Question about Blu-ray
TSbigbangformula
Dec 23 2010, 12:45 PM, updated 15y ago
Hey guys how much does a Blu-ray disc cost?I know there are single-layer(25GB) and dual-layer(50GB) discs,so how much does each cost? And is it expensive to burn our own Blu-ray?Like getting a Blu-ray burner for the PC,buying the Blu-ray discs,and burning stuff onto it?How much does a Blu-ray burner cost?Don't get me wrong,I just want to store all my HD stuff on the Blu-Ray discs  I'm planning to get a new Blu-Ray player,Samsung BD-C550 soon Correct me if I'm wrong please  I'm new to this stuff
jchong
Dec 23 2010, 01:36 PM
It's probably more cost effective and convenient to store all your HD stuff on hard disks and play back using a media player.
TSbigbangformula
Dec 23 2010, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 23 2010, 01:36 PM) It's probably more cost effective and convenient to store all your HD stuff on hard disks and play back using a media player. You are probably right  Was just wondering though,cos I want to know more Should have asked this in the Blu-ray thread,didn't realize there was one
SUSchokia
Dec 23 2010, 02:42 PM
I hate the bluRAy thread, what they're discussing is bluray titles they bought from Amazon, then continue with the delivery date ship etc over-enthusiatically. They want those free gifts packaged with the BD in the box as a collectibles. They enjoy open each disc case, reading the content on the booklet or box, load the the disc, and play and keep all again bla bla rather than to have a home HD database in the server, choose movie from an iphone-like coverflow and stream anywhere in the house.
lariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
nwk
Dec 23 2010, 02:52 PM

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 23 2010, 02:42 PM) I hate the bluRAy thread, what they're discussing is bluray titles they bought from Amazon, then continue with the delivery date ship etc over-enthusiatically. They want those free gifts packaged with the BD in the box as a collectibles. They enjoy open each disc case, reading the content on the booklet or box, load the the disc, and play and keep all again bla bla rather than to have a home HD database in the server, choose movie from an iphone-like coverflow and stream anywhere in the house. lariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii aww... you are just jealous of those guys who can actually afford to buy BDs unlike you who only know how to rip off HD movies......
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 23 2010, 02:42 PM) I hate the bluRAy thread, what they're discussing is bluray titles they bought from Amazon, then continue with the delivery date ship etc over-enthusiatically. They want those free gifts packaged with the BD in the box as a collectibles. They enjoy open each disc case, reading the content on the booklet or box, load the the disc, and play and keep all again bla bla rather than to have a home HD database in the server, choose movie from an iphone-like coverflow and stream anywhere in the house. lariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Some people likes to collect junk. Hey, it's their money. Who are you to complain?  TS: Burning HD movies to BluRay is expensive and waste of time. It's cheaper just to buy another hard disks and more convenient. This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2010, 03:04 PM
Andrewtst
Dec 23 2010, 03:23 PM
Just copy to hard disk. Easier, convenient, fast and cost saving.
trapezohedron13
Dec 23 2010, 03:29 PM
lol ya lor, sad to say that got hd players in the market. rm160+ for 1 tb hdd = almost 1000 movies if average 2gb. even if u power pack got 20-40 gb movies, still can fit around 20-30 movies. 160/30=~RM5 per movie. err, maybe add internet bill and electricity...but aiya, come on laaa
piscesguy
Dec 23 2010, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(nwk @ Dec 23 2010, 02:52 PM) aww... you are just jealous of those guys who can actually afford to buy BDs unlike you who only know how to rip off HD movies......  +1
TSbigbangformula
Dec 23 2010, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 03:02 PM) Some people likes to collect junk. Hey, it's their money. Who are you to complain?  TS: Burning HD movies to BluRay is expensive and waste of time. It's cheaper just to buy another hard disks and more convenient. QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 23 2010, 03:23 PM) Just copy to hard disk. Easier, convenient, fast and cost saving. Ya,convenient way too to copy the HD movies to HDD,but I gotta ask,where do u guys get the movies from?Can tell me please?
SUSchokia
Dec 23 2010, 09:53 PM
hey that one cannot discuss ok
follow me
lariiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
piscesguy
Dec 24 2010, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Dec 23 2010, 06:16 PM) Ya,convenient way too to copy the HD movies to HDD,but I gotta ask,where do u guys get the movies from?Can tell me please?  Buy Blu-ray, of course..
nwk
Dec 24 2010, 09:28 AM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Dec 23 2010, 06:16 PM) Ya,convenient way too to copy the HD movies to HDD,but I gotta ask,where do u guys get the movies from?Can tell me please?  you can buy LCD tv but cannot afford to buy BD? This post has been edited by nwk: Dec 24 2010, 09:29 AM
piscesguy
Dec 24 2010, 09:38 AM
Most people choose to put $ on their hardware but not on software..
nwk
Dec 24 2010, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 24 2010, 09:38 AM) Most people choose to put $ on their hardware but not on software.. that is so pathethic, isn't it?
piscesguy
Dec 24 2010, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(nwk @ Dec 24 2010, 09:40 AM) that is so pathethic, isn't it? Yes!
trapezohedron13
Dec 24 2010, 10:02 AM
can get used bd's from garage sale here ma... once watch finish, then resell or keep, up to u. 1 day save rm10, 1 week can get 1 bd, ok mah!
TSbigbangformula
Dec 24 2010, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Dec 24 2010, 09:38 AM) Most people choose to put $ on their hardware but not on software.. QUOTE(nwk @ Dec 24 2010, 09:40 AM) that is so pathethic, isn't it? Lol guys you musn't assume what I mean so fast...
dariofoo
Dec 24 2010, 06:46 PM
In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king
QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Dec 24 2010, 12:10 PM) Lol guys you musn't assume what I mean so fast... How else to assume,bro? You were planning to download illegal bootleg stuff and burn it onto a BD right?
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
Dec 24 2010, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(trapezohedron13 @ Dec 24 2010, 10:02 AM) can get used bd's from garage sale here ma... once watch finish, then resell or keep, up to u. 1 day save rm10, 1 week can get 1 bd, ok mah! Fantastic idea..keep it up..