Stem Cell

KohSin
post Sep 1 2012, 12:02 PM

721 posts

heard that if delivery is made at GH, they will help u store the cord blood? We are planning to have our delivery at PPUM, and all my check ups are at there. So it means my baby's cord blood will automatically be stored as mentioned at here before by 1 forumer?

me and my husband's family doesn't have blood disorders......so does it mean my baby's chances of getting those disease are quite rare?
KohSin
post Sep 1 2012, 07:49 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 1 2012, 05:55 PM)
If you want to donate your baby's cord blood for the benefit of others, you need to deliver at GH.. as for they helping you store cord blood, I'm not sure whether they do it for all mothers or just take random samples. PPUM doesnt have it.

Very rare to get blood disorders if you dont have any familial history. But one thing that people have to realize is.. even if you have the cord blood stored and your baby get a disease, the blood cant be reused back because it's genetically defective...still need to get donation gua.
I will check with doc on my next visit on this. I too were oso thinking on whether to store the cord blood onot...i think v will just donate it instead of storing for our own use.

Thx a lot for all the infos. smile.gif

0.0173sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:08 PM