Working Life in Singapore V5

r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 12:35 AM

1,305 posts

With so many people who are drawing millions dollar salary and keep increasing their tax free income. It is time for IRAS to increase the limit to a few millions then decrease the tax rate. That's fair for all and IRAS may collect even more money. K, my 2 cents, I am not running for election.
r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 11:03 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
what if youre not a PR ? bank statements can?
Still have IRAS website to print out your annual contribution. If they see your cpf hit the limit, they will take your iras statement inorder to give you higher credit limit.
r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 03:21 PM

1,305 posts

Wrong post... Deleted

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 18 2011, 03:22 PM
r1v3r
post Mar 21 2011, 02:25 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 21 2011, 01:29 PM)
that is 32 km daily excl. the journey in spore...wow, salute ~ you for this.
?? it is only 15min or less per trip. Unless you push your bike all the way.

r1v3r
post Mar 23 2011, 03:19 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(ahsia80 @ Mar 23 2011, 12:09 PM)
hmm, anyone here always come back Malaysia every weekends?
lol..just curious if there's more msian like myself in s'pore lo.. tongue.gif

guess this gonna impact the PR application huh?
so be many of them, just look at the custom on friday. Many are going back weekly to be with their family, especially those young family expecting new born.

SG-MLK express from lavenda bus station have special trip to muar cater for those people, can't remember the timing.

there are more important factor for PR application, weekend trip to malaysia is not a concern.

r1v3r
post Mar 28 2011, 12:27 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Knight_2008 @ Mar 27 2011, 09:44 PM)
a lil extreme don't u think?
Enough to keep your heart pumping. A real monk can live with much less.... minus the few who do charity works.

The question should be "What is the min expenses for a single adult working in SG?"
assumed the person have to work, keep clean and stay healthy.

r1v3r
post Mar 28 2011, 12:36 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 28 2011, 11:31 AM)
Hey guys , I got offered with SGD 2.3k but with 2 years bond ... It's a shipyard company ...

Personally, I am expecting atleast 2.5k which eligible for me to apply for EP . I think this employer is not going to apply EP for me given that range of salary ?

Btw, Im fresh graduate with master but only has internship as working experience.

Do you think I am underpaid given that I have to be bonded with the company for 2 years ? ...
What is your capability?

Good to take the 2 years bond @ 2.3k for wiping table only, all those food court cleaner get less than that.

If you can do real engineering works then you should do some analytical thinking here.

r1v3r
post Mar 28 2011, 09:47 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(lordie @ Mar 28 2011, 12:50 PM)
u can drink tap water in sg, its potable.

Added on March 28, 2011, 12:53 pm

do up yer mthly expenses. in a xls and exponate and see hows yer surplus or u in defecit and cut when appropriate.
I am not interested to find out that answer, jasperng is the one.

Why should I focus on that question? I WILL find ways to live with what ever I have.

I rather focus on "how to progress?" given any starting point.

Added on March 28, 2011, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Mar 28 2011, 09:21 AM)
You missed 1 thing...water
Just get a bottle or 2 and refill from office.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
can you make your own drinks in pantry?

Added on March 28, 2011, 10:07 pm
QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 28 2011, 01:28 PM)
Not much analytical thing to do here. It's either take up the challenge and work for 2 years there or wait for other option.
You can always find a better place that pay well for your skill. What is there to complain if a PhD want to wipe table for $1500. It is not either take up for 2 years or keep waiting, you have to know your own value.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 28 2011, 10:07 PM
r1v3r
post Apr 4 2011, 05:53 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 3 2011, 03:37 PM)
Interesting, looks somewhat accurate. Useful for all those newbies who keep asking whether they can 'survive' in SG.

Cost of Living - SG vs KL at <a href='http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compa...y2=Kuala+Lumpur' target='_blank'>http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compa...y2=Kuala+Lumpur</a>
Have to read this with a pinch of salt.

1) Item under the same cat. are of different level. Eg. sub 1000cc car vs 1.6L Jap car; Bus/train that's on time vs miniBus.
A RM1 nasi lemak in luar bandar is just rice and sambal, maybe one slice of timun. A nasi lemak in SG have more stuff.
So people are buying better quality stuff at higher cost. The index only shown the average you need to live a "common" life based on the country standard. One shall not use it to compare between country.

2) It shows SG have higher disposable income. I guess that's the reason we are here.

They don't have an index for people like us where we live across the 2 country. We may have Malaysia house + Food + SG internet, phone etc

r1v3r
post Apr 4 2011, 09:54 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 4 2011, 05:35 AM)
My personal recommendation is the casinos (IRs or Integrated Resorts). They employ lots of foreigners and are not too picky on their skill sets as they are willing to train. I think they provide hostel as well. Go online to Marina Bay Sands and Genting Sentosa websites. IIRC, you can submit applications and get info there. Lots of non-haram jobs in the IRs if you're worried about that.
Bro, still have other jobs. Casino or bar jobs should be the last choise for him.

Quick Jobs? Security Guard.
check the STAR paper. From there you take a course in SG to upgrade then move on.

r1v3r
post Apr 6 2011, 05:59 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 6 2011, 09:13 AM)
what? 1% a year? isnt it a little low?
I am willing to trade off any two digit increment for >=$10k fix montly salary.

The 4 months bonus is more than 8 months bonus for salary =< $5k.

mine:
yr:>5
electronic
bn: 5~7 (by year end)
ic: single digit (july)

r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 01:14 AM

1,305 posts

You have to prove you got your MY license before you enter SG for long term(study or work). Letter from JPJ will show your pass date, that's what they look for. So good luck if your EP or student pass start date is before your license pass date.

I have 2 wallet when driving across country, as PR have to show NIRC and Sg license while MY side is usually easier if you have a MYKad and your wallet don't have too much cash.

Added on April 7, 2011, 1:18 amIf possible just convert your license as taking driving license in SG is very costly compare to MY.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 7 2011, 01:18 AM
r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 10:49 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:11 AM)
I heard LTA also convert your license even if the letter is for converting license for US so just tell JPJ is for US or some other countries.
that's why I said they only look for your MY license start date, the rest not so improtant.

r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 11:30 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Apr 7 2011, 07:24 AM)
same case with me, and I quote: "We regret to inform you that your application has not been successful as you have not met the residential requirement".

what is the residential requirement?  sweat.gif
The number of days you stay in SG is less than their limit but I can't remember the exact number. Once I does not meet the requirement for a few year, ICA renewed my permit for another 3 years instead of 5 or 10 years.

Added on April 7, 2011, 11:33 am
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 7 2011, 10:52 AM)
Meaning that staying in JB vs SG might play a big part of the decision making process eh?
Most PR from other country also have their "stay-in" requirement, including the US green card.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 7 2011, 11:33 AM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0425sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:15 PM