Play WoW using YES4G

TShanraphael
post Dec 15 2010, 02:36 PM, updated 15y ago

Hi. I've been thinking of signing up for the YES 4G, but I wonder is it good for playing WoW, is anyone here playing with it?
garanzia86
post Dec 15 2010, 03:41 PM

im in seri kembangan areas.....normally get around 500 to 600 ms during peak hours....and get around 300 to 400 ms later at night and early morning. seems to be ok. only been dced around twice so far. only been testing for about 4 days so far.
TShanraphael
post Dec 15 2010, 04:20 PM

Actually 500-600ms is actually pretty good! Did you do a 10 men raid / 25 man raid using YES 4G?

Btw how much do u reload and how often?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 15 2010, 04:25 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ping on taiwan server much better though.

this morning 7:30am i logged in, ping 100ms

if night time, more players,

ping average 150ms - 250ms
TShanraphael
post Dec 15 2010, 04:46 PM

Deimos, you using YES 4G? or streamyx?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 15 2010, 05:11 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

i dunno what is YES 4G oh.

at home, i using streamyx 512kbps to play on wow taiwan
radzy82
post Dec 15 2010, 05:30 PM

19 posts

zzz i wish i can read chinese..400-500ms just not enuff
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 15 2010, 08:20 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(radzy82 @ Dec 15 2010, 05:30 PM)
zzz i wish i can read chinese..400-500ms just not enuff

can use english client mar.
i using english client.

but will have trouble communicating with local taiwan players who type in mandarin lor.

kEazYc
post Dec 15 2010, 10:46 PM

1,314 posts

use yes 4g to play WoW, isn't its more expensive to pay monthly for the yes 4g? lol...
samlee860407
post Dec 16 2010, 07:28 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Dec 15 2010, 10:46 PM)
use yes 4g to play WoW, isn't its more expensive to pay monthly for the yes 4g? lol...
wow use very little nia, as far as when I am playing using celcom broadband, 2hours play is like 50mb or less
Ojimaru
post Dec 16 2010, 08:05 AM

561 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 16 2010, 07:28 AM)
wow use very little nia, as far as when I am playing using celcom broadband, 2hours play is like 50mb or less
Then download 500MB update patch. GG. XD

This post has been edited by Ojimaru: Dec 16 2010, 11:59 AM
TShanraphael
post Dec 16 2010, 09:11 AM

I ask my friend download then I copy from him, settle, haha
hidden830726
post Dec 16 2010, 07:56 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

That is still not a good solution, for wow US, i still recommend streamyx.
lordc4an
post Dec 16 2010, 08:18 PM

104 posts

im using my friend YES 4G
playing wow taiwan
300-350MS right now.

if using streamyx
i get 60-150ms

both test already apply with latencyfix
bastaixos
post Dec 17 2010, 11:35 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Ojimaru @ Dec 16 2010, 08:05 AM)
Then download 500MB update patch. GG. XD
true. rclxms.gif
NightStealer
post Dec 19 2010, 08:38 PM

253 posts

i tested on unifi vip5 package for 1 month. around starting until mid of the month about 100-250+ms. then after i reached my cap its abt 300-400 sometimes 500 smile.gif
Characuta
post Dec 19 2010, 09:25 PM

471 posts

Sorry to intrude this thread, but let's say Streamyx or Unifi is out of the question, due to the 2yrs contract and availability, what other options should I look at?
jerm57
post Dec 21 2010, 11:05 PM

405 posts

WTF? Even the TM Unifi package has a cap? That's bullshit. What kind of exclusive service is that!?
e2bitz
post Dec 23 2010, 12:27 PM

79 posts

i envy u all that live in KL and have UNIFI services...
here in JB i play with 2Mb streamyx.. i cant event get 500ms...
i use tuneling service from gametune and pay like RM30 for 3 month (rough calculation)..
and get 350~500ms... been raiding ICC 25 with it before and so far its the best way i know..
i was planing on using YES.. but YES turn out to be a NO for me.. 3Mb for 3 cent is way expensive..
and it dont have unlimited plan.... i dont want my bill to be RM 300++ lol..
coz i download ton of stuff and stream lot of stuff.... if YES is good for wow.. i might try it and
just used it for wow... hope to hear any review from YES user!..
gaeria84
post Dec 23 2010, 07:01 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(e2bitz @ Dec 23 2010, 12:27 PM)
i envy u all that live in KL and have UNIFI services...
here in JB i play with 2Mb streamyx.. i cant event get 500ms...
i use tuneling service from gametune and pay like RM30 for 3 month (rough calculation)..
and get 350~500ms... been raiding ICC 25 with it before and so far its the best way i know..
i was planing on using YES.. but YES turn out to be a NO for me.. 3Mb for 3 cent is way expensive..
and it dont have unlimited plan.... i dont want my bill to be RM 300++  lol..
coz i download ton of stuff and stream lot of stuff.... if YES is good for wow.. i might try it and
just used it for wow... hope to hear any review from YES user!..
A little math! Kindly take note that these are just plus-minus figures. The number of addons you have in your UI will also influence the total bandwidth you will utilize.

You will use about 50MB/hour of bandwidth when idling
You will use about 150MB/hour when raiding.

If you play 6 hours/day, that will net you around:

300MB/day when idling
900MB/day when raiding

Which in turn gives us these figures for a month:

9GB/month when idling
27GB/month when raiding

This brings us to the cost of playing wow per month to:

RM270/month just for idling in-game
RM810/month just to go for raids

Go figure icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Dec 23 2010, 07:03 PM
e2bitz
post Dec 28 2010, 04:47 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 23 2010, 07:01 PM)
A little math! Kindly take note that these are just plus-minus figures. The number of addons you have in your UI will also influence the total bandwidth you will utilize.

300MB/day when idling
900MB/day when raiding

9GB/month when idling
27GB/month when raiding

hahaha good math bro.. that why YES is a NO lol
manoque
post Jan 4 2011, 05:54 PM

44 posts

I use streamyx 4mb + gamepath and been running WoW on 200-300ms. YES is wireless so with any wireless services, u have latency issue.
Olibur
post Feb 16 2011, 06:55 PM

102 posts

i know my question is abit out, but is YES good to use? like playing HoN and stuff
kEazYc
post Feb 16 2011, 07:05 PM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(manoque @ Jan 4 2011, 05:54 PM)
I use streamyx 4mb + gamepath and been running WoW on 200-300ms. YES is wireless so with any wireless services, u have latency issue.
QUOTE(Olibur @ Feb 16 2011, 06:55 PM)
i know my question is abit out, but is YES good to use? like playing HoN and stuff
L2read before post.
Kyl3
post Feb 16 2011, 07:39 PM

1,221 posts

abit OT but using unifi =/= gives you better latency

it's depends on your network congestions in your area; back in ipoh my 1mb streamyx can play at below 300ms

currently i'm using umobile with gametune, latency hovers around 350-500
and yes, such wireless broadband does have slightly more delay compare to wired connection if you really care

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Dec 23 2010, 07:01 PM)

300MB/day when idling
900MB/day when raiding

9GB/month when idling
27GB/month when raiding

wrong, wow does not uses that much of bandwidth
my umobile has 5gb a month and i'll monitor all the bandwidth i used, wow is no where near 50mb/hr (with vent will be different story)

This post has been edited by Kyl3: Feb 16 2011, 07:47 PM
Grif
post Feb 17 2011, 04:18 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Feb 16 2011, 07:39 PM)
abit OT but using unifi =/= gives you better latency

it's depends on your network congestions in your area; back in ipoh my 1mb streamyx can play at below 300ms

currently i'm using umobile with gametune, latency hovers around 350-500
and yes, such wireless broadband does have slightly more delay compare to wired connection if you really care
wrong, wow does not uses that much of bandwidth
my umobile has 5gb a month and i'll monitor all the bandwidth i used, wow is no where near 50mb/hr (with vent will be different story)
Hm... good to know. Using P1 Wimax atm, and interested to see how WoW will perform on wifi.

Anything below 600ms is good enough for me. Probably will have to skip battlegrounds and raids though.
hidden830726
post Feb 17 2011, 06:34 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Any wireless is not good enough for wow. U might experience good bandwidth now, but when more ppl suddenly using the service in your area, u gonna get massive lag on peak hour as well as disconnect (dc).

E.g. P1 is a very good example for this.

In this kind game, u need consistency.

My opinion still hold, be it taiwan or US, streamyx is still the best.

As for Unifi, i reserve my comment until more feedback

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Feb 17 2011, 06:35 AM
Instant_noodle
post Feb 17 2011, 11:33 AM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Feb 17 2011, 06:34 AM)
Any wireless is not good enough for wow. U might experience good bandwidth now, but when more ppl suddenly using the service in your area, u gonna get massive lag on peak hour as well as disconnect (dc).

i guess YES4G *is* the fastest speed right now...

for connection speed and speed for sucking yer wallet dry...
nagflar
post Feb 18 2011, 10:20 AM

1,813 posts

streamyx still the best for wow !!
Grif
post Feb 18 2011, 01:37 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Feb 17 2011, 06:34 AM)

When you have no choice, and still want your wow fix... brows.gif

Obviously, I would take streamyx anytime over P1, but I don't have that luxury here in college.
chc
post Feb 18 2011, 03:07 PM

140 posts

P1 is not that stable even you are in green signal mode.
latency around 150ms-224ms using proxy.
Grif
post Feb 19 2011, 01:00 AM

378 posts

QUOTE(chc @ Feb 18 2011, 03:07 PM)
P1 is not that stable even you are in green signal mode.
latency around 150ms-224ms using proxy.
This for wow taiwan? I NEVER got that even with tunnel using my home streamyx.
geno
post Mar 12 2011, 05:10 PM

52 posts

If you're using Yes for wow, its cheaper to get the valuepack at rm68 for 3.5g for 1 month. 350ms without tunnel, with tunnel bout 250ms
TShanraphael
post Mar 15 2011, 04:03 PM

I have used YES4G for a month now... I'm getting a latency of 400-700ms ... totally good enuf for me. But that is also depending on what area I'm at. IF i'm at PJ area it's good.

and I only play like 3 hours a day maximum. so Rm60 a month is more then enough for me biggrin.gif
HaoYuan
post Mar 15 2011, 04:06 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(garanzia86 @ Dec 15 2010, 03:41 PM)
im in seri kembangan areas.....normally get around 500 to 600 ms during peak hours....and get around 300 to 400 ms later at night and early morning. seems to be ok. only been dced around twice so far. only been testing for about 4 days so far.
Impossible that YES will be faster than unifi bah
nagflar
post Mar 15 2011, 04:25 PM

1,813 posts

faster dosent mean you can get good latency .
make87
post Mar 15 2011, 04:56 PM

684 posts

if latency does matter, tw wow no doubt.
I never get more than 100ms, unless tm screw it upside down once in a while.
geno
post Mar 16 2011, 03:45 PM

52 posts

I dont know why u guys are lagging, but im only having 2-3bar from the max 5 bars. I'm in puchong btw and i feel its more smoother than streamyx. Constant 200-300+ms world ping with gamehub in heavy 25m raid setting.

This post has been edited by geno: Mar 16 2011, 03:46 PM
TShanraphael
post Mar 16 2011, 04:50 PM

Unifi is still the better choice... but my area don't have until... dunno when X_X
geno
post Mar 16 2011, 05:35 PM

52 posts

Yeah of coz unifi is better. Just an option if your place dont have unifi. For me i have also applied unifi, but it takes them almost a mth to come and fix it.
William7
post Apr 10 2011, 11:06 AM

92 posts

i am using YES 4G, pretty good for WoW, at BK area, i get 4-5 bars, latency ard 350-450ms in raid or not.

I do use Unifi in my office to play WoW as well, ard the same latency,

YES 4G good for gaming, reasonable, jsut cant do heavy streamings and downloads..
Jas2davir
post Apr 10 2011, 02:06 PM

461 posts

during massive boss encounters where there are lots of adds or spells going off you will get a massive spike then.
geno
post Apr 15 2011, 03:15 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Apr 10 2011, 02:06 PM)
during massive boss encounters where there are lots of adds or spells going off you will get a massive spike then.
Have you used it before?
Was raiding 25man with it for 1mth+ and had no problems on 2-3bar latency. Upgraded to unifi now and feels the latency is about the same, just that it has a bigger bandwidth to do other stuff.
iv'N
post May 7 2011, 12:42 AM

657 posts

I'm thinking of Yes 4G.. as I am moving to a new appartment.

Can't transfer my unifi there since its the only building on that street that doesnt have coverage.. fakapz. Agent told me not enough trained technician therefore our building dont have. @_@

Can't even do streamyx because phone line ports are full and what I was told by agent is that TM not gonna upgrade phone line ports coz they wanna push unifi services.

So Yes 4g at 22 floors ok?
stargamer
post Jun 6 2011, 03:49 AM

282 posts

im playing in wow US version and using tunneling service. ping around 3xx ms its playable.
haugi28
post Jun 6 2011, 01:15 PM

I have been trying out YES 4G at Rawang area. Full bar service and speed test can go up to 15Mbps download.

Play Wow without tunneling can get 240ms - 500ms ish range, disconnect and reconnect will help. Been raiding 10man and no spike lag with addon and lots of spell cast (I figure a better Video card will help).. considered stable.

Usage wise.. raiding for 3.5 - 4 hours with Vent on will come up to about
100 - 120Mb data volume. Without Vent and just play 5man and questing for about 3-4 hours will result in 50 - 60Mb of data volume.

RM68 value pack for 3.5GB data quota is good for me already since I only do 3 days raid and others time I am using 1Mbps Tmnut line + tunneling for questing and 5man.

Hope it helps.

0.0285sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:01 AM