Working Life in Singapore V5

Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 5 2011, 12:15 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 5 2011, 01:05 AM)
agree lor...

bkt is chu thou thong in msia... minus the belly but with the meat... pepper soup

kuey chap... havent tried... dont fancy it

their white wan tan mee is not bad leh...
Have you tried the bak kut teh in Balestier ? I think it really taste more like pepper soup. Any bak kut teh shop in Jb taste better than that. But still i go back there hahaha. Also have u notice the hawkers here like to put a lot of black sauce . I notice they have alot of that sweet black sauce in to their chay koay teow . I dont think it even looked right to begin with.
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 18 2011, 08:05 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(ahsia80 @ Jan 18 2011, 05:36 PM)
How much is the COE?? rclxub.gif

Cat B is 69 K now , expect to rise further best is to wait and see.
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 19 2011, 01:20 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:28 PM)
why? coz if u are on EP, you can't buy HDB in Singapore and got no CPF. I am still in dilemma whether or not to apply for PR since i stay in JB. I really wanted to buy a HDB flat since its a sure win investment, but I am not married and not attached. So it will take another 11 years before i can apply to buy for a HDB flat.

Plan A is if i get my PR now, i can start saving on CPF and got more money for down payment later when i reach 35 years old.

Plan B is i buy a Studio apartment in JB now (around 100k) and pay for my own house and wait till i reach 35 years old, then apply PR and sell off the studio and buy a HDB with the money i get from the studio apartment.

Plan C is to apply PR, then use this 10 years time to get my self a degree in Singapore, and plan those property things later after i get my degree (I am only on STPM and i asked b4, if i want a degree, i need to study diploma + advance diploma then degree).

So you guys think, which is better har? btw i am very satisfied with my current life earning small SGD salary but using RM daily in JB and i find the traffic is really not as bad as most people say. KL traffic is far worst than the causeway.
Dude just apply for PR and get it first. As you said u could use the PR status to get cheaper education and to start saving on CPF. I was in the same situation with u and i went ahead and got my PR last year. As i do not qualify for any HDB at the moment my only way to get a place in SG is thru private. Of course its insane to buy a place now which is about 1 mil for a 3 bedroom Condo ?!? Anyway i also got this studio apartment in JB town for about 130kk++ still building. I think its a good measure while waiting for the market property to cool down and to build up on ur CPF .
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 19 2011, 05:20 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(casgy @ Jan 19 2011, 05:32 PM)
Dude, if not mistaken the 35-year-old single HDB ownership schme is only applicable for Singaporean.
I gather this info from google search.
HDB ownership depends on the PR status and if by any means you do not hold PR status you will have to relinquish the HDB ownership.
Following are the options in such scenarios -
1.) You can transfer the HDB on someone else's name (your relative or someone trustworthy).
2. You can sell the HDB in open market.
3. Worst case HDB will take back the flat either on the evaluation or Purchase price whichever is lower at that time.
4.) On the case to case basis ICA can extend you a Visa to sell off your flat for 3 months maximum and HDB will also give you grace period to maintain the ownership during that period.
PR can only buy REsale HDB. It makes me wonder if its worth giving up ur citizenship just to buy new HDB .

This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Jan 19 2011, 05:22 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 21 2011, 07:58 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:36 PM)
i wanted to know about this also. but too bad nobody here stay in JB except me. all rich fags~ tongue.gif i do see a lot PR crossing the causeway everyday. but i don't know they got the PR before the leave SG or they got it when they are working.
I believe it would be best if u have an address in SG. It only make sense to grant PR to a person that wants to live in the country long enough with the intention of getting the citizenship next. With the current situation and election coming, the government is seen to be doing something just to please the people. So the best is not to give them any chance to reject you outright. I dunno about now , but back last year, it used to take about 3months to get approved and bout 1 month if you are rejected.

Anyway, anybody interested in having a drink tonight ? teh tarik or real drinks. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Jan 21 2011, 08:02 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
post Jan 22 2011, 02:32 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 21 2011, 11:51 PM)
i read from this website..it is stated that condo is for citizen only.... unsure.gif

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...EC?OpenDocument
U r talking about Executive Condo (EC) projects such as PRIEVE and Austville Residences which is build by the government. There are other private condos around not many though but the price is super expensive. Some one said to me once its good to get those old condos which is bout 20 years + with the hope that the government will en bloc it for like 1 miliion . Sounds like a good idea, but even those old condos cost like 500k SGD at least.
Supreme Allied Commander
post Feb 10 2011, 12:59 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 10 2011, 01:35 AM)
harlo.. need 2 ask for opinion, recently i complained i had to go to work on weekends and i am facing difficulty getting cab, so my boss says he will get me a new 325i but i have to forfeit my this year's bonus (5 figures) so i was thinking is this worth it? i can have the car for 10 years if i am still in the company, but on and off he will surely ask me to fetch ppl. maintenance by company ins, erp and fuel self. btw, company is very chinaman, i am sure i will be made to work hard for it. i dont have sg license yet and i have been here more than a year.
hahah, let me say this once u go conti u can never turn back , u can only go higher. I say go for the bimmer it really helps to have a car around in singapore especially during those rush hour where u do not have time to take mrt and is packed with ppl. BTW i think ur boss meant a 320i as pml does not bring in anymore 323 and 325s unless you specially indent. They are winding down production on the 3series in anticipation of the F30 coming out end of the year.

This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Feb 10 2011, 01:04 AM
Supreme Allied Commander
post Feb 12 2011, 02:42 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 12 2011, 02:56 PM)
But you cant smuggle big items. Like a desktop or tv.
I brought in a laser printer, pc and bookshelf b4 by car all u need to do is go to the nothing to declare lane. If you notice the middle passport control will lead u to the green lane.
Supreme Allied Commander
post Mar 13 2011, 02:54 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 12 2011, 11:57 PM)
mid jan, before cny

either in consistency in my residential  address... i put my aunt's place when i apply but i change my e-pass to my rented address... or lack of enough working exp... or low pay

ermm... 1 year 1 month when i was applying, errrr, trading
yeaps... company did it for me... exempted from filling but i got deductible so  have to do it from 18/03/11 to april... i believe mid april?
Just wondering what can be qualified as deductible ?

0.0441sec    1.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:17 PM