felicious
post Feb 28 2011, 12:09 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 27 2011, 08:01 PM)
fellow senior, what's the easier method to transfer money from SG to MY? currently holding CIMB and Maybank acc in Msia and only POSB in SG.

btw, anyone living in proximity of jurong west st24? damn bored here cry.gif
I'm staying at Jurong west Central 1.. lolz

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Feb 27 2011, 08:33 PM)
All money changers at jurong point provides remittance service. Just give them the money + Malaysia account details + sgd10 remittance charge. The rates they provide is pretty competitive I would say. I transfer monies every month to my Malaysia Standard Chartered account.

I stay at jurong west street 64. Wanna meet up?
Which money changer would u recommend?
felicious
post Mar 1 2011, 11:55 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Feb 28 2011, 11:56 PM)
OMG! IF this is true I'm screwed... I will be starting to work tomorrow. And I'll be doing my finger printing this Friday at EPSC then Saturday I've bought flight back Msia, Then Sunday back here again... I hope they do not stop me from entering SG...
Just show them the letter. I did that on last CNY too smile.gif
felicious
post Mar 4 2011, 06:46 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 3 2011, 01:40 AM)
I just applied thru NST/The Star classified. Send them a hand written résumé. Then they reply, came down to KL to interview few of us, get medical done in KL and they sent the report to Sg. Once report ok, proceed to SG to do the necessary permit. Some company, like mine, even rented a flat for us before we go to Sg.
That's really nice. Usually I got interview through jobsDB, ST701 and go to SG for interview.

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 3 2011, 12:24 PM)
My monthly expenses less than $1k.

Rental 480
Food 300
Transport 50
Etc <150
The food here don't taste nice sad.gif laugh.gif
Do you find any nice food around Jurong Point?

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 3 2011, 12:34 PM)
stay in JB and travel in Daily... rental less than $150 biggrin.gif frankly speaking, if u stay in SG, you can survive with a mere $1k per month la. no prob at all.
do you get sufficient sleep? i was considering of staying at JB, but I don't have transport to travel to n fro SG.

QUOTE(rainey @ Mar 4 2011, 04:14 PM)
Just wondering..

Any of you guys have plan to go back to Malaysia after working long term in Spore?

I am working in Spore for like 2 years plus. Really feel like going back to my hometown in KL already >.<"
I m just here for the 3rd month and I feel like going back.
Perhaps I don't like the life here sad.gif
felicious
post Mar 4 2011, 08:39 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 4 2011, 08:05 PM)
so far the best food i tried here is at nearby Jurong East MRT. Sarawak kolo mee  laugh.gif other food just so so. Worst offender is ice kacang, failed miserably... I ate at JP last few days with colleagues, nothing good  sad.gif
i think that penang is somewhere at top floor, near a corner? never tried yet. food stall near POSB escalator entrance? that place imho, also suck  biggrin.gif
The nice food I tried in Jurong Point is the food court same level with the cinema.
The soup cooked by the uncle is the best~
Try it out~~

QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 4 2011, 08:08 PM)
seem like you're 1 month senior than me hahaha. i came here on christmas last year. dont like the life here? i feel like no life lol.

5.45am wake up from bed till 7pm reach home... although only 1 hour spend on transportation...
I'm here on January.. really no life... No entertainment, not many friends. Even when I spend, I need to think twice.

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 4 2011, 08:08 PM)
Do you like the money then? Many of us came here not because of the life here.
Yea.. just the $$$ sad.gif
felicious
post Mar 7 2011, 11:07 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 5 2011, 01:08 AM)
My routine is very similar to you.

I wake up @6.00am daily and work till 5pm. Reach jurong point by 6.00pm. Transportation is provided by my company's bus so I can sleep on the bus lol.

I think the char kuay teow stall outside of jurong point (in between mrt and jp) is quite good leh. The standard can easily rival those found in KL but nowhere near the standard of Penang's one.

As for cheap western food, I always love to eat at Botak Jones in Clementi. One big plate of burger with 2 side dishes only cost me $8.50
I tried the char kuey teow.. Not bad, but still Penang's is still the best~!!!

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 5 2011, 10:35 PM)
But the indon restaurant very pricey eh for a low income engineer like me. I only eat there once a month.

Now mostly surviving on hawker food =.=
I never try that yet.

felicious
post Mar 8 2011, 10:12 AM

1,438 posts

lol, thanks Jurlique..

Hopefully I can try this.. I didn't manage to use the McD's
felicious
post Mar 10 2011, 09:50 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 9 2011, 10:14 AM)
if haven't paid ptpn for a year since graduated, but when check on ptptn site, name is not under blacklist, will that affect application of ep/s pass? i mean, will MOM get notice from PTPTN?
I Haven't start paying for ptptn, but u already got my ep. wink.gif
QUOTE(reign226 @ Mar 9 2011, 09:37 PM)
any DSLR kaki here?
Having a Dslr but hardly use it.
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 10 2011, 06:17 AM)
actually i am interested in photography too, but i dunno where to start D:
Head to Suntec city for it fair n purchase one Dslr home. smile.gif
Then start shooting around. laugh.gif
felicious
post Mar 11 2011, 07:13 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 11 2011, 05:17 PM)
anyone here got their EP/S pass approved lately?
I got my ep like a month ago only.

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 11 2011, 05:56 PM)
Just to feel the body only ah? I tot have to do some studies on the lens first? like which lens is for scenery and another lens for other things?
When you purchase a Dslr, you can purchase the one that bundle with kitlens.smile.gif
felicious
post Mar 13 2011, 09:00 AM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 11 2011, 08:43 PM)
May i know wat is 18-55 and 18-105? lol.

Then i might be going for some DSLR at the price range of 1.5k with lens. Hmm, which brand is good i am not tat sure also. My mind only have olympus, canon and sony or maybe Panasonic. But Canon camera seems crappy for me, i mean for the compact one, not for the DSLR
for 1.5k, perhaps you can fork up a little bit more and get a 1000D with kitlens (18-55mm) smile.gif
Im not sure is there any lens with 18-105. This is the focal length, the length on how far your lens can zoom.
18-55mm is the kitlens that comes with 1000D smile.gif

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 12 2011, 08:16 AM)
zzzz... pr rejected.. lol, harder to resign

neway cannot reapply in1 year time.... is it 1 year from application date or rejection?
I heard that PR application is getting harder.
A friend of mine who is married to a Singaporean got rejected too.

0.0381sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:02 AM