Nokia N8 V19 - Monstrous Cameraphone, Godlike, Sifu and Noob level welcome

Andy214
post Dec 25 2010, 05:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Dec 25 2010, 02:57 PM)
I got the 50mm 1.8 for RM299 together with the camera purchase. Quite a worthwhile investment if you want to shoot objects. Not sure if it works well for portraits as I have not found a test subject yet.
Sure you can, 50mm on your crop sensor will become medium telephoto, e.g. 50mm X 1.6 = 80mm.
Try taking shots with spotlights as background (e.g. Christmas tree), shoot at f/1.8 or f/2, you'll get very nice bokeh from the spotlights.

Added on December 25, 2010, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(alexlimco @ Dec 25 2010, 02:24 PM)
N8 vs 550D. Looks like I will have to play more with the camera before I can improve.

Your 550D using the 50mm f/1.8 prime lens, sure better loh; With wide aperture, you can shoot in lowlight without flash, but you will get shallow depth on field (see your food not all focus, the depth is shallow).
N8 max aperture is f/2.8, so if low lighting, it'll need to lower the shutter speed and/or increase the ISO, or use flash.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 25 2010, 05:55 PM

0.0529sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:39 PM