Samsung Galaxy S I9000 Official Thread V9, Please read FAQ at 1st page! Yummy froyo

KH Cheah
post Dec 3 2010, 03:42 PM

285 posts

I d like to flash to speedmod k9a/256 or k10c. Wht shld I do after finish flashing? Or shld I be doing something? Sorry for the noob q. And how to go back to stock kernel if I dont like? Thnks
KH Cheah
post Dec 3 2010, 10:38 PM

285 posts

Probably a noob question. If I flash to supermod kernel or root my phone, I can alwsys roll back to stock kernel or unroot it by flashing wth stock DXJPA. Am I right? I d like to try supermod kernel n root my phone but worried cant go back to stock. Thnks
KH Cheah
post Dec 3 2010, 11:11 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 3 2010, 10:40 PM)
yes , correct
i only disable lagfix
Thnks. Just flash to k9a/256 a min ago. My first time flashing to a new kernel. Heart beating super fast. Lol. Not sure wht to do next for rooting, lagfix, etc.lol
KH Cheah
post Dec 3 2010, 11:55 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 3 2010, 11:33 PM)
Hey guys, i was wondering... does anyone here got their GPS working?

At first when i updated the firmware.. i was quite satisfy that i could lock within less than 10sec... even @ indoors it also can lock quite fast..
But don't know why... after a few times using it... the whole GPS seems to falter again..
I cant even get any Lock even @ outdoor... sometimes it cant even detect any Satellite.....
Im seriously frustrated now.. anyone got any idea if theres any way to fix the problem??? I dont mind flashing illegal firmware or what not cause i already gave up on samsung in fixing the problem...

If anyone here got the perfect fix... please do a guide please...
My gps used to suck big time when i was using the trial papago x5. It was laggy and took ages to lock in. It always went off the road when I turned etc. It was so bad that I thougt it was my sgs fault. However, when I used another version of papago x5, it is now dead accurate. Locks in within seconds. And tracking is dead accurate (unbelievably precise) and doesnt go off track at all when I make a turn. I just upgraded to DXJPA yesterday and now I notice it can even lock in indoors. When I was using 2.1, it couldnt lock in when indoor (my htc wildfire can lock in indoor, too).
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 10:18 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 4 2010, 12:25 AM)
hmm.. doesnt work for me eh... i dont know why...

dont know if i have to hard reset the phone anot liao...
very troublesome...

Added on December 4, 2010, 12:26 am
I dont think its about papago x5..

cause i cant even get a lock using GPS status .. [a GPS testing software] ...
Now i dont know what to do to fix the problem.... should i flash a better firmware ?
Whn I was using trial papago, I had problem locking in, too. I tested wth gps status n it took ages to lock in. Even whn lock in the tracking was laggy n off. I cant explain why whn I change papago version everything falls into place. It is so perfect now, I was reluctant to upgrade to froyo as I was worried it would screw up again. Now, wth froyo, it can detect even indoor. The only thing I did previously was dl gps optimization for sgs fr android market. But I dont think that help, as it was still temperamental then. Hwever, 3 days ago when I was doing some test indoor, I found tht if u switch on gps status app fr (android market), it strengthen the signal so much so tht I can detect signal whn indoors ( evn whn I was eclair then).

Added on December 4, 2010, 10:23 am
QUOTE(ken2291 @ Dec 4 2010, 12:49 AM)
On Speedmod K10E 256HZ NOW.HOLY COW, IT'S SMOOTH!! rclxm9.gif
Ken, sorry for noob question. After u flash to k10e 256, wht do u do? How do u optimise? Or it does by itself? Sorry, I m learning. I just flash to k9a 256.

This post has been edited by KH Cheah: Dec 4 2010, 10:23 AM
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 11:05 AM

285 posts

[quote=| K e e |,Dec 4 2010, 10:51 AM]
for those who need
SpeedMod Kernel K10E 256hz - Odin
Click ...
someone pls try ... see can dl or not ... 1st time use google docs

Kee, I tried but cant download. :-(
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 11:15 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
uhh.. I don't understand what you are trying to say.. you mean gps status does not work but works in papago or what?

please do tell what firmware you using and what other things you did to fix the problem..

how fast did it lock? iphone would lock when I just open the map.. that just made the 10sec lock thing looks stupid..

I wonder why no one address the flaws..
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 11:22 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 4 2010, 11:09 AM)
okie okie ..

try this link  Speedmod K10E 256hz - Odin
Yes, its downloading now. But damn my line is so slow, its going to take about 30mins.
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 11:37 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(holypredator @ Dec 4 2010, 10:55 AM)
uhh.. I don't understand what you are trying to say.. you mean gps status does not work but works in papago or what?

please do tell what firmware you using and what other things you did to fix the problem..

how fast did it lock? iphone would lock when I just open the map.. that just made the 10sec lock thing looks stupid..

I wonder why no one address the flaws..
Gps status app fr android market helps to lock in n strengthen the reception is wht I found. Activate it b4 turning on papago x5.
But wht really helps is new papago x5, not the trial one which is a crap for me. Now I can turn on papago directly, n it locks in 5s or so.
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 11:44 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 4 2010, 11:23 AM)
laugh.gif  this one i cant help liao ....
Aiya, now it looks like hang oredi. Time has slowed to 1hr 23mind n not moving. :-(
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 03:27 PM

285 posts

Guys, how to know my phone has been rooted or not? I went into recovery mode for speedmod k9a and played with a few parameters there and back. but not sure whether my phone has been rooted. how to check?
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 04:04 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Piccolo @ Dec 4 2010, 03:36 PM)
Open applications. If your phone is rooted, there will be a Superuser icon there.
U mean settings>applications???
Dont see it.
KH Cheah
post Dec 4 2010, 04:13 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 4 2010, 04:07 PM)
did u apply superuser in CWM ?
Yes, I think I did. I went there.
But I m not sure how to properly select it. I move the cursor there by the "down" button and then press the soft "return" button. Does that select it???

KH Cheah
post Dec 5 2010, 12:05 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 4 2010, 08:46 PM)
root ur phone , then use root explorer  ...
how to know if my phone is rooted, kee? I flash with k9a/256. Then i went into recovery mode. I chose "install superuser" and press "soft key return". Does it root my phone. Now I tried to install an app that requires root but it says it seems my phone is not rooted. rclxub.gif
KH Cheah
post Dec 5 2010, 12:18 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(888kb24 @ Dec 4 2010, 11:39 PM)
hello.... can u guys use ur gps on sgs? i've installed papago, but it cant get the signal at all
Download gps test or gps status to check your gps reception strength first. When lock in, then enable papago.
KH Cheah
post Dec 5 2010, 12:26 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Dec 5 2010, 12:21 AM)
if your phone is rooted...you can find in app drawer an icon with skull and bones...it is the superuser app...
I cant find or see that.
That means it is not rooted. Just want to ask, after i have flashed speedmod kernel and gone into recovery mode. how do i actually choose an item? I use the download button to move the cursor down. but I am sure how to select properly. Do i just press the softkey back button or do i have to press hardkey "home" button or "power" button? I m confused.. rclxub.gif
KH Cheah
post Dec 6 2010, 12:25 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(jujx @ Dec 6 2010, 10:25 AM)
H seems best for me, especially on GPS locking part biggrin.gif
Whn u flash to H, do u go to recovery mode n enable anything? Mind telling wht u enable? I m on 9A/256 n I enable a few things in the recovery mode. Now, it screws up my fast gps lock in. vmad.gif
KH Cheah
post Dec 6 2010, 04:16 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Dec 6 2010, 12:45 PM)
Try all of them.
If dont like them, how do u undo them? will reflashing wth the same spedmod kernel disable the tweaking u hv done earlier?
KH Cheah
post Dec 6 2010, 04:24 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 6 2010, 04:17 PM)
no need to reflash ... just disable it in CWM
How to disable the tweaks in cwm? I remember seeing only for lagfix disabld. Dont remember seeing others. rclxub.gif
KH Cheah
post Dec 6 2010, 04:46 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(| K e e | @ Dec 6 2010, 04:26 PM)
just press the tweaks again .. then u will see its removed .....
U mean it is like a toggle switch? Press once to activate n press again to deactivate? Sorry one noob q. By pressing the softkey return button each time after we use the down button to select the item, we already activate it?

0.0291sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:54 PM