Macca
post Sep 25 2011, 08:51 PM

131 posts

cry.gif
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 25 2011, 08:34 PM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif

an ex-colleague who was with SLB as FE, around 1 year plus later gave up FE due to sometimes helicopter schedule & weather & also family commitment.
that is why lot of people nowadays talk is bigger than when comes to practical & is that really one can take it?
One of my friend who used to be SLB as Drilling Engineer faced the samething..said that the routine is 2 or 3 weeks work then rest but end up 1 month at the rig then rest few days and go to another locations again...earning is fantastic with 5digit income monthly but got no time to spend and no time with family....then come the see the tax oso cry.gif ....in the end,he opted for other onshore job with lesser pay and he said he got more life...lolz..
skinnydude
post Sep 25 2011, 10:43 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 25 2011, 02:30 AM)
Wow, you're truly lost. From roustabout, riggers to geologist. I think you watch too much of Armageddon is it.
bro, he is trying to buat lawak antarabangsa. rclxms.gif
azraeil
post Sep 26 2011, 01:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Being a roustabout or oil rigger is really kerah tenaga punya job .... really like working in those palm oil plantation where you have to do heavy duty work and the job is bloody dangerous too. A lot of accidents happens with these jobs so just a reality check .... as someone else mentioned, if you are a sporty kind a kind ... go into marketing or something like that ... I dunno ...
kucingarab
post Sep 26 2011, 03:59 PM

18 posts

if you are sporty then be an athlete... play football in premier league
ch_teo
post Sep 26 2011, 05:11 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Sep 26 2011, 01:27 PM)
Being a roustabout or oil rigger is really kerah tenaga punya job .... really like working in those palm oil plantation where you have to do heavy duty work and the job is bloody dangerous too. A lot of accidents happens with these jobs so just a reality check .... as someone else mentioned, if you are a sporty kind a kind ... go into marketing or something like that ... I dunno ...
some of the HSE alerts from rig mostly from these kinds of kerah tenaga jobs smile.gif at least at rig the stringent requirements on HSE systems are always there.
but not in palm oil... have some seniors work & course conductor commented on palm oil sweat.gif 1 leg kick. accessible to various resources almost zero.

Added on September 26, 2011, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(figuremeout @ Sep 25 2011, 08:48 PM)
some people would kill for that position(FE for SLB). at least i know i would.  biggrin.gif
again, talk is easier than act & practical, not to discourage you but that is the reality out there.
anyhow, those companies have certain assessment tools to evaluate if one is suitable for particular postings & job scopes. in the end, still back to the reality when actually performing the jobs on-spot with evaluation.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 26 2011, 05:23 PM
figuremeout
post Sep 26 2011, 06:05 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 26 2011, 05:11 PM)
some of the HSE alerts from rig mostly from these kinds of kerah tenaga jobs  smile.gif at least at rig the stringent requirements on HSE systems are always there.
but not in palm oil... have some seniors work & course conductor commented on palm oil  sweat.gif  1 leg kick. accessible to various resources almost zero.

Added on September 26, 2011, 5:14 pm
again, talk is easier than act & practical, not to discourage you but that is the reality out there.   
anyhow, those companies have certain assessment tools to evaluate if one is suitable for particular postings & job scopes. in the end, still back to the reality when actually performing the jobs on-spot with evaluation.
what are the job scopes of an FE?curious to know hmm.gif
backspace66
post Sep 26 2011, 08:21 PM

2,139 posts

@figuremeout

that question is so general....FE only means that u are an engineer working in the field.Your job scope will depend on what you do,for example,well testing,wireline,mwd/lwd,cementing,wellbore surveying,coil tubing,etc...
preakzz
post Sep 26 2011, 08:24 PM

224 posts

So I got into D&M ..
ch_teo
post Sep 26 2011, 08:30 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(figuremeout @ Sep 25 2011, 08:48 PM)
some people would kill for that position(FE for SLB). at least i know i would.  biggrin.gif
since u had mentioned u would kill for it, so no need to be spoon-fed. doh.gif
and you shall have all necessary infos & all preparations have been done more than anyone else for you to kill it.
anticipating you to share your infos. rclxms.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(figuremeout @ Sep 26 2011, 06:05 PM)
what are the job scopes of an FE?curious to know  hmm.gif
This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 26 2011, 08:31 PM
backspace66
post Sep 26 2011, 08:47 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 26 2011, 08:24 PM)
So I got into D&M ..
nice,mwd field engineer,one of the high profile FE position.
figuremeout
post Sep 26 2011, 08:48 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 26 2011, 08:21 PM)
@figuremeout

that question is so general....FE only means that u are an engineer working in the field.Your job scope will depend on what you do,for example,well testing,wireline,mwd/lwd,cementing,wellbore surveying,coil tubing,etc...
Wow...i have not heard any of those.

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 26 2011, 08:30 PM)
since u had mentioned u would kill for it, so no need to be spoon-fed. doh.gif
and you shall have all necessary infos & all preparations have been done more than anyone else for you to kill it.
anticipating you to share your infos. rclxms.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:31 pm
dude,what's up with the tone?sorry if my passion to know more about the industry by asking a silly question has offended you. Im sure u asked the same silly question when u first started.
nerdster
post Sep 26 2011, 09:16 PM

hi everyone, i am newbie here. i am curious to know what is job scope of production technologist. thanks! smile.gif
ch_teo
post Sep 26 2011, 09:30 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 26 2011, 08:47 PM)
nice,mwd field engineer,one of the high profile FE position.
rclxms.gif
MWD LWD

LWD at Chikyu Expedition
meonkutu11
post Sep 26 2011, 09:40 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(preakzz @ Sep 26 2011, 08:24 PM)
So I got into D&M ..
Congratulation preakzz..
By the way, how much they pay for entry level MWD?
backspace66
post Sep 26 2011, 10:57 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 26 2011, 09:30 PM)
Are u trying to tell me what mwd/lwd is all about?hehehe,opsss,been there,done that.... biggrin.gif ,cool video though

This post has been edited by backspace66: Sep 26 2011, 11:01 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 26 2011, 11:11 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:57 PM)
Are u trying to tell me what mwd/lwd is all about?hehehe,opsss,been there,done that....  biggrin.gif  ,cool video though
1st: for fresh who are curious to easier visualizing. smile.gif a picture/video is worth thousand words.
2nd: for people think (think, think) physically is not demanding & mind also not demanding with 24/7 at rig. talk is easier than act tongue.gif
1st video: "theory"
2nd video: "practical"

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 26 2011, 11:14 PM
backspace66
post Sep 26 2011, 11:27 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Sep 26 2011, 11:11 PM)
1st: for fresh who are curious to easier visualizing.  smile.gif a picture/video is worth thousand words.
2nd: for people think (think, think) physically is not demanding & mind also not demanding with 24/7 at rig.  talk is easier than act tongue.gif
1st video: "theory"
2nd video: "practical"
hehe,very nice of you to google for them. rclxms.gif ,i thought u were responding to me since u reply me directly...
ch_teo
post Sep 26 2011, 11:37 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 26 2011, 11:27 PM)
hehe,very nice of you to google for them.  rclxms.gif ,i thought u were responding to me since u reply me directly...
fabricated some of the tools in oilfield for you guys to use tongue.gif
cku87
post Sep 27 2011, 07:23 AM

131 posts

how about food technologist then? do they have an opportunity to work in OnG co.? i mean we did learn chemical, microbes etc. that maybe can be of use of some area in OnG.

i've once interviewed for this one OnG company, they immediately look at my edu background then decided that i'm not suitable to work for them (it's an open interview with so many open vacancies so i just try for document controller or smthg like that.all other are engineering post).

i can accept if the reason is because not related field but the point is he talked like i'm studying to be a cook. and he even made fun of me as i'm quite big so he said i'll be dead starving coz no food there so not suitable for me.
ben3003
post Sep 27 2011, 08:48 AM

10,859 posts

I dont think food technologist is related to OnG in any sense. It is all about food as u are already majoring in that particular field, OnG does not focus on food, your suitable company would be those Brewery, Nestle, F&N and so on.

144 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:05 AM