Steam Steam Games File Sharing Network, who wanna share?

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 1 2010, 09:00 PM, updated 14y ago

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

looking at how streamyx capped the international lines and most people having slow download speeds from steam server, perhaps it would be nice to setup a thread about steam game files sharing so folks can get the files from one another instead of waiting for the slow download?

basically, we list members who would want to participate and their preferred locations.
so they can:
- let fellow steam gamers visit their homes to download from their hard drives
- just burn the steam backups into DVD-Rs then pass by hand
- offer to burn steam backups onto DVD-Rs then courier via pos ekspres / laju
- offer to meet up somewhere and offer to copy files from external hard drive
- etc

let me start.

H = can visit home to download steam game files off hard drive
D = can collect steam backups DVD-Rs by hand
P = can courier steam backups DVD-Rs via pos ekspres / laju
O = can meet up somewhere to download steam game files off external hard drive

Deimos Tel`Arin | Pusat Sains Negara, 7-11 @ Plaza Damansara (DP)
vh_20 | Bangi, Putrajaya, Kajang, Nilai, Port Dickson (once a month) (HDP)
Yuki Ijuin | (P)
viledante | Perlis, Kuala Perlis, Kangar (HDPO)
man3k | JB: Sentosa/Tebrau/Pelangi/Skudai (HDP)
KHOdin | Pudu , Kuala Lumpur (DP)
nymerine | around MMU Melaka only (O)
SweetPuff | PJ area (DP)
neohwengtart | Sungai Petani Kedah (HD)
king99 | USJ 1 Subang Jaya (H)
TiF | Sungai Buloh, Kota Damansara, Subang Airport (DPO)
donchaka | Kuala Terengganu (DO)
http://forum.lowyat.net/user/kamikraze = http://steamcommunity.com/id/kamikraze (method: unknown)
i can share my downloads for UTM,Skudai steam user.. if theres any..

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/yuhhaur = http://www.steamcalculator.com/id/yuhhaur
My Steam IGN: yuhhaur
Area: Selayang, Selangor.
NOTE: Not all titles shown are available as I also rely on others (Example: Who got FarCry 1 & 2 to share?)
Prefer method: Postage

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/dvinez
if u near setapak i got shogun 2

justnits
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1660536/+140#

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/keretapir = http://www.steamcalculator.com/id/keretapir
can find me around serdang/seri kembangan/bkt jalil/equine/putrajaya

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/AlexLai
http://www.steamcalculator.com/id/iVantage
Willing to do D and P.

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/donchaka
steam id: feungie

notes:
1. i use steam calculator to list the games because it loads faster than steam community
2. i suppose folks will want some reimbursement for the
- burning of DVD-Rs of steam backups
- time spent hogging their computers downloading files
regarding these, perhaps interested parties can discuss the rates via PM?

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Dec 1 2012, 02:48 PM
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 2 2010, 10:34 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(Leo3010 @ Dec 2 2010, 12:47 AM)
Deimos, if you wanna talk about this idea...I think when you have time come inside the KGM chatroom and discussed with 20+ people in real time lol
you will get better results probably

forum thread is easier for future referencing lor.

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 2 2010, 07:19 AM)
I wonder if I upload those files into local servers.
Will you guys able to dowload them faster? Maybe I try with 1-2GB files and you guys let me know the results.

bandwidth is not cheap, you manyak kaya ke? sweat.gif

QUOTE(freeman85 @ Dec 2 2010, 09:58 AM)
can include method of bringing our copied steam games to external hdd at preferred place
interested parties can just bring netbook/notebook smile.gif

same like copying files from hard drive at home, this would be time consuming. all right i will add that up.

QUOTE(farkinid @ Dec 2 2010, 10:27 AM)
Actually, that was what I had in mind. Its quite possible to setup a local hub just for steam backups. With that, things will go faster. The only problem is that I don't think anybody is wiling to fork out the cost of building and maintaining it. It can get quite costly.

well yes it is not cheap since steam game files are quite big, with games having 10gb files average.

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 3 2010, 02:30 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(neohwengtart @ Dec 2 2010, 06:12 PM)
Count me in, area around Sungai Petani Kedah (H,D).

please provide your steam id also else ppl dunno what games u have.

QUOTE(freeman85 @ Dec 3 2010, 02:06 PM)
hmm..i want to know if there is going to be problem with some games that have dlc installed
ie mass effect 2 with bioware dlc ..how it going to affect user that dont have the dlc when copied to their folder
for games that have steam dlc i dont think there will be a problem since it is a key account restricted  but for non steam dlc like bioware ?

well i think it depends on games.
for mass effect 2 i think the DLCs are saved in your "my documents" folder.
and if they are not authorized to use the DLC then the DLC files will just not work perhaps?

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 3 2010, 02:20 PM)
I'm still having the problem forwarding some port to get the Share Point ready. :S

what is a share point exactly?

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 3 2010, 02:40 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

need username and password. O_O
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 3 2010, 03:36 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Dec 3 2010, 03:31 PM)
http://www.kakigamers.com:2077/

Username : steam@kakigamers.com
Password : steam-12345

Try download the file and check the speed.

kenot. >_<

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 3 2010, 03:44 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

meh ur username was steam only before edited it.
now can liao.

Added on December 3, 2010, 3:54 pmokies i am on a 512kbps connection and is averaging 54KB / sec

KB = kilo bytes

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Dec 3 2010, 03:54 PM
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 3 2010, 03:56 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

http://whois.domaintools.com/110.4.45.145

yes but u r on shared hosting, file downloads consume lots of cpu resources, bandwidth.

not sked ur webhost exabytes suspend your account ke?
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 21 2010, 01:11 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Dec 21 2010, 12:58 PM)
Anyone has steam backup for:
Half Life 2
Half Life 2 Ep 1
Half Life 2 Ep 2
Fallout 3 GOTY
Bad Company 2
??
I am willing to pay a minimal fee to you if you can burn dvd for me smile.gif

i got

Half Life 2
Half Life 2 Ep 1
Half Life 2 Ep 2
Fallout 3 GOTY (non steam)

u minat ar?

for fallout 3, i think you can just unzip the files into the respective steam folder, then let it verify the files slowly, re-download any other required files etc.
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 21 2010, 01:35 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

ah, since username got them all, best you get it from him oh.

but for the fallout 3 goty, if you got non steam dvd, you can install into other folder first, then copy the files over into steam folder.
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 22 2010, 10:33 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hmmm so far only got 10 people who registered themselves in this network.
no more people ar?

also, is there a problem of win 7 cannot read DVD-Rs burnt in win xp?
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 22 2010, 10:38 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Dec 22 2010, 10:34 AM)
you sure ?? dvd problem.. ? dvd drive problem ? burn using what proggie ? nero ? cdburner xp ?

well, i not sure oh.
i burn using nero, my os is win xp.

i pos laju to my wow cata buyers.
he said win 7 cannot read the disc. rclxub.gif

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 22 2010, 10:49 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Dec 22 2010, 10:32 AM)
im in KL who can get me

Witcher Enhance edition
Lara Croft and guardian of light
PoPersia collection
Burnout Paradise : Ultimate Collection ?

i has:
Witcher Enhance edition
Lara Croft and guardian of light
Burnout Paradise : Ultimate Collection ?

for this one,
PoPersia collection

i baru beli yesterday.
25GB for all 5 games i think. rclxub.gif

prince of persia sands of time
prince of persia warrior within
prince of persia two thrones
prince of persia
prince of persia the forgotten sands

rclxub.gif

which part of kl do u live at oh?
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 22 2010, 10:50 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(username @ Dec 22 2010, 10:42 AM)
Are you using UDF format for the DVD in nero?

eh what does that mean?

what is UDF format oh?

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 23 2010, 10:46 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hohoho glad to see that this thread is helping people. biggrin.gif
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Apr 14 2011, 12:59 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(jerryyong @ Apr 14 2011, 11:24 AM)
This tered dieded liao a?

haha i think no dieded lar. just tidor saja.
i no go and bump this tered mar.
maybe i should link it to mah siggy.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Apr 14 2011, 01:00 PM
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 27 2011, 10:57 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(xiiao1047 @ Dec 24 2011, 06:21 PM)
Bet it had tissue paper in it!
Uncle deimos always use his signature tissue wipes to protect the disc.

hahah nowadays change packing method since i kenot use pos ekspres anymore.
using pos laju.
btw long time no hear from you hahah hows it going. whats ur steam id btw.

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 24 2011, 06:27 PM)
not tissue paper. but the package has multiple layers, took me 10minutes to disassemble it before i took the scissors. laugh.gif
goona try it tonight. hope it works.smile.gif

are them dvd-r s ok?
i burned em using slowest speed 4x ooo

TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Dec 28 2011, 08:06 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(joshuatly @ Dec 28 2011, 01:07 AM)
actually is not optimize to burn using slow speed. its better to burn on x12 or x16 on a x16 dvdr.
that will kill the DVD-R and the DVD-ROM

i was burning at x16 then the DVD-ROM sounded unhealthy.

the DVD-R came out cannot use also.
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 10 2012, 07:28 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Jan 10 2012, 01:57 PM)
can backup the game bro?

I had issues with my GRID backup. Had to download the game instead. sleep.gif

ow again i am sorry.

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jan 10 2012, 06:57 PM)
^mine can restore just fine--Bioshock 1&2, Borderlands, Portal 2...
thx Deimos, yay backlog!! sweat.gif

yay.

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 10 2012, 07:04 PM)
Anyone who got shogun 2: total war disk can posto to me?

ow sowee i belum download them yet haha.
TSDeimos Tel`Arin
post Nov 22 2012, 01:58 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hi hi could some mods / staff move this into the new sub forum? thanks!!! laugh.gif

0.0401sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:05 AM