Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v2, All things Big 4 + others

yongeow
post Nov 3 2015, 03:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 3 2015, 02:13 PM)
Mah result not that good so i suppose i enter as intern then pray i get full timer position.  icon_idea.gif
It can happen on EY but not PwC... My friend interned in PwC and rejected her when she apply for permanent.

I have friend who is a 2nd class lower successfully secure a permanent placement in EY after intern in EY.
minizian
post Nov 3 2015, 04:07 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(yongeow @ Nov 3 2015, 03:09 PM)
It can happen on EY but not PwC... My friend interned in PwC and rejected her when she apply for permanent.

I have friend who is a 2nd class lower successfully secure a permanent placement in EY after intern in EY.
Probably your friend did damn fine job that they decide to take in as full timer. smile.gif Well its okay if they did not wan to take me in, just have to keep on looking.

Anyway i decide to look for other company instead of Audit/Tax firm smile.gif

yongeow
post Nov 3 2015, 04:43 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 3 2015, 04:07 PM)
Probably your friend did damn fine job that they decide to take in as full timer. smile.gif Well its okay if they did not wan to take me in, just have to keep on looking.

Anyway i decide to look for other company instead of Audit/Tax firm smile.gif
Okay, all the best dude =D
coppycop
post Nov 4 2015, 11:55 AM

28 posts

rolleyes.gif what are the reasons that u guys going for big 4? Even people from medium firm they will still go after it?
crystalfenix
post Nov 4 2015, 02:01 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(coppycop @ Nov 4 2015, 11:55 AM)
rolleyes.gif  what are the reasons that u guys going for big 4?  Even people from medium firm they will still go after it?
For the prestige and experience I guess. Heard medium or smal firms their rate is pretty pitiful.
coppycop
post Nov 4 2015, 05:37 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(crystalfenix @ Nov 4 2015, 02:01 PM)
For the prestige and experience I guess. Heard medium or smal firms their rate is pretty pitiful.
smile.gif i asked some of my team members why are they here.. Some told me coz its big 4, some told me dream place.. I get all kind of answers.

Okay. Some told me pay is good which is part of the reason.
zomode
post Nov 4 2015, 08:42 PM

29 posts

May I ask is that easy for a fresh graduate Malaysian to join Singapore's Big 4?
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 09:05 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(zomode @ Nov 4 2015, 08:42 PM)
May I ask is that easy for a fresh graduate Malaysian to join Singapore's Big 4?
Singaporean Big 4's, at the junior level prioritises hiring of Singaporeans/foreigners from local universities (NTU, NUS, SMU) and also some from SIM and also Singaporeans that graduated from overseas universities. (ie Singaporeans + Singapore Uni grads). It is an unofficial policy though, and some firms have a tiny intake for foreign graduates.

KPMG and EY for example hire only locals for their associate level intakes.

So far most of the Malaysians that got into Singaporean big 4s are either Singapore local uni grads, or came here after 2+ years experience in a comparable audit firm in Malaysia. Alternatively you may want to consider joining medium firms, where they can be less selective with candidates.
zomode
post Nov 4 2015, 09:08 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 09:05 PM)
Singaporean Big 4's, at the junior level prioritises hiring of Singaporeans/foreigners from local universities (NTU, NUS, SMU) and also some from SIM and also Singaporeans that graduated from overseas universities. (ie Singaporeans + Singapore Uni grads). It is an unofficial policy though, and some firms have a tiny intake for foreign graduates.

KPMG and EY for example hire only locals for their associate level intakes.

So far most of the Malaysians that got into Singaporean big 4s are either Singapore local uni grads, or came here after 2+ years experience in a comparable audit firm in Malaysia. Alternatively you may want to consider joining medium firms, where they can be less selective with candidates.
If I join local Big 4, will I easily internal transfer to SG? I hope to work in SG but I hope to work for Big 4 too sad.gif
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 09:14 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(zomode @ Nov 4 2015, 09:08 PM)
If I join local Big 4, will I easily internal transfer to SG? I hope to work in SG but I hope to work for Big 4 too sad.gif
Within the same firm it's difficult. For example when I wanted to move, my KL firm didn't let me, so I had to resign and apply for a different Big 4 in Singapore. KL firms don't really like Singapore firms because SG is constantly stealing KL's manpower, so most colleagues tend to move between firms during the move to SG. Example if your in EY KL, generally you might join PwC SG or KPMG SG.

zomode
post Nov 4 2015, 09:16 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Nov 4 2015, 09:14 PM)
Within the same firm it's difficult. For example when I wanted to move, my KL firm didn't let me, so I had to resign and apply for a different Big 4 in Singapore. KL firms don't really like Singapore firms because SG is constantly stealing KL's manpower, so most colleagues tend to move between firms during the move to SG. Example if your in EY KL, generally you might join PwC SG or KPMG SG.
By doing this will they discount your experience? Or still can get the same position.
TSThanatosSwiftfire
post Nov 4 2015, 10:12 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(zomode @ Nov 4 2015, 09:16 PM)
By doing this will they discount your experience? Or still can get the same position.
To some extent yes. Depends how u bargain but if ur a 2nd year senior u may get offered a first year senior..
Gagaloo
post Nov 5 2015, 08:03 AM

38 posts

Hi all,

I just got a call from PWC for a position there, the person asked me a few questions and explained to me about the job scope, but then she said she'll pass my resume to the management and will call back if I'm shortlisted for the interview.

usually how long will it take for them to inform whether or not I'm shortlisted for interview?

chiahau
post Nov 5 2015, 09:27 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(coppycop @ Nov 4 2015, 05:37 PM)
smile.gif  i asked some of my team members why are they here.. Some told me coz its big 4, some told me dream place.. I get all kind of answers.

Okay. Some told me pay is good which is part of the reason.
Junior's pay ain't really good tbh.

You can make more outside if in terms of monetary growth ( working the same thing, of course )

The difference only kicks in when you're a Manager or above.

QUOTE(Gagaloo @ Nov 5 2015, 08:03 AM)
Hi all,

I just got a call from PWC for a position there, the person asked me a few questions and explained to me about the job scope, but then she said she'll pass my resume to the management and will call back if I'm shortlisted for the interview.

usually how long will it take for them to inform whether or not I'm shortlisted for interview?
2~3 days probably.

Mine was fast. Arranged everything in almost 1 week.

92alvin
post Nov 5 2015, 01:52 PM

153 posts

hi guys, I'm a fresh grad and applied for audit associate thru Pwc's website.

Im just wondering, normally how long do they take to process my application?

Its been 2 weeks and havent get any reply yet sad.gif

coppycop
post Nov 5 2015, 02:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 5 2015, 09:27 AM)
Junior's pay ain't really good tbh.

You can make more outside if in terms of monetary growth ( working the same thing, of course )

The difference only kicks in when you're a Manager or above.
2~3 days probably.

laugh.gif yeah huge difference.. And attending lots of meetings, lunch and meeting other partners.

chiahau
post Nov 5 2015, 02:38 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(coppycop @ Nov 5 2015, 02:29 PM)
laugh.gif  yeah huge difference.. And attending lots of meetings, lunch and meeting other partners.
Not to mention being able to Mingle around with top dogs and you know whos.

Damn those partners tongue.gif
coppycop
post Nov 5 2015, 04:17 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 5 2015, 02:38 PM)
Not to mention being able to Mingle around with top dogs and you know whos.

Damn those partners tongue.gif
rolleyes.gif yeah its ok. As long as u see u climb up faster than the others.

Improve your social skills and u get name cards for collection and who u want to work with in the future
Nardev87
post Nov 5 2015, 06:02 PM

48 posts

In EY, how many audit departments are they? And what are the departments?
Gagaloo
post Nov 5 2015, 08:27 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Nov 5 2015, 09:27 AM)

2~3 days probably.

so if 2-3 days no respond from them that means I'm not shortlisted for the interview? sad.gif or will they inform me also if I'm not shortlisted.

anyway let say i did got shortlisted, can anyone help me with this:

QUOTE(Gagaloo @ Nov 3 2015, 08:36 PM)
Hello all,
Anyone got any experience with this position?

How is it like? how's the environment under Tax dept there?
how's the workload?
got any chance for career advancement?

As for experience to be gain I'm pretty sure i can learn lots of things since it's PWC right?

also how should i prepare for the interview? what to expect? what kind of Tax related question are they gonna ask? will there be any computerized test etc?

all Big 4 sifu please advice  notworthy.gif
Thanks  smile.gif
what kind of Tax related question are they gonna ask? it has been 3 years since i last took Taxation subject at school, and I only achieved B+, will that affect the interviewer's perception of me in any way? or will they just judge me on how well i present my self?

thanks.

203 Pages « < 199 200 201 202 203 >Top

0.0281sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:08 PM