Official Windows Phone 7 Discussion Thread!, WP7 market share from 2% to 10% now !!

weirdguy
post Jul 27 2011, 05:48 PM

587 posts

Hello all,

I am planning to grab good-deal Mozart from Superbuy.my, retailed MYR789.

But I'm not really sure whether I should wait for further improvement to be made by Microsoft. I heard a lot negative about its lack of file manager which user could not easily sync/transfer file (documents) from their PC to WP vice versa.

Positively, I really love its uniqueness, compare to Android and iOS. I own an iPod - not exactly handy due to its WiFi limit in order to get connected.

Also, Mozart will be my first Smartphone. I am a bit at doubt whether I would like it since it lacks many business-friendly features like Sync.

What do you all think?
weirdguy
post Jul 28 2011, 12:58 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 27 2011, 09:36 PM)
same la bro.
i am plannig to get from that too. smile.gif

still thinking either this is the good time to buy or not as mango will be launched soon.
i'm afraid, it wil not support mozart.
mozart also only got 8gb internal memory.  no expandable memory.
i doubt 8gb will be enough for the smartphone as the app file must be big file size.

that's makes me still thinking either mozart is a good buy or not.

does mozart have built-in radio?
TQ.
Lol. How, bro?
Have you decide to purchase or wait-again?
The Superbuy.my did not state until when the promotion. I fear that when I had made my decision, it is sold off.

Anyway, I have another question. I found out that WP or Mozart did not support video preview of .AVI or divx. Is there any get-around solution or perhaps future Update release like Mango will solve that issue?

weirdguy
post Jul 28 2011, 01:39 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 28 2011, 01:25 PM)
I have decided to wait until Mango officially release.

http://www.winrumors.com/official-windows-...-manufacturing/

I also confused la about the HTC 7 Mozart.

1. some state got FM some don't.
2. some state the lcd come with gorilla glass, some don't...

Confused lar.

TQ.
Ai yo, that's mean if I regret, nobody regret with me. Lolz.

weirdguy
post Jul 28 2011, 02:22 PM

587 posts

What is Gorilla Glass?
weirdguy
post Jul 28 2011, 05:33 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 28 2011, 04:18 PM)
i stored 2.3 rmvb file on my phone and and transfer to my friends laptop before. u can actually create folder at the root of the memory card and stored there. that u dont need to mix it with your media files.

further more most of my office doc,excel and powerpoint are stored in skydrive. i get instant access even i am driving.
How to access memory card?
Mozart did not have removable memory card, right?
weirdguy
post Jul 28 2011, 07:29 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 28 2011, 06:27 PM)
U must install Zune and enable an apps called wp7usbenabler. Then u will see ya memory card media folders and free space left.
That's handy. Does that mean I could store my files (video) with that application, just like a USB?
However, I could not preview them in my phone, right?
weirdguy
post Jul 29 2011, 05:22 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Jul 29 2011, 09:59 AM)
yes. you can store any files u want inside but your phone might not be able to recognise those format.
Thanks fulat for the reply.

Does WP play avi video format?

weirdguy
post Jul 29 2011, 10:29 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 29 2011, 09:41 PM)
tomorrow i'll buy htc 7 mozart as it will get mango update. 
thanks.
Dude, you confirm or not?
Just to share as well, I buying it tomorrow too. Wish me luck.
weirdguy
post Jul 30 2011, 08:54 AM

587 posts

Superbuy.my currently has a very good deal. RM799 each!

I purchasing later today.
weirdguy
post Jul 30 2011, 09:00 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Jul 30 2011, 08:43 PM)
just bought mozart rm799.
This very worth it for your penny.

1. Guys, do i need to discharge the battery first.
2. Do i need to charge it until 8 hours?

Thx.
Ai ya, I already purchase from Superbuy.my since this afternoon.
More worth it with the complimentary Hotel Vouchers and discounted PWP: HTC and Belkin Original Accessoeries.

weirdguy
post Aug 11 2011, 04:39 PM

587 posts

Hello,

Do anyone know where can I get Speck-alike Casing for my HTC Mozart?
weirdguy
post Aug 13 2011, 11:56 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(robb234 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:32 PM)
i thinks lots of people get themselves htc 7 mozart today.
cos it's blardy cheap.
RM 699 for ORI set.  smile.gif
Where u get RM699?

----

Between, do anyone know how to get their Facebook Chat (@Messaging) enabled and working?

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Aug 14 2011, 12:09 AM
weirdguy
post Aug 14 2011, 08:26 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(darowen @ Aug 14 2011, 12:43 AM)
May I know why HTC Mozart 7 now only sell at RM7xx for original set?
Is it have a lot of problem? Is the problem of phone or the wm7 OS?
As I'm surveying to buy this phone...

I survey that it have below cons:
WM7 cons:
a) no bluetooth for file transfering
b) no custom MP3 ringtone
c) no VPN
d) no wifi hotspot
e) no support flash
f) no local marketplace(need access singapore with a credit card)
g) lack of free apps (can jailbreak?)
h) can't use as storage device when connect to PC

HTC Mozart problem:
a) often heard that it had unresponsive touch screen

Beside that, can tell me any other problem other than these?

May I have the comment or correction for above points?
When upgrade to Mango, which of the point can be solved?
Hello,

Frankly, I was skeptical as you before I finalized my decision to purchase Mozart WP7 Phone. My first Smartphone.
I was amazed with the beautifully design and unique UI, and its abilities - compare to iOS and Android.
The current WP7 Apps are not as easily available and as many as iOS and Android, but still I am looking forward especially after Mango Official Release.

All I can say is I love how the WP7 integrate its People aka Contact List (Phone Book) with social media, email, SMS and facebook Chat. Also, WP7 is first generation of Windows Phone. Please give it a chance to grow. If you compare the growth of features of WP with iOS for the past years, you would be surprise by the pace of WP's Features Release.

With Mango Beta 2, custom MP3 Ringtone is accessible. Just need a few steps and tweaks. You could google for more detail.
Storage Device, you can but (if I am not wrong), need to unlocked the phone. You could google 'TouchXplorer' for more detail.

For more Mango details, you could easily google. Good luck!

weirdguy
post Sep 6 2011, 09:53 PM

587 posts

Hello all,

I am using a US Live account for my Mozart. How can I pay for App at Zune?

Bcoz during the payment process where it prompt for Credit Card details, I could not change the Country.
weirdguy
post Sep 7 2011, 09:11 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Sep 7 2011, 07:58 AM)
the only problem that bugging me with mozart are speaker and radio reception.
is anyone facing the same problem too?
tq.
Speaker, yes.
But I find the Mango built is at fault. I did not experience this before I switch to Mango built.
The speaker problem surfaced right after I hanged up from a call [speaker] while listening to music/video, the speaker's sound will be heavily distorted when the phone resumed back the music/video. I need to pause the music/video and play again to resolve the distorted issue.
Hopefully, the finalized Mango update will not have this issue.

Radio, I seldom use.
So far, so good though certain weak radio channel could not be found at all.

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:13 am
QUOTE(ckg @ Sep 7 2011, 02:41 AM)
I had set my country to Singapore - you can change it in the zune website (http://www.zune.net/en-US/ChangeLocale.htm). Login and change your locale. There's no Malaysia, so the closes is Singapore.

Then I registered my Citibank credit card with Zune. All billing addresses I keyed in my normal Malaysia address. Postcode will prompt you for 6 digits (as per Singapore standard), so I just entered an extra "0" behind the actual number.

And so far purchases from MarketPlace went thru without a problem.
Thanks for the tips.
I will try it out later in a while.

Just curious, are there any Marketplace (App) difference with different location such as Singapore and US?

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Sep 7 2011, 09:13 AM
weirdguy
post Sep 7 2011, 02:19 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(ckg @ Sep 7 2011, 02:41 AM)
I had set my country to Singapore - you can change it in the zune website (http://www.zune.net/en-US/ChangeLocale.htm). Login and change your locale. There's no Malaysia, so the closes is Singapore.

Then I registered my Citibank credit card with Zune. All billing addresses I keyed in my normal Malaysia address. Postcode will prompt you for 6 digits (as per Singapore standard), so I just entered an extra "0" behind the actual number.

And so far purchases from MarketPlace went thru without a problem.
Had change locale via suggested link. I could not change my current country - US to Singapore.
Even try to my CC with Zune. No luck. Error.

How about others?

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Sep 7 2011, 02:23 PM
weirdguy
post Sep 7 2011, 04:05 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Sep 7 2011, 03:26 PM)
1. you may 1st change your country by login to your live.com , once you are done changing your country region please go to #2.
2. login to www.xboxlive.com with your live id.
3. Go to Manage Payment option , register your "credit card" with local address, keyin singapore postal code (640936) or singapore contact no (only require at step #4). then hit Save to complete.
Note1: if you success , then you are ready to made purchase from marketplace. If fail please see note 2.
Note2: you might receive an error from microsoft upon hitting the save button,if you do ,just ignore it. 
4. Go to your windows phone try access to marketplace and made a purchase hitting BUY(an application that you want to purchase), Microsoft will bring you to a page asking for payment details (which is not complete register at #3) now try complete the registration.
good luck.

Zune Account with singapore region some feature like DJ , Podcast wont appear, what i did is try hacking the registry to enabling the hidden feature even with restriction region from microsoft.

Here's how to enable all missing features:

1. Open your computer Registry Editor (start/run/regedit).

2. Now go to:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Zune

3. Under this key, create a new key called: FeaturesOverride

4. Select the new key and in the right-side panel, create the following DWORD values:

Music
Podcasts
QuickMixLocal
Social

And set the values to 1

5. Start your Zune software and normally you should be able now to use the missing features

source from xda >> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1237033
During my Credit Card registration at XBoxLive.com, the billing address showed its country - United States. Is this expected?
I had changed my Live Account's Country to Singapore.

weirdguy
post Sep 7 2011, 05:07 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Sep 7 2011, 04:19 PM)
once your live id country change to singapore xboxlive will shown singapore instead US.
Not mine.
I had googled your quote, it seems to be not.

I guess the only way is to create a new Live account and its associated Zune with 'Singapore' location.
However, I have a dilemma. Should I just wait for the possibility of Malaysia Zune Locale?
After the Live creation, I need to hard reset the phone as well.
Adui, Ouch... The bad side of WP for the moment.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Sep 7 2011, 05:12 PM
weirdguy
post Sep 15 2011, 05:49 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Sep 15 2011, 02:23 PM)
I'm also looking for Mozart case (hardcase) and high capacity battery.

Anyone would like to doing a bulk order to get case, battery other accessories?

Tak kisah la, HD7, Omnia 7 etc..

TQ.
You could try Mozart Case from Case Mate.

I just receive my Mozart Cases from there, order through Case Mate Online (USA).
Bought 4 cases - Tough, Torque, Barely There and Safe Skin, each USD9.99 only. I still think it was an awesome deal. Even, they allow direct worldwide shipping (normal post) from their site, only total USD9.

Tough case is good. It comes with two skins - rubber internal and hardshell external.

I found out that some cases even came with screen protector and cleaning cloth. I am still opening others, though.

0.0437sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:48 AM