Working Life in Singapore V5

seantang
post Feb 27 2011, 08:33 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Feb 27 2011, 08:01 PM)
fellow senior, what's the easier method to transfer money from SG to MY? currently holding CIMB and Maybank acc in Msia and only POSB in SG.
Open a Maybank account in Sg and use Maybank2u.sg to transfer money to your Maybank account in My.

seantang
post Feb 27 2011, 11:15 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 27 2011, 10:44 PM)
Hmm, I saw an online article speculates the GE in May 2011...

Are u guys prepared???
GE in SG or MY? And prepared for what?

seantang
post Mar 2 2011, 11:09 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dominic86 @ Mar 2 2011, 10:51 PM)
Hi folks,

I encounter someone send me an email regarding as shown in the link:

Scammer to cheat plp around..

Exactly the same!!! All please be aware on this idiot with the email

richard_willem@yahoo.com  &    dang_y2222@yahoo.com

They intend to cheat plp with wanting deposit of SGD 1550 and saying the owner herself if not staying at that unit, then her father is doing business in London all those shit!
The guy who got scammed deserved it.

Why would one be so foolish as to wire cash to someone you've never met, to pay a deposit for a flat that you've never seen, purportedly to the owner that never showed any proof that he actually owns the flat?

Not much different from those foolish people who got cheated by the Nigerian email diamond or inheritance scams or people buying magic stones from bomohs.

seantang
post Mar 3 2011, 11:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 3 2011, 10:48 PM)
Hey guys, wanna ask how much an Accountant with 3 years of post grat Accountant can expect in SG? My cousin got his ACCA back in 2007 and is interested to work in SG.
Depends on where he works and what's the job scope.

Assuming his 3 years of post qualification experience is of good quality, possible jobs would be senior or asst mgr in accounting firms, exec or senior exec in large MNCs or asst mgr in small MNCs/local listed or even controller, mgr in small companies (where he'd probably be the only or one of a handful qualified accountants amongst a bunch of accounting clerks).

One thing though... is he a graduate?

QUOTE(Jurlique)
If he is expecting for $4K would it be ok or too low?
Should be okay, the jobs above would be around $4K. Having said that, some of these jobs would have lots of candidates. Without a quality 3 years experience and a bachelor's degree, it might be hard to get shortlisted for interviews.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 3 2011, 11:56 PM
seantang
post Mar 4 2011, 12:14 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 4 2011, 12:03 AM)
I see. Thanks for the feedback. Yes, he has fully completed his ACCA and now a graduate.
I mean whether he has a degree. ACCA is a professional qualification... not unlike a commercial driving licence, not a tertiary education.
seantang
post Mar 4 2011, 02:00 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(magiclover @ Mar 4 2011, 11:07 AM)
Acca not sufficient?
ACCA alone... not always. Singapore is very particular on graduates. The civil service and many corporates even formally distinguish between the university and degree class at a policy level. Not all will deem a professional accounting qualification as a proxy for a tertiary degree. The US MNC I'm in and others that I have contact with, will group accounting qualification holders (without degree) into the technical salary scale, rather than the graduate salary scale.

QUOTE(magiclover)
From what I understand the Big 4s in Malaysia are paying more to ACCA than to degree grads.
You don't notice that in Malaysia, somehow the accounting profession idolises ACCA - even thinking that it replaces a university education; whereas in Singapore, HK etc... ACCA is a certification rather than education, and just one of the many available.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 4 2011, 02:03 PM
seantang
post Mar 4 2011, 08:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(felicious @ Mar 4 2011, 06:46 PM)
I m just here for the 3rd month and I feel like going back.
Perhaps I don't like the life here sad.gif
Perhaps you are mistaking loneliness, the fact you're away from family and friends, and the reality of having to adapt to a new work & personal environment - as representing the "life here".

It's something every foreign immigrant has to deal with.

seantang
post Mar 5 2011, 02:13 PM

6,624 posts

Need some help from you guys. Our CEO and CFO are coming to SG and I need to take them on a "city excursion" to fill 3 hours after lunch, before taking them back to the hotel to prepare for dinner.

Do you guys have any suggestions? Something with local flavour but preferably air conditioned, can drive to doorstep ie. not too much walking. It's mid afternoon after all and they will be somewhat jet-lagged.

Tentatively, my thinking is:

- Lunch at MBS
- Casino walkthru
- 1 Activity (current candidates include Artscience museum at Marina Bay, Flyer, River Cruise, Duck Tour... but the latter 2 no aircond!)... looking for more options from you guys.
- Singapore Sling at Long Bar, Raffles Hotel
- If time permits, drivethru Chinatown and Little India on the way back to hotel.

Appreciate any suggestions you have. If there's a superb idea that I can actually use, dinner's on me. Thanks very much.
seantang
post Mar 5 2011, 03:08 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 5 2011, 02:51 PM)
What do they like?
The SG mgt team wants to give them a city tour. The theme is really to highlight SG as a good location for the company.

QUOTE(r1v3r)
other area including dempsey hill, the esplanade for some art, spa or massage. If you go flyer can check out the best of local food at its basement if they like food.
What's available at Dempsey Hill? Mostly restaurants there I think. I've only been to the Barracks for dinner. Food's not the focus as they'll be coming out from a pretty good lunch at MBS.

Added on March 5, 2011, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 5 2011, 02:54 PM)
I know sometimes the guys in my Co would bring the client to Jurong Bird Park, then follow by a hill top dining. The Hill Top restaurant there serve good food but just a bit pricier.
Aiyo... Zoo, Night Safari and Bird Park... cannot lah. How to take C-class execs to see animals wor? Dinner's been planned already with other Asian taikos who're flying in.

QUOTE(Mackiddo)
Now, when can we make an appointment for my free dinner ? smile.gif
Try again lah biggrin.gif I just need one 'sure win' activity to clinch the agenda. Then my performance appraisal for 2011 kowtim.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 5 2011, 03:15 PM
seantang
post Mar 5 2011, 03:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 5 2011, 03:30 PM)
in that case, just load the bunch on a duck tours
I actually like the Duck Tour. The amphibious route will make an impression. Only downside is there's no aircond. If that day is hot,.. I don't want to be responsible for giving the two top guys an unwanted sauna. That's a CLM if there ever was one (Career Limiting Move).

seantang
post Mar 5 2011, 09:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 5 2011, 07:50 PM)
nice, but what's the benefits of doing so? my Sg license is sgd50 for life.
No problem so long as Malaysia maintains the treaty with Singapore (if it's not evergreen). Having said that, your mileage may vary when dealing with individual policemen or JPJ officers who are looking for an excuse to give you some headache.

I do see various websites stating that foreign driving licences are only valid for 3 months in Malaysia. This includes the website for the British High Commission in KL. However I couldn't find anything stating that this time limit on UK licences also applies to SG licences, nor find any time limits on any foreign licences in the actual law. Akta 333 only states that licences from treaty countries are recognised as if they are local licences issued by JPJ under the act.

Akta 333 (Bah. II)

Pelesenan Pemandu-Pemandu Motor

26. (1) Kecuali sebagaimana diperuntukkan selainnya dalam Akta ini, tiada seorang pun boleh memandu sesuatu kenderaan motor daripada apa-apa kelas atau perihalan, di sesuatu jalan melainkan jika dia adalah pemegang sesuatu lesen memandu yang membenarkannya memandu sesuatu kenderaan motor daripada kelas atau perihalan itu, dan tiada seorang pun boleh mengambil kerja atau membenarkan seseorang lain memandu sesuatu kenderaan motor di jalan melainkan jika orang yang diambil kerja atau dibenarkan pemandu itu adalah pemegang sesuatu lesen memandu sedemikian.

28. Sesuatu lesen memandu yang dikeluarkan di bawah peruntukan-peruntukan yang bersamaan dengan mana-mana undang undang yang berkuat kuasa di mana-mana negara yang menjadi pihak dalam sesuatu triti yang mana Malaysia juga menjadi pihak dan berupa sebagai mengiktiraf lesen-lesen memandu domestik yang dikeluarkan oleh negara-negara pejanji hendaklah, selagi lesen tersebut masih berkuat kuasa di negara itu, disifatkan sebagai lesen memandu yang diberikan di bawah Bahagian ini.

The only complication I can think of on the SG side is if you give up your PR or work permit (or is forced to do so). They may revoke your Singapore driving licence or issue a time-limited one.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 5 2011, 09:55 PM
seantang
post Mar 6 2011, 12:53 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 5 2011, 10:09 PM)
Seantang: JPJ Akta's didn't specifically said which countries that Malaysia maintains this treaty...
The act is not JPJ's but an act of parliament. Just like how the Police act gives powers to the police force but won't list down the names of the individual policemen. You can find the treaty countries listed on JPJ's website where their driving licences can be auto converted to Malaysian driving licence.

QUOTE(tailtwist)
also when its stated foreign driving licenses are only valid for 3 months in Malaysia...how to the track or trace to even begin with?
For foreigners, their passports. They are supposed to carry it with them at all times. And certainly not allowed to drive without it.

If you're a Malaysian using a foreign licence, now.., isn't that a convenient excuse for the police or JPJ to detain you until they can determine how long you've been back in the country?

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 6 2011, 12:56 AM
seantang
post Mar 6 2011, 02:39 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 6 2011, 01:54 PM)
Not sure bout your activity.. but i thought of Drinks at Swissotel, highest floor. for a nice Singapore view if you're not going up MBS skypark..
Yeah, they are having lunch at a restaurant on the sky garden. That might actually take the flyer out of the running as well.

seantang
post Mar 7 2011, 09:33 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chowdm @ Mar 7 2011, 08:56 AM)
Hihi, I'm getting a new job in Singapore sooner or later. Gonna join National University of Singapore as a Librarian. I m wondering is there any public transport for me to use to travel between JB to NUS? Is it convenient or just trouble some? tongue.gif  tongue.gif  hope to hear some guide from u all...thx rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I'd suggest you stay in Sg and use the time you'd save on travelling to think and then execute a plan on improving your prospects for a bigger job or a promotion. One solid upgrade and you'd more than earn back the difference in living costs.
seantang
post Mar 7 2011, 10:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(tambaididi @ Mar 7 2011, 09:54 PM)
where do you guys suggest if i work at henderson industrial park ( nearby redhill MRT)?
I suggest the food court next to the MRT stn. Try to have 2 vege and 1 meat for lunch and maybe add a soup or dessert during dinner.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 7 2011, 10:25 PM
seantang
post Mar 8 2011, 09:14 AM

6,624 posts

Will probably go after lunch on Thursday. That should be the least people.
seantang
post Mar 8 2011, 10:12 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 8 2011, 10:03 PM)
Haha then I go on either Thu or Fri after work... cant go during lunch time...
Technically, I can't either. But hey, what my boss doesn't know, won't hurt me.

seantang
post Mar 8 2011, 10:22 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 8 2011, 10:16 PM)
How about your colleagues or subordinates?
My peers... well, we cooperate. You scratch my back, I scratch yours.

My subordinates... they know better than to piss off the boss.

seantang
post Mar 8 2011, 10:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 8 2011, 10:25 PM)
is it a norm for your guys to take some time off like this way ??
Pretty much. Come in late, long lunches, leave early... fairly standard... although we're careful to be available when we're needed. The commercial guys are worse. They will routinely disappear after lunch to go play golf. But then again, we don't complain either if we have to stay back late to meet a deadline or buta-buta donate 2 weekends to the company when we travel to US or Europe etc.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 8 2011, 10:32 PM
seantang
post Mar 8 2011, 11:24 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kaikeikan @ Mar 8 2011, 11:03 PM)
1. Is it recommended for me to apply now to allow them to process the necessaries before my promotion and notify the singapore firm that i'm due for promotion to increase my chances?
Are you transferring from the MY firm to the SG firm? Or are you resigning and then reapplying to the same firm in SG?

If you're transferring, then by all means - process, notify, due for promotion... whatever. You're basically just changing location.

But if you're resigning and reapplying, then stay long enough to actually get promoted before you move. Showing that you have a promotion is always good! Saying that you're due means nothing.

Btw... I'm not sure this is a 'promotion'. If you're moving from junior (or associate) to senior, that's a promotion.

QUOTE(kaikeikan)
2. The rental is a major concern for me. Normally for twin-sharing bedrooms what is the costs that i'm likely to get for an average apartment? I'm able to save RM1k per mth at the moment, would i be able to save at least 500SGD (equivalent to approx RM1k) if i dun spend on luxury bags, branded apparels, not crazy over the latest gadgets but would like to dress nice sometimes?
Assuming your salary is S$2500, and you spend $700 on a room and $1000 on expenses, you'd still have $800 savings left over. No CPF if you don't become a PR. If the firm pays an equalisation allowance in lieu of CPF, then you get a few hundred more. Unless your lifestyle changes in SG vs MY, the rule of thumb is that you will ALWAYS save more working in SG vs MY in ringgit/SGD converted to ringgit terms.

QUOTE(kaikeikan)
3.Oh yeah for those who have interview experience in singapore big 4s...cause i have been allocated to a certain sector (with the same giant client) since i've joined so i pretty much have no exposures to normal co's financial statement n i've only picked up some administrative stuffs these few weeks while i'm in office since i wasn't around in the office for so long. I'm just afraid singapore interviewers throw me easy questions which i would not be able to answer. Did too much control & system testing ady...technical wise,quite left behind.
Don't be too bothered about this. 5 months experience is basically no experience at all. As an employer, the only upside they'll see in your 5 months experience is that they don't have to babysit you in terms of how shitty the public accounting profession is.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:14 AM