Credit Card v13

alexwsk
post Jan 11 2011, 12:14 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(prempenang @ Jan 11 2011, 11:06 AM)
6 months only?

i have been keeping my statement from 1999

its it safe to dispose the old statements? later bank say never pay back in  yr 2000

???????????????????
as long as the current statement is continuation from the previous statement, there's no need even to keep the previous statement
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2011, 05:13 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Jan 11 2011, 04:28 PM)
no people reply me one
coz there's no definite answer
and does it really matter?
alexwsk
post Jan 11 2011, 10:26 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jan 11 2011, 09:43 PM)
Anyway, i believe this is enough to convince it is quite possibly a scam?... rolleyes.gif
they even hv ur email address shocking.gif
but then might be someone u knew gv him ur details, so i guessed he knew your full name as well

alexwsk
post Jan 12 2011, 09:46 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 07:45 AM)
Guys,
i have cancelled my HLB cc since 2008. But in august 2010 they send a statement stating tat i have an overdue payment. After several emails, this is what HLB officer have to say:

"As per our previous email, we would like to advise that there is no record of your cancellation request received at our end prior to service tax imposition. We wish to take this opportunity to advise that for each credit card issued the bank is authorize to charge a service tax of RM50-00 which is then make payable to the Royal Customs Department. The bank has indicated that with effective 1 January 2010, all individual holding credit cards will be imposed a service tax of RM 50-00 per principal card.

In view of the above, it is with regret that we are unable to reverse the service tax of RM50-00 which was levied in the Visa card on June 30, 2010. Nevertheless, we are pleased to advise that we have since reversed the annual fee and finance charges derived from the service tax on goodwill basis. We would appreciate if you could make the necessary arrangement to remit payment i.e. RM 50-00 before your  statement due date."

I do not intend to pay for the service tax as my card was cancelled before the implementation of the tax.

Guys, would like to know what should i do?
1) do i really need to pay for the service tax?
2) if i do not make the payment, what is the consequences?
Few questions:
1) Did you still receive cc statement after 2008?
2) Did you use the card even once after the cancellation?
3) Can you see the card cancelled in your online banking?

If no, you can complain to bnm and cc to HLB.

Added on January 12, 2011, 9:48 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 12 2011, 08:03 AM)
If you have cancelled your card since 2008, did you not get statements between 2008 and Aug 2010? If you have, then I say it was your fault that you did not follow up on the cancellation.

Next time always follow up with a call to check what is in their system. 

If you do not make payment, well the amount would be showing in HLB system and wonder if it will show up in CCRIS report which is not good.

To say that they cannot reverse the RM50 is not entirely true, Citibank did reverse my charges after GST was charged and then only I cancel  my card.

Write another appeal letter stating why they should waive the GST and if they still not willing, IMHO, just pay the RM50 and move on and use your time and evergy on something else.

No, i did not get any statements between 2008 & August 2010.
So, when i received it on August 10...i was like "huh?!" blur, blur...

OK, notes taken. Will write an appeal letter to HLB. Thanks.
dun just write the appeal letter, cc to bnm as well
email is bnmtelelink@bnm.gov.my

Added on January 12, 2011, 9:49 am
QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 12 2011, 09:00 AM)
hi guys, i feel i am so stupid.. yesterday i just found out that i pay more for my installments. aikz..

the story goes like this. i have a habit of keeping the daily/monthly expenses of where i spend or what i spend. this includes the credit card swapping. just because my cc usage for a month start from 11 and end at 11 of every month, i will pay some of the expenses in the end of the month. For example, my credit card has used up to rm 600 in February and i pay rm 400 in end of January and the remaining rm 200, i will pay later on in February.

This way, will keep me in track of my personal daily/monthly expenses so that i know how much i used but yesterday nite, when i was checking my credit cards statement, i saw interest charge to my statement and i was wondering what happened. Didn't i pay all the charges already and i made a call to the CS and they told me that i have pay off in advance of 9 months of installment already!!! haizzzz.. one word.. damn!!!

so now i have to pay the exceeding amount which they didnt deduct from my early payed in. Now i really know what to do next time, don't ever bank in early for them!!!!
the lesson is, always pay full statement balance on or before statement due date thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 12 2011, 09:58 AM
alexwsk
post Jan 12 2011, 09:57 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 12 2011, 09:53 AM)
HJebat, you should have made follow up calls to ensure that your card was cancelled in the first place. While Gen-X mentioned that it is possible to reverse the GST but not all banks are willing to do so and HLB isn't known to be one of them. You can try to appeal to them but if they decline (likely to happen) then just bite the bullet and pay to avoid a black mark on your CCRIS. Take the RM50 as a lesson learnt from the mistake made.

Hye,
ya, lesson learnt. Btw, wat is CCRIS?
CCRIS is Central Credit Reference Information System
more info refer post #1 item 15

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 12 2011, 09:57 AM
alexwsk
post Jan 12 2011, 08:16 PM

4,093 posts

Public Bank cash rebate for Month 2 - November already in, pls chk
din manage to get full RM100 yawn.gif
alexwsk
post Jan 12 2011, 10:31 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Jan 12 2011, 08:56 PM)
lol, same here, get RM25 only. how much u get? why its mention Bonus Month 2, what happen to month 1?
month 1 i received RM14, only 2 transactions on the first week, after that din swipe
month 2 i received RM98, transaction after 17/11 no rebate, so cash back finished b4 that date

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:32 pm
QUOTE(rickkywong @ Jan 12 2011, 08:57 PM)
Hey Alex,

Is online hotel booking entitle to Public Bank cash rebate? Because i call the CS, they said retail purchase but i didn't ask online purchase... doh.gif
my online bill payment thru pbebanking received rebate

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 12 2011, 10:32 PM
alexwsk
post Jan 13 2011, 08:42 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jan 13 2011, 12:09 AM)
meh, i gotta wait until 26th for my statement sweat.gif
what is your latest purchase to receive rebate?

already received my pbb-esso mobil 3% bonus rebate
03/11
after that din swipe until 17/11

Added on January 13, 2011, 8:45 am
QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 13 2011, 07:52 AM)
Cutting your card in half and surrendering it to HLB is good enough that you have cancelled the account. In your letter to HLB clearly state this fact and the branch where you did the above action. Better if you can remember the officer's name. Word the letter in a firm manner pointing out to HLB that they are in the wrong and you not willing to to pay for their mistake.

I did. I mentioned that all the cancellation process was done in the HLB branch office. Yet, they replied that there is no record of my cancellation request received at their end.

I'm now waiting for their reply if they can waive the GST. If it can't be done, then probably will follow your advice. This time a letter in a FIRM manner telling them it's not my fault & i'm not willing to pay. Will make a trip to the branch also & see if i can still identify the officer who cut my card. Also waiting for reply from BNM. Let's see what will happen next.
er, did you email direct to them or just CC?
better email direct, put in the TO column, else they will not reply, will just monitor

but from my experience, whenever bnm is involved, direct or cc, banks will response fast laugh.gif

i've had experience with MBB, citi and PBB doh.gif

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Jan 13 2011, 08:45 AM
alexwsk
post Jan 13 2011, 03:40 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 13 2011, 09:15 AM)
how to involve bnm ? by cc email to them ?
yes, cc for them to monitor
or email to them direct if you need them to response
alexwsk
post Jan 13 2011, 03:53 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jan 13 2011, 03:42 PM)
ok, will cc to bnm if i plan to cancel citibank credit card, afraid citibank will play any trick to delay it
wah, i thk like that cannot doh.gif

you only cc or email to bnm when u want to complain
alexwsk
post Jan 13 2011, 10:31 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jan 13 2011, 10:12 PM)
just received a call from OCBS staff....should i proceed with OCBC Tit and terminate HSBC CC???

and RM50 GST for my HSBC this year i need to pay or not???anniversary on nov last year..paid via redemption..

and for OCBC GST, is it will be charge upon card approval or how?
last nov paid, will be charge again this nov
new cards will be charged GST upon approval
alexwsk
post Jan 14 2011, 12:30 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Jan 14 2011, 12:22 PM)
I am afraid that the same situation will be one more time again  rclxub.gif
print out and bring there laugh.gif
alexwsk
post Jan 14 2011, 05:56 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jan 14 2011, 05:27 PM)
means i can use my hsbc until before nov this year and then terminate the card...and no GST charged is it??? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
yup
alexwsk
post Jan 14 2011, 06:11 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(milenia98 @ Jan 14 2011, 05:54 PM)
if our credit card tied to balance transfer programme, can we use the remaining balance to do shopping?

if yes, the next statement we have to pay full amount of balance transfer or full amount of outstanding balance?
yes
you pay full amount of statement balance

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0209sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:59 AM