Working Life in Singapore V5

SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 22 2011, 11:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Mar 22 2011, 11:25 PM)
guys, quick question here..

Normally, IF we wanted to work in singapore, we need to apply the permit first or interview first? or in proper question, we need to apply ourself or the company will apply for us?

And, any document needed for the process(if we apply ourself)? Finally, IF after we apply the permit, but we decide not to accept the job at last minute or decide to cabut after few days or week. Will it be any penalty for us? blush.gif
intarbbew farst.... apply urself but com recommend

yes, a lot... no penalty but bery meassy
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 25 2011, 10:25 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Mar 24 2011, 07:58 AM)
To kl lor. After some searching, found Grassland in Boonlay shopping centre. Is this bus service ok?

Anyone take before? Is it ok for $30?
which part of kl... nvr heard of boonlay shopping centre... lol

ok ler... sgd 30, reasonable
QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 25 2011, 05:27 PM)
hi guys , is 2500SGD salary enough to survive in singapore , i heard the rental in sg is very expensive , is 2500SGD consider normal/high or low?to  survive in sg
tq
enough... typical fresh grad pay
QUOTE(zhan @ Mar 25 2011, 08:38 PM)
May I know do any of you guys have idea about any management trainee position offered by renowned companies in Singapore?
i only know, dont join my company... lol
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 26 2011, 07:36 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 26 2011, 05:47 AM)
My dip n higher dip certs was issued by APIIT....while the degree cert its by Stafforshire in UK...that's how twinning works....
then split into 3 la

dip
h.dip
bac.

i thought its that simple?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 26 2011, 10:35 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Mar 26 2011, 09:56 PM)
anyone here got any idea that there is room vacant for 1 working female kindly pm me.. thanks
QUOTE(Argiope @ Mar 26 2011, 10:20 PM)
Specify the area and budget leh.
also if can provide picture and age... tq rclxms.gif

i went to jobsdb jobfair today... cacat 1... lol
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 27 2011, 10:39 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 27 2011, 10:12 AM)
sometimes, some brains are too straight, do not know how to twist-turn. over law-abiding. sometimes, twist-turn also can comply with rules...
that's the prob... u think it complies with the rules... but when some1 found out it doesnt... ur reputation is gone... such risk is worth it?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 27 2011, 04:36 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Mar 27 2011, 04:22 PM)
To Malaysian EP holder, do you bring along your passport and Malaysian IC with you wherever you go?
Is it enough to bring only EP card?
both ep n msian ic is always in my wallet... better bring ic also lor...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 27 2011, 11:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i just joined singaporelovelinks.... any1 in it? hehehee...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 28 2011, 10:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

zzz.. guys, got news... bonus that came out was pretty good... but increment is so sad... haih

neway, is it advisable to leave job before 2 years is up? thinking of job hopping...

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Mar 28 2011, 10:53 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 29 2011, 12:01 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Mar 28 2011, 11:48 PM)
10% is a lot. Most of the companies in singapore is giving single digit increment.

Anyway, people are always confused about the concept of salary increment and salary adjustment.
is it? i thought this year should be rainfall increment?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 29 2011, 10:04 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Mar 29 2011, 09:14 AM)
If you can stay then stay, if you can run just run lor. You should be more familiar with this after a while. Nothing is perfect.. stay or run is just a decision, doesn't affect much if you always have a plan B.
afraid new ep wont get approved unsure.gif
QUOTE(user401 @ Mar 29 2011, 10:37 AM)
Hi folks, here's my story:
There is this hot girl, she is new in my company. So chatted with her for a while and she told me she was from X company, holding a decent title and drawing xxx amount of salary. I coudnt believe it. She is currently on EP. So my question is there any way to check the integrity of her information, maybe login into MOM and check, possible? I have friend at HR:)
<<<----- cupid corner that way

hayar, its all confidential la... she can talk all she wants.. just ignore
QUOTE(walanneh @ Mar 29 2011, 10:38 AM)
Hi all, I'll be starting work at Singapore next month. I'm currently looking for a place to stay and I've some enquiries.

1.) Did you find your place using an Agent?
2.) Is it the norm for a 1 year contract to be signed?
3.) How much was your deposit and is it true that rental in Singapore is 1 month forward?
4.) How much was your Agent fees?

Thanks in advance.
1) nope, ex colleague
2) usually 2 years
3) deposite, rental in advance
4) 0, but usually 1 month
QUOTE(Laine @ Mar 29 2011, 10:52 AM)
ahh!! my EP has been approved... =)) applied on 24/3, approved today.
welcome to the club, rosmah
QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 29 2011, 08:05 PM)
Nearly half a year ago. I am allowed to claim OT btw (capped at $450) so I consider myself better off paywise than many of my peers in this industry.
yeaps, i guess... or at least better than me... hahaha
QUOTE(toughnut @ Mar 29 2011, 09:43 PM)
my senior colleagues just got their bonus payout slip today... damn envious... some got 7.5 months D:

cant wait for next year around this time. hope i can struggle and survive till then.....
any opening at ur place? share share a bit laugh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 30 2011, 07:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(nyc3650 @ Mar 30 2011, 02:33 AM)
I've worked in Singapore for almost 15 years now. My educational level is still SPM or 'O' level equivalent.  I've found a permanent job on my 4th selection. It's an average but long hour job to commit but guess I survives the odds.  I've been with the company for 8 year now. Starting salary with basic SGD850  and allowance about SGD450 back in 2004 when I was about 24 year old.

Now, I'm 35 year this year. I'm getting fix pay average SGD3.5K every month now.

So, if you're offered SGD2.4K with much restriction better don't start with that kind of path. SGD2.5K are usually for best POLY student from Singapore.

For a MASTER holder, I advice you to look for something above SGD3.5K. Otherwise, you have a long road ahead just like me. Wasted your youth working without be able to put more time on family and beloved friends.

Average for a Metro Guy, a month expenses is about SGD1.5K a month. Living alone and stay very near to workplace.

Average for a wise but odd looking guy that could've save a lot of cash, a month average expenses is about SGD1K or less but would have spend much on food and entertainment.
[SIZE=7]

ok what sgd 3.5k, you're in the lower middle income gap.... without any qualification i would say thats quite a good achievement already

true 2.5k 2.5k are for polys, but the prob is most of the msian unis are below the poly standard... this is arguable but generally it stands... with only a few exceptions

as for masters holder.... some schools even accept freshies for their MBA prog, so those arent really up to standard.... i would say only masters from a good school deserves sgd 3.5k

ermm... 500 rental, 400 good, 120 transportation, 50 communication... d rest yada yada... around 1.3k should do

tq for the insight, are you a pr now?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 31 2011, 12:00 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(masconan @ Mar 30 2011, 04:56 PM)
Ok. Then nex question,

if I earn S$2.5 k, what is the tax rate charge for foreigner (Malaysian)in SG, non-PR holder?
if u work a whole year, it would be around 400...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 1 2011, 12:14 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ Mar 31 2011, 06:37 PM)
Any Senior herecan share info - Which SG Bank CC more benefits?
dbs/posb
uob
citibank

but if u dont care about discounts, then stanchart
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 1 2011, 10:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(csyap1985 @ Apr 1 2011, 09:39 PM)
how u guys find a room in singapore? website? agent?

i will goin to singapore end of this month. any advise?

looking a room around jurong west area near pioneer MRT.
websites u will get agent... from agent u will get to look see... from look see u will get room.... then profit!
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 2 2011, 09:13 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Apr 2 2011, 08:11 AM)
As long as your master is not distant learning/obtained through part time you should have an edge. Why didn't you seek for job in UK, if this question is relevant at all.
what's wrong with part time masters? distance learning i understand.... but part time is inferior?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 2 2011, 07:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Apr 2 2011, 04:25 PM)
i think most agent are legit, the prob is the chinaman company which will cause complication
i believe they have to have some kind of license to run an employment agency... or is that for domestic helpers only?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 2 2011, 11:47 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:26 PM)
If you are a malay Malaysian with a local malaysia degree and little(<5 years) /no experience and wanting the come to SG to work, I'm sorry to say that yr chances is more or less equivalent to ZERO! First yr not a PR or citizen which already put you at a disadvantage. Second yr non chinese and hence do not speak mandarin and that put's you even more to a disadvantage. Thirdly, our local Uni is not held in high regard by singaporean especially if yr a malay coz of the quota system and that puts you down at the bottom of the list alongside the other immigrants such as the Indian, Myanmar, and other 3rd world country people who come over to SG to find work. Fourthly, the perception here which is the same as in malaysia is that the malays in malaysia are lazy and unmotivated. So that puts you behind the indians, myanmar, thais etc. That would make yr chances of landing a job here more or less zero %.
actually indians are highly sought after... both for low level and high level jobs
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 3 2011, 10:56 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:53 PM)
Correct. That's why there are so many of them here. Just walked pass some cafes near my area in Eunos, there are so,so,so many of them out to watch the cricket match. I thought I was in India.
same at my area... the only downside is they like to picnic in open areas like below the mrt track and leave a bunch of trash after that... or in mrt they would run and rush in like phillipinos... and they smell bad too, for most of them... besides that they are fine, they mind their own business... in fact my neighbor is from india, they have non of the downside and i find them very friendly.... some richer ones especially the capitalist class are a bit sombong according to taxi drivers...
QUOTE(azrink @ Apr 3 2011, 12:37 AM)
I m a Malay, working with SG company, been given the responsibility to manage/oversee the company projects abroad. If i m really that lazy, unmotivated and lowly educated, would the SG company dare to employ me in the first place? Just because of what race I am. Please do not generalize all Malay are the same. Statement like yours move me to go abroad working with Singaporean and other races. Just to let them and the world know that Malay can do well and fight equally on the same level too!!! Next time please consider when you thinking of making any statement. Don't judge the Malay because of what is happening in Malaysia. From your writing I know your frustration. I too am like you, ashamed of what is happening in Malaysia, but I will never judge and generalize just because of their colors. Shame on you.  sad.gif
no no, dont take it the wrong way... i think what he/she has said have some logic behind it... ntg to do with racism

lets analyze his/her statement:

If you are a malay Malaysian with a local malaysia degree and little(<5 years) /no experience and wanting the come to SG to work, I'm sorry to say that yr chances is more or less equivalent to ZERO! first of all malay or not, any1 with a local degree and no experience is at a disadvantage First yr not a PR or citizen which already put you at a disadvantage. Second yr non chinese and hence do not speak mandarin and that put's you even more to a disadvantage. same to us chinese, no pr is a bit hard and for so called banana like me, mandarin is a challenge although i speak other dialects Thirdly, our local Uni is not held in high regard by singaporean especially if yr a malay coz of the quota system and that puts you down at the bottom of the list alongside the other immigrants such as the Indian, Myanmar, and other 3rd world country people who come over to SG to find work. this is true, they have somekind of quota system when taking in people, not for w-s-e-pass but more applicable for pr approvals... for malays it is less as integration is thougher Fourthly, the perception here which is the same as in malaysia is that the malays in malaysia are lazy and unmotivated. So that puts you behind the indians, myanmar, thais etc. That would make yr chances of landing a job here more or less zero %. well, this happens in most sme/chinaman companies... for mncs they couldnt be bother unless most of the management/employees are chinaman minded... this leaves less options for a msia malay

having said all that.. i had met malaysian malays are over the world and majority of them are doing very well.. even without the help of the msian gov and even with the help of the msian gov it still shows that malays can excel, workhard and compete with the rest with some help... azrink is one of those malays, making it all the way to sg... if only more malays in msia are like that, too bad majority still believes the help from the government are god given, they continue to leach on it not knowing it is on the expense of others and one day it will stop.

probably they can learn from the malays in sg, although some of them dont excel too well academically they make it up by working hard and honest. the sg gov had provided a very conducive avenue for them, that's why you see a lot of grassroot gov servants are malays... enter sg, the customs, immigration, police and civil defense. instead of lepak, rempit, dadah they work hard with no corruption, the gov reward them well.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 4 2011, 12:35 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Apr 4 2011, 12:21 AM)
indeed, very well said.

The truth is, many have lost faith in the desired change of Malaysia. Those that are still hanging on, most probably due to family/friends that are left behind.
very true....

neway, i am sure most of you all gotten your increments and bonus for last year already/ care to share? this is not to brag or showoff but just as a comparison...? i will start with mine...

1. alaskanbunny
a. years working: 1 1/2 years
b. industry: trading/manufacturing
c. increment: 10% <<<--- reasonable? i expected 35%, supervisor advice to demand for 20%
d. bonus: 5 months

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 4 2011, 02:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 4 2011, 01:27 AM)
How much is your salary?

Expecting 5 months bonus and a 35% increment on $2500 is probably less of an issue than $10000.
salary cannot tell ler... but more than the new threshold for ep ler

no no, i got 5 months... but on the bonus side more than 3 months i am already happy... but for salary i was expecting 35% but got only 10%

the 1st time i am on salary, last time on wages... therefore probably my expectations might be too high? company's profit increase from 88mill to 93mill only... not much but last year economy doing very well what

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0233sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:48 PM