Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

acgerlok7
post Feb 2 2012, 11:13 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(s|dE @ Feb 2 2012, 04:03 PM)
i apply schlumberger 3 times...result: unsuccessful
even i go to their office submit by hand also failed..now life goes on in automotive industries..but hopefully my rezeki will coming to get better $$ tongue.gif
woah...really so hard to get in? sad.gif(( no wonder nowadays when someone mentioned tht he/she is an employee of schlumberger, evrryone's mouth goes wide open, if the perosn happens to hold a high post position or is a Head Of department in Schlumberger/Shell/ Exxon Mobil or any hard like hell to get in kind of company...evryone faints .X_X
acgerlok7
post Feb 2 2012, 11:22 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(neo_sharky @ Feb 2 2012, 11:17 PM)
like in my Uni, SLB choose student for their 4 stages interview based on their academic results, co curriculum involvement, interpersonal skills and what major u take during final yr, preferable Oil & Gas related.
Yup, even Shell has its gruelling interveiws which will leave many excellent students also dumbstrucked...hmm, i guess to get a job at these companies is sometimes like betting on a lottery, no 100 % guarantees although you may have perfect cgpa, top varisty coco award, or whatever top award u can think of and u had achieved, luck plays tht 1 % vital important part of it.=)
acgerlok7
post Feb 20 2012, 12:08 AM

492 posts

Hi guys, im interested in pursuing petroleum engineering...but it seems very very few unis in malaysia are offering this course since its very rare compared to other "hot cakes" courses like mechanical/ chemical eng courses...does any seniors knw of any good unis in msia offering this course?
acgerlok7
post Feb 20 2012, 10:44 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Feb 20 2012, 04:09 AM)
UTM Johor is a good uni for PE.
Oh thanks for the advice.=) any idea if UTP would be a good choice? thought of going for their petroleum engineering course...and bro may i ask if u dun mind, how do jobs revolving this PE/OnG industry goes about ? i mean...do most of the big players eg EXXon, SLB, SHELL recruit new peeps/management peeps thru job fairs in uni and thru internal connections..because i think if we were to browse thru classifieds daily just to look for any openings, its kinda impossible nowadays, hard to find unless on a very rare occasion.

0.0509sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:05 AM