LG Optimus 2X, 1st Dual-core Tegra2 Android Phone
Level6
Mar 28 2011, 05:40 PM
Just got the 2x from xingsuzi of IMCC-Network yesterday. So far enjoying my 1st android phone except for the fact that i cant find the 3 games (shrek kart, spiderman, guitar hero trial version) on the phone as was featured in all the reviews i have read, wonder why sg set does not include the games. Only 1 boring game comes with the phone under the preloaded apps - Real Dart. Camera performance is ok for me, the video recording is great tho, for 720p its butter smooth tho i haven got the time to try out 1080p recording yet. Anyway I have a noob question for the other users of 2x, is the ringtone for message notification limited to the LG ones or is thr any method for me to change to my own uploaded ringtone. Also, any other advice on enhancing the android experience is welcome as I am totally new to the scene. Thank you:)
Level6
Mar 28 2011, 07:46 PM
Akira: Thanks for your suggestion, will try it out later. So does your 2x comes wif the 3 games i mentioned? I was looking forward to trying out the gaming capabilities of the phone including its performance wif hdmi mirroring but too bad now hav to postpone that until I go get some games. Regarding the benefits of rooting, all I know is that it allows u to purchase apps from the apps market (but i tink the amazon appstore allows u to purchase even tho ur in msia, correct me if im wrong), and flashing a custom ROM if u dun like the LG one. I will wait until I am more familiar wif android be4 deciding whether to root or not.
Level6
Mar 28 2011, 08:07 PM
You mean yours do come wif shrek kart, guitar hero, and spiderman!!?? Yea im fine wif the LG Froyo too especially the gestures feature, tot it might just be a gimmick be4 i tried out the phone but it was actually quite useful.
Level6
Mar 28 2011, 09:37 PM
Akira: I did not try the GPS function be4 this as I guess I wont be using it at all (already own a GPS ), n I cant try it nw cos e fon is not wif me for e moment. Will update after trying it out.
More of the phone: Did not experience any lag at all although I did not do extensive multitasking on e phone. Battery performance certainly surprised me in a good way, when i got the phone yest nite the battery left like 15%. I still managed to log in an hour or more of call time while navigating thru most of the phone's functions be4 it eventually died. Screen is excellent for me, the response of the screen is less sensitive den iphone (just my feeling) but i personally prefer dat, as it cuts down input error alot for a newbie like me who seldom uses touchscreen on phones.
Level6
Mar 29 2011, 05:48 PM
Is there any way to create folders in the optimus 2x apps menu? It is quite messy now after getting some apps. I cant find any info on that for now:( Thank you.
Level6
Mar 30 2011, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(ciwek90 @ Mar 30 2011, 07:59 PM) cool man!!hmm...i saw at utube from pocketnow they do unboxing of this badboy and the retail package does not have hdmi cable is it?and means the price more cheaper...yeahh!love that!all i can see from ur review and others 2x it have impressive rating...nice! The hdmi cable is included in the set I bought, together wif charger, USB cable, headset and manual.
Level6
Mar 31 2011, 03:23 AM
QUOTE(mikecmy @ Mar 30 2011, 11:09 PM) Hope so  Not sure bout the package from Singapore. But what i heard is it doesn't come with la. Let's wait for some clarification from the other members here  The sg set does comes wif hdmi data cable. The oni thing missing from what I've seen in reviews online is the 3 games (shrek kart hd, spiderman, guitar hero trial) and replaced by one game - dart. This post has been edited by Level6: Mar 31 2011, 03:25 AM
Level6
Apr 10 2011, 01:11 AM
The UI is ok, at least for a 1st time android user like me.
To the other o2x users, have any of u guys experience a bug/issue with the camera software? It seems that some of the pics i've taken wif the phone, after zoom in (just a slight zoom will trigger the effect) there will be a shade of very obvious blurred pixels on the right side of the image (always on the right side). It happens on more den 50% of my photo-takings. Good news for me is that the problem oni occurs if u r viewing the pics on ur phone and if ur using the default camera app. I have tried transferring the pics to my pc and also printed them out, luckily they turn out normal without the issue described above. Pics taken wif 3rd party app are also fine. Hopefully this is really a software issue and future updates will heal it.
Out of topic: any great camera app to recommend? I am using FX Camera at the moment.
Level6
Apr 13 2011, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(cedricjy @ Apr 12 2011, 04:08 PM) For Sharing.... I just received my new jelly Mercury casing that made in Korea.... My Carbon Nakamichi casing that made in Japan is already spoiled... Reliability really bad and the cost more expensive... Luckily it is free gift when i get the LG Optimus 2X... Mind sharing whr u bought the casing?