6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V5

SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 10 2011, 08:21 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(spitzupipu @ Mar 10 2011, 12:48 AM)
pass been rejected....HR is working on it....if cant get the pass, no need to find place pun...

Added on March 10, 2011, 12:51 am
sigh...dont know why got rejected....
im not blacklisted yet.
e-pass?

i believe it has to do with;

1) company size
2) pay
3) years of exp/position offered
4) source of qualification and results
5) criminal records
6) age, race, marital status

SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 10 2011, 11:25 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

hehehehee, hope the new threshold will boost those currently having ep's salary...

SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 12 2011, 08:16 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

zzzz... pr rejected.. lol, harder to resign

neway cannot reapply in1 year time.... is it 1 year from application date or rejection?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 12 2011, 11:12 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 12 2011, 08:39 AM)
i tot the cool down period is 6 months from the day u are rejected?
zzz... written there 1 year... maybe face prob cry.gif day of rejection right?

i think will go apply for aus now rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 12 2011, 12:01 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 12 2011, 11:45 AM)
Now election season mah. I think you were a victim of bad timing.

Re-apply again after the cooling off period. The election fever should have worn off by then.
zzzz.... but last year's stats for elections already out mer =.="

hahahaa, see how lor... apply aus visa now... lol
QUOTE(ba5tard @ Mar 12 2011, 11:48 AM)
alaska... the ep things ur company apply for u or u apply on ur own?? i mean the company sponsor for u??
errr.. wouldnt say sponsor but they did apply for me... company is 90% msians... turnover is 40%, so hr is an expert in applying... lol doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 12 2011, 10:57 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Mar 12 2011, 01:11 PM)
Wen did you submit your application??

Any suspected reason for your rejection?

How long you've been in SG and wat line ur in?
mid jan, before cny

either in consistency in my residential address... i put my aunt's place when i apply but i change my e-pass to my rented address... or lack of enough working exp... or low pay

ermm... 1 year 1 month when i was applying, errrr, trading

QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 12 2011, 09:30 PM)
anyone done the iras e-filling ??

My first time doing it .. and seems nothing for deduction, just press oK and OK .. then finish .. wonder when are they going to send us the amount of tax to pay ?
yeaps... company did it for me... exempted from filling but i got deductible so have to do it from 18/03/11 to april... i believe mid april?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 13 2011, 03:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Mar 13 2011, 11:13 AM)
More than a year huh?? I was thinking of apply with just 6 months!!
At least they reply to u 3 months. If they reply in 6 montsh time, ur one year period stars from there. Too bad have to stay in your company one more year.

Jumping job with EP is also dangerous, cos govt may not approved another EP.

How come your EP has address stated? mine dun have.

I remembered previously in straist times even an expat from German (i think) with PEP also got his PR application rejected.

Exempted from filing?? How is that?Even IF ur low pay and no nid to pay tax, u still need to fill rite?
Does the company here give something like EA forms or summary? or we just manually add up all the gross salary and key in accordingly?
zz.... i really cant stand my company..

when the company register u, i believe there's a residential add or something... i put my aunt's add at 1st then had it changed... but for pr application i use my aunt's add again

company files or something like that... receive a letter that i dont need to file if the company's salary is my only income...

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Mar 13 2011, 02:54 PM)
Just wondering what can be qualified as deductible ?
school fees... for me
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 15 2011, 05:17 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(saab900 @ Mar 15 2011, 02:29 PM)
considering working in singapore, can i expect to get same nominal value in ringgit to SGD? i'm working in investment company in kl and getting > rm10k, so can i ask for SGD 10k and above there?
can even ask sgd 20k... if ur basis of calculation is like that

u should do a survey 1st on how much ppl in that position are earning rather than how much u r earning now...

my 34 cents rclxms.gif hope it helps...

guys.. end of d month there's an job fair?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 15 2011, 08:08 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Mar 15 2011, 07:22 PM)
didn't i recall corectly ur the one with PR rejected? can change job ah??
no pr... try luck lor, if fail then go aus, if fail also... return msia open rabbit farm rclxms.gif

no harm going there to look see ^^

QUOTE(cky80 @ Mar 15 2011, 07:29 PM)
hi folks..! need some advice...

i recently got a job offer, and in the midst of negotiating pay. i heard from other past colleagues who went to SG, they get 80% of their numerical value of pay in malaysia when offered by SG company .

i got a 1 to 1 offer to match my current pay here in malaysia. Im still not happy though, not sure if anyone has advice for me. how do i up the figure (ie: goreng it up) or shud i be content? hmm.gif
if ur pay is above 5k, then go for it... if not then 1:1 is good... if mnc then nego more, if chinaman better not... goreng too high, they might get pissed and just say save it...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 16 2011, 02:12 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cky80 @ Mar 15 2011, 09:44 PM)
hi thanks for the advice... its mnc and pay >sgd5k. why u say >5k is a go? does that means doesnt matter 1to1 or anything above 5k is enuf d?  sweat.gif
no ler.. usually mnc are more open to negotiations, if you cant perform worse come to worse less increment next year

wherelse for chinaman, they would find ways to make the extra increment worth it

above 5k can live comfortably if you're single.. less than that better get more so it can make ur life easier here

QUOTE(washabushi @ Mar 15 2011, 10:35 PM)
I'm going to apply mine next month...my previous application rejected but no reason stated...also no time frame given to restrict me from applying again...weird huh?!
is it? prolly the officer didnt mention was d cool off period... good luck ^^ mine also no reason for rejection... lol
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 17 2011, 09:17 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Limjimmy @ Mar 16 2011, 11:14 PM)
Which is a good part time university that offer Master in Finance in Singapore?
http://www.adelaide.edu.au/sg/future/programs/maf.html

http://www.adelaide.edu.au/sg/future/programs/maccf.html

my current part time skool rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 17 2011, 11:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2011, 08:14 PM)
No what they mean is if work Malaysia can stay wif parents and stuff so save on these kind of things. Then example can save rm1k la.
isnt that living off ur parents? expect parents to provide food, use parents car, parents to do your laundry... etc etc
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 18 2011, 11:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
what if youre not a PR ? bank statements can?
more like salary payslip / income tax statement
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 19 2011, 08:00 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

try stanchart super savers.... no min amount, no minimum startup, better interest rates, comes with cheques... but only thing is lack of discounts at stores
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 20 2011, 09:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(gabLhowe @ Mar 19 2011, 10:15 PM)
Haha, perhaps they do, but not for a small fry for me I guess. Your position at the marine engineering firm must be quite managerial or senior then? If not so, it must be quite a good company to extend such benefits to all its staff.
no what... domestic helper also got housing and food rclxms.gif

QUOTE(quintessential @ Mar 20 2011, 09:21 AM)
ever wonder how come a lot of singapore topics opened in /k/opitiam lately. it's a pity that singapore receives negative remarks due to historical reason, racial and jealousy.
it is good in a way icon_idea.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 20 2011, 10:25 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Mar 20 2011, 10:23 AM)
anyone know where/how much are the bus services to KL?

is it available from JB or from Singapore directly?
sg--> kl @ sgd 24-55

jbb--->>>kl @ rm 26-65
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 21 2011, 10:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Hean @ Mar 20 2011, 02:08 PM)
any info on the places to take bus and the time the bus departs, etc ?
ermmm... which bus service? all diff..

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Mar 20 2011, 09:20 PM)
where to buy ah? I mean those good bus coaches...I dun mind spending a bit more.

Airasia has burnt a big hole in my pocket over the past few months.

Added on March 20, 2011, 9:27 pmAnyone staying near Jurong West interested to play badminton? Im seriously looking for kaki here.
to where ar?

rich ppl can go for odyssey, aeroline

ppl like me go for first coach, five star, causeway link

kiamsiap can depart from larkin, various
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 21 2011, 10:48 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(chowdm @ Mar 21 2011, 10:41 PM)
Yeah, finally got an offer from NUS! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  ideally date to start working is 3 May 2011. Now filling up the Employment Pass form and dependent form, and need to return them to NUS for application with MOM. I was wondering some sectors in the forms are needed to be filled by employer, or not. Another thing is NUS didnt say they will apply EP or S-pass for me, so which application should i tick? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
wats ur position? qualification? n $$$?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 22 2011, 09:25 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(chowdm @ Mar 22 2011, 12:20 AM)
As a Professional Librarian. Master Degree in Library and Information Science. SGD4,000
definitely an e-pass, probably even better than a p1

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Mar 22 2011, 10:31 AM)
I think the best so far would be First Coach.  It's really a value for money in terms of the stops location, bus quality, and driver's quality.  This is definitely my first choice of travel.
same for me here, but i gotta go all the way to novena... plus point is, i always get to shop and get good deals shopping there
QUOTE(shoograd @ Mar 22 2011, 04:09 PM)
Hi guys I will be starting my work in Singapore next Tuesday as an Assistant Project Engineer.

I kinda just found out that I will have the 'Assistant' tag in front (the job was advertised as Project Engineer) and they're paying me a pretty measly probation pay of $2200 although I have a Masters degree. But I am a fresh grad with no prior working experience and I thought that it still beats the offers I get from Malaysia, so yeah.

Would you guys take the job, under these circumstances?
if i were you, i would take it
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 22 2011, 07:08 PM)
As a comparison, the SG Police Force hires fresh graduates with the minimum starting salary of $2650 for a simple pass bachelor's degree.

http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/so_salary.htm#top
errrr, sg police pays fresh grads better because they can carry forward their seniority from NS?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 22 2011, 09:59 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

wow... they do pay their officers very high... fresh grads holding the rank of captain... nice, not to mention a private career that awaits them after that...

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0465sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:45 AM