Apple iPad 1+2 Discussion Q&A Thread v4, ipad 2 is released...

yltanisaac
post Jan 2 2011, 07:49 PM

94 posts

Hi all,

Been a iPad user since Christmas.. Downloaded lots of apps since then. I been holding on to it almost 24/7...

Problem is when I start using my HP laptop I used my fingers on the laptop screen to click.

Post-iPad syndrome I guess.. Anyone else have it..?? Lol
yltanisaac
post Jan 2 2011, 07:59 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Asus @ Jan 1 2011, 12:53 AM)
Hi guys just bought an iPad yesterday. The iPad won't charge over USB at laptop is it?
QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 1 2011, 11:55 AM)
It cannot be recharged using the USB ports on any non-Apple computer. However it can be charged through an  an iMac and a MacBook Pro. The iPad would not charge using any USB ports on several Windows machines, nor through the USB port on an Apple wired keyboard connected to the iMac.

According to Apple Tech Support:

* For the fastest charging, use the iPad’s included 10-Watt USB power adapter. This will fully charge the iPad in a few hours, even if you’re using the iPad at the same time.
        * When connected to a high-power USB port—such as the ones on recent Macs and the iPhone Power Adapter—the iPad will charge, even during use, but more slowly. Some third-party powered USB hubs provide higher-power USB ports, but many don’t; similarly, the USB ports on most Windows PCs don’t provide this additional power.
        * When connected to lower-power USB ports—those on older Macs, most Windows PCs, and most USB hubs (powered or unpowered)—the iPad’s battery is not charged while the iPad is awake, but is charged (again, slowly) when the iPad is asleep. What’s confusing here is that the message Not charging appears in the menu bar when the iPad is awake, which might lead you to assume that the offending USB port can never charge your iPad. But rest assured, : once you put the iPad to sleep, the battery will indeed charge.
I had this problem too but I found out a way to overcome it in my case.
ASUS, MSI And GIGABYTE have released a new upgrade driver for their motherboards to allow more juice to flow into their USB ports. According to a blog spot I found, ASUS's driver is compatible for most motherboards. I tried qit out on my HP Compaq Presario CQ36 laptop and it worked like a charm.

My IPad has the charge icon once I plugged it in my laptop and completes a charge in a couple of hours.

Here's the link CLICK ME

yltanisaac
post Feb 1 2011, 12:45 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(ahrapture @ Feb 1 2011, 12:37 AM)
Hi, just bought an ipad from MACHINE and realize that it say 'NOT CHARGING' whenever i plug into a pc. Went to a fren store to check it out and he said it might be a defect. What should i do sifus?
It's normal. Cos your pc is not equipped with a driver that will charge the iPad. Go to my last post and you can see the solution there.

QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Jan 2 2011, 07:59 PM)
I had this problem too but I found out a way to overcome it in my case.
ASUS, MSI And GIGABYTE have released a new upgrade driver for their motherboards to allow more juice to flow into their USB ports. According to a blog spot I found, ASUS's driver is compatible for most motherboards. I tried qit out on my HP Compaq Presario CQ36 laptop and it worked like a charm.

My IPad has the charge icon once I plugged it in my laptop and completes a charge in a couple of hours.

Here's the link CLICK ME
yltanisaac
post Feb 1 2011, 01:13 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Feb 1 2011, 12:53 AM)
ipad will shot "not charging" when you using USB plug on pc.... because the voltage is low. (actually it charge but very very slow.)
try plug on wall charger see can or not.  smile.gif
Yup that's true but I really hope they will addressvthis problem officially soon. For now I'm using that Asus driver for my pc.
yltanisaac
post Feb 5 2011, 10:29 AM

94 posts

There are times when performances are a bit lagging if you have A LOT of programs running in the background (>20 apps). Just make sure you really close them by double-pressing the home button and press the desired app to be closed for 3-4 seconds, and press the (-) button
yltanisaac
post Feb 12 2011, 05:32 PM

94 posts

upgraded from 16GB to 64 GB wifi. I just ran out of space. XD

0.0404sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:21 PM