Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
kaiserwulf
Feb 21 2011, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Feb 20 2011, 12:36 PM) Try looking at the OP and it has all the necessary list of O&G companies. If you're experienced (not necessarily in O&G), you may want to register with worldwideworker.com as they are like Global jobstreet for O&G with. Added on February 20, 2011, 12:56 pmAre you kidding me? Petrophysicist are a dying breed in O&G industry. MNCs will step over each other to try and get you to work for them. It's one of the hardest skill sets to hire because, it's very rare that you get a petrophysics degree (I don't they have any in any uni) so mostly, the O&G companies will spend the first 3-5 years training science grads to be petrophysicist. Apply for all Operators, they will hire you. PP work is very busy... A lot to fine tune on the wells that you are in charge of. To add on what azraeil says, once your boss likes you. You will find hard time to change out of the job because they cannot let you go. Pros and cons on this if you plan to stay same company.
kaiserwulf
May 27 2011, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(swissprecision @ May 27 2011, 07:22 AM) I graduated with a BSc in Chemistry. Just wondering how come I cant seem to find any jobs for oil and gas that requires a chemist. I noticed all also want those with Engineering degree. Am I looking in the wrong place? Got lab work for sure. Try these few keywords: Cementing, Mud, and Production Chemistry. Cheers.
kaiserwulf
Oct 14 2011, 10:19 PM
Triple your old pay?
kaiserwulf
Nov 7 2011, 10:50 AM
Is the pay market in Msia deteriorating? It seems like we are heading for a 'go international' or bust kind of deal.
kaiserwulf
Dec 24 2011, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 24 2011, 12:25 PM) Previously ExxonMobil is always more competitive in terms of benefits and packages than Petronas. Not sure about Shell. Now, I'm not so sure either but I suspect it still is more competitive. I heard from Shell HR that they can afford to pay less to fresh hires and still get the headcount they want. The new hires get about 2.7k/mth less than the previous batches. Please thank the local govt policies of "everyone can get a degree". It is also noted by some of the people I know working there that the new fresh hires are less confident and definitely of lower caliber compared to their older picks- suspect due to local education and mingling. Experienced hires will have the same package; if previously was competitive... it should be the same now.
kaiserwulf
Dec 26 2011, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 24 2011, 08:47 PM) What kaiserwulf meant is that new hires will get 2.7K LESS than previous batches (i.e. if previous batches was getting 6K a month, then the new batch will get 3.7K a month) or something like that (which is still less than Petronas which is surprising). Even overseas student also not so good lah. I've interviewed several during my time as a manager and I had had to  dua tiga ali also because the kids are so shy, tak confident and surprisingly their communication skill is not so good. Their grades are excellent but when you are trying to get the best, all this things really knocks you down. Look at the Mat Salleh's, they are confident even though what they are spewing are total rubbish ....+1
kaiserwulf
Jan 10 2012, 06:48 AM
QUOTE(yunodie @ Jan 9 2012, 11:23 PM) Shell Graduate Freshie pay rm4,450/mth + rm500 transport/parking allowance + other fringe benefits. Brit-Am Tobacco in KL pays about RM5k/mth + other fringe benefits. If so, is it worth for someone to relocate to an 'ulu' place and get the same pay?
kaiserwulf
Jan 10 2012, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 10 2012, 12:48 PM) Excellent attitude. Gain as much experience as possible and network network network. PGCE (Petroleum Geology Conference & Exhibition) is coming up soon and this is a big one so go visit and network around. Lot's of freebies as usual. Added on January 10, 2012, 12:52 pmYour cousin is going into a good prospect. I'm a petroleum geologist  and as ICDeadpeople mentioned, it's one of the highest paid jobs in the industry, comparable with petroleum engineers etc etc. Be prepared to drown yourself in the ins and out of rocks & minerals and make super sure that he knows the fundamentals of structural mapping. He/she will do just fine. From the Discovery channel documentary "Wildcatters"- Field geologist also have to sometimes 'makan batu' and taste the rock for hydrocarbons.
kaiserwulf
Jan 25 2012, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(madblacktt @ Jan 25 2012, 09:43 AM) I have been in the downstream side of the industry for the past 3 years and suddenly had this thought of pursuing a masters in petroleum eng and move upstream. As I'm already in my late 20's, is it advisable to start again from zero ? Not impossible. I know a person who did that before. It will help if your company has an internal resourcing system (transfer downstream to upstream is easier this way). You may have to take a pay cut as your relevant experience is lower but should be fine after a few years or so. Masters may not be necessary to do the move but ofc will help. I just want you to keep in mind the time and subsequent opportunity cost for a 2 year masters program (e.g. parttime). Cheers.
kaiserwulf
Feb 13 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(carloz28 @ Feb 13 2012, 10:45 AM) I can't tell you which division in O&G that accepts this handicap but i can tell you for sure that color blind ppl is not "preferred" in wireline logging, MWD because most of time their work involves a lot of log monitoring on the PC screen. Since different logs have different color and you can have as many as 10-11 log graphs on the screen at one time, it's really hard to tell which one is which if you are color blind. Offshore jobs in its majority would be out. Signs, labels and color codes will be an issue. Onshore, seismic, log intepretation would be out. Hope this helps avoid waste your time in applying for unsuitable jobs.