HTC Desire Official Thread V7, FAQ Updated (7-Jan)

wkyoong
post Dec 24 2010, 08:07 PM

423 posts

Everyone transits from a noob. lol

Anyway guys, I was on AuraxTSense 7.X which goes way back compared to the 8.X ROM's now. While I was on 7.X everything was fine until 3 months down the line my phone began to undergo an automatic reboot almost 3-5 times within an hour which happened far too many times in a day. and it wasssss annnnoyyyiiinggggg...... vmad.gif

So on the 22nd Neo decided to release the new release of the HD ROM, ReflexTSense 1.5!!! tongue.gif It sounded really promising so I gave it a shot. Booted in a 1GB ext 3 and kicked up the ROM. Everything was smooth and stable. Just love the new Sense HD (though I don't feel its a huge improvement over the existing sense UI)

Been using it for 2 days with the 2nd latest radio, 32.48.00.32U_5.11.05.14 since I've read better reviews on its battery conservation. Things were cool UNTIL this morning, I remember leaving my phone unplugged at about 90% battery life before goin to bed and when I woke up my phone was DEADDDD. The battery went to zilch. I couldn't even power it when I plugged it into the charger. I waited several minutes while it was charging and I managed to boot it. Battery was at 1% lol

Anyone knows whats probably the problem? Is it the ROM? The radio? I've set the CPU under smartass so it should operate at 280Mhz while it was asleep.

The other thing is that I might consider switching to a Cyanogen based ROM. Anyone care to share the advantages/disadvantages of a Cyanogen based ROM? I've read some stuff about greater customization capabilities laugh.gif
wkyoong
post Dec 26 2010, 02:28 AM

423 posts

Ok that's it. I'm done with ReflexTSense for now. I don't think there were any running apps and battery life seems to be fine for daily use. Its just that when I leave it idle over the night when I go to sleep, the battery discharges to zero. Then the 1.5.1 update was released, I applied the update and everything seemed fine but once again when I went to bed, the my Desire froze at the home screen (which explains why my alarm did not wake me up vmad.gif ). Really weird and I'm not sure what's the reason. So its Christmas day and another day for another ROM. I booted in a copy of LeeDroid 2.3b and its awesome!!!!

Things seem to be very smooth. I installed adw launcher ex as well and its DABOMB>>>>>>> Tons of possibilities to customize the home desktop UI and transitions are silky smooth tongue.gif

Praying hard that LeeDroid does justice to my Desire. And Merry Christmas everyone wink.gif
wkyoong
post Dec 26 2010, 04:36 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Dec 26 2010, 02:40 AM)
lol, your comment made me went to check out ADW Launcher EX
damn its quite amazing!
gonna try that Leedroid + ADW combination soon laugh.gif
Its pretty amazing. I've combo'd mine with Fancy Widget flip clock to get the sense UI look with added shortcuts on the dock. And the addition of gesture options are a big plus biggrin.gif

Added on December 26, 2010, 4:38 am
QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 26 2010, 03:55 AM)
root d like have new phone! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif totally newbie in the root world!

havent got time to update my sig...
Guess you're done with the hard part. Loading ROMs should be a breeze compared to rooting. Give LeeDroid a try!!! cool2.gif

This post has been edited by wkyoong: Dec 26 2010, 04:38 AM
wkyoong
post Dec 26 2010, 07:19 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 26 2010, 10:38 AM)
try checking *#*#INFO#*#* then go under battery history or something like that...search the menu for partial wake battery usage...all apps that are running should be running at a fraction only...if theres any app running way too much,just uninstalled it...

p/s : tried adw EX...i like the hand gesture option...now no need to swipe the notification bar...just swipe down only... biggrin.gif
I just tried that out. It seems that under battery history:

- 'running' are taking = 50%
- 'Screen on' = 5%
-'Phone on' = 0.3%
- 'Wifi on' & "Wifi running" = 100% shocking.gif

Is this normal? Im running on LeeDroid 2.3b with 32.48.00.32U_5.10.05.30 radio

Oh wait, that's just the time spent by the battery. LOL. I checked under CPU and all the apps were running at really small fractions. Still..... I feel that the battery life of LeeDroid isn't as good as AuraxTSense unsure.gif

This post has been edited by wkyoong: Dec 26 2010, 07:26 PM
wkyoong
post Dec 26 2010, 08:18 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ Dec 26 2010, 07:59 PM)
funny...i felt that leedroid is better in battery life...i did one experiment where i just leave my phone idle from 9am to 6pm...auraxt drains about 30% compare to leedroid around 20%...setcpu profile set at screen off : 245/245
Yes indeed. I use to experience just about a 20% drop with wifi on for Aurax 7.X a couple of months back. I left my phone on LeeDroid idel over night with wifi on and the battery level dropped by just about 30% which isn't to bad I suppose. My CPU was set as smartass without any profiles. Just enabled a screen off profile like what you did to see if there are any improvements laugh.gif
wkyoong
post Dec 26 2010, 11:23 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Dec 26 2010, 11:02 PM)
why i using AuraxTSense cant use setCpu, do i need to S-off my device?

battery is definitely a big leap compare to stock rom, i have downloaded leedroid, just have not got chance to use it

by the way i repartition my sd card to ext 3 using paragon partition manger no problem at all...

@rattan, navigation shouldnt work in malaysia, right?

@ bro hazril, what is *#*#INFO#*#*
What do you means that you can't use setCpu? I've used it back when I was on AuraxTSense and it was fine. The newer versions of AuraxTSense ROM's should come with setCpu with smartass profiles. no?

*#*#INFO#*#* brings up a menu which displays time/usage of the battery/CPU etc depending on the chosen options. Give it a try by inputting the code in the phone dialler. 'INFO' meaning you type it out using T9 on the keypad which of course will not appear as 'INFO' but 4636 instead.

wkyoong
post Dec 27 2010, 05:19 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Dec 27 2010, 04:31 AM)
guys what type of sp are you using?
I used matte type ever since I bought the desire then yesterday changed to clear type. Damn shocked at the difference it made to the screen clarity. >< but clear type not nice to swype. Is there any clear sp that's smooth like matte as well?
I think its a compromise you will have to make. I was using the matt type since it was bundled with my Desire from the seller but after awhile I feel that it just doesn't do the screen clarity the justice it deserves. Yea it feels smooth but I'd rather display clarity.

I'm using clear type sp by dcmugen. Give it a search in the sales forum. Its around RM7 per-piece. I've compared it with normal el-cheapo RM5 screen protectors and I must admit, the dcmugen sp feels much more durable and its crystal clear thumbup.gif
wkyoong
post Dec 28 2010, 07:03 PM

423 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Dec 28 2010, 07:02 PM)
sry , just want to ask , it's HTC desire can upgrade to android 2.2 froyo ?
All HTC Desire devices should be able to receive the latest stock froyo 2.2 OTA. But I'd go with a root+custom ROM for the best experience laugh.gif
wkyoong
post Dec 29 2010, 04:01 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Dec 29 2010, 12:57 AM)
yes, still got recovery... now i already installed the leedroid 2.3b but accidentally formatted my microsd card which contains my original stock rom (froyo 2.2). can you share me a copy?? pleaaaase!!! notworthy.gif

Added on December 29, 2010, 1:00 am
yes yes.... exactly.... please help!!! notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Haha I almost fell for the same thing but back then I didn't know what was nandroid backup. So the first thing I did was dload the RUU for Asia off xda forums. It will return your Desire to the stock 2.2 ROM
wkyoong
post Jan 4 2011, 09:13 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jan 4 2011, 09:08 AM)
Bro my table dun have a class 10 lying around. I promise the only place it will be lying around is in my phone SD socket. So shall i throw away my ancient 1GB memory card and prepare for a class 10 ?  drool.gif
Ditch the 1Gb yo. Treat ur Desire to something a little more 'in-scale' with the current times.

I've got a class 10 card. I can't say that I notice any speed improvements when using my Desire compared to the stock 2Gb micro-sd but I had to get a larger card anyways. Decided to get a Kingmax 8GB class 10 which is probably a little pricey (got it for RM100) but oh well....... at least I'm getting a transfer rate of 12mbps when transferring large amounts of data from my computer into the micro-sd tongue.gif
wkyoong
post Jan 9 2011, 10:01 AM

423 posts

QUOTE(eltonchay @ Jan 9 2011, 09:45 AM)
Hi guys, i'm going to buy a used Desire soon and is AP set. can i upgrade to Froyo even though is AP set?
thanks for the answer in advance n have a nice day to all Desire owner =D
LOL of course. Its still a HTC Desire. Just that the warranty differs since its an AP set. And I guess the sets being sold now should be loaded with Froyo. Otherwise, use it for a couple of days/weeks and boot in a custom ROM! cool2.gif

0.0478sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:08 PM