HTC Desire Official Thread V7, FAQ Updated (7-Jan)

Calex
post Jan 12 2011, 10:08 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 12 2011, 09:53 AM)
Gosh, i didn't know the new Desire is SLCD...so is mine AMOLED or SLCD?? How to check? I compared with my wife's Omnia 2 AMOLED....the OMNIA 2 seems to have better and more vivid colors...

btw, just tested video recording last night...720p video is pretty useless...jerky frame rates, blurry pictures...phailed....haven't tried DVD quality video recording yet. I think the Omnia 2 is better in camera and videos....sad.gif
XDA has a way to find out, if I remember correctly it has to do with the stock HBOOT your phone comes with.

Another way is you open a black image (if full black better) and view it at different angles (view it sideways, upwards, downwards, upside down pun boleh tongue.gif). If the black looks brighter or darker when you alter the angles, its SLCD. If its the same black, its AMOLED.
Calex
post Jan 12 2011, 10:40 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 12 2011, 10:34 AM)
Thanks for the answer. In that case, can i just buy any USB wall charger? Does it needs to be specific what voltage etc?? I think i'll just buy a cheap compatible wall charger if it's ok to put in the office.

btw, what is this battery re-calibrating some the guys here keeps talking about? How do you do it??
Some cheap USB chargers can make the touchscreen go crazy. Like for example if you leave the screen unlocked and you charge it, the screen will end up pressing random stuff sweat.gif

Best way is to check the voltage output and mA output. If its the same with the original charger, it should be safe to buy that one.

Battery recalibrating is basically completely draining the battery and then recharging it to full again.
Calex
post Jan 12 2011, 11:11 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 12 2011, 11:00 AM)
Thank you for the advice.  notworthy.gif And Calex too.  notworthy.gif

How much is ori charger? Can it be use for other HTC phones as well???  hmm.gif
My HTC Legend's ori charger works fine on a Nexus One and a Wildfire, so it should be ok tongue.gif

Not sure about price though.. hmm.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 10:13 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Jan 14 2011, 10:04 AM)
guys,

about the battery question again, saw a battery with 1850mah (Sunglobal) with only rm50 /pc. someone in the forum selling this. Any one using it or use the Sunglobal battery before?

just want to collect some information about the battery manufacturer before i decided to put my self as lab rat... tongue.gif
The MAH might be more, but sometimes its efficiency might be less than the original battery (meaning it finishes faster). Just a heads up smile.gif

I have not used Sunglobal, but I did use Momax battery before on a nokia. The battery is worse doh.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 10:29 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(bomberman @ Jan 14 2011, 10:24 AM)
dude, data plan is still a data plan, no matter u have digi iphone plan or celcom BB data plan, whichever phone u switch to it still remains (all setting must be done in order to get ur phone working with the data plan.)

*BB data plan is inclusive of additional rm30 for the license fee of BB
I think BB plan... only works for BB.. sweat.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 11:17 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(ShinnKQ @ Jan 14 2011, 10:56 AM)
icic. tyty.

How long does it take to download 10MB with unlimited plan?

Rough estimates +- 1min would be nice.
I'm using Digi Unlimited 15, download 10MB takes about 2-3 mins+ I think. sweat.gif

P.S What I meant about the BB plan meant for BBs, is that it needs an extra fee, which...err.. is a waste if not using BB. blink.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 12:18 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(ferhan83e @ Jan 14 2011, 11:41 AM)
Hello guys, wanna ask...my fren wanna buy Desire at Lowyat or at BB Plaza...can get new set Desire less than RM1500?he dun mind AP or Ori set
I think the lowest is RM1450. Lower than Rm1400 is almost impossible at the moment sweat.gif

Anyways, might as well get the White Desire. It looks seriously good thumbup.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 02:56 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(ferhan83e @ Jan 14 2011, 02:51 PM)
White Desire eh???  hmm.gif  will go look white desire tomorrow...thnx guys
rclxms.gif

If you do get one, make sure you clean it everyday everynight, cause if not the back might turn grey really fast laugh.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 06:30 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jan 14 2011, 06:28 PM)
I'm just wondering if there is any software that will allow output to HDMI using the micro usb socket. Any input gentlemens?
Have not heard of one before blink.gif

I don't think its fast enough to do so anyways, considering the speed of micro usb is not impressive.. sweat.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 07:42 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

Hmm... How about DLNA? hmm.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 07:48 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jan 14 2011, 07:47 PM)
Can support micro USB to HDMI ?
DLNA is wirelessly transfer data to TV. But need wireless adaptor to TV which cost alot.. sweat.gif
Calex
post Jan 14 2011, 07:53 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jan 14 2011, 07:50 PM)
I want something when traveling. Can hook my phone using USB>HDMI and play movies/songs from my phone to LCD/Plasma.
I don't think its possible, but if I'm correct some one at DHD thread mentioned that HTC releasing a micro usb cable to connect to tv. Might work for Desire too. smile.gif
Calex
post Jan 15 2011, 06:01 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jan 15 2011, 05:49 PM)
just out of curiosity, what makes Cyan to be better than other ROM?
currently am on MIUI, which I guess I'm gonna stick with it till CM7 is officially out,
so just want to know why do you recommend CM rom so much happy.gif
as in what makes them stand out from other ROM, including Oxygen?
Well, if you want a stock feel rom, it's best to use cyanogen to enjoy the most of android. Basically it's a starting point for people new to android. To me at least smile.gif

After you become more knowledgeable about flashing and such, then you can try and experiment with new roms like Sense and MIUI. Experiment with what you want and desire in your phone, then keep going further rclxms.gif
Calex
post Jan 16 2011, 11:13 AM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jan 16 2011, 03:48 AM)
Dialer One. the stock AOSP dialer is a good dialer. the only thing they missed is the T-9.

Added on January 16, 2011, 3:57 am

i still think Android will achieve greatness even without Sense. but yeah it was all about preferences, who said you should follow what i said? i was being sarcastic up there.

I want N1 but it wasnt in my budget to buy without contract so i have to choose the maxis plan. i never know bout Sense when i bought Desire. All i know is Android, and its open! but dang it got stucked in sense, when the maxis seller turn the phone on in front of me. Lucky there are AOSP's!

Sense's dialer and widgets are handy, the interface are nice, but when you explore the inner side of it, its bloated. it can be better. i wish i could have the sense dialer on AOSP, but widgets, can be replaced by others.

I'm building my own Gingerbread rom now! based on CM7 source!
Preferences preferences bro.. tongue.gif

I'm using the N1, mainly because I initially hated Sense (HTC Magic days) so I got that instead.

Then Sense 2.0 came out, boy do I love that drool.gif especially that darn flip clock. Wish that could be implemented in other launchers wub.gif

Of course, I preferred speed anyday, so here I am, randomly flashing CM7 nightlies and MIUI ROMs from time to time tongue.gif And the occasional Sense 2.0 ROMs.

0.0395sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:10 AM