8D
Have your surveyed on Siggy 50mm f1.4 HSM? It's better than the both lenses mentioned by you.

0.0382sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:06 AM