Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V49!, The Orange Legion
Dec 23 2010, 12:34 AM
1,185 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
is this strap good? sounds redundant, someone would just ninja steal your lens if you put it behind.
http://diagnl.jp/ |
Dec 25 2010, 09:03 PM
so many good pics! i m secretly developing fanboyism to all of you! lol
fapsoption: is that backfocusing issue? |
Dec 27 2010, 01:48 PM
Dec 28 2010, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(ieR @ Dec 28 2010, 02:22 AM) u never will know what type of shooter u are until u get ur first basic set. you probably would not know what kind of photog you are yourself until you really experiment with all types of shooting most if not, listed above. and that takes time. a few months at least. most of us here are not even professionals so why do we limit ourselves to certain type of shooting? e.g. macro shooting? unless you are certain photog celebrity well known for particular shooting (Brian Smith for his portraiture works), you dont have to limit yourself to certain type of shooting.are u a macro shooter? u dont need 1750 F2.8 for macro. are u a landscape shooter? u better off with UWA lens and u dont need flash, u might need a tripod are u a structural shooter? u need UWA and tripod are u a journalism lover? u need to shoot more are u a street shooter? u might need longer lens. are u a sport shooter? u definitely need a longer lens, and some sport do not allows flash. are u a available light shooter? available light shooter dont use flash, they pump high iso and uses bright lens eg F1.4 or F2.8 are u a strobist lover? all u need is a kitlens, and flash accessories. well, that might be subjective to some. Codyx, if you have the dough, i would say go add them lens into your drybox. the most important thing to learn photography is passion. the second most important you need is yes, you guessed it right, The Gear. there's no debate to this. for an example, if Joe has been wanting to play with fisheye, without a proper fishlens how the heck does he learn/play with fisheye style shooting? just my 2 cents. |
Dec 28 2010, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(shootkk @ Dec 28 2010, 10:41 AM) Passion cannot be learned. Either you have it or you don't. Example if you have a passion for dancing let's say, you will have all the motivation to learn. If not, got teacher also you don't want to learn. kinda true. passion comes naturally, just like how love does. but learning itself is subjective and abstract, people learn to love, so i think same applies to passion. Now for the most important thing to learn in photography - It is coming to a realization that great gears DO NOT equal great photos. You think that having a f2.8 lens will give you great low light pics? You think that having a high ISO body will let you shoot great photos in any situations no matter if the light is bright or not? You think that having a CZ lens will get you jaw dropping pics? If you think that then you are wrong. Having great gears only helps to make life a bit easier. CZ lenses will give you sharper pics, more vivid colours, better contrast so that you can minimize your PP time. F2.8 lenses help to increase your shutter speed in certain situations. You cannot always be shooting at f2.8 or f1.8 or f1.4 even if you have the lens. A lot of other factors are involved in getting a great picture. Among them : 1. Picture composition - large aperture or not, composition still matters. 2. Lighting - ambient and/or flash with ambient - how you make it work for you. Great gears will not adjust the lighting for you. 3. Having the knack to capture the 'right' moment - this comes with experience and anticipation. 4. Knowing the limitation of your gears - this will let you work within the best parameters of your existing gears producing the best result. 5. People skills - this may not be apparent at first but how does people skills factor in photography? When you're taking pictures of another person, how well you relate and communicate with the person matters a lot in the outcome. If you piss off all the people that cross your path do you really think you can get a great portrait shot? So cure yourself of the gear lust syndrome. When you can get good shots using very normal gears, you know that you will be able to do better with better gears. It does not work the other way. gear lust syndrome aside, having multiple types of lens exposed yourself to multiple types of shooting style as iER listed out. how could one shoot macro with a kit lens? fisheye absolute distortion with a kit lens? gear lust syndrome is more to someone who bought multiple overlapping focal length lens (e.g buying minolta 85mm 1.4g when you already have a zeiss 85mm 1.4). if Codyx has a kit lens and would like to try macro after a month, you cannot categorise him as a gearhead. unless he has the 18-55 and bought another 18-70 kit lens. and gear lust syndrome flows naturally in everyone's mind. i repeat, everyone, at some point will have this syndrome. this doesnt apply only to photo gears, it happens in everywhere on the globe. cars, toys, cards, pcs, etc. take me as an example for this syndrome; i personally, would like to have all carl zeiss lens available out there, but i cant afford em. didn't anyone of us here lust for all the high end carl zeiss lens out there? well, i do but i cant afford them. and totally agree with your views/factors in getting great pictures. This post has been edited by ahtiven: Dec 28 2010, 11:06 AM |
Dec 29 2010, 04:25 PM
PP is a must to UP the commercial values and wow factor. Everything is beautified and it is the consensus to be accepted at this age.
Dave Hill's photograhpy and digital art skill amazes me. surreal to the core. the kind of picture you will spend great few minutes to study all the details shown in a photo. reminds me of Pinnardy i read from the dslr magazine. thanks for the mentioning of his name yo This post has been edited by ahtiven: Dec 29 2010, 04:29 PM |
Dec 30 2010, 10:27 AM
18250 was my first lens. loved the af and lens lock. i think it's a very good multipurpose or travelling lens. it's quite sharp, i'd say. it's an all in one lens, kind of.
anyone is into fisheye here? it's a fun lens for less serious images and really tempted. i would need a lot more advice on them distortion-beauties. |
Dec 30 2010, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 30 2010, 10:51 AM) there you have it the answer yourself. which other alternative do you have aside from the tamrom counterpart? sony is tad better than tammy's as shootkk mentioned, quality wise and if not mistaken the af speed as well.i dont get what 18250 IQ suffering talks is all about? can anyone care to fill me in? This post has been edited by ahtiven: Dec 30 2010, 10:59 AM |
Dec 30 2010, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(porkchop @ Dec 30 2010, 11:09 AM) Ps: I think iq suffering is more referred to things like softness at full open aperture, blurred sides, etc (purple firinging/ca counted??).... normally happen at full open aperture, but i think it can be solved with stopping down but of course u need slower shutter speed if ur in a not so good lighting which can cause handshake issues oohh.. yes, softer at max optical zoom at hinges. but hey this is from 18250 @ 30mm f4![]() This post has been edited by ahtiven: Dec 30 2010, 11:19 AM |
Jan 3 2011, 09:51 PM
eh guys, mind to list down step by step to set up wirelss flash?
i got it few nights ago but tonight it doesnt, the moment i unplug f58, the a55 will show "flash off" sign. zzz thanks in advance |
Jan 4 2011, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 3 2011, 10:00 PM) yeah, thats what i did. QUOTE(Newbieeeeee @ Jan 3 2011, 10:12 PM) Select wireless CH1/2 on flash, use yr pop up and set it to WL. Or if it doesn't work you can always trade with my F42.. do i have to attach the f58 on the body and set? thats what i did last time and it worked brilliantly. i tried for about 10minutes and gave up. someone needs to show me once then i will remember forever. loli tried rmt and rmt2 once unplug f58 from body, it goes straight to "no flash sign" on Live View. i m a nub. anymore suggestions to add? such a cute suggestion you have there bro but nooo, you need to give me two f42 for it. |
Jan 6 2011, 10:39 PM
60 rechargeable batteries!! can fit 10 f58 flash guns already.
btw guys, do you think these few pics sharp? or it is just me. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by ahtiven: Jan 6 2011, 10:58 PM |
Jan 6 2011, 11:00 PM
put bigger pics and 100% cropped. i guess they are sharp after all. was being skeptical about ff on aspc. but then again, absolutely fine it seems lah
Jan 7 2011, 01:19 PM
whoa i have to keep my Keep filter in the dustbin already. to be honest, i cant see the difference between the keep and zeiss mc...but then i don't know half of the time what are what.
nd8 seems to be a hot topic recently, is it good only for nature? btw, pure class from ieR. you guys gotta applause this chap for his recent sharing. it makes visiting alpha thread worthwhile. |
Jan 9 2011, 09:57 PM
Jan 17 2011, 11:43 AM
oh my, i love them distortion beauties... *drools like a mad bulldog*.
so.. tempting.. |
Jan 20 2011, 11:05 AM
hey guys, please criticize on these pics. thanks
macro ![]() xmas 2010 ![]() ![]() roller coaster ![]() edit: slightly bigger pics This post has been edited by ahtiven: Jan 20 2011, 11:11 AM |
Jan 21 2011, 08:51 PM
135/2,8
i just went to sony the garden this noon, brand new 135za is 4499myr. tested it on my a55 i lol'ed on the proportion but definitely comfortable handheld. it's bigger than 16-35za. wanted to test 24za but they dont even know what is it... |
Jan 21 2011, 10:14 PM
Jan 22 2011, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 22 2011, 02:10 AM) ahtiven: You might've got it confused with the Sony 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus - the Sony Carl Zeiss Sonnar T* 135mm F1.8 ZA is RM5999 retail! ohh same size so they are. dont have them sibe by side for comparison, maybe cos 135 is heavier so feels larger lol.Also, the 135ZA is the same size as the 16-35mm F2.8 and 24-70mm F2.8 Zeiss lenses. The 135mm F2.8/T4.5 STF is a bit smaller. it's 4499 kid you not. the gardens. i asked them why, they simply said the price of 135 already dropped. having doubts myself i asked 1680's price and yes its at retail price of 2999. so what gives? EDIT: ok, sorry for this it seems like the sales guys confused it with the SAL135F28. but i was testing the zeiss lol. false alarm. bleh This post has been edited by ahtiven: Jan 22 2011, 10:45 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0551sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:08 AM |