144 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v2, Job Oppurtunities & Technical Sharing

are_riff154
post Sep 28 2011, 03:19 PM

39 posts

Hi all,

anyone could recommend any affordable & good oil & gas short courses that could make my CV easily seen by Oil & Gas companies? maybe courses only around RM1000-RM2000. cannot afford more than that. Not working in oil & gas yet..so, planning to take the course on own expenses.. icon_question.gif

BRC
post Sep 28 2011, 03:47 PM

555 posts

Offshore

Tropical BOSIET+HUET (Opito) - all going offshore needs that
Basic H2S course - Mainly for Sarawak fields

Try google SMTC global for safety trainings thats job specific

ICDeadPeople
post Sep 28 2011, 05:01 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 28 2011, 07:59 AM)
movie while drilling
haha.. this is so true. Remember during the old days I went to one of the rig as a company representative. Me and the LWD guys got along quite well. So once a while during drilling (before reaching zone of interest) I went to their doghouse to watch movies. Have to keep alert of whats happening though (sometimes the company man likes to give a surprise visit).
azraeil
post Sep 28 2011, 06:03 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Sep 28 2011, 12:01 PM)
haha.. this is so true. Remember during the old days I went to one of the rig as a company representative. Me and the LWD guys got along quite well. So once a while during drilling (before reaching zone of interest) I went to their doghouse to watch movies. Have to keep alert of whats happening though (sometimes the company man likes to give a surprise visit).
First Chopper OUT!!! shakehead.gif

Heh heh heh.
fbfanslike
post Sep 28 2011, 06:15 PM

For Petronas, anybody have passed the Ability test and Structured Interview?
Is it tough?
preakzz
post Sep 28 2011, 06:47 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Them_Me_You @ Sep 28 2011, 07:53 AM)
MWD = Makan While Drilling thumbup.gif
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 28 2011, 07:59 AM)
movie while drilling
Money while drilling? tongue.gif

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Sep 28 2011, 08:15 AM)
Lepak While Drilling
Do u know what is d&m? The technician guy asked me. Me n my buddy said, drilling and measurement of course. He said no, its discuss n meeting..haha. A lot of meetings here.

QUOTE(Macca @ Sep 28 2011, 09:07 AM)
Yes, the world know how tough is the industry but do everyone really know the toughness in any specific areas in the O&G industry? No unless you have seen it or even better feel it..so people who share in this thread can give newcomers delusions by easily saying that the job is as easy as ABC rather than telling you the truth and how tough is being a roustabout (in the case of discussing about roustabout/roughneck). This is the kind of delusions that I meant. No one here want to mislead people or give any false hope to newcomers..As you can go through this thread, many positive and encouragement are given to Preakzz and she is a newcomer too..this is because some experienced people here has went through it and know that the job is good for her career...going from office work to being a roustabout is not a career move (at least in my opinion) thus there is some negative comment.

This thread is about Oil and Gas Career (Technical sharing and job opportunities) so it includes sharing your experiences/how is the working environment/how is the O&G company hiring/looking for people....I reckon that by having experiences shared by seniors in this thread is valuable especially to newcomers..wouldn't you as a newcomer who is passion in pursuing a career in the O&G want to know alot about the real environment and how's the job like in O&G? If this thread isnt about sharing and telling about job/environment experience in O&G then it is better to visit Jobstreet,Monster,JobsDB for more O&G job opportunities and just read through the job descriptions which most of the time is beautifully furnished...no offence..

No one underestimate newcomers strength and ability and no one said you can't try to be in O&G...there are many positions for you to go in...it is just that in our opinion that roustabout/roughneck is one hell of a tough job (refer to Materazzi's saying about oil riggers)...anyone can survive in the industry and so do you but it is all depends on what type of area that you want to go in and what position you are holding...you can be a material man in platform, which is more to control of materials in and out of platform, less physical...become a production technician, which is slightly more physical when there is work or be in the control room enjoying air cond....

Lastly, we do not think newcomers are silly to ask because at least, when don't know something, you are dare to ask...but after asking,all should be ready to accept all kind of feedbacks regardless of positive or negative...If we find it silly,we don't even bother to reply with facts...Pardon me for being harsh and putting in a long essay...Wish you luck to go in O&G but before that, aim for specific area that you can play your strength...
Thank you. smile.gif I never thought i have this opportunity before due to my so so cgpa. I feel glad i made it until here. This forum helps, it really does. As u can see my very first post before, I READ EVERYTHING in this thread and previous thread before that, as this is the v2. i asked after i search, i am not being spoon fed. When ppl asked like the same thing, what company, how to apply, how to get in bla3, i think they just go to the last page and type it there. Read people. Theres a list of companies u can try in this thread. And theres even seniors who are willing to help, answers, and giving advise. Just dont be ridiculuous lah. Some stuff u can just learn before u ask. Like what bla3 stands for. Google lah. Dont just depend on people to answer u. U said u really wanna go into this field?then do ur homework.

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Sep 28 2011, 05:01 PM)
I hope during my time later(if i get hired) it would be something like that too. tongue.gif
Still a very very long way though. Have to go to the schools, exams etc. You know how the first three years gonna be..

mhyug
post Sep 28 2011, 06:54 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 28 2011, 08:59 AM)
job description. exploration & production. explore urself. lazy to spoon feed you at this moment. smile.gif
thx for the spood fed so far. smile.gif, anymore can spoon while i search and google biggrin.gif

Read people. Theres a list of companies u can try in this thread. And theres even seniors who are willing to help, answers, and giving advise. Just dont be ridiculuous lah. Some stuff u can just learn before u ask. Like what bla3 stands for. Google lah. Dont just depend on people to answer u. U said u really wanna go into this field?then do ur homework.

true on all accounts but as far as acronyms goes anything can mean anything these days.so maybe thats why we need to ask the person them self what they meant.as for employment opportunities i think v1/v2 has a lot but maybe some questions still cropper up due to those companies already being tried by many of us(some may get some may not), and since there is still many left, we didn't know of them as well as the people whom are actually inside the circle would and we want that to(i mean who doesn't right).

This post has been edited by mhyug: Sep 28 2011, 07:10 PM
lilballa
post Sep 28 2011, 09:35 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Sep 19 2011, 01:06 PM)
bro, u can try contractors which have projects in MCOT  i.e. SBL, magna etc. also..consider a good start also since its in petronas plant.
thx for the advise bro!!! actually i don't care whether its upstream or downstream but i think its tough to enter since its work is in petronas plant? anyway thx again..

kucingarab
post Sep 30 2011, 08:35 AM

18 posts

nowadays more and more Malaysian are quitting Petronas and joint company in Middle East because of the payslip difference.

The funny thing is more and more expatriates come to Petronas because of the same reason.

Simply Petronas value others better then their own people

Added on September 30, 2011, 9:10 am
QUOTE(BRC @ Sep 28 2011, 03:47 PM)
Offshore

Tropical BOSIET+HUET  (Opito) - all going offshore needs that
Basic H2S course - Mainly for Sarawak fields

Try google SMTC global for safety trainings thats job specific
all these courses are basically will be paid by the company once you joint them, as they are HSE requirement for working offshore.

University qualification is good enough for entering this industry. You have to be more specific which department suits you better before deciding taking some courses...

and again, all courses will be paid by the company as part of your development plan, no need to bother looking for yourself

This post has been edited by kucingarab: Sep 30 2011, 09:10 AM
feekle
post Sep 30 2011, 08:15 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(lilballa @ Sep 28 2011, 09:35 PM)
thx for the advise bro!!! actually i don't care whether its upstream or downstream but i think its tough to enter since its work is in petronas plant? anyway thx again..
Nope..just go take OGSP at niosh, security screening & briefing...then you're free to enter. LOL

Added on September 30, 2011, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(kucingarab @ Sep 30 2011, 08:35 AM)

all these courses are basically will be paid by the company once you joint them, as they are HSE requirement for working offshore.

University qualification is good enough for entering this industry. You have to be more specific which department suits you better before deciding taking some courses...

and again, all courses will be paid by the company as part of your development plan, no need to bother looking for yourself
I took boset under my own expenses..its been a year+ habuk pun tarak..hehe..

This post has been edited by feekle: Sep 30 2011, 08:17 PM
nibiahk
post Sep 30 2011, 08:40 PM

105 posts

anyone wanna be a project engineer? pressure vessel fabrication for O&G... got vacancy in shah alam...
spawn89
post Oct 1 2011, 08:38 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(nibiahk @ Sep 30 2011, 09:40 PM)
anyone wanna be a project engineer? pressure vessel fabrication for O&G... got vacancy in shah alam...
what company? details pls..

Added on October 1, 2011, 8:40 amAnyway..im going to have my Abililty Test for Petronas this coming Friday..
anytips?

This post has been edited by spawn89: Oct 1 2011, 08:40 AM
azraeil
post Oct 1 2011, 07:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kucingarab @ Sep 30 2011, 03:35 AM)
nowadays more and more Malaysian are quitting Petronas and joint company in Middle East because of the payslip difference.

The funny thing is more and more expatriates come to Petronas because of the same reason.

Simply Petronas value others better then their own people

Added on September 30, 2011, 9:10 am

You hit the problems with Petronas right on the money. I mean, I was getting kuchirat salary while someone who is blue-eyed blonde hair was getting 7 times my salary tax-free with all the children education taken care off and he was doing the same thing I was doing (heck I was doing it even better). I was going home at 9PM at night while he left at 5PM sharp and by 5:30 was already enjoying beer at Santinis (Tuesday's is Petronas expat day in Santinis).

We've complained and complained but HR was saying, nothing they can do, the then CEO was a strong believer that everyone was contributing the same to the company so there cannot be any pay difference between the technical people (Geology/RE/Drilling) and the HR/Finance people. The thing was, the demand for G&G/RE/Drilling was so high outside, so why the hell should we stay in Petronas while we can be the expatriates in the Middle East?

By the time they came around to change the salary scheme, 1500 technical staff mainly in G&G/RE/Drilling was gone. If you look at Petronas now, we have GMs and SMs and we have the fresh grads or those with less than 5 years experience and NOTHING in between. That is why they have had to hire those mega expansive expatriates to plug the hole in their technical ranks.

As I keep saying to the HR people, you are being bloody Penny-Wise Pound Foolish.

This is what happens when you let HR runs the company.
spawn89
post Oct 1 2011, 07:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 1 2011, 08:16 PM)
You hit the problems with Petronas right on the money. I mean, I was getting kuchirat salary while someone who is blue-eyed blonde hair was getting 7 times my salary tax-free with all the children education taken care off and he was doing the same thing I was doing (heck I was doing it even better). I was going home at 9PM at night while he left at 5PM sharp and by 5:30 was already enjoying beer at Santinis (Tuesday's is Petronas expat day in Santinis).

We've complained and complained but HR was  saying, nothing they can do, the then CEO was a strong believer that everyone was contributing the same to the company so there cannot be any pay difference between the technical people (Geology/RE/Drilling) and the HR/Finance people. The thing was, the demand for G&G/RE/Drilling was so high outside, so why the hell should we stay in Petronas while we can be the expatriates in the Middle East?

By the time they came around to change the salary scheme, 1500 technical staff mainly in G&G/RE/Drilling was gone. If you look at Petronas now, we have GMs and SMs and we have the fresh grads or those with less than 5 years experience and NOTHING in between. That is why they have had to hire those mega expansive expatriates to plug the hole in their technical ranks.

As I keep saying to the HR people, you are being bloody Penny-Wise Pound Foolish.

This is what happens when you let HR runs the company.
As a students, this is a good warning for me. thanks for sharing. thats why there are numbers of ppl go outside to find money
azraeil
post Oct 1 2011, 07:54 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(spawn89 @ Oct 1 2011, 02:22 PM)
As a students, this is a good warning for me. thanks for sharing. thats why there are numbers of ppl go outside to find money
I am relating to you the situation 5 years ago, I know they have changed the salary scheme for technical professionals. The starting pay for fresh grads has increased to 4K now. When I joined the company, it was RM2050 per month, so that's doubled after 15 years. They also implemented during my last 2 years there the technical allowance for specific skill groups such as SKG9, SKG10 (G&G and Petroleum Engineering) where you get a range of allowances for your technical skills (900 for Senior Execs, 1300 for Staff and 2500 for principal etc etc)

When Dato' Shamsul came on-board 2 years ago, he drastically changed the remuneration scheme, those in the technical ladder or in certain critical skill groups are got a 30% pay raise and (I'm not sure about this), a bump in bonuses and skill allowances (though I've heard that have been removed ... not too sure).

My colleague who is at the same skill level as me is earning close to 17K a month now so that was close to 2.5 times the salary when I left 5 years ago so they have changed a lot nowadays.

They have even allowed for ex-Petronas to return on a contract basis (3 years contract IIANM) and the salary is upwards of 30K and above per month. The previous CEO had some sort of vendetta against ex-staff where there is an unwritten rule where any subsidiary is NOT ALLOWED to hire ex-staff (this must be against the labor law but it was done nonetheless). That unwritten rule has been abolished as per the new CEO.
mhyug
post Oct 1 2011, 09:50 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 1 2011, 07:54 PM)
I am relating to you the situation 5 years ago, I know they have changed the salary scheme for technical professionals. The starting pay for fresh grads has increased to 4K now. When I joined the company, it was RM2050 per month, so that's doubled after 15 years. They also implemented during my last 2 years there the technical allowance for specific skill groups such as SKG9, SKG10 (G&G and Petroleum Engineering) where you get a range of allowances for your technical skills (900 for Senior Execs, 1300 for Staff and 2500 for principal etc etc)

When Dato' Shamsul came on-board 2 years ago, he drastically changed the remuneration scheme, those in the technical ladder or in certain critical skill groups are got a 30% pay raise and (I'm not sure about this), a bump in bonuses and skill allowances (though I've heard that have been removed ... not too sure).

My colleague who is at the same skill level as me is earning close to 17K a month now so that was close to 2.5 times the salary when I left 5 years ago so they have changed a lot nowadays.

They have even allowed for ex-Petronas to return on a contract basis (3 years contract IIANM) and the salary is upwards of 30K and above per month. The previous CEO had some sort of vendetta against ex-staff where there is an unwritten rule where any subsidiary is NOT ALLOWED to hire ex-staff (this must be against the labor law but it was done nonetheless). That unwritten rule has been abolished as per the new CEO.
the previous one you mean datuk merican kah?or the one before him?
azraeil
post Oct 1 2011, 10:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 1 2011, 04:50 PM)
the previous one you mean datuk merican kah?or the one before him?
The previous one was Tan Sri Hassan Merican, yes.
ch_teo
post Oct 1 2011, 11:01 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Oct 1 2011, 10:04 PM)
The previous one was Tan Sri Hassan Merican, yes.
back to year 2009, also heard about the idealistic (totally non-practical) KPI, which if whoever is from engineering/technical background strongly believe that is totally non-achievable. ohmy.gif
mohdyakup
post Oct 2 2011, 06:07 AM

4,351 posts

oh well I was ex-petronas before... but cannot stand with force-ranking 'drama' happening around... fed-up with it... so I left...
hddglobal
post Oct 3 2011, 05:00 AM

42 posts

Guys im planning to do my internship (Im a Mech Eng Student) in Oil & Gas Companies on early Jan... can anyone here help me ? I know its not easy to get but im just trying....Is there any other way then just submitting the documents and wait for their call? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by hddglobal: Oct 3 2011, 05:02 AM

144 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:22 PM