Rabbit Corner V10, --== Come Get Some Bunny Rubs ==--

Sony Ericsson
post Sep 13 2014, 04:47 PM

235 posts

Hi everyone, quick question.
Does anyone know where there are rabbits up for adoption in selangor?

I found a baby male stray rabbit 7++ months ago and so I've adopted and been caring for him ever since. Brought him to hillpark for neutering about a month and a half ago (Thanks Dr. Lynnette! ). He's so cute and intelligent. Makes me wonder how someone abandoned/was careless enuf to let this poor fella out on the street. He was only about 2 months old when I found him... poor fella.

Anyways, I've been trying to find him a female partner to keep him company because although he gets plenty of freedom/playtime and interaction with my family members, he does seem sad and lonely at times (he just stares blankly into my lawn, as though pondering the meaning of life). So, I prefer if I can adopt a female rabbit about 1 year old, spayed or not does not matter, she will be brought to hillpark for checkup and spayed(if not spayed already).

I don't want to buy from petshops or breeders out to make a quick buck because I believe that they are partially the cause for abandoned rabbits. I'd much rather prefer to help a rabbit that has been abandoned or in need of a new home. If u know of any animal shelter or if spca has rabbits, please help point me in that direction. Thanks in advance for your help, much appreciated.
Sony Ericsson
post Sep 15 2014, 07:32 AM

235 posts

Thanks for the replies guys, I appreciate it. I will look it up this weekend. rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Sony Ericsson
post Apr 6 2015, 01:29 PM

235 posts

Yup. Rabbits are smart. Very smart.
But don't expect them to behave like a dog or a cat. A rabbit is a rabbit.

Mine is very intelligent but with lots of attitude. Sometimes he wants my attention, sometimes he wants alone time, sometimes he wants to play, sometimes he tries to trick people to give him more treats even though he just ate some. At times he does the funniest nonsense.

Mine is a potty trained house bunny which gets plenty of time to roam the house. You will have to spend a lot of time with the rabbit if u wanna get to see their true personality and loving, gentle side. You will also need to rabbit proof your house.

To me, owning a rabbit is more work than owning a dog. And yes, your rabbit will recognize you. Mine chooses who he wants to manja wirh, who he wants to avoid, who he wants to make use of and finally, who he wants to fight with.... hahaha. He doesn't treat everyone in my family equally.

That's just my opinion/experience. Yours may differ.
Sony Ericsson
post Jun 9 2015, 01:32 PM

235 posts

If u feed food with lots of water content within it, yes then they wont drink much.
Don't feed too much carrots though, its very sweet and no good for them if u feed too much. Give lots of hay instead. I notice my rabbit drinks more water when he eats more hay. He usually drinks water during the late evenings.

Btw, when my rabbit was less than 5 months old, I used to give water through the bottle, now he has a water bowl. When he was young he didn't know how to drink wlfrom water bowl.

And yes, rabbits eat a lot. They need to continuously eat to keep their intestinal tract working. If there is a blockage they will die.

Feed more green vegetables and hay. Check online for a list of safe/unsafe foods for rabbits.
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 2 2019, 08:35 PM

235 posts

Guys, any good rabbit vets in Subang Jaya area? Thanks.
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 4 2019, 11:11 PM

235 posts

Thank you Zenix. I'll look them up.
Just curious, do they have an on site x-ray machine?

Sony Ericsson
post Aug 5 2019, 12:05 AM

235 posts

Well, that is true, I'll keep that in mind. Its just that my little fluff ball is 6yrs+ now, so he's quite old and his cecotropes has been very mushy and shapeless more often recently.

He has always had this issue once in a while since he was a tiny baby, but lately its becoming waay too often. His regular vet said its diet related. But I'm starting to worry its an internal gut issue, hence why I'm wondering if he needs a scan or xray done.

Last Friday he really gave me a scare, poops were very mushy as first, then he went into GI stasis. Luckily i managed to massage him and by the next morning he was willing to eat again. He's still not 100% back to normal because his poops are now soo dry and tiny. But at least he's gained back his appetite and is moving around like normal again. Last Friday he was in pain and his tummy was really bloated. I had to do a few hours of gentle massage and that helped a lot. I was soo worried and was with him all through the night.

I'm really at a loss as to why why his cecotropes are soo mushy sometimes. I'm trying the process of elimination now, either his pallets or the veggies are the culprit.
Must get him to eat more hay.... he's a pampered spoilt brat. wub.gif
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 11 2019, 10:34 AM

235 posts

Ok, will do. Thanks Zenix.
Who is the rabbit expert there? What's her name?

This post has been edited by Sony Ericsson: Aug 11 2019, 10:48 AM
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 11 2019, 04:58 PM

235 posts

Thank you. I'll get in touch with her.
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 31 2019, 04:03 PM

235 posts

Do a search on "Rabbit Splayed Legs" on google, it might be what your rabbit is suffering from. 😔
Kesian, maybe that's why kena dumped by previous owners. Please don't give up on the poor fella. cry.gif

This post has been edited by Sony Ericsson: Aug 31 2019, 04:05 PM
Sony Ericsson
post Aug 31 2019, 11:11 PM

235 posts

I hope everything turns out ok for the little fella. Keep us posted.
Sony Ericsson
post Sep 1 2019, 11:29 AM

235 posts

Oh my, thats soo sad. Very evil of his previous owner to dump him in his old age.

Please shower him with love and care in his remaining days. Poor thing. 😢

This post has been edited by Sony Ericsson: Sep 1 2019, 11:37 AM
Sony Ericsson
post Sep 1 2019, 11:35 AM

235 posts

Double post.

This post has been edited by Sony Ericsson: Sep 1 2019, 11:36 AM
Sony Ericsson
post Sep 1 2019, 11:58 AM

235 posts

😇👍
Sony Ericsson
post Oct 30 2019, 03:41 PM

235 posts

I've never heard that sound before.

U can try Hillpark vet in Kota Kemuning. They are rabbit savvy. Dr Lynette or Dr Loh. Number is +60351228386
They are closed on today Wednesday tho.

Another place u can try is St Angel Vet in Puchong. 03-5891 1884
I do not know if they are rabbit savvy but I did bring my rabbit there once for an xray.

Sony Ericsson
post Oct 30 2019, 03:44 PM

235 posts

Also post that video on FB "Rabbit Club Malaysia"
And also "House Rabbit Society". Maybe someone has heard that sound before and can help. Poor thing.☹
Sony Ericsson
post Oct 31 2019, 09:24 AM

235 posts

You're welcome. I hope it turns out ok. Do keep us updated. Would like to know why she's making that sound and would like to know that she's ok.
Sony Ericsson
post Nov 5 2019, 10:47 AM

235 posts

Hope her health improves significantly and comes back to normal once you've addressed those issues. Thanks for sharing. smile.gif

0.0404sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:31 PM