Credit Card v13

hye
post Jan 8 2011, 08:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jonuslee @ Jan 8 2011, 08:38 PM)
Guys, my maybank petronas cc until there is no GST charge . I saw my online CC number is XXXX-XXXX_XXXX-number. The front 12 number is only X and in the balance statement, it shows 0. meaning that my CC does not have any GST charge.very weird.Cos normally CC will be charged GST but does anyone out there has the same issue as me?
I'd advise you to just be happy about it. Treat yourself as being lucky. No need the hassle of explanation.
I don't see it as an issue ... it is either you got lucky or you will be charged later.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 8 2011, 09:03 PM
hye
post Jan 9 2011, 09:53 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(hebe87 @ Jan 9 2011, 08:19 PM)
I believe this applies to all FD pledged cc, not only to OCBC only, where the FD is not allowed to be uplifted, so long as the credit card is active.
If the FD tenure is 12 month period, after 12 months, it will auto renew based on the current rate
Therefore, even if the card is approved, you can't withdraw FD. If you want to withdraw FD, you must first clear all your cc outstanding charges and cancel your cc.
Yes ... I agree. This applies to all FD pledged cc. To put it simply, you can't withdraw your FD so long you wish to hold your FD backed cc.
Withdraw FD then bye-bye cc.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 9 2011, 09:54 PM
hye
post Jan 9 2011, 10:20 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(prempenang @ Jan 9 2011, 10:18 PM)
which bank can apply cc with just having an existing cc of another banK?
Just about all but please make sure your reference card is at least 1 year old.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 9 2011, 11:04 PM
hye
post Jan 9 2011, 11:05 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(prempenang @ Jan 9 2011, 10:26 PM)
i have cimb, pb and citibank

cimb 40k cl, pb 10k cl and citibank 40k cl

which bank shall i cancel? or shall i cancel 2 cars and apply another better one?

thinking of keeping cimb since free for life
Only you can answer this question yourself. You need to understand your spending pattern and match it to the card.
From CL, perspective ... definitely cancel that PB.
hye
post Jan 11 2011, 04:34 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 11 2011, 04:28 PM)
no people reply me one
Because your question a lot of times has been asked.
Just wait for it to be approved ... everyone here had to wait for their card and yours is not the only application the bank is looking at.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 04:34 PM
hye
post Jan 11 2011, 05:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Standard Chartered do not make calls to offer cc. Even if it is done, it is done by Price Solutions which is the marketing arm for Standard Chartered.

tAmp0i & erry- ... I'll suggest removing the reference to the mobile number directly as I don't see a (proven) scam has happened. It is potential warning ... just to be fair to the guy in case he was genuine. And if there's really a case, tAmp0i please report it to SCB because SCB take such matters seriously.

I don't think this a place to make a report based on something still vague and without proof. Definitely ... this cc thread is not Kopi Tiam. Let's handle matters in a more adult fashion.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 05:53 PM
hye
post Jan 11 2011, 10:45 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 09:43 PM)
Anyway, i believe this is enough to convince it is quite possibly a scam?... rolleyes.gif

Possibly but the right thing to do is to report it to the bank if you suspect anything.
Although the information looks suspicious but there's no crime has taken place yet. The bank's official reply will prove whether this is a scam or not.

The information that you shared will be helpful for the folks here and a good reminder to those who came in here and ask whether can apply credit card using email. Don't be lazy to make that trip to the bank or to look for proper cc representatives ... your laziness and stupidity might cost you your identity theft.

Personally, I don't apply my credit card via someone who uses their yahoo mail or similar. My last application via email was with someone who uses @citibank email ID.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 11 2011, 10:46 PM
hye
post Jan 12 2011, 09:32 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 12 2011, 09:05 AM)
it is not they charge me for the early installment but they charged me for the exceeding usage of my credit card. i thought i have payed them off but they took my early payment as payment for installment. sweat.gif
You cannot fault the bank. The way I read it you did not understand the concept of payment due every month as indicated by your bill and payment hierarchy. It shouldn't be a problem under normal circumstances but you had installment plans which then triggered early settlement fees.

All the senior folks here at one point or another make mistakes with their cc. Just accept it was a mistake on your part and move on.
I would appreciate it if you don't write discouraging people to pay early coz that creates another problem when people pay late, they get charged late payment fee and they fault the bank for not waiving it off.

Added on January 12, 2011, 9:38 am
QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 07:45 AM)
Guys,
i have cancelled my HLB cc since 2008. But in august 2010 they send a statement stating tat i have an overdue payment. After several emails, this is what HLB officer have to say:

"As per our previous email, we would like to advise that there is no record of your cancellation request received at our end prior to service tax imposition. We wish to take this opportunity to advise that for each credit card issued the bank is authorize to charge a service tax of RM50-00 which is then make payable to the Royal Customs Department. The bank has indicated that with effective 1 January 2010, all individual holding credit cards will be imposed a service tax of RM 50-00 per principal card.

In view of the above, it is with regret that we are unable to reverse the service tax of RM50-00 which was levied in the Visa card on June 30, 2010. Nevertheless, we are pleased to advise that we have since reversed the annual fee and finance charges derived from the service tax on goodwill basis. We would appreciate if you could make the necessary arrangement to remit payment i.e. RM 50-00 before your  statement due date."

I do not intend to pay for the service tax as my card was cancelled before the implementation of the tax.

Guys, would like to know what should i do?
1) do i really need to pay for the service tax?
2) if i do not make the payment, what is the consequences?
HJebat, you should have made follow up calls to ensure that your card was cancelled in the first place. While Gen-X mentioned that it is possible to reverse the GST but not all banks are willing to do so and HLB isn't known to be one of them. You can try to appeal to them but if they decline (likely to happen) then just bite the bullet and pay to avoid a black mark on your CCRIS. Take the RM50 as a lesson learnt from the mistake made.

I know I sound harsh but the reality is that banks are commercial entities, least likely they will take side with the customer. In this case, I see that you assumed the card is cancelled and never checked with the bank at all as to whether your card is still active or not.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 12 2011, 09:38 AM
hye
post Jan 12 2011, 11:59 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(my_cat @ Jan 12 2011, 11:49 AM)
I never utilize credit card installment plan. Do you mean all banks will treat "early payment" or "extra payment" as installment?
Call up CS and understand their payment hierarchy system. It is more or less the same across all banks with slight variations.
Once you understand this, you'll be more informative on how to pay for your cc.

This post has been edited by hye: Jan 12 2011, 12:00 PM
hye
post Jan 13 2011, 10:20 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just to share MBB Balance Transfer will take the total amount and then divide it with the number of months that you signed up for. That will become the "monthly" installments charged to your cc.

It is slightly different some BT programme where you have the flexibility to pay any amount within the BT period.

Example

BT RM12K
Monthly will be 12K/12 = RM1K (charged to your cc)
hye
post Jan 13 2011, 02:04 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ Jan 13 2011, 01:53 PM)
Just got my CIMB WMC approved. Wondered if the VI is better than the WMC?
Not in the case of CIMB. The way I see it the WMC is more golf centric than then VI version. WMC is points centric and VI is rebate centric. IMHO the VI rebate is pathetic coz other bank rebate rates are far better.
Plus some variations in terms of the promotions and that's about all.
hye
post Jan 13 2011, 04:43 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 13 2011, 03:42 PM)
ok, will cc to bnm if i plan to cancel citibank credit card, afraid citibank will play any trick to delay it
Please don't do this. It is not supposed to be used for card cancellation, only credit card fraud complaints.
You are not being smart. You are only making a fool of yourself if you do this.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0464sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:11 AM