Software Help how to change to Win 7 32 bit to 64 bit

TSIrfan2397
post Dec 13 2010, 03:40 PM, updated 15y ago

Please dont stalk me!!!
1,693 posts

As you know i just bought my self Toshiba M645 yesterday ,the toshiba salesman said to me that i need to install 32 bit cause this lappie window 7 is only 32 bit but i saw a post said toshiba is preloaded with 32 or 64 bit and it say over 3gb ram must use 64 bit.I need all the sifus here can teach me how to change .
Thanks in advance
lee_what2004
post Dec 13 2010, 04:17 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 9 2010, 11:01 AM)
The guide to Toshiba's HDD system recovery can be found here: cdgenp01.csd.toshiba.com/content/.../PMA500339010_web.pdf

Generally, it would be easier to conduct the recovery from the Hidden partition than the recovery discs (noneed to keep on changing discs XD )
In general, the steps involved are:

1. Make sure you backup all important files, EVERYTHING will be reformatted (except the Hidden Partition) when you recover your system. Noneed to worry about drivers and Toshiba programs as they are included in the Hidden Partition/Recovery discs.

2. Plug in A/C adapter and if possible, plug in the battery just in case of blackouts (in Malaysia) XD

3. Shut down your notebook.

4. Press and hold the "0" and the "power" button. A window will appear asking you whether you want to load a 32-bit or 64-bit windows. The remaining will be easy, just choose the "recover to out-of-box state" (Actually noneed to change anything, as for the subsequent windows, the initial ticked box will be the recommended one) XD

5. Partition reformatting will commence. Initiate the next step.

6. After that, leave everything to your notebook, it will restart on its own for quite a few times (to install the drivers and programs), may take up to 1-2 hours depending on your system. You will be configuring your OS in no time.

I guess that's all, hopefully this will help those who wanted to switched to 64-bit OS i.e. Eguy1314 ^_______^

** Be warned, Toshiba's feather touch buttons may become unresponsive after switching, still looking for answers for that one, it seemed there are no drivers for these buttons zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Anyway, Do refer to the link above for more elaborated details 
Best of luck!
astria
post Dec 13 2010, 05:23 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

in another word, format...
TSIrfan2397
post Dec 13 2010, 06:11 PM

Please dont stalk me!!!
1,693 posts

thanks to lee_what and astria who help me
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2010, 06:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Irfan2397 @ Dec 13 2010, 06:11 PM)
thanks to lee_what and astria who help me
I guess the most important thing to take note of when converting is "it will restart on its own for quite a few times (to install the drivers and programs), may take up to 1-2 hours depending on your system. You will be configuring your OS in no time." Don't turn off the laptop half way through this process... so far already got 2 forumers did that doh.gif

And do take note that there may be some small problems after converting depending on model but all can be rectified via driver updates nod.gif

All the best~

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2010, 06:18 PM

0.0163sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:05 AM