The next USB DAC, come on guys let's guess it!, Powerful DAC in small size!

Shoot@M3
post Jan 15 2011, 10:56 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Looks real good!!!
Shoot@M3
post Jan 20 2011, 12:02 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

oh, these DAC needs to burn in as well? didn't know, i thot only headphones needs to do that
btw, how long is recommended for DAC to burn in?
QUOTE(Cosef @ Jan 20 2011, 10:24 AM)
I just got this....still under testing...
running in now....1st hour starting was real bad. sweat.gif
Shoot@M3
post Jan 20 2011, 02:56 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Cosef @ Jan 20 2011, 12:14 PM)
Should be the output decoupling cap still new, need run in. How long i don't know but now i know this DAC has big difference between before and after.

Sound good now. biggrin.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 7 2011, 10:29 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

QUOTE(Agnaem @ Mar 7 2011, 12:54 AM)
Usable, but you won't get real 5.1 sound unless used with 5.1 source and sound card. Anyway, the Z-640 have what it called the matrix button for 5.1 sound simulation. Just connect the green 3.5mm jack to the DAC and enjoy.
QUOTE(loonsave @ Mar 7 2011, 09:30 AM)
So i can connect the center only, without the front and rear speakers?
Hi as you can read above i think this SC is not intended for a 5.1 and the only workaround would be using the matrix button mentioned above (i've never played with anything above 2.1!, so pardon me if I said some crappy stuff smile.gif )
This USB DAC only has 1 x 3.5mm jack and for a 2.1 setup, correct me if I'm wrong, just trying to help here

From your Z640, this is what you mean with the 3 x 3.5mm jacks (My guess 1 x center, 1 x front, 1 x rear)

I think even if you have this converter, it would not do much of 5.1 and still intended for 2.1, that's why the use of Matrix. If you mod it with this, the sound still will be 2.1 on each position, and either too loud or too low volume. About how good would the Matrix be, I have no idea and need others to help you on this

Maybe need someone who has tested this card on a 2.1 setup and above and let you know how it would sound
Shoot@M3
post Mar 9 2011, 07:33 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

I think what he mean is that the volume cannot be adjusted if you're using this sound card from the volume properties. You can only adjust the volume either from the Music Player or from the speaker physical volume knob itself
I read about the windows volume control not working from the previous post by someone before. I guess it is intended to be this way smile.gif
QUOTE(minizian @ Mar 9 2011, 07:27 PM)
Do you mean the volume control on windows that can be adjusted at the bottom right does not affect the sound quality?
Shoot@M3
post Mar 12 2011, 12:36 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

Dont own a Mac but here's ur answer, Yes it does

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry40018240
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry40561722
QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Mar 11 2011, 11:52 PM)
Got a question here...
Will this work with Mac?
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 12 2011, 12:37 AM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 17 2011, 10:14 AM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

I'd suggest you try to do this way to test

- while your power adapter is charging and connected to your laptop
- and if only run on laptop battery

see if got difference. Last time I do notice when I plug the laptop into the PA systems, if the power adapter is connected, it will have some noise. So I had to fully charge 4 laptops the night before the presentation rclxub.gif

hope that helps
QUOTE(xsi @ Mar 17 2011, 08:00 AM)
wow...very strict requirement one.
So laptop psu wont suffice?
desktop using normal 1 onli...
This post has been edited by Shoot@M3: Mar 17 2011, 10:17 AM
Shoot@M3
post Mar 31 2011, 05:39 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

in the end, you can't prove anything with that picture.. end of case
I'm still enjoying my DAC, regardless where it came from
From the site it sells cheaper but of course those who bought from/bulk from other place will know international shipping just kills everything!

btw, I got a pm from that fellow as well. You can't just pm chchyong about it and ask him directly? Right now, ur making it big fuss. Why don't u sell yours away and get from that site directly?

I'm just thankful cos i get to get this DAC here
Shoot@M3
post Mar 31 2011, 05:53 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

my feedback.. i have no idea on sound engineering whatsoever, just reply on my own ears
i like the mid and high on the curren WM8501 but would love to have more bass on it if possible
any chance for a mod on that?
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 31 2011, 05:49 PM)
House it up! For beauty and EMI/RFI reduction biggrin.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 31 2011, 06:10 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

No idea on what you've just said bro. No knowledge in these sorta thing biggrin.gif
but your explanation sounds cun oh
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 31 2011, 06:03 PM)
The previous post has said before,

A little soldering skill, bypass the output decoupling capacitor with 0.01uf Vishay Roderstein should help it out. It gains overall details too  rclxms.gif
Shoot@M3
post Mar 31 2011, 06:19 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

ish, i dun dare lah
later i bakar the PCB, err i think i just stick with the stock hehe
thx anyway

btw, if it's not generating too much heat, i would third the notion of giving option for a case or not as well
when bring out with lappy, can protect much better from rough travelling in the bag sweat.gif
QUOTE(Cosef @ Mar 31 2011, 06:14 PM)
Find leg from the yellow cap, solder a 0.01uf non polar capacitor in parallel with it, be sure to keep the 0.01uf leg very very short.
Shoot@M3
post Mar 31 2011, 06:22 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hmm.gif
i wana custom put my name can? tongue.gif (optional, not a must)

btw, this thread off topic from the original already?
maybe chchyong should open a new one and we discuss there.. sweat.gif cool.gif
QUOTE(isnu1210 @ Mar 31 2011, 06:20 PM)
ya...better come out with 2 version...naked and non naked..

or... + some bucks for casing...can gain ur sale as well..

in that casing put ur own trademark or wat so ever.. eg...serial number..etc etc

0.0296sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:49 AM