Please help me choose between 2.1 and 5.1 setup

TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 22 2010, 12:29 PM, updated 15y ago

1,609 posts

5.1 setup will consist of an entry level AV receiver (eg. Onkyo 308) with 5.1 satellite speakers.

2.1 setup will use the same AV receiver with bookshelf speakers (eg. Monitor Audio Bronze 1) and a 10" active subwoofer.

For the 5.1 setup most of the time I'll put all the speakers on my TV cabinet. Only occasionally will pull the surround speakers to the back/side.

Main usage will be watching HD movies, PS3 games, Listening to MP3.

Which setup will be more enjoyable?

icon_question.gif

assume the 2.1 setup will cost about the same or a bit more that the 5.1 setup.

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Dec 22 2010, 12:30 PM
rx330
post Dec 22 2010, 12:33 PM

11,811 posts

ahh kopi..... ini macam go 2.1 better la.... then future only add 2 sats at the back
TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 22 2010, 12:34 PM

1,609 posts

wha taikor rx330 so fast reply biggrin.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 12:42 pmthe things is the 2.1 setup lacks a center channel hmm.gif

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Dec 22 2010, 12:42 PM
rx330
post Dec 22 2010, 12:43 PM

11,811 posts

then 3.1 lor
TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 22 2010, 12:46 PM

1,609 posts

How big is the difference between bookshelf and satellite speakers?
jeehouhee
post Dec 22 2010, 01:06 PM

221 posts

If money not ur problem. Just go ahead for 5.1 of cause. u can make it 2.1 when music and 5.1 for movie XD
htkaki
post Dec 22 2010, 01:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 22 2010, 12:46 PM)
How big is the difference between bookshelf and satellite speakers?
Sats were those that rx330 used to play with. Sats have 'narrower' freq response while bookshelf normally can produce below 100Hz. Due to sats size, dunt expect its AQ to be good. MA Bronze is a good way to start smile.gif Since you are using cheaperest Onkyo (no pun intended), do not expect good stereo from it even you are using MA. Its characteristic coupled with low power are the limitation.

2.1 setup is the way to go for your case smile.gif

RayKazansky
post Dec 22 2010, 01:51 PM

Jell'o Legs
1,081 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 22 2010, 01:43 PM)
Sats were those that rx330 used to play with. Sats have 'narrower' freq response while bookshelf  normally can produce below 100Hz. Due to sats size, dunt expect its AQ to be good. MA Bronze is a good way to start  smile.gif Since you are using cheaperest Onkyo (no pun intended), do not expect good stereo from it even you are using MA. Its characteristic coupled with low power are the limitation.

2.1 setup is the way to go for your case  smile.gif
I agree... thumbup.gif

TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 22 2010, 01:59 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 22 2010, 01:43 PM)
Sats were those that rx330 used to play with. Sats have 'narrower' freq response while bookshelf  normally can produce below 100Hz. Due to sats size, dunt expect its AQ to be good. MA Bronze is a good way to start  smile.gif Since you are using cheaperest Onkyo (no pun intended), do not expect good stereo from it even you are using MA. Its characteristic coupled with low power are the limitation.

2.1 setup is the way to go for your case  smile.gif
Thanks for the advise. smile.gif

Added on December 22, 2010, 3:04 pmI wonder how those HD audio tracks from Blu-Rays will sound through a 2.1 setup hmm.gif

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Dec 22 2010, 03:04 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 22 2010, 03:09 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

start with a good 2.1 because in the end, you'll definitely be poisoned to upgrade to 5.1/7.1/9.1/11.1 in the future.
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 22 2010, 03:34 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Dec 22 2010, 12:34 PM)

Added on December 22, 2010, 12:42 pmthe things is the 2.1 setup lacks a center channel hmm.gif
if you set it up properly a phantom center will work just as well

for your current plans, though - why spend money on 3 channels you will not be using? if you get a regular stereo amp, you will get a much better amp for the same money as an AVR, or you can get better L/R speakers.

TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 22 2010, 03:43 PM

1,609 posts

The AV amp can decode True HD and DTS-MA.
SUSchokia
post Dec 22 2010, 05:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Even ps3 surround is at least 5.1.

Just go to home square near any video display and make your surrounding go merry go round you shall hear video sound go behind you if you have speakers at the back.

TSCoffeeDude
post Dec 23 2010, 10:09 AM

1,609 posts

I'm thinking to get a Pioneer VSX-520-K.
Yah I know it is low end but its power output is similar to its high end cousins.

Power Output
Rated Power Output Stereo 65W +65W (THD 0.2%)
Front (6 ohms) 125W/ch
Central (6 ohms) 125W
Surround (6 ohms) 125W/ch
Maximum Power 150W x 5ch

Can I match this 6 ohms receiver with an 8 ohms speaker (Acoustic Energy Aegis 1)?

Or do I need to match it with a 6 ohms speaker (Monitor Audio BR1)?

0.0157sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:31 PM