112 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V8, save RM200 from 15 January-15 February !

klseet
post Feb 9 2011, 12:33 PM

130 posts

Hope you guys had a wonderful CNY celebration! biggrin.gif
Been away, too much F&B, lazy a bit, now back online! tongue.gif

QUOTE(everling @ Feb 9 2011, 01:01 AM)
Thanks guys. notworthy.gif

How does the RouterOS compare any OpenWRT-based firmware?
To me, I prefer RouterOS as I can use the WinBox (gui-base) to configure things.
I'm not familiar with OpenWRT, it's indeed very OPEN to me ! sweat.gif

I think Riz & Blindbox are expert sifu on OpenWRT, they are doing UniFi-on-OpenWRT project, almost there, stay-tune ! brows.gif

QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 9 2011, 08:45 AM)
Till today I Fail to see why is the heck they need to force us to have this VLAN, when all they need to do is to just plug the STB directly to BTU. The equipment are design to work that way, even the BTU Manual shows it. hmm.gif

As for D-Link 615(Sept 2010 Batch), it seems mine are still working pretty good I can even torrent full speed + internet browsing at the same time. Been trying to burn this router down by pushing it... but keep working flawlessly lol.  

and btw, I still need 100mbps local speed. didnt TM said they planning to do it? I really need to share something with Mah friendz instead of driving to his house. Anybody got news on this?
Wah, Billy, long time no see!

Yaloh, by right all those vlan things & connection can just be done and handle on the BTU itself, just like neighbourhood country's ISP which they didn't force user to use specific router.
The worst thing is the DIR-615, using a rather out-dated Ralink SoC chip with some kind of low-level platform materials, it does not even has MIMO !! doh.gif
TM always like to go on the wrong side of the road "by left", not "by right" ...... tongue.gif

On the local high-speed connection, may be Riz can share with us more ?! smile.gif

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Feb 8 2011, 11:47 PM)
@DT8

TP-Link 841ND has disconnection issues with some VDSL BTUs (that's what I heard from seet anyway).. but it's an all-in-one solution which should satisfy most home users as a backup router for Unifi. Power users will probably go with the RB250GS or 750/750G. 250GS lets them connect any hardware (Cisco/Zyxel/Vyatta/Belkin/Buffalo/whatever) with Unifi. Then you have the 750/750G which is a full RouterOS based system (but without wireless). RouterOS lets you have total control over your network + high performance routing for P2P applications.

You don't compare cars and only look at the price right? laugh.gif
Yes, to those of you who buy from IT shops which flashed directly with the beta firmware, please take note that it's confirmed the beta firmware is not working properly on Huawei HG655a VDSL for high-rise!!

I'm working with some members to Wireshark data capture for TP-Link engineer to trouble-shoot, will update the result soon.

Riz, I'm currently looking into and had setup basic Layer7 as per the following guides:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Basic_traffi...yer-7_protocols
Layer7 protocols:
http://l7-filter.sourceforge.net/protocols

So far it seem to work well and handle QoS traffic nicely according to the Q priority, but I noticed the CPU loads up between 20~40% once I start torrenting, also noticed quite a lot traffic unmark, not sure whether my setting problem or others ....

Do you think MikroTik Layer7 is recommended for QoS? Or we just go for Simple Q?

This post has been edited by klseet: Feb 9 2011, 12:45 PM
billytong
post Feb 9 2011, 01:02 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Feb 9 2011, 12:33 PM)
Wah, Billy, long time no see!

Yaloh, by right all those vlan things & connection can just be done and handle on the BTU itself, just like neighbourhood country's ISP which they didn't force user to use specific router.
The worst thing is the DIR-615, using a rather out-dated Ralink SoC chip with some kind of low-level platform materials, it does not even has MIMO !! doh.gif
TM always like to go on the wrong side of the road "by left", not "by right" ...... tongue.gif

On the local high-speed connection, may be Riz can share with us more ?! smile.gif

nice to meet u too. Honestly speaking, I kinda "regret" buying that RB250GS after I got my 750G. lol But nvm I gonna use it to extend my local gigabit network.

Been trying to torture my 615 base on my usage, its not failing so far lol. +75GB now since Feb 1st.

regarding the local high-speed connection, would be nice if I can hear more news about any plan on this from any TM official but then.... I REALLY want that local Speed thing! cry.gif need to share loads my stuffz with Mah friendz! Seriously... TM should get this service up ASAP.

g5sim
post Feb 9 2011, 02:37 PM

5,750 posts

today is day four. TM gave me Gen 2 of the dLink router. TM's equipments are working flawlessly. My computer is the problem. network gets disconnected, i need to disconnect the cable and reconnect it to get connection back. damn windows 7 starter.

I am however running on four 10-15m network cables to PCs and IPTV.
charymsylyn
post Feb 9 2011, 03:12 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(klseet @ Feb 9 2011, 12:33 PM)
The worst thing is the DIR-615, using a rather out-dated Ralink SoC chip with some kind of low-level platform materials, it does not even has MIMO !! :x
TM always like to go on the wrong side of the road "by left", not "by right" ...... :P
I believe this is inaccurate as MIMO is part of the specification for 802.11n. 300Mbps operation requires 2 spatial streams and hence 2 antennae to function.
rootlinux
post Feb 9 2011, 03:38 PM

898 posts

Hi guys,

icon_question.gif I am planning to have the following setup below install at the back of a room: -

Fiber --- UniFi BTU --- [ WiFi AP --- WiFi AP Client ] --- DIR615 (WiFi On + LAN) --- IPTV (STB), Notebook (WiFi)

I would like to know if anyone having the setup above or can the VLAN 500 & 600 travel through the WiFi AP and WiFi AP Client as I don't want to have hacking of fiber cable till to my living room as it is far.

Looking forward to all your comments. Thank you.
makrospec2010
post Feb 9 2011, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(rootlinux @ Feb 9 2011, 03:38 PM)
Hi guys,

icon_question.gif  I am planning to have the following setup below install at the back of a room: -

Fiber --- UniFi BTU --- [ WiFi AP --- WiFi AP Client ] --- DIR615 (WiFi On + LAN) --- IPTV (STB), Notebook (WiFi)

I would like to know if anyone having the setup above or can the VLAN 500 & 600 travel through the WiFi AP and WiFi AP Client as I don't want to have hacking of fiber cable till to my living room as it is far.

Looking forward to all your comments. Thank you.
This will not work, the best solution short of using long lan cables is to use the homeplug for your setup. There's no need for hacking using HP as long as there're plug points in the rooms.

Cheers
Ching
post Feb 9 2011, 03:50 PM

57 posts

Can UniFi be used with Dlink DFL-210? UniFi Biz 20 here.

Thank you
rootlinux
post Feb 9 2011, 04:01 PM

898 posts

QUOTE(makrospec2010 @ Feb 9 2011, 03:44 PM)
This will not work, the best solution short of using long lan cables is to use the homeplug for your setup. There's no need for hacking using HP as long as there're plug points in the rooms.

Cheers
Thank you. I will get my home plug ready.
vin_ann
post Feb 9 2011, 04:24 PM

10,912 posts

i got my unifi installed within 1 hour ~!

yay !

Added on February 9, 2011, 4:28 pmuser posted image

very nice !

for 1st day!

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Feb 9 2011, 04:28 PM
JinXXX
post Feb 9 2011, 04:40 PM

2,516 posts

hey guys.. do you all know how to read unifi bill ??
charymsylyn
post Feb 9 2011, 04:53 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Feb 9 2011, 04:40 PM)
hey guys.. do you all know how to read unifi bill ??
There is a bill guide at their website, have you taken the trouble to read it?
JinXXX
post Feb 9 2011, 05:06 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 9 2011, 04:53 PM)
There is a bill guide at their website, have you taken the trouble to read it?
will read and get back to you tongue.gif 10q
DT8
post Feb 9 2011, 05:06 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

Fiber --- UniFi BTU --- RB750G --- IPTV --- DECT Phone --- Aztech WL830RT4 <----- all these are being placed in living hall

In my living room, homeplug -- Ethernet cable -- PC.

Do u guys think it will work? Cos I want to use Ethernet cable in my room for the stability compared to wireless or it makes no difference if I use wireless USB adapter for my PC?

This post has been edited by DT8: Feb 9 2011, 05:08 PM
JinXXX
post Feb 9 2011, 05:09 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Feb 9 2011, 05:06 PM)
Fiber --- UniFi BTU --- RB750G --- IPTV --- DECT Phone --- Aztech WL830RT4 <----- all these are being placed in living hall

In my living room, homeplug -- Ethernet cable -- PC.

Do u guys think it will work? Cos I want to use Ethernet cable in my room for the stability compared to wireless.
yeah you can just take a port from the rb750 and plug it into the homeplug then can work already...

klseet
post Feb 9 2011, 05:40 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 9 2011, 01:02 PM)
nice to meet u too. Honestly speaking, I kinda "regret" buying that RB250GS after I got my 750G. lol But nvm I gonna use it to extend my local gigabit network.

Been trying to torture my 615 base on my usage, its not failing so far lol. +75GB now since Feb 1st.

regarding the local high-speed connection, would be nice if I can hear more news about any plan on this from any TM official but then.... I REALLY want that local Speed thing!  cry.gif need to share loads my stuffz with Mah friendz! Seriously... TM should get this service up ASAP.
You may want to try out Riz's DC++ project, I used to download & share movies with others last previously, but didn't use it for quite a while .....

It's called continuous improvement mah, so no need to regret on RB250GS, who knows you may still need it someday ! brows.gif

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Feb 9 2011, 03:12 PM)
I believe this is inaccurate as MIMO is part of the specification for 802.11n. 300Mbps operation requires 2 spatial streams and hence 2 antennae to function.
I can't seem to find anything written on the box or manual like other brands, the wireless is definitely slower & weaker than TL-WR841ND, that's why I think it's not "fully" MIMO ....

The DIR-615 G1 FCC ID: KA2DIR615G1

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports...7KA2DIR615G1%27

this device has been manufactured before end of 2009, probably extend from the B1/B2 model, it uses a Ralink SoC RT3052F 384Mhz, same with my WHR-G300N which I bought in Taiwan 3 years ago!

Honestly, with a rather out-dated Ralink with only 1.8dBi gain, I really don't know what level of MIMO it can achieve ... sweat.gif

Actually instead of sticking to just 1 partner who continue to provide old/outdated chip, TM can always partner with as many manufacturers out there to use more latest/advance/stronger chip, "something" must be going on alongside the tender/procurement process ..... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: Feb 9 2011, 06:12 PM
KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 9 2011, 05:41 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

question, can my Aztech Router WL830RT4 replace the DIR-615? Got this router for about... 5 months already, works like a charm for me now (using Streamyx 1MBPS, my unifi's coming this Friday, 2 days from now)

Now, I'm not the kind of person who turns on his routers and everything for more than a week, usually only around 48 hours max. (mostly less than 15 hours at a time)

OH, one more thing, the DIR-615 by TM, is it any different than the original DIR-615? I hope TM didn't change its settings or anything...? 'cuz it isn't a too bad of a router according to the sites i saw on Google.

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Feb 9 2011, 05:42 PM
BlueWind
post Feb 9 2011, 05:45 PM

Sianzation
2,901 posts

Taken from klseet's post on V8 Unifi thread, I think it would be a good idea to add this to the main page and possibly on klseet/riz homepage guide(for convenience) for Mikrotik models.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38966282

1. Configure the DIR-615 as bridge mode, then you can use any WAN router, just setup PPPoE (like Streamyx). IPTV can still be watch through the DIR-615.
Please refer to Riz's guide at: http://unifi.athena.my/custom_routers.html

2. Get a MikroTik RB250GS to handle the vlan tagging for both internet & IPTV, then you can keep that DIR-615 as spare. You can use your own WAN router, just setup PPPoE (like Streamyx) and connect to RB250GS.
You may refer to Riz's guide at: http://unifi.athena.my/mikrotik_rb250gs.html or http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=6&Itemid=4

3. If you are advance user and require more complex setup, then you can consider 2-in-1 vlan+full fledge router MikroTik RB750 or RB750G (Gigabit).
You may refer to: http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=5&Itemid=5
Please note RB750/750G does not has WiFi, so you may need to setup a WiFi AP

4. TP-Link TL-WR841N ver7 - a complete 3-in-1 vlan+router+WiFi total replacement for DIR-615 !
Check out there: http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=7&Itemid=6
Eventhough TP-Link has not official release the custom UniFi firmware, the latest beta firmware I've tested is working, few others also installed no problem!

KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 9 2011, 05:54 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,313 posts

oh okay thx! but will still need DIR-615... might as well.. doh.gif
FauxHawk
post Feb 9 2011, 06:02 PM

<3
1,340 posts

If I wan them install the cable through my ceiling board, is it considered extra work? Because thats the only way the cables can come in from outside,
klseet
post Feb 9 2011, 06:17 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ Feb 9 2011, 05:41 PM)
question, can my Aztech Router WL830RT4 replace the DIR-615? Got this router for about... 5 months already, works like a charm for me now (using Streamyx 1MBPS, my unifi's coming this Friday, 2 days from now)

Now, I'm not the kind of person who turns on his routers and everything for more than a week, usually only around 48 hours max. (mostly less than 15 hours at a time)

OH, one more thing, the DIR-615 by TM, is it any different than the original DIR-615? I hope TM didn't change its settings or anything...? 'cuz it isn't a too bad of a router according to the sites i saw on Google.
I think WL830RT4 is an ADSL router right? It won't work on UniFi ....

Normal retail DIR-615 is different from TM's DIR-615, they look the same, but TM's one come with custom firmware to handle vlan on UniFi.

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Feb 9 2011, 05:45 PM)
Taken from klseet's post on V8 Unifi thread, I think it would be a good idea to add this to the main page and possibly on klseet/riz homepage guide(for convenience) for Mikrotik models.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=38966282
Good idea! I'll include this on my site!

112 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:46 AM