QUOTE(noruazumi @ Jan 27 2012, 05:50 PM)
give me the map. will try it later Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing
Jan 27 2012, 05:56 PM
150 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: pj |
Jan 27 2012, 06:56 PM
73 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Hello,
Im 28 years old, just finished my diploma last december, Im goin to slb in kemaman this 1st feb for contract signing as FS. Heard them slb employee said dat if i work hard n reach grade11 (start at grade07) i can be a manager in slb. What if at that time i want 2 get out of the company and moved to operator company, will they accept as managaer based on experience or cert still counts as main requirement? Do you guys think i should pursue degree or work in slb. Stupidly having second thoughts now... |
Jan 27 2012, 08:12 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Jan 27 2012, 08:25 PM
1,810 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(Azfar J @ Jan 27 2012, 06:56 PM) Hello, Can you mention which product line you will go under?Im 28 years old, just finished my diploma last december, Im goin to slb in kemaman this 1st feb for contract signing as FS. Heard them slb employee said dat if i work hard n reach grade11 (start at grade07) i can be a manager in slb. What if at that time i want 2 get out of the company and moved to operator company, will they accept as managaer based on experience or cert still counts as main requirement? Do you guys think i should pursue degree or work in slb. Stupidly having second thoughts now... From my experience, field specialists in SLB seldom go up into management. Most of the managers come from the FE population. That said, the offshore bonuses of a field specialist can make their salaries exceed that of managers sitting in town |
Jan 27 2012, 10:13 PM
73 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(joe_star @ Jan 27 2012, 09:25 PM) Can you mention which product line you will go under? Do you work in SLB?From my experience, field specialists in SLB seldom go up into management. Most of the managers come from the FE population. That said, the offshore bonuses of a field specialist can make their salaries exceed that of managers sitting in town I was assigned in Testing Services Segmen. Dunno which sub-segmen yet. In the future, i would like to work in office/onshore, for now i just wanna gain sum experience |
Jan 27 2012, 10:51 PM
1,551 posts Joined: May 2009 |
wow slb alone is already mouth watering........
Jan 27 2012, 10:53 PM
499 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Perth, Western Australia |
Jan 27 2012, 10:57 PM
Jan 27 2012, 11:07 PM
Jan 27 2012, 11:09 PM
2,911 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
One question guys...
does an external UK degree affect my ong career? Is it better to have a local cert or an external UK cert? |
Jan 27 2012, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(clon12 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:09 PM) One question guys... If I'm honest with you, your cert will count for nothing during the interview regardless if it was obtained locally or abroad. does an external UK degree affect my ong career? Is it better to have a local cert or an external UK cert? It will probably give you that little extra edge in securing interviews but once you are in that room, your personality and interpersonal skills are all the matters. |
Jan 27 2012, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:07 PM) What if I tell you 20% of SLB people worldwide left the company annually to start their own farms or start other businesses, would you believe me? err i think that "penanam anggur" thing has been mislead, my apologies. |
Jan 27 2012, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(mhyug @ Jan 27 2012, 11:17 PM) err i think that "penanam anggur" thing has been mislead, my apologies. Ok penanam anggur or penanggur... (first time i heard this term actually, my urban dictionary for BM kinda lagging behind, so pardon me)..of course we will take in whatever decent job offer that comes in right? |
Jan 27 2012, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:16 PM) If I'm honest with you, your cert will count for nothing during the interview regardless if it was obtained locally or abroad. agreed.that getting the interview part is hard but once you get it, all down to you.It will probably give you that little extra edge in securing interviews but once you are in that room, your personality and interpersonal skills are all the matters. Added on January 27, 2012, 11:31 pm QUOTE(carloz28 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:28 PM) Ok penanam anggur or penanggur... (first time i heard this term actually, my urban dictionary for BM kinda lagging behind, so pardon me)..of course we will take in whatever decent job offer that comes in right? now you got it, just kopitiamish slang for jobless.tho actually in proper bm x wujud pun hehe.just that "penganggur" and "penanam anggur" so close yeah absolutely on the job part. im waiting for a job, in fact any job as long as i can gain experience wch im lacking in dearly. This post has been edited by mhyug: Jan 27 2012, 11:32 PM |
Jan 27 2012, 11:41 PM
150 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: pj |
Jan 28 2012, 01:27 PM
212 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(clon12 @ Jan 27 2012, 11:09 PM) One question guys... The origin of your cert has nothing to do with securing a job in OnG, because ur cert cant speak itself about the quality of you. At the end of the day, it's YOU who need to IMPRESS the interviewer to give you the job. The First 5 minutes of the interview will determine whether a interviewer wants to hire you or not, and they only use the rest of the time to justify their decisions.If you were unable to IMPRESS interviewers at the first 5 minutes.....sorry pal....you're out of the game.does an external UK degree affect my ong career? Is it better to have a local cert or an external UK cert? This post has been edited by positive energy: Jan 28 2012, 01:27 PM |
Jan 28 2012, 01:34 PM
244 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Well I submitted my application to Shell two days ago. Fingers crossed guys!
Jan 28 2012, 04:16 PM
46 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Jan 28 2012, 10:16 PM
804 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Wow many posts here. My friend just posted up recruitment drive for FE by Gyrodata.
He seems to be having a lot of fun, and the pay is superb. =) For those interested may want to look it up. |
Jan 29 2012, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(reign226 @ Jan 28 2012, 10:16 PM) Wow many posts here. My friend just posted up recruitment drive for FE by Gyrodata. Due to the their ever increasing GWD business in the region(Gyro While Drilling), nowadays they prefer to hire candidates with MWD experience.He seems to be having a lot of fun, and the pay is superb. =) For those interested may want to look it up. Freshies can try though, but learn more about their business first and study how directional surveying works if they ever call you for interview. The interview is pretty straight forward unlike other oil companies, and if you do well in the first meeting chances are you will be called by the HR within a week to discuss about your employment contract. I saw the job ad and looks like the Middle East - Australiasia is up for grabs. This position has been vacant for a long time so I wondered why they still couldn't get an engineer to fill this up? The pay "looks" superb only because the money per workload ratio of the job is one of the highest in the oilfield industry. Also, make sure you ask if this job is god damn tax free or not. (meaning to say if earnings are not subjected to Malaysia taxation laws). If not tax free, think twice. I'm only saying this because you will be required to travel regularly and work in countries like Qatar and Papua New Guinea, so make sure you are well compensated in riyals and Australian dollars! Now start sending your resumes and learn how to speak Dutch! This post has been edited by carloz28: Jan 29 2012, 11:06 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:50 PM |