64 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Linux/BSD/FOSS General Chat & FAQ, Post whatever questions you have....

wanfaris
post Jan 22 2011, 07:34 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 22 2011, 07:32 PM)
depends on hw u customize  rolleyes.gif

still waiting for Unity  drool.gif

running it with compiz but cant wait to try Natty's Unity  sweat.gif
yeah...me too...cant waiting for natty release...

feel gonna try n use as my OS now...but...still alpha stage... sad.gif
cocooh
post Jan 22 2011, 07:36 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Jan 22 2011, 07:34 PM)
yeah...me too...cant waiting for natty release...

feel gonna try n use as my OS now...but...still alpha stage... sad.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif alpha normally whr experimental things is being tested

wanfaris
post Jan 22 2011, 07:40 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 22 2011, 07:36 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  alpha normally whr experimental things is being tested
yup...but dont dare to try...just crash my pc... sweat.gif

btw,is this alpha safe to install??ah,cant waiting too much..... lust.gif
cocooh
post Jan 22 2011, 07:43 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Jan 22 2011, 07:40 PM)
yup...but dont dare to try...just crash my pc... sweat.gif

btw,is this alpha safe to install??ah,cant waiting too much..... lust.gif
safe is yes but everyday uses - no nod.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 22 2011, 07:45 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 22 2011, 07:43 PM)
safe is yes but everyday uses - no  nod.gif
its update everyday right???im not use too much ubuntu,just use windows to do works...
cocooh
post Jan 22 2011, 08:01 PM

✔ Awesomeness ✔
2,789 posts

QUOTE(wanfaris @ Jan 22 2011, 07:45 PM)
its update everyday right???im not use too much ubuntu,just use windows to do works...
yeah , daily updates

Im full time Ubuntu laugh.gif

no more Windoze
wanfaris
post Jan 22 2011, 08:11 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(cocooh @ Jan 22 2011, 08:01 PM)
yeah , daily updates

Im full time Ubuntu  laugh.gif

no more Windoze
haha...im just use sony sound forge,vegas,n video converter n photoshop at windows..

while ubuntu for surfing n trolling... laugh.gif laugh.gif
powerwoot
post Jan 22 2011, 10:27 PM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

Just bought a new GC for my PC, Gigabyte GT430 OC 1gb DDR3. Installing nvidia driver for my opensuse is just a breeze. Look what glxgears has to say about my new card thumbup.gif

CODE
yazid@linux-85zb:~> glxgears

*** NOTE: Don't use glxgears as a benchmark.
   OpenGL implementations are not optimized for frame rates >> 60fps,
   thus these numbers are meaningless when compared between vendors.

53967 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10793.301 FPS
54450 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10889.850 FPS
53939 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10787.571 FPS
54801 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10960.086 FPS
53935 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10786.511 FPS
51043 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10208.298 FPS

My previous Galaxy 9400GT 512mb card the highest score were around 4000+ FPS

TSG-17
post Jan 23 2011, 07:37 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(farkinid @ Jan 19 2011, 12:28 PM)
Hmm, again I'm gonna veer the topic off tangent.

2 things happening on my home network. The first is probably a networking issue but I'll just list it down anyways and the 2nd is issues playing 720/1080p across the network.

1st. Copying files from my file server to my HTPC caps at 3.5 MB/s. This doesn't make sense. It should be higher. I can't figure out whats wrong with it. File server runs debian and HTPC ubuntu 10.10. I'm thinking switch limitation. Its a basic RM50 switch (TP-Link) i think. You guys got any other ideas?

2nd. When I watch movies on my HTPC, the movies are actually piped from my server in another room. Using MythTV backend and frontend setups. 720 and 1080p movies are jerky (both video and sound). Even if I don't use MythTV to watch, I still get that problem.

However, when I copy the file to my HTPC hard drive, the movie plays fine. No jerky or skipping. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

I apologize for not noticing this earlier, farkinid. I haven't been on much this past week.
I have a couple of theories, but I'm really not the most proficient person to ask when it comes to coms/networking. I could possibly try to solve your predicament myself, but it would require referencing a large backend of documentation, which I don't really have much time to do currently due to other commitments (you're probably more proficient than I am at this sort of thing at this moment in time, anyway)

If you don't mind, I'll forward your post to a friend who specializes in this sort of thing. He guided me through setting up my entire home/home-to-studio/home-to-mum's-home network. I'll post up his reply once/if he replies me.

Once again, I regret I can't help you directly. I'm more the type that guts scripts and kernels.

Cheers.

wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 09:30 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

err....it its save if i update my kernel from 2.6.35 to 2.6.37??done add PPA for kernel,but still not hv any kernel update yet...

seen at kernel.org this kernel is stable...it released on 5/1/2011..
axxer
post Jan 23 2011, 09:36 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

updating to the new kernel wont delete ur old one.. unless u manually remove ur old kernel, its still appear in grub selection menu. so if something goes wrong with the new kernel, u can still boot using ur old one
no harms done tongue.gif

This post has been edited by axxer: Jan 23 2011, 09:36 PM
wanfaris
post Jan 23 2011, 09:39 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 23 2011, 09:36 PM)
updating to the new kernel wont delete ur old one.. unless u manually remove ur old kernel, its still appear in grub selection menu. so if something goes wrong with the new kernel, u can still boot using ur old one
no harms done  tongue.gif
ah,ok..thanks 4 the recommendation..download it now.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Jan 24 2011, 03:02 AM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

any Opera 11 user in the house?
everytime i closed my opera the "Opera Link" dialog will popup and hang there forever or at least untill i click exit
no problem before with Opera 10. Any workaround for this? wink.gif

Added on January 24, 2011, 3:16 amnvm.. i disabled opera link since i'm not using window anymore

This post has been edited by Acid_RuleZz: Jan 24 2011, 03:16 AM
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 06:10 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

updates :

BleachBit 0.8.7 released... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

What's new :

BleachBit 0.8.7 improves command line support, imports winapp2.ini-style files allowing immediately for 440 additional cleaners on Windows, adds an Estonian translation, and more.

* Be a fan of BleachBit on the new Facebook page.
* Add command line option --preset which selects all the cleaners previously selected in the GUI.
* When showing a warning, show which option generated the warning.

* Specific to Linux
o Support Thunderbird on openSUSE 11.3 thanks to Manfred Schwarb (LP#668231)
o Fix wrong button label when adding folders for overwrite disk space and for whitelist (pointed out by jtarin)
o When cleaning localizations, show warning to point user to configuration
o Packagers: BleachBit will try to use the built-in json module on Python 2.6+ instead of simplejson, which is still required on Python 2.5.

* Specific to Windows
o Import winapp2.ini files: the CCleaner community maintains winapp2.ini files with about 440 cleaner definitions. Just download a winapp2.in file and place it in one of the BleachBit cleaner directories: read Documentation: Winapp2.ini for more details.
o Internet Explorer: delete autocomplete passwords
o Support registry keys in the HKCR (HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT) hive

download

This post has been edited by wanfaris: Jan 25 2011, 06:14 PM
axxer
post Jan 25 2011, 07:38 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

new gaming platform for linux, called Lutris

http://lutris.net/about

Lutris is a gaming platform aiming to support as many games as possible for the GNU/Linux operating system. It takes care of running the game by setting up the best environement in order to provide the most enjoyable gaming experience.
The program is currently usable but only has a fraction of the planned features. The best is yet to come!

'
currently still 0.2.4
it looks similar to playonlinux/cedega hmm.gif hmm.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 08:12 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

Yo guys, LibreOffice 3.3.0 Stable released.... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

post it liao at Latest Updates section.... icon_rolleyes.gif
axxer
post Jan 25 2011, 08:18 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

just realized vlc 1.1.6 released yesterday thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
what a slowpoke i am sweat.gif
wanfaris
post Jan 25 2011, 08:22 PM

O_o
1,439 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 25 2011, 08:18 PM)
just realized vlc 1.1.6 released yesterday  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
what a slowpoke i am  sweat.gif
really??1.1.6 liao??ah,gonna update now...hope can fix several prob at vlc...

always crashing..dunno why... sad.gif
axxer
post Jan 25 2011, 09:08 PM

Banned
Validating
1,822 posts

arghhhhhh.. its a pain in the arse to compile vlc mad.gif mad.gif
Acid_RuleZz
post Jan 25 2011, 09:13 PM

ミウ ❤
6,612 posts

QUOTE(axxer @ Jan 25 2011, 09:08 PM)