Nokia N8 V17, New firmware coming soon~

Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:20 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 8 2010, 10:12 PM)
okay. Thx but I don't have 1mil to spend. tongue.gif
I'll let my mum know when she's free to go buy camera biggrin.gif
The best is to hands on the camera yourself brows.gif
Feel the difference and play with the menu, buttons, setting, take some photos. Both have different feel, some people prefer one over the other.

D90 now going very cheap since D7000 released; D7000 will be a very good choice if you have the money.

Get a zoom lens and also get a prime lens; prime lens will give you quality and nice "bokeh" especially for portraits, it's also fast and very good in low light condition with aperture like f1.8 or f1.4. You can get a cheap prime lens below RM400.
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:28 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:21 PM)
Sifu andy i saw someone use 1.4 the bokeh so nice somemore in low light condition still look so good. I think ill skip 1.8 and go for 1.4

Added on December 8, 2010, 10:21 pm

550d where got expensive? RM2200 only ma
yea, 1.4 sure better, see DigitalRev review, nice~ Booookeh-licious~ hehehe
50mm f1.8 is a lot cheaper compared to f1.4. tongue.gif

QUOTE(keanyuu @ Dec 8 2010, 10:21 PM)
any idea d90 how much nowadays??
I think can get below RM2.5K (body only) with free memory car and bag.
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:29 PM)
But 1.4 in low light very good. I going KLIMS tis sunday again
Hehe, sure lo, 1 stop better plus more shallow DOF.
My friend have the f1.4 but Nikon version.

In DigitalRev review, seems Sigma 50mm f1.4 better wor~ more creamy and rounded bokeh~

QUOTE(keanyuu @ Dec 8 2010, 10:30 PM)
is it???haha...i thought 2.8k..is the base lens included???
Now should be very cheap already; the kit lens is 18-55mm which is very cheap also.
My friend just sold his one after using for around 2 months I think; Now he's using D7000.
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:39 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(keanyuu @ Dec 8 2010, 10:35 PM)
wah...ur friend must be freaking rich...use for 2 months..then dont wan to use already...haha...
Not satisfied, it's a entry level DSLR which lack of many things, but it has great movie function. After he tested the 60D, he wanna upgrade to 60D, but later check out D7000 drool.gif the spec can even compare with 7D, but anyway, it really depends on each person, the best is to try out the camera yourself and decide (of course also within your budget), same like buying phone also lah, hehe.

Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:40 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:35 PM)
sample taken by 1.4

I read there, if not wrong, this is taken with D90. Now he just upgrade to Full Frame D700!!!

Btw, heard the Lexus showroom is tough to shoot due to the lightings.
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:49 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(keanyuu @ Dec 8 2010, 10:41 PM)
haha..for me..i really think think think...haha...even b4 buy my n8....i think quite long time already...dslr..i alreayd think for 1 year whether is worth to get 1 or not...
Think hard whether you will use it, and why you want to get it. Now got EVIL camera, like Sony NEX series, Sony SLT with 10fps!, Panasonic GirlFriend2 (GF2), Olympus PEN, etc. All these camera gives DSLR like quality and point and shoot features, and it's compact in size. What's more, some of these cameras has very nice features like SWEEP PANORAMA, built-in guide how to take photo, even have function for your to blur the background to get the "bokeh" effect, sweat.gif
They also have decent low light performance; Sony NEX and SLT using APS-C size sensor, same with DSLR... the ISO performance is quite remarkable and comparable or even better than entry level DSLR...

Know what your needs and what you will use for; DSLR is not cheap to spend because there's so many lens, and most DSLR, the image stabilization is built in lens instead of body unlike point and shoot camera. The main point is the ability to use a good lens, which will make a big difference.
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 10:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:46 PM)
Actually it depends DSLR most important is the lens. U notice some ppl even with 550D can take amaze photos. 50% is your hardware 50% is your skill . Which lighting. Some photos u see use DSLR take crap photo simply flash flash
Yea, lens is very important; but my friend tested and compared the 60D with 550D, with his own same skill, haha; proven the 60D is better plus the it's has more features.
Depend on the purpose, both 550D and D3100 is good camera even though it's entry level.

Just like handphone, we have low end, mid-range and high end. Depend on your needs and get the one that fit your requirement. Of course, for DSLR, the price is big difference, LoL! tongue.gif

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:48 PM)
just note when u start it wont be 2K anymore can reach up to 10k or more if u cant control yourself
LoL, this is for sure, the good lens cost more than the body.

Added on December 8, 2010, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(andrekua @ Dec 8 2010, 10:53 PM)
So N8 sensor not big enough n turned into dslr discussion?
Nah, N8 sensor already no longer in discussion. I think they shifted to "TT" discussion, then to KL International Model show discussion, then talk about photography, haha

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 8 2010, 10:54 PM
Andy214
post Dec 8 2010, 11:10 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 8 2010, 10:59 PM)
Sifu agito

I thought you post game for N8! Surprise suddenly so many nice game release on N8, but after read others reply... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 8 2010, 11:11 PM
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 12:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 9 2010, 12:27 PM)
hmph, EOS 60D is kinda out of budget a little. D7000 how much? I totally list out D90 ady and I think I will strongly recommend my mum to buy EOS550D with 18-200mm lens biggrin.gif

Added on December 9, 2010, 12:29 pmbtw, anyone out there want to comment please let me know about this.

Should I do accounting or should I do engineering? blink.gif
I'm confused........
D7000 is mo ex than 60D.

Get a prime lens too, u'll appreciate the quality and...... booookehlicious! Good for low light situation as well where ur zoom lens will suffer.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 12:38 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 9 2010, 12:33 PM)
My mum wants to buy DSLR larh not phone biggrin.gif

Added on December 9, 2010, 12:34 pm
later on only buy. okay confirm ask my mum to buy 550D + 18-200mm

The lens is sooo expensive ohmy.gif
get the 50mm f/1.8, cheap cheap less than RM400. Nothing compared to your 18-200mm price.
You might like the prime more than the zoom brows.gif
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 12:55 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Dec 9 2010, 12:52 PM)
Just get the lower-end of DSLR is enough la. D3100 or 1000D with their kit lens (18-55mm) is already good for normal shooting. My frens got a 1000D and never complaint. Good for noob. This entry level DSLR also lighter and easier to carry around but not suitable for long telephoto lens.
550D also entry level, actually D3100 comparable to it.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 12:59 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 9 2010, 12:56 PM)
my fren told me his fren accountant.. end up selling laksa near UM.
He real accountant or?
For accountant, you can always get job, even part time, free lance, and no need to worry about catching latest technologies and information.
For IT, today you're good, tomorrow you need to catch up or bye bye all your years of experience and skills.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 02:02 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Dec 9 2010, 01:03 PM)
550D cost above RM2k while both D3100 and 1000D cost less than that. With the price diffrence, you can get better lenses.
Ya, that's what I'm trying to say, D3100 cost less than that but specs and performance comparable to 550D. Both are entry level DSLR.

But in the end, it's up to the buyer choice; Best to try out himself/herself as it's up to personal preference, feel, touch, etc. Also the menu, screens, functions/features, etc. Both also is good entry level DSLR; Some people prefer one over the other, but it's individual choice.

Tough, for video, Canon is known to be better in this aspect.

QUOTE(botakbin @ Dec 9 2010, 01:04 PM)
my fren told me he has an accounting degree la. and yes the busines is very good. it was his choice to sell laksa and give up accounting. u visit UM and see la. my fren says the laksa there is quite well known lol.
If his business very good, then nothing wrong with giving up his accounting, hehe.
Besides, his accounting knowledge/skill can still be use anytime, especially to earn part time/free-lance, the money is what people say "nobody know".

Added on December 9, 2010, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Dec 9 2010, 02:01 PM)
accounting and engineering relate to N8?lol
Related to Job, then to Salary, then buying the N8 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 9 2010, 02:03 PM
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 02:16 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Dec 9 2010, 02:04 PM)
550D consider mid range dslr d la...
Not really. 60D fit the mid-range bill more, 7D is the pro range for APS-C size (1.4 or 1.5 or 1.6).

550D is pretty basic actually, there isn't even a top LCD.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 02:26 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Dec 9 2010, 02:18 PM)
N8 is the pro range camera phone... whistling.gif
Need... more... manual... controls....

Hope next firmware upgrade will give more camera functions/features.
At least Touch Focus please, no need to always focus on the middle point.

Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 02:52 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Dec 9 2010, 02:34 PM)
Yup, at the end up to the user choice. Bring your mother to the shop and let she gets a grip of the camera.
Agree. Although for canon the mid-range is 50D and 60D which cost more than RM3K, but in term of spec, 550D almost on par with Nikon mid-range D90.
Technology always improve, 550D is still entry level DSLR; You can check the timeline in wiki or google 550D, it's entry level. Both these 2 company, always over-take each other on each range. Now D3100 is comparable to 550D.
The D7000 replacing the D90, in terms of specs, it close to the 7D! Heck, even some of the high end/pro-range owner of D300S switch to D7000.

Cannot keep up with technology, just determine your needs and choose the one you like, touch, feel, hold, play with the camera. All the brands have different feel, some prefer one over the other, while some people own more than 1 brand.

My advice is just don't become brand conscious, just see which you prefer rather than go for branding.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 03:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Dec 9 2010, 02:36 PM)
N8 IS THE BEST CAMERA phone around!!!...  flex.gif
In adequate lighting, it actually performs very very well. Recent outing, people all carry DSLR or high end digital camera.
But when compare the pics, N8 actually performs very well; probably most people can't tell it's a result of the phone camera.
Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 03:42 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Dec 9 2010, 03:33 PM)
Low range very easy identify on canon the user camera stripe it will say Eos digital only. Mid to high end will state Eos digital and model
Actually, the range make it confusing to many.

To put it simple, see the controls; Usually entry level have very basic control, usually no top LCD, etc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_EOS_550D

Andy214
post Dec 9 2010, 05:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Dec 9 2010, 05:18 PM)
Anyone wanna to know how to restore ovi store? Hehehe
Share share please and please update to front page.

Andy214
post Dec 10 2010, 10:52 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 10 2010, 10:47 PM)
wow rclxms.gif
sifu, not getting 18-200mm coz no package together hence very expensive to buy seperately.
Just go get the 50mm f/1.8, less than RM400; It'll give you far better quality, speed and very nice bokeh compared to those zoom lens.
Believe me, you might not want to use your kit lens anymore except when you need wider view; For zooming, you can use your leg to zoom.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Dec 10 2010, 10:53 PM

0.0425sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:48 AM