Photography Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V4, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewher

AronC
post Dec 2 2010, 09:39 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 2 2010, 06:59 AM)
Sarcasm? Not at all biggrin.gif Just a mere 550D owner trying to learn more.. smile.gif

Do explain why you recommend him a 60D leh instead of a 550D.. still blur rclxub.gif
In terms of mega-pixels, these 2 bodies can do rather same quality images, and differs in terms of AF-system, a faster continuous burst, improved control over auto-ISO, and so on. Mainly u can obtain from the website, but bear in mind that some of the information can be misleading.

QUOTE(faizfatin @ Dec 2 2010, 07:55 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR camera
Budget : RM2000 include kitlens
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography: Landscape or Portrait(both)
Any specific models in mind? : 400D,D80
Planning for a 2nd hand DSLR? Why not save more for a new one? smile.gif With RM2k you can get a new Nikon D3100 or Canon EOS 1000D only. Can provide more specifications?
AronC
post Dec 3 2010, 11:56 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(zeusag @ Dec 3 2010, 12:34 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  compact / DSLR camera
Budget: RM1500 below
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : Olypmpus, Canon
Type of photography u want to do :  portrait and landscape
Any specific models in mind? :  Canon 1000d, olympus pen
Any specific features u want? :  Have read through a lot of review, but still coudnt decide which is suitable and with better functionality. Beginner here.
Canon EOS 1000D will do extremely fine. smile.gif Limited budget?

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Dec 3 2010, 01:05 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  DSLR
Budget: RM2500 + -
Preferable brand : Canon / Nikon / Sony
Type of photography u want to do :  Portrait and low light scenes
Any specific models in mind? :  D3100
Any specific features u want? :  -
With your budget, why not Canon EOS 550D? Low light scenes you need wide aperture lens. Like 50mm f/1.8. Don't know what's aperture? Refer here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aperture

QUOTE(faizfatin @ Dec 3 2010, 04:28 PM)
thanks bro for some advise,for market price i can get a new nikon D3100 with Rm 2k ea?
for 2nd hand with my budget Rm2k,i can get or not D80 with lens...?
Yes D3100 with kit lens 18-55mm, and yes for 2nd hand D80 with lens. Search in Garage Sales -> Cameras & Photography -> Digital SLRs & Lenses. There is a lot of sellers.

QUOTE(IxCraZee @ Dec 3 2010, 05:34 PM)
Hi, I am new and planning to get a DSLR camera. Criteria as following, can anyone please suggest or give comment which module I should looking for?

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR+lens
Budget: < RM 3000
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : portrait, landscape

Thanks you for any suggestion and comment.
Canon EOS 550D, Nikon D90. Afford the best while you can if you're serious into photography. Any SLR and kit lens will do a good job for portrait and landscape. Oh I almost forgot, a nifty-fifty (50mm f/1.8) is is your great workhorse. Cheap yet producing sharp images.

This post has been edited by AronC: Dec 4 2010, 12:00 AM
AronC
post Dec 4 2010, 12:20 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Dec 4 2010, 12:10 AM)
I know a bout aperture and exposure etc, been playing with full manual compacts for a while : )

Yeah I'll get the 50mm f/1.8 for sure.

Been looking at EOS 500 and 550d, what's the major diff between both models? Pricing differs by around 500 + -
Not much major differences, but you can kindly refer to here.
http://www.goldfries.com/photography/canon...-camera-review/
All credits go to goldfries, and this is another link you can refer to.
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_po...os550d&show=all
Hope this helps. nod.gif
AronC
post Dec 7 2010, 01:35 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 7 2010, 11:29 AM)
If it's between Canon EOS 550D, Nikon D90 and Sony a580, which 1 would you guys recommend.
Someone told me to get EOS 550D with 18-200mm EFS lens.
My budget would be max at 4k
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 7 2010, 11:47 AM)
Do you know how heavy is that 18-200? lol Definitely wouldn't want that attached with your 550D, hanging around your neck unless you want neck-aches all over.. smile.gif

It's a choice between 3 brands... so pick your choice! I don't dare to comment, nanti Sony fanboys come here whack me  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 7 2010, 11:51 AM)
18-200 is heavy? biggrin.gif
hmph, I need to think and think. hmm.gif
Each got their own pros and cons. I would say pick the one which catches your first sight! biggrin.gif However, I don't mind about 18-200 weight, but it's price performance - RM2300 is truly doh.gif shakehead.gif I prefer kit lens 18-55mm and a monster portraiture lens like Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM brows.gif

QUOTE(dakulala @ Dec 7 2010, 12:00 PM)
haha,,but then my bugdet for 3rd party 1 la... got not enough money yet.. cry.gif
Why don't Nissin mee di622 then straight to the best of range when you got money?

QUOTE(vexus @ Dec 7 2010, 12:17 PM)
Between
Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 Di 1:1 Macro
and
Tamron SP AF 60mm F2 Di II 1:1 Macro

Which one is better for 500D ?
You prefer a longer focal length with smaller wide, or a shorter focal length with larger wide? It's up to you.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 7 2010, 12:18 PM)
If still can't decide... see your photography kakis . If mostly Sony, then you choose Sony la.

If your friends all play with Canon, and you pulak go and buy a Sony. Then you'll be lonely la

"Birds of the same feather, flock together"
Well said. smile.gif
AronC
post Dec 7 2010, 05:03 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(noobs @ Dec 7 2010, 03:35 PM)
should i get d7000 with kit or without??
my budget is actually kinda tight...
my first dslr anyway...
Simplest 18-55mm is a must. 50mm f/1.8 is another useful one.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 7 2010, 03:50 PM)
Ferrari with Kancil engine or Kancil with Ferrari engine? LOL
You can only say that the DSLR body can be under-utilized. Just like my combination at the moment, 7D with 18-55mm. laugh.gif
AronC
post Dec 7 2010, 11:31 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Dec 7 2010, 05:36 PM)
When are you getting 17-55 la? Your 7D is super hungry for super fast AF lens  drool.gif
Will get Sigma 50mm f/1.4 first. Ima thirst for portraiture lens first. tongue.gif

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Dec 7 2010, 07:29 PM)
walao A, 7D. Sweet laugh.gif
Lens not sweet. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Dec 10 2010, 07:05 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(amiezam @ Dec 10 2010, 11:39 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  canon dslr 60d
Budget: ask price
Your Location:   kl
Type of photography u want to do :  potrait panorama landscape
Any specific features u want? : kits lens 135mm
Since you have decided to take Canon DSLR 60D, go for it. Next time for for price quatation, kindly go to Garage Sales section, not here. smile.gif
PS: It's around RM3900. smile.gif

QUOTE(Pemerhati @ Dec 10 2010, 12:50 PM)
anybody got experience with Tamron AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) MACRO Lens?...gud ka?..or??....
I have no experience in that, but such long range focal length will cause the IQ fall. A good example from Canon EF-S 18-200mm.

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Dec 10 2010, 01:05 PM)
nikon d90 or canon 60d?
i need advice...thanks
Kindly quote more specifications. Budget, specific features, etc.

QUOTE(tommy9097 @ Dec 10 2010, 01:45 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital Camera
Budget : Around RM1000
Your Location : Sarawak
Preferable brand : Canon , Panasonic , Nikon , Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape or Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : none
Any specific features u want? : 10x or above digital zoom , 12 or 14 megapixels , with 8gb free memory card if possible.
Canon Powershot S90 will do a good job.

QUOTE(shinky56 @ Dec 10 2010, 06:36 PM)
Type of camera :  Semi-pro
[B]Budget: RM1400
[B]Your Location: KL
[B]Preferable brand : Nikon
[B]Type of photography u want to do :  Landscape or Portrait
[B]Any specific models in mind? : P7000
[B]Any specific features u want? : no
Semi-pro and performance type compact camera for Nikon, only COOLPIX P7000 suits you. Hope this helps.
AronC
post Jan 5 2011, 01:07 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Jan 4 2011, 06:36 PM)
this is quite true. But if you are a newbie entering this field there is nothing wrong with going win with a high end body/lens. You can learn more that way also lol. It all depends to people's preferences.
I prefer you go for the best you can afford. If you serious enough and budgeted, get a good body and start with a kit lens.
AronC
post Jan 5 2011, 01:53 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 5 2011, 09:15 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  Lens
Budget: rm 2k
Your Location:   Perak / KL
Preferable brand :  -
Type of photography u want to do :  -
Any specific models in mind? :  Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC Di II
Any specific features u want? :  -

Got other lenses comparable to this??
For budget of RM2k, general usage for Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC is undeniably useful. Wide open at f/2.8 allows you to shoot under harsh and low light conditions. No others can beat it, unless you prefer portrait and prime lens like 50mm f/1.4.
AronC
post Jan 5 2011, 09:32 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(wk1168 @ Jan 5 2011, 03:31 PM)
I'll list down some regardless of the budget you mentioned. Do abit of awareness and keep your options open.  tongue.gif

Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4 DC Macro OS HSM about RM 1900
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM[ about RM2800
Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM about RM1000
Nikon AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED about RM 5000
Canon EF-S 17-55 f2.8 IS USM about RM 3800
Tokina AT-X 165 16-50mm f/2.8 AF PRO DX about RM 2400

all are cropped. not suitable for full frame body. and Canon's is for Canon. so do Nikon. the rest, are third party lens maker that makes mounts available to possibly whatever you are using now.

good luck!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Corrected laugh.gif , he's canon mount. All the others have variable aperture, compared to constantly wide open lens sure lousier. f/2.8 - f/4 is just like kit lens. IMO smile.gif If you don't mind paying RM3.8k for EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8, a non-L which is quite pricy, go ahead. The IQ, focus speed is quite promising, USM wo. laugh.gif
AronC
post Jan 5 2011, 10:05 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 5 2011, 09:44 PM)
Canon 450D  sad.gif
kitlens 18-55..
Upgrade from 18-55.. Good choice??
Definitely good choice, got budget for the Canon EF-S 17-55mm or not? If not then Tammy 17-50mm f/2.8 enough. Get VC version, it's like IS in Canon.

QUOTE(whale1987 @ Jan 5 2011, 09:53 PM)
Guys, may i know what is the retail price of a Canon 550D in Malaysia?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1309101
Kindly use the search button, and look around in Garage Sales before you ask next time. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Jan 5 2011, 10:49 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(johnsonwps @ Jan 5 2011, 10:21 PM)
lol.. 3.8k leh... for that 5mm.. Not that rich yet...
It's not only 5mm, but in terms of sharpness, focusing speed and colour, Canon pwns Tamron all the way. smile.gif Surely Tammy is still a good choice.
AronC
post Jan 6 2011, 12:09 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(dajacksparrow @ Jan 5 2011, 11:48 PM)
Hi guys

I'm using Nikon D5000
I've been offered by someone to change "suka sama suka" with his sony alpa 550

His camera is still in warranty and has been use for only 4 month
My camera is also in warranty and has been use for 9 month

So,the question is can i received his offer or you guys got something better opinion?
What i've heard the performance of sony alpha 550 is quite similar to D90

thanx
First, what's a "suka sama suka"? doh.gif
I think it is quite suspicious for him to trade the camera with you. Or he's a friend of yours? Kindly provide more information, and please state specifications but not "suka sama suka".
AronC
post Jan 8 2011, 09:10 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Fjive @ Jan 8 2011, 07:57 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: <RM 2K
Preferable brand :  Canon, or any suggestion
Type of photography u want to do :  Outdoor, indoor, low light
Any specific models in mind? :  Friends recommended G12 and LX5, but open for other suggestions
Any specific features u want? : Nothing specific. Looking to upgrade from an old Lumix FX-38, hoping to buy something much better but not DSLR level.
Canon Powershot S95. Smaller design, can be put into jeans pocket. Features are about the same compared to Canon Powershot G12 and Panasonic Lumix LX5.
AronC
post Jan 9 2011, 01:27 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(evios @ Jan 9 2011, 01:40 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: < 4.5K
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : indoor, low light
Any specific models in mind? : D90
Any specific features u want? : High ISO performance.
Canon EOS 60D or EOS 550D with kit 18-55mm. Low light, get a large aperture lens like 50mm f/1.8 for budget wise. But never consider to replace a flash unit with large aperture lens. Flash is more superb. By the way, high ISO will cause your pictures contain a lot of noise. smile.gif

QUOTE(tauriq @ Jan 9 2011, 04:45 AM)
wat you guys think of a canon 7d with 18-135 and 50m 1.8 with cpl?
What do you mean? By the way the kit and the 50mm is good enough already. What else do you want? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bryanyeo @ Jan 9 2011, 12:31 PM)
Should I choose 550D kit with 18-135 or 550D kit with 18-55 + additional 55-250?

And what is the cheapest price I can find in Lowyat for 550D kit with 18-135? Usually what free things can I get?
I prefer Canon EOS 550D with kit 18-55mm, costs like RM2800; with additional 55-250mm, costs like RM800-RM900. For 18-135 package is around RM3600 or RM3700. Freebies you get will depends, mostly like card, bag, and small tripod. Remember to bargain for more. biggrin.gif
AronC
post Jan 12 2011, 09:03 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(qdipanda @ Jan 12 2011, 06:29 PM)
Hi

Need your advise

Budget: 2.5k
Your Location: KL/PJ 
Preferable brand :  any
Type of photography u want to do :  any
Any specific models in mind? :  canon 550d
Any specific features u want? :  nope...

ps: wat the different between canon 500d and 550d

Canon EOS 550D is a replacement / update for Canon EOS 500D. With that budget, go for 550D with kit 18-55 is the best already.
AronC
post Jan 13 2011, 01:17 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(rainbow84 @ Jan 13 2011, 02:20 AM)

I am looking for a digital camera.
I was previously using Canon Ixus 870IS.
Besides giving me flash issues (smoke coming out), i loved it.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : Digital Camera Point and Shoot
Budget: 1k+
Your Location: KL lowyat
Preferable brand : Canon
Type of photography u want to do : I'm not a photography person, but mainly just want to take pictures quickly without having to wait for flash, camera starting, etc. Must be quick to capture kids photos.
Any specific models in mind? : Back to IXUS maybe?
Any specific features u want? : Wide screen at the back, vivid colours like Ixus 870IS.

*help!*
My parents were using 860IS too and they love it, nice design and easy to use. Err, actually Ixus is more specialized at it's design. Why don't consider Powershot S95? Very compact yet it's a high end semi-pro camera. smile.gif

QUOTE(zoetigger @ Jan 13 2011, 03:56 AM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : entry level dslr/anything in between compact+dslr
Budget: cheaper will be better
Your Location: kl/pj
Preferable brand : pentax kr/pentax k5/sony nex 3/5 /panasonic gf-2
Type of photography u want to do : landscape(travelling)+background defocus pics
Any specific models in mind? : as stated above
Any specific features u want? : sharp colours+easy to use+pics look nice in night time+camera must be pink/red/white
pls advise
Kindly state your budget range even though you said cheaper will be better. tongue.gif Panasonic GF-2 and Sony NEX 5 will do. Not going for DSLR? Nikon D3100 or Canon EOS 1000D biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fwhoam @ Jan 13 2011, 12:29 PM)
hmm.gif  maybe i will stick to kit lense for quite a long time before buying new lens
thinking of getting 60d but many of my friend used d90  rclxub.gif
Since many of your friends using D90, then my advice for you = go for Nikon. Since the lens can be interchangeable and opinions can be shared. D7000 is a good one, why not just save some more? wink.gif
AronC
post Jan 16 2011, 02:42 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(jamesly @ Jan 15 2011, 04:09 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :dslr  
Budget: less then RM4k
Your Location:  KL
Preferable brand : canon 
Type of photography u want to do :  Normal, excellent in night pics without flash
Any specific models in mind? :  5d
Any specific features u want? :  sharpness

pls recoommmmed thankx
Less than RM4k, do you mean you wanted a Canon EOS 5D Mark1? Else go for a new body, Canon EOS 60D with kit 18-55mm. Good enough, semi-pro DSLR, by the way you stated sharpness is your specific feature you wanted. However, lens is the one affects the sharpness the most, body's AF system as well. smile.gif

QUOTE(masterackn @ Jan 15 2011, 04:14 PM)
Budget :2k-3k
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Nikon/Canon/Sony
Type of photography u want to do :
Any specific models in mind? :

My sister is getting a DSLR soon. Any recommendation on which camera she should get? She is totally new to DSLR world. Which shop offers the best price. Thanks
Canon EOS 550D, the best entry-level DSLR, cheap yet promising. For which shop offers the best price, you can kindly refer to these threads.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1309101
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1226457

QUOTE(darkevilzzz @ Jan 15 2011, 04:59 PM)
yuo..actually i oso look into the 500 and 550 d...but both is more specific in video recording rite?

Added on January 15, 2011, 5:11 pmpossible get the 550D for rm2.5K ??
550D replaces 500D, offers a greater range of ISO noise control. RM2.5k is possible, unless you get a BODY ONLY package from the shop, and buy the kit lens for RM300 in forum.

QUOTE(nyot91 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:30 PM)
Budget : RM3000 include kitlens
Your Location : JB
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon or Sony
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Canon EOS 550D, best deal for RM3000. laugh.gif
AronC
post Jan 16 2011, 11:16 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Destro89 @ Jan 16 2011, 09:59 PM)
[B]Budget:2000-2500
[B]Your Location: KL or Seremban 
[B]Preferable brand :Nikon,Canon
[B]Type of photography u want to do :Mostly nature and building
[B]Any specific models in mind? :
[B]Any specific features u want? :Live view,top LCD,
For your budget, top LCD is quite impossible. A top LCD body is likely to be a semi-pro (mid-range to high end) body. For example, Nikon D7000, Nikon D300s, Canon EOS 60D, 7D etc. You may consider a discontinued product like Canon EOS 50D, budget may increased to RM2800.

My suggestion = Save more money.

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jan 16 2011, 10:13 PM)
Budget : depends whether what to get
Your Location : KL
Preferable brand : Canon and Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and Portrait
Any specific models in mind? : 60D and D3100
Any specific features u want? : live view, hd probably
really unsure whether to save till canon or just get nikon? what says you peoples?
Wow, both your specific models range is soooooo big. D3100 is an entry level body, 60D is semi-pro already. Both Canon and Nikon can do great jobs. It is just whether for which brand gives you more impression. I am a Canon fanboy, so I choose Canon. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RoGuEWaVe @ Jan 16 2011, 11:15 PM)
Budget : rm2500 to rm3000 with lense
Your Location : sban
Preferable brand : Any
Type of photography u want to do : Beginner,mostly photo taken at mid sea
Any specific models in mind? : Nil
Any specific features u want? : Nil
Canon EOS 550D with kit 18-55mm. Why is it taken at mid sea? You mean you will be staying on the sea to snap photos? smile.gif

This post has been edited by AronC: Jan 16 2011, 11:18 PM
AronC
post Jan 19 2011, 10:21 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(reenieshu @ Jan 19 2011, 05:47 PM)
Should i get Canon 1000HS or S95??? both looks the same
Different level. 1000HS is Ixus series, its more to design. S95 is semi-pro / high end compact camera. Good enough, and close to DSLR level. smile.gif
I will prefer Powershot S95.

0.0511sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:52 PM