Working Life in Singapore V5
icycokes
Mar 8 2011, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 7 2011, 09:21 PM) actuallly if u have no kids, can stay in uni hostel... if can move ur wife over as well... i m good i think... wat course? Students also cant get enough rooms liao. i dont think staff can get ler. @chowdm if you are working in the main campus at kent ridge, then coming from JB CIQ to NUS takes about 1 hour (if no jam, route = 170 (or CW1) - Kranji MRT - Clementi MRT - Bus 96). no shuttle bus from Clementi MRT to the campus. take SBS bus 96 instead. there used to have some cleaners from JB and they told me that the company (not sure whether the cleaning services are outsourced) provide transport even from Kulai. maybe you can check with them? oh yea. i know a msian malay auntie cashier working at Cheers (in campus) at wee hours. not sure how she come though.
icycokes
Mar 26 2011, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(ahsia80 @ Mar 24 2011, 01:18 PM) I'm one of them Can't wait! There's another option for Muarians tho..those taxi driver (Ba Huang Che) RM65 one way per pax. No need to book entire car as the drivers will take care of the other passengers  I wonder how do you come back?
icycokes
Mar 26 2011, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 26 2011, 01:08 AM) but im not really sure where shld i work at i can get 2000MYR working in KL , can stay with family , so no rental fee and less expenses on food , mom cook sometimes while 2500SGD at sg , have to pay rental , food , transport and everything else i really need some advice from u guys , tq even without conversion your salary is more than what you can get in KL. kindly do your math and don't forget to factor in your opportunity cost. remember in KL you get to stay with family and friends. so for me, it is always better to work in your own country (thats your home!) rather than working other country as foreign worker. but its another story if you are an expat. however I doubt pay in KL is that low, according to what you can get in here. oh yeah just a friendly reminder you need to improve in writing. This post has been edited by icycokes: Mar 26 2011, 01:26 AM
icycokes
Mar 26 2011, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(shoograd @ Mar 26 2011, 01:34 AM) I have spent the last 6 years living outside my hometown/country, and I personally think that working in another country expands your horizon and puts you out of your circle of comfort. Learning to adapt in new, alien environments helps you develop into a more mature individual. Just my two cents, but I think that this should be seen as a pro and not a con. QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Mar 26 2011, 01:41 AM) totally agree with that. To me, home is home, of course it's nice to be at home but people will never improved if they choose to stay in their comfort zones. Anyway, I'd really recommend people to go out from malaysia, maybe work in some other countries, gain exposures, international networks and experiences. These are definitely be really helpful in long run, regardless of your future choice of coming home or stay abroad. Well you got some points there. For me, I believe in carpe diem, so enjoy while you can. Imagine in Malaysia you drive but coming to Spore you take public transport, traveling by B.M.W. is a huge turn off for me. In addition, I believe working culture in Spore isn't much different from KL. Exposures aren't that significant anyway.