112 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V8, save RM200 from 15 January-15 February !

orenzai
post Jan 5 2011, 08:47 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(LimitEDition @ Jan 5 2011, 06:42 AM)
u didnt turn it off when not using?
I'm sharing a house with a few other housemates. By right, internet connection should be able to support 24/7 uptime. At my house, my streamyx connection is only down when there's a power outage. Its TM's equipment lousy. The modem that they gave me for my streamyx connection also rosak in less than 2-3 months. I replace with own modem can last for few years running continuously. Now UniFi cant use own modem doh.gif

So many problems with Unifi. I really wanna ask for a refund edi!
falcon212
post Jan 5 2011, 09:31 AM

29 posts

Hi there, the UniFi installation guy will come to my condo in few hours. I have few questions if you guys can kindly help me

1. Do I need to pay anything to the installation guy ? (I heard everything will be charge on the bill)
2. Will the internet able to use immediately upon installation ?
3. Is UniFi any VIP accounts are still currently no capped ? (Unlimited usage)
4. Anything I shud take note during the installation ?

This post has been edited by falcon212: Jan 5 2011, 09:32 AM
+Newbie+
post Jan 5 2011, 09:47 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 5 2011, 08:47 AM)
I'm sharing a house with a few other housemates. By right, internet connection should be able to support 24/7 uptime. At my house, my streamyx connection is only down when there's a power outage. Its TM's equipment lousy. The modem that they gave me for my streamyx connection also rosak in less than 2-3 months. I replace with own modem can last for few years running continuously. Now UniFi cant use own modem doh.gif

So many problems with Unifi. I really wanna ask for a refund edi!
Don't worry. TP Link router can now be used. Check out klseet's report on it. It's a few pages back.
orenzai
post Jan 5 2011, 09:53 AM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Jan 5 2011, 09:47 AM)
Don't worry. TP Link router can now be used. Check out klseet's report on it. It's a few pages back.
nod.gif will check it out. I was wondering, is Unifi always down? The last time the technician came (which was less than 1 week ago) told me that the Unifi is down because the "equipment kat condo ini baru. masih tak stable". I was wondering is there such a thing as instability during early phase of implementation.

Waiting for the technician to come. 9.30 appointment now not yet arrive sad.gif
RaymondT
post Jan 5 2011, 09:59 AM

308 posts

Well my condo for the past 2 weeks down 3 times liao......now still down.
orenzai
post Jan 5 2011, 10:01 AM

3,114 posts

Haha what condo you in? condos and specifically condos always down?
_gearbox_
post Jan 5 2011, 10:14 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jan 5 2011, 02:14 AM)
RB250GS handle vlan tagging, so you can use your own router and setup PPPoE will do (like Streamyx).

RB750/750G handle vlan + full router function, you can use any wireless router setup as AP only for WiFi, gateway is the RB750/750G.
thanks klseet..

sorry being noob here.. if RB750/RB750G is setup care to share which option should i choose..

JinXXX
post Jan 5 2011, 10:29 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(_gearbox_ @ Jan 5 2011, 10:14 AM)
thanks klseet..

sorry being noob here.. if RB750/RB750G is setup care to share which option should i choose..

get the winbox configuration tool.. its much better than the web interface

go here http://www.mikrotik.com/download.html

on the right side there is a winbox link.. download that app and use that to configure yr RB750x
TSCalvin871989
post Jan 5 2011, 11:56 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

here is a website that is a good read if you're planning to get unifi and has a general and simple walktrough on it: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/feature...-a-walkthrough/

here is something posted by ShaolinTiger during his experience on the unifi installation: http://www.shaolintiger.com/2010/12/29/the...-my-experience/

thanks to tm twitter for the twits and both links to the article and blog.

* will also put this at the front page, 1st post

a reminder and a note: to be in LYN Unifi list, please follow the format at the front page, 1st post.

thank you.
RaymondT
post Jan 5 2011, 12:42 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 5 2011, 10:01 AM)
Haha what condo you in? condos and specifically condos always down?
In Serdang. Seems like Screamyx also down. Confirmed by my neighbour.
_gearbox_
post Jan 5 2011, 01:02 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jan 5 2011, 10:29 AM)
get the winbox configuration tool.. its much better than the web interface

go here http://www.mikrotik.com/download.html

on the right side there is a winbox link.. download that app and use that to configure yr RB750x
thanks JinXXX..

i truly understand the configuration on RB750x.. however on my current wireless router WAN settings which option should i select.. i wish to maintain my current wds set-up..
charymsylyn
post Jan 5 2011, 01:08 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(RaymondT @ Jan 5 2011, 12:42 PM)
In Serdang. Seems like Screamyx also down. Confirmed by my neighbour.
For condos odds are if one is down, the other will also be down. The backhaul for both from condo to TM is more or less the same, just the equipment at the condo room you are connected which determines whether you get Unifi or Streamyx.
orenzai
post Jan 5 2011, 01:31 PM

3,114 posts

Ok the technician came. Indeed is the equipment below. He just tweak some stuff downstairs and gave me a call to ask me if its back working again. doh.gif
lester
post Jan 5 2011, 01:47 PM

292 posts

Just got my unifi installed, now need some advise on how to setup my STB and Media Box. My PTU and PG installed at my room where the media box and unifi STB installed at living room. Now planning to use homeplug to get it connect. Do i need 1pair homeplug for STB and 1 pair for Media Box?
klseet
post Jan 5 2011, 01:48 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(_gearbox_ @ Jan 5 2011, 10:14 AM)
thanks klseet..

Since RB750/750G is full feature router, you don't need to use WAN on your wifi router anymore, just select "Disabled"

Assuming you use RB750/750G default IP which is 192.168.88.1
on your own wifi router:
- disable WAN service
- disable DHCP server
- assign fixed IP 192.168.88.x subnet 255.255.255.0
- gateway & DNS enter 192.168.88.1
- setup your prefer wireless password & encryption
- connect any LAN Port of the wifi router (NOT WAN port) to RB750/750G Port 2/3/4

Please refer to:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=5&Itemid=5
_gearbox_
post Jan 5 2011, 02:25 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Jan 5 2011, 01:48 PM)
Since RB750/750G is full feature router, you don't need to use WAN on your wifi router anymore, just select "Disabled"

Assuming you use RB750/750G default IP which is 192.168.88.1
on your own wifi router:
- disable WAN service
- disable DHCP server
- assign fixed IP 192.168.88.x  subnet 255.255.255.0
- gateway & DNS enter 192.168.88.1
- setup your prefer wireless password & encryption
- connect any LAN Port of the wifi router (NOT WAN port) to RB750/750G Port 2/3/4

Please refer to:
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=5&Itemid=5
thanks klseet..

you are the man.. rclxms.gif

klseet
post Jan 5 2011, 02:34 PM

130 posts

You are welcome!

Just to add, if your router has Router/Gateway option (either in the firmware or hardware button), choose Router mode, not Gateway mode.
warlove3
post Jan 5 2011, 02:50 PM

537 posts

for those who live in Seri Petaling, UniFi will be available in late december....damn....
xsi
post Jan 5 2011, 03:24 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Jan 5 2011, 08:39 AM)
question..
is there any limit on no of wireless user/devices for the supplied dlink router?
the status at wireless connection remains at 'automatic' it just cannot connect for whatever reason. The signal is good, i.e. not full but 3-4 bar for sure. password also ok...
Need help here...tq..
j0n8
post Jan 5 2011, 03:38 PM

53 posts

Hi Guys

need some advice. i am planning to change my router DIR 615 because my PS3 always keeping disconnecting when i am online games. which router do you think i should change TL-WR841N or MikroTik RB750G? by changing my router does it really help so my PS3 wont be disconnected ?

112 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:45 AM