Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V9, Please read FAQ at 1st page! Yummy froyo

darude87
post Dec 6 2010, 05:38 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys, i'm using JG4 2.1 and voodoo lagfix, i can update to 2.2 thru kies rite?
i feel like updating it to 2.2, but i dun think i can live without lagfix tongue.gif

as i read voodoo's documentation, they only mentioned only support a certain firmwares? anyone running on 2.2 JG4 with voodoo?
darude87
post Dec 6 2010, 05:44 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Dec 6 2010, 05:41 PM)
undo the lagfix, unrooted it. then install new rom. reinstall lagfix. voila
QUOTE(Fornx @ Dec 6 2010, 05:43 PM)
there's stable froyo rc1 for firmware 2.2, but speedmod kernel is remarkably faster and smoother with the 2.2.. with speedmod you can boot into the recovery mode to apply lagfix also..

i think you have to revert to stock kernel before updating through kies from 2.1 to 2.2
my current lagfix,i need to undo(reflash my kernal) ? or just do the "disable lagfix" will do? update to 2.2 need to unroot as well?

hmm, speedmod, i saw you guys commented doc froyo uses it huh?

This post has been edited by darude87: Dec 6 2010, 05:45 PM
darude87
post Dec 8 2010, 05:52 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

few questions i would like to ask before i flash my phone to 2.2

i'm still thinking to flash it to custom rom or stock 2.2, if i want to flash to stock 2.2, some forummer said i need to flash my kernal back to stock kernal, may i know how do i flash my kernal back to stock kernal?(i'm using voodoo lagfix by the way)

if i were to use doc's rom, does it contain chinese language?
darude87
post Dec 8 2010, 08:40 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys, i've updated my firmware to 2.2 jpa, i'm trying to root my phone by putting update.zip(got from google search), but it says signature verification failed, installation aborted

any idea what went wrong?
darude87
post Dec 8 2010, 08:50 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 8 2010, 08:42 PM)
Update.zip method does not work on froyo's recovery 3e anymore. You need kernel patching. Try z4root application.
thanks, will try to look for that

and what kernal you guys will recommend? its a bit laggy rite now, feel like either apply lagfix or flash kernal, i was using voodoo back in 2.1
before this some forummer suggested speedmod, so far thats the best?
darude87
post Dec 9 2010, 12:55 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

i think i just messed up my sgs, i was trying to do lockscreen mod
but now i'm stuck at bootscreen, attempted a format on /system , still the same

any suggestion what i can do now? i have backup the file that i modified
darude87
post Dec 9 2010, 03:10 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Dec 9 2010, 03:03 PM)
after update to 2.2, the mobile network 2g/3g icon not appear anymore, cannot connect to internet? any idea? already set up the maxis apn stuff.
do check a few things

1) try a restart, sometimes it works.
2) are you on your credit limit? it happened to me once that when i'm at my credit limit, the data icon(Edge, 3g logo) is not showing and i can't online
3) are you using any apps that can disable data? (namely apndroid or similar apps)
darude87
post Dec 10 2010, 08:51 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

wanna ask something, after i updated to 2.2, i noticed my stock browser, when i double tap, it doesn't zoom as much as it used to be, is there any settings for this?
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 02:24 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys, i'm facing this problem that my battery is draining very fast, can't even last than a day

i'm using stock jpa 2.2 and speedmod k10i, i noticed my battery consumption is on display, suspect the phone cannot sleep properly, anyway to troubleshoot this?

if cannot i guess i'll reflash my phone sad.gif
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 02:35 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 11 2010, 02:25 PM)
check weather u got gallery bug ... *#*#info#*#*  then battery usage , then sensor
from sensor shows my galary is sucking most of my battery, gallery bug?
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 02:43 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 11 2010, 02:37 PM)
yes ...
QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Dec 11 2010, 02:41 PM)
yup.. gallery has been the culprit for juice sucking since feudal age.. remove it n use JustPicture instead

EDIT : customizing Darkyy's now biggrin.gif found so many unusable bloatware.. need to strip it down 1st like ultraslim tongue.gif
mind to give a bit instruction on how to fix this ? thanks ya, this matter troubling me for 2 days already sweat.gif
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 02:59 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Dec 11 2010, 02:46 PM)
if u have titanium.. open it.. go to backup/restore n delete Gallery.. reboot.. use market search for "JustPicture"

OR

if u have rootexplorer.. go to system/app n delete..reboot.. use market search for "JustPicture"
gallery3d.apk and gallery3d.odex, both delete?
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 03:29 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(GreenGoat @ Dec 11 2010, 03:24 PM)
delete all the touchwiz thing, email, fmradio, livewallpaper, write n go, default vidplayer, samsung kibod etc etc..

and i'd like to have anything i want in 1 flash (gingerbread kibod, beautiful weather etc..)
yes
thanks, if i rename the extension to .bak, will it work as the same as delete?

and how to check does the bug still bugging me or not?
darude87
post Dec 11 2010, 03:32 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

thanks guys for all the help, phone charging now, will monitor the usage later

once again, thanks, i was thinking to reflash already if problem still persist sweat.gif
darude87
post Dec 12 2010, 12:27 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys,yesterday i was saying my phone got battery consumption problem, and fellow forummers suggested me to delete my gallery, so i've deleted my gallery

but apparently the problem still persist, any idea what else could cause the battery issue? my battery is draining real fast, its about 4% every 1 hour, so it will finish my battery in about 1 day time sad.gif

i'm using stock 2.2(JPA) and k10i 256 with ext4all
darude87
post Dec 12 2010, 01:49 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 12 2010, 12:33 PM)
how do u use ur phone ? on 3G/wifi 24 hours ? auto sync every 1 minutes ?
i put data running on Edge, wifi off, auto sync off , and most of the time my phone is in idle sad.gif
darude87
post Dec 12 2010, 02:13 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(quackpack @ Dec 12 2010, 01:53 PM)
pushmail? auto mail retrieve schedule?
nope, no pushmail, gtalk is on if i'm not mistaken

0.0468sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:32 PM