Pet Help Planted Aquarium V6, a garden inside a glass cube

justordinary
post Jul 5 2011, 11:22 PM

233 posts

Is Bacter100, Clear Super, Tourmaline BC, Penac W, Penac S neccessary? What size of co2 tank should i use if i start a 1ft tank or 2ft tank?

And what filter should i use for a 1ft and 2ft tank?
justordinary
post Jul 8 2011, 03:29 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jul 6 2011, 12:30 AM)
justordinary,

Bacter100 for Bacteria , Clear Super for clear up the water , and other not really needed... IMO...
bout co2 get as big as you can... caused you refill it once in a blue moon... if the small size u might need refill it 2 months once or shorter... depends how many bps u use...

for 1 Feet just get HOB will do
bout 2 feet suggest you get Canister Filter...
do take note, Filter is HEART of planted tank... go for EHEIM brand if you can afford if not JEBO or EJET also can...
=)
remember CANISTER FILTER ONLY.....
other than that, will caused co2 losses due to water surface disturb too much...
Hey thanks for the reply. May i know what is the minimum budget i have to expect for a 2 feet tank?

Things I need to get for a 2 feet tank,

-Tank
-Canister Filter
-co2 tank.
-Lightings
-Bacter 100
-Clear Super
-Plants and driftwoods.

What about the substrate? What types of substrate do i need? I'm really confused reading all the terms so hope someone will explain to me in easier language heh.

justordinary
post Jul 8 2011, 03:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jul 8 2011, 10:25 AM)
Tank : Normal LFS rm35 can get already
Canister Filter : RM160 Ejet brand, 850 l/h is sufficient for planted tank
co2 tank : Solenoid RM290 ( negociate with them ) co2 tank RM150 for 4 pound (Fire extinguisher type)
lightings : PLL 55Watt is enough for 2 feet around rm80
Bacter 100: RM 2 for a scoop... just get around 4 scope will do
Clear super : rm2 per scoop get 2 scoop
plant and driftwood hard to estimate due to the shape and type the price is different from every LFS...
roughly RM150 for a medium good type... ( well this depends on how and type u want... hard to say the price )

last but not least you need RM88 (9Liter Regular) Amazonia Soil...

oh ya forgot to calculate the Diffuser and etc stuff another RM100 i think... =)
just buy 1 by 1, dont one shot... or not you will feel EXPENSIVE... lolz
Damn. This is an expensive hobby to start. tongue.gif

So for the substrate it's only Amazonia Soil?

I can get all these at a LFS right? What is diffuser? I guess I'll skip chiller first because my room 24/7 air conditioned.
justordinary
post Jul 10 2011, 03:06 PM

233 posts

Should i go for aluminium co2 cylinder or fire extinguisher type? FE is sooo huge. :/
justordinary
post Jul 10 2011, 04:42 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ Jul 10 2011, 03:32 PM)
bigger is better..can last for longer time...
Cause my room got limited space and I'm afriad the FE looks too bulky and space consuming heheh.

My budget is Rm1k. But still in dilemma of 1 ft or 2ft tank.
justordinary
post Jul 11 2011, 12:57 AM

233 posts

Actually i don't understand why

1) 1 feet tank is harder to maintain compared to 2 feet tank?

2) Do you guys put your aquarium under indirect sunlight?

3) What should determine a good regulator? Is the pressure gauge important? And what type of diffuser that you guys use?

4) Does ALL LFS sells Bacter100 and clear super in seperate form? I mean as in term of buy per scoop? Should we supplement bacter100 and clear super every month? Or just for initial start up?

5) Is Eheim 2213 or 2215 more suitable for a 2ft tank?

6) Any links to read about plants and their maintenance? I think i already know what are the basics equips for a planted tank and now i need infos on flora and fauna and some maintenance clue!

This post has been edited by justordinary: Jul 11 2011, 02:07 AM
justordinary
post Jul 11 2011, 03:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
1.  smaller tank with lesser volume of water has less stable water parameter to higher volume water...

2.  no we dont put it under direct sunlight... if possible, away from sun light... fully dependent on the lighting fixtures can control the amount of lighting time 100%...

3.  solenoid regulator is the best... make sure no leaking whatsoever and the pressure is stable... pressure gauge important to check if there is any more co2 left in the cylinder... just get any diffuser available in LFS... most of them will work... but overtime when algae starts to grow on the diffuser, it gets harder to clean and eventually u will need to replace it...

4.  not all LFS sells bacter100 and clear super... if they do carry them, they usually sell them in separate form (per scoop or per bottle).... initial start up is sufficient...

5.  Eheim 2213 is sufficient... dont get filters which has too high LPH for a small tank... even with flow regulator on, u will create lots of pressure in ur canister filter... this will wear off the o-ring....

6.  google for ADA...
Thanks for the reply. Hmm will not be considering solenoid regulator for the time being due to budget constraints. Which LFS that anyone know that they carry Bacter100 and Clear Super? I'm from Subang Jaya btw.

Initial start up is sufficient already? Cause i've read some articles/forum saying that we need the bacter to stabilize the ecosystem within the tank that will clear the water up.

What sort of manual regulator should i get? Or any will do as long as it have a working pressure gauge?

So Eheim 2213 is good enough for a 2 ft tank? What about lighting? 8000k 55w or should i get lower than 55w cause i've read higher watts makes the plants yellowish. I'm willing to spend abit more to invest in a good filter and lighting system. biggrin.gif

What fertilizer should we get for daily/weekly dosage to maintain the health of the plants? And for the substrate, can i have reviews of sifus here regarding Amazonia I compared to Amazonia II?

This post has been edited by justordinary: Jul 11 2011, 05:45 AM
justordinary
post Jul 11 2011, 06:13 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(freestyler87 @ Jul 11 2011, 08:51 AM)
use your 4 feet tank Height  x Width  x Length then divide by 1000
and use that number to times 4  that that's your filter hour/ liter.... use that look for suitable filter...

p/s: normally they would recommended 2 times of your tank volume... but prefer overfilter ( watch out of tornado haha )

eg:

standard 2 feet tank ( 60 x 30 x 30 / 1000 = 54 liter )

54 x 4 =216 h/l flow rate i needed for my filter...
but i get a canister which 850 l/h it just suit nice on my 2 feet tank....
lol  tongue.gif
Oops. I think 2215 is quite abit over my budget. Will 2213 be good enough? If not then i will have to save up and get 2215. Will not be upgrading the tank to bigger size already.

Considering this formula, 2213 is good enough already for a 2 feet tank giving 400 l/h flow rate.

This post has been edited by justordinary: Jul 11 2011, 06:13 PM
justordinary
post Jul 11 2011, 06:19 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ Jul 11 2011, 06:15 PM)
don't think too much about filter, u will go crazy
if u go to some LFS, peek under the cabinet, most of them use chapalang filter only, still the aquarium look damn nice
filter is important, but don't break your bank buying one

spend more on plants and ferts
Alright thanks for advise. What sort of ferts do you guys use on daily and weekly basis?
justordinary
post Jul 13 2011, 02:59 AM

233 posts

Anyone have a list of low maintenance plant to medium to high maintenance plants?

Can i have a list of plants that doesn't require co2? Is there any carpeting grass that only require lights and nutrient from water? What about Japanese Hair Grass?

Want to try to plant them at my dad's betta nano tank. wink.gif

And what HOB filter do you guys recommend for a nano tank? Approximately 1 ft cube. Is sponge filter good enough already?

This post has been edited by justordinary: Jul 13 2011, 05:19 AM
justordinary
post Jul 13 2011, 05:46 PM

233 posts

Carpet grass are not suitable for tank without co2? :/

0.0224sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:13 PM