Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

ldhong
post Jan 5 2011, 09:48 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Jan 5 2011, 12:04 AM)
You can go check on Yoko websites. They always hires people. But don't hope for good pay. They say Kacang pun tak ada..
Hi Kelv,

How's SMDS job at SIN ?

ldhong
post Apr 20 2011, 10:16 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 20 2011, 08:41 PM)
hey Im wondering if any of you heard of Gutor electronic ? Do you think it's beneficial if i start my career here if I plan to stay in oil and gas industry ?

I mean Gutor is leading supplier for UPS system. My work experience will be focused on UPS system only. My concern is if i start my career here,will my knowledge be limited as I would only know UPS system and nothing more. Will this deter me from moving to consultancy or main player in oil and gas industry in the future?
GUTOR not only the leading UPS provider for O&G industry but also power and energy.. Good for E&E major ...It has the production facilities at Shah Alam and expect to travels a lots in Asia Pac if you are the Field Serv Engineer... Daily offshore allowance is Rm150 or have they change the rate now? However, Gutor has been hiring FSE for some time and they are still hiring now too?
ldhong
post May 30 2011, 09:21 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ May 30 2011, 08:31 AM)
there are some. but mostly internal promotion or dept. transfer under "business development".
sometimes, one needs networks for this. or u can try your luck @ OGA 2011 coming soon 1-3 June 2011 @ klcc.
Where can i get the list of the OGA exhibition participants? Want to know which companies there smile.gif
ldhong
post Jun 16 2011, 10:17 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(9W2LRC @ Jun 16 2011, 09:20 PM)
depend to position & location actually.. the highest currency now is Kuwait Dinar & Oman riyal
i'm currently in Saudi Arabia.

salary range based on experience :
Field tech operation,inst&elect,mech basic salary  9-10k
Panel (dcs) tech  10-11k
supervisor 15-18k
Enggineer 20-25k
Manager 30-35k

All this only basic not including others allowance : housing, transportation, shift , air ticket and etc
for those bring their family along there is another calculation:  education, furniture, medical, family air ticket and etc

Added on June 16, 2011, 9:26 pm

yeahh.. agree.
it is not about education but experience.. thumbup.gif

mind sharing with us what company your work for?
Hmm, seems like major in DCS realy hv good future...Btw, that's salary is in RM or ????
ldhong
post Jun 17 2011, 12:22 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(9W2LRC @ Jun 17 2011, 12:17 AM)
if you are DCS enggineer or so on sure they pay u in good amount.
some companies offer salary on USD but most of them paid by their own currency.
Good, so they are paying u in USD now???? Yes, Im currently in automation industry....First DCS company i was in was the japanese DCS...Now i m in the blue coverall DCS company...I bet u know ya...
ldhong
post Jun 17 2011, 12:59 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(9W2LRC @ Jun 17 2011, 12:23 AM)
is not possible bro.. hee,there is no tax in Saudi, No this LHDN shit thinggy.

Added on June 17, 2011, 12:26 am

not all company paying in USD here.. but if you are in Emrates is possible.. depend to share holder.
what? Yokogawa  or Honeywell..
PM you...

btw, nice Trueno AE86 you have... smile.gif

This post has been edited by ldhong: Jun 17 2011, 01:01 AM
ldhong
post Jun 19 2011, 12:26 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(johnrck99 @ Jun 18 2011, 05:53 PM)
From Yoko To Fox? smile.gif Am I correct?
From Yoko but not to FOX.... rolleyes.gif
ldhong
post Jul 27 2011, 03:09 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jul 27 2011, 01:52 PM)
Aiyoooo, ExxonMobil is still the largest operator in Malaysia. All PSC95 blocks are operated by ExxonMobil. Tapis, Seligi, Guntong, Semangkok, Palas are all operated by ExxonMobil. Production wise, you are looking at 150k barrels per day from this fields.
QUOTE(hj.pet @ Jul 27 2011, 02:32 PM)
owh i tot they only got blocks in sabah + sarawak offshore only biggrin.gif
Malaysia's platform not only at sabah and sarawak but quite a number at east coast as well.. On top of those platforms; jernEh, irong barat A, irong barat B, irong barat C, lawit, and TCOT are exxonmobil's platforms as well
ldhong
post Sep 19 2011, 08:32 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 19 2011, 08:23 PM)
Now Shell is the biggest OnG Company due to its highest revenue. But still EM have the highest net profit.
oh, u were here too...U in O&G too?
ldhong
post Nov 6 2011, 01:53 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 31 2011, 06:29 PM)
Actually i asked for some help from my father friend which he is some sort of Chief Engineer in Shell, so i guess he helped me to pass my resume to Sarku Engineering. Hopefully i can get the job and share the process with u all. Sarku told me their client gonna interview me, which is Shell.. >< seems abit hard..
I stayed at Sarku 300 barge when i went to South Furious platform last week biggrin.gif
ldhong
post Nov 6 2011, 10:09 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 6 2011, 08:35 AM)
which company u working in? Sarku?
No, i am Shell's vendors. I just stay at Sarku 300 barge only. Nvr deal with Sarku or Petra.... Heard that for Sarawak here three largest maintenance companies were Dayang Enterprise, Petra and Sarku.... Will see most of them at carigali and shell platform
ldhong
post Nov 10 2011, 10:23 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(kucinggemok @ Nov 10 2011, 07:54 AM)
Short news, just heard news from MLNG PDD (project development dept) that there will be a planned shutdown in MLNG 1 and 2 next year probably from March 2012-September 2012. A lot of ppl gonna be hired next year. Disclaimer : i'm not from MLNG btw
A lot of ppl gonna be hired by MLNG or
a lot of ppl/contractor being hired just for the shutdown period???

QUOTE(Noyze @ Nov 10 2011, 10:06 AM)
MLNG is nothing compared to Optimal. hehehe Optimal shutdown starting March next year will be an 18 month contract. i.e. 16 months planning for a 2 month shut down! now THAT's PROPER planning! lolx. My last stint with them was 11 months i.e. 9 month planning for 2 month shut down. Really strict but safety is REALLY no.1 there compared to the others. They use the DuPont system which beats Shell hands down.
ldhong
post Dec 10 2011, 01:42 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(OverWorry @ Dec 9 2011, 11:53 PM)
Anyone work at Emerson Process Management As System Service Engineer For Delta V DCS?

Is that a good future job?
Why do you ask like that? Are you being selected for the job? unsure.gif
ldhong
post Dec 10 2011, 01:47 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 10 2011, 01:43 AM)
Emerson is a good vendor/company to join for, especially in DCS. work for 2 or 3 years, then join to big client be it upstream & downstream O&G
You were in Emerson ?
ldhong
post Dec 10 2011, 01:58 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 10 2011, 01:53 AM)
me not in Emerson but used to deal with Emerson b4 and got some friends working in Emerson
oh i see, then you must be in the end user or clients..... Carigali perhaps??? hmm.gif
ldhong
post Dec 10 2011, 02:04 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 10 2011, 01:59 AM)
downstream. Penapisan Terengganu and MLNG. last time laa. now resigned already
so now should be more "hebat"....and "hustler"..... thumbup.gif
ldhong
post Dec 11 2011, 11:03 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Dec 11 2011, 06:31 AM)
Shell MDS located at my hometown, Bintulu. yes it is the world first GTL plant producing wax and synthesis GTL products. what do you mean by servicing? Shell MDS is looking lotsa peoples now. most of their people left to Middle East especially Pearl GTL

Added on December 11, 2011, 6:36 am

No need to worry. in DCS you can jump everywhere, be it on client (Petronas, Shell, Murphy, Talisman, Hess, JX Nippon etc) and consultant/vendor side (Foxboro, WorleyParsons, Honeywell etc), be it in upstream and downstream O&G.

Especially in downstream at my old workplace Malaysia LNG, DCS people is highly sought. I know some ppl from Foxboro jump to MLNG nowadays. some DCS otai-kor join Shell MDS and Murphy Oil Sarawak

DCS technology keeps evolving. I see no reason of being too focused on DCS
Not only Control System, many other subsystems are connected to DCS.... Solar GTG, Rolls-royce GTG, Safety System, fire&gas Shutdown system just to name a few....I will said DCS is a very huge things.....

QUOTE(tyz307806 @ Dec 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
@modhyakup,

Thanks for your advice. I shall try my luck on Shell MDS in the next one or two years... hopefully I have the opportunity to join the company since there are so many talented experts working in there and I got zero knowledge on the industry @_@... scary...

Once again, thank you for taking time to reply me smile.gif Hopefully we can meet up one day when we both are in Bintulu.
Sudah masuk end users, jangan bully saya.....I am just kuli vendor.....

Added on December 11, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(ldhong @ Dec 10 2011, 01:42 AM)
Why do you ask like that? Are you being selected for the job?  unsure.gif
QUOTE(OverWorry @ Dec 10 2011, 05:47 AM)
Will it be too specific if just know DCS? Seems like the career path is too specific.

Is it possible for the experience gain to join consultant or just can jump to client?
Stop being OverWorry, and yet you still havent tell are you being selected to join......

This post has been edited by ldhong: Dec 11 2011, 11:06 AM
ldhong
post Dec 29 2011, 08:52 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Dec 29 2011, 01:28 AM)
Wow that's nice - husband and wife oil and gas tag team haha.
Maybe a possibility of both of you working in the same company in the future ?  wink.gif
For Carigali, both husband and wife cannot work in the same company if i m not mistaken smile.gif
ldhong
post Jan 12 2012, 10:07 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Jan 9 2012, 11:23 PM)
Shell Graduate Freshie pay rm4,450/mth + rm500 transport/parking allowance + other fringe benefits.
This is for Shell's OT?

Added on January 12, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 10 2012, 06:48 PM)
Going to Kencana Lumut Fab Yard tomorrow for 1.5 months... hopefully can learn something there smile.gif Is there any sports facilities like gym, swimming pool around lumut?
Going for E8 proj at Kencana???

Btw, i just came back from E11

This post has been edited by ldhong: Jan 12 2012, 10:37 PM

0.0637sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:11 AM