Please give opinions...in a dilemma, Which hdtv to choose?
ZeneticX
Dec 23 2010, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 09:41 AM) TS, if you can afford RM 1.8k, i suggest u go straight to 40" LCD. Size does matters. Toshiba AV/CV700e only RM 1.8k, Sharp 500M only RM 1.9k. It makes a hell lots of difference between 32" and 40". Added on December 23, 2010, 9:46 amI read somewhere before, can't remember. But it's true, all the low-end LCD use China panel. Even most of their LCD monitors....that's why Samsung basically sucks nowadays. Only the most expensive LED gets the high quality Samsung manufactured panels. Even SONY is also getting it from China(50% china, 50% from Sharp, older SONY TV's from Samsung)....cut cost measures. Sharp made their own panels, Toshiba also takes some panels from Sharp. Hitachi takes from Masutshita (Panasonic) and Philips takes from LG. samsung is not bad.....jz tht its cheap and korean and based on pass experience tht's y ppl think its bad their latest line up are already on par with the japs and receiving good praises around but i feel its preference, i dun quite like the sharp latest quattron with RGBY led, jz feel the extra yellow is making the whole picture feel "overdone", if u get wad i mean.sony bravias are OK but nth to shout about, u pay for the brand and quality i guess.samsung....the lower to mid ends i feel can give bang for bucks, but their higher ends (the series 9 LED) sure is exp This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Dec 23 2010, 03:33 PM
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Dec 23 2010, 03:28 PM) samsung is not bad.....jz tht its cheap and korean and based on pass experience tht's y ppl think its bad their latest line up are already on par with the japs and receiving good praises around but i feel its preference, i dun quite like the sharp latest quattron with RGBY led, jz feel the extra yellow is making the whole picture feel "overdone", if u get wad i mean.sony bravias are OK but nth to shout about, u pay for the brand and quality i guess.samsung....the lower to mid ends i feel can give bang for bucks, but their higher ends (the series 9 LED) sure is exp The low end Samsung has very bad PQ...too dark and no details...most likely China panels. And their 100Hz motion even on high-end LED...not very impressive. The only thing they got going is lots of useless 'Internet TV' features...which you can get from any cheap media player.
ZeneticX
Dec 23 2010, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 03:42 PM) The low end Samsung has very bad PQ...too dark and no details...most likely China panels. And their 100Hz motion even on high-end LED...not very impressive. The only thing they got going is lots of useless 'Internet TV' features...which you can get from any cheap media player. tht 1 got to do wif the settings bro.i gt a series 5 led,whn i jz gt it i was also unimpressed by the pq,worse thn wad I expected.but after I took time wif the settings im happy wif it nw. regarding the 100 hz motion flow, thrs 3 setting which is off,standard and smooth.i duno wheter the shops mess wif any of these
TSearthling1984
Dec 23 2010, 05:25 PM

ANyway i got the lg 32ld450 dy guys....Thx for the help! apparently 460 no longer have stock. So let's hope the 450 n 460 not too much diff...
Got it at RM1150...The money I saved used to get belkin surge protector RM99 n giraffe 1.4 hdmi cable rm99...
PLan to get the astro beyond splitter offered by the guys at this forum...RM550 i think...
the wd media player gotta wait a while...any idea how much now?
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Dec 23 2010, 05:25 PM) ANyway i got the lg 32ld450 dy guys....Thx for the help! apparently 460 no longer have stock. So let's hope the 450 n 460 not too much diff... Got it at RM1150...The money I saved used to get belkin surge protector RM99 n giraffe 1.4 hdmi cable rm99... PLan to get the astro beyond splitter offered by the guys at this forum...RM550 i think... the wd media player gotta wait a while...any idea how much now? Bro, don't buy Belkin...overpriced and does nothing....go for Cal Lab. Tested and proven. Another lightning hit my house yesterday...autogate also went crazy...but my all my equipment saved by Cal Lab...PCs, LCD TVs, Amps. etc etc. The Cal-Lab phone line socket was burnt, but all my equipments saved, even the modems and routers. Tested and proven....I kena 3 lightning strikes in 8 months time....  ....i wish i kena lottery this easy....*sigh*....
SUSOptiplex330
Dec 23 2010, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 05:39 PM) Tested and proven....I kena 3 lightning strikes in 8 months time....  ....i wish i kena lottery this easy....*sigh*.... Jinx? I think you better stay away from us
TSearthling1984
Dec 23 2010, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 23 2010, 05:39 PM) Bro, don't buy Belkin...overpriced and does nothing....go for Cal Lab. Tested and proven. Another lightning hit my house yesterday...autogate also went crazy...but my all my equipment saved by Cal Lab...PCs, LCD TVs, Amps. etc etc. The Cal-Lab phone line socket was burnt, but all my equipments saved, even the modems and routers. Tested and proven....I kena 3 lightning strikes in 8 months time....  ....i wish i kena lottery this easy....*sigh*.... LOL....u quite 'lucky' huh...Well i've bought it already so can't do anything bout it. But been using my belkin protector for my pc set ups, and it did well the previous few times my house was struck by lightning...so thought it was pretty good. How much is Cal lab anyway coz planning to get another one, n where to get? Any lightning protector that connects with astro?
eMKs
Dec 23 2010, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Dec 23 2010, 05:25 PM) RM99 n giraffe 1.4 hdmi cable rm99... This is the one you should not bought it. Better get Tesco RM20 HDMI cable Why you hold on WDTV. Any particular reason?
TSearthling1984
Dec 23 2010, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(eMKs @ Dec 23 2010, 06:54 PM) This is the one you should not bought it. Better get Tesco RM20 HDMI cable Why you hold on WDTV. Any particular reason? Oh shit! Really? Kena con case... Well...WDTV on hold coz my lcd can support most of the movie files that i now have...And also budget coz planning to get the hdmi splitter from the guys on this forum...need 2 tv to be able to watch hd from my beyond...
SUSMatrix
Dec 23 2010, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(earthling1984 @ Dec 23 2010, 06:06 PM) LOL....u quite 'lucky' huh...Well i've bought it already so can't do anything bout it. But been using my belkin protector for my pc set ups, and it did well the previous few times my house was struck by lightning...so thought it was pretty good. How much is Cal lab anyway coz planning to get another one, n where to get? Any lightning protector that connects with astro? PM gkl83 for Cal-Lab details. He's the regular Cal Lab seller here. Added on December 23, 2010, 10:22 pmQUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Dec 23 2010, 05:54 PM) Jinx? I think you better stay away from us Too late. I jinxed u liao. Tmrw u kena lightning strike. All hard disk and PC's KABOOOOOMMMMMMM!!!! This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2010, 10:22 PM
TSearthling1984
Dec 24 2010, 01:25 AM

[quote=Matrix,Dec 23 2010, 10:21 PM] PM gkl83 for Cal-Lab details. He's the regular Cal Lab seller here.
Ok thx, will pm him then...Neway any idea where to d/l movies/tvb/dramas? Tv is here now so wanna enjoy 1080 movies...hehe