Working Life in Singapore V5

SUSWintersuN
post Mar 17 2011, 08:03 PM

3,173 posts

Hi Seniors please advice me.

Im planning to find ajob in Sg like you guys but many people advice me say the situation will be the same as getting a job in Malaysia. Meaning I wont be able to save much because the living cost in Sg is high and then when deduct income tax and eveything left very little to save. Is this the case?
ba5tard
post Mar 17 2011, 08:06 PM

211 posts

no ak... last time i can save 500 sgd per month... when convert bak i got 1k ++ rm liow o... if cannot save den why pple wanna work here... juz my thought la...
TSwashabushi
post Mar 17 2011, 08:07 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Mar 16 2011, 10:09 PM)
20 Ringgit ?? Singapore collect the 20 ringgit also ar ?
macam case like kena tahan trafik police in MY haha .
Sorry my mistake...I'm bringing back to kl...
Not to Sg
SUSWintersuN
post Mar 17 2011, 08:14 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Mar 17 2011, 08:06 PM)
no ak... last time i can save 500 sgd per month... when convert bak i got 1k ++ rm liow o... if cannot save den why pple wanna work here... juz my thought la...
No what they mean is if work Malaysia can stay wif parents and stuff so save on these kind of things. Then example can save rm1k la.

But work Sg then need rent house and other things then maybe get to save SGD500.

When sum up, dont really get much compare to work malaysia.

Is this true?
rickysim84
post Mar 17 2011, 08:55 PM

1,106 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2011, 08:14 PM)
No what they mean is if work Malaysia can stay wif parents and stuff so save on these kind of things. Then example can save rm1k la.

But work Sg then need rent house and other things then maybe get to save SGD500.

Is this true?
To answer ur question, it think it is best for u to list down all the money spending while u work in malaysia.

Lets set a condition and situation and u try add in all the cost u stay at malaysia, then we try to add in the cost we stay in singapore.

Condition: You work in singapore, u earn 2.5k SGD per month where as in malaysia u also earning 2.5k RM per month.

For my case: 2.5k in singapore
rental = 380 - 500 (lets make it 500)
food and transport = 400 per month. (I dont like to go out often, rather than a home type guy)
total saved = 1600 SGD ( 3840 RM per month, assume 2.4 currency exchange)

Note: These are just a rough figure, my saving per month should be around 1.4k to 1.6k without prob.

Now, how bout ur stories in malaysia?
keelim
post Mar 17 2011, 08:56 PM

941 posts

[quote=WintersuN,Mar 17 2011, 08:14 PM]

Is this true?

[/]

You will get myriad of answers. But I assure you make the transition and it will turn out just fine.

Just to share with you a lil bit of my observation.

Jobs are plentiful in Sg. Unfortunately if you are the sandwiched class - the class I refer to as fresh grad or less than 5 yrs exp, with dodgy certs, it's gonna be a roller coaster ride. Basically this class is interviewed by the hiring company but assessed and hired by the government. Very implicit observation but if you stay long enough in Sg you will understand.

Nonetheless, don't take the forumers comments too seriously. Afterall you are the master of your own destiny.
SUSWintersuN
post Mar 17 2011, 08:59 PM

3,173 posts

Ok thanks for the advice. I think I will try for singapore. I alrrady planned earlier also just people telling me got alot expensidture then cannot save.

But u guys already somehow confirm liao shudnt be too bad smile.gif
reign226
post Mar 17 2011, 09:25 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Mar 17 2011, 09:16 AM)
now very simple, once they look at your cpf statement they know roughly how much you earn. If your cpf contribution hit the ceiling, means Platinum card for you smile.gif
I thought it's quite easy to hit the ceiling?
wlcling
post Mar 17 2011, 11:18 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2011, 08:59 PM)
Ok thanks for the advice. I think I will try for singapore. I alrrady planned earlier also just people telling me got alot expensidture then cannot save.

But u guys already somehow confirm liao shudnt be too bad smile.gif
true... hard to save.. because things seem so cheap... can buy digital camera for few hundred, iphone for 500, take a holiday every other month with return plane trip to most asian destinations for below a thousand.... lol
r1v3r
post Mar 17 2011, 11:31 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Mar 17 2011, 09:25 PM)
I thought it's quite easy to hit the ceiling?
$76,500 annual income? Let me know how easy it is.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 17 2011, 11:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 17 2011, 08:14 PM)
isnt that living off ur parents? expect parents to provide food, use parents car, parents to do your laundry... etc etc
seantang
post Mar 17 2011, 11:57 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 17 2011, 11:31 PM)
$76,500 annual income?  Let me know how easy it is.
Wasn't the CPF ceiling $4500 per month, and from this year $5000 per month?

Shinichi
post Mar 18 2011, 12:12 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

now very simple, once they look at your cpf statement they know roughly how much you earn. If your cpf contribution hit the ceiling, means Platinum card for you smile.gif
How about those non-PR that doesn't contribute CPF?
r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 12:27 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 17 2011, 11:57 PM)
Wasn't the CPF ceiling $4500 per month, and from this year $5000 per month?
Ordinary wage limit is $4500 or $6000 if you are on pension scheme. Then you have the additional wage component like your bonus etc cap at $76500 - total ordinary wage.

So even if a person salary is $1000 but bonus $60000 he still taxable for $72000.

That's what used to be before they increase the ordinary wage limit.
deodorant
post Mar 18 2011, 12:33 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Mar 17 2011, 08:56 PM)
Jobs are plentiful in Sg. Unfortunately if you are the sandwiched class - the class I refer to as fresh grad or less than 5 yrs exp, with dodgy certs, it's gonna be a roller coaster ride. Basically this class is interviewed by the hiring company but assessed and hired by the government. Very implicit observation but if you stay long enough in Sg you will understand.

Hmm, can I take this to mean that although the company happily wants you on board, the government still has the final say whether to issue the necessary permits?
r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 12:35 AM

1,305 posts

With so many people who are drawing millions dollar salary and keep increasing their tax free income. It is time for IRAS to increase the limit to a few millions then decrease the tax rate. That's fair for all and IRAS may collect even more money. K, my 2 cents, I am not running for election.
Gaultier
post Mar 18 2011, 10:12 AM

92 posts

what if youre not a PR ? bank statements can?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 18 2011, 11:02 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
more like salary payslip / income tax statement
r1v3r
post Mar 18 2011, 11:03 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Gaultier @ Mar 18 2011, 10:12 AM)
Still have IRAS website to print out your annual contribution. If they see your cpf hit the limit, they will take your iras statement inorder to give you higher credit limit.
Gaultier
post Mar 18 2011, 12:26 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 18 2011, 11:03 AM)
Still have IRAS website to print out your annual contribution. If they see your cpf hit the limit, they will take your iras statement inorder to give you higher credit limit.
If one like me, about/ just starting to work in spore. Can i still log in to IRAS to print it out my past few mths statement? or have to wait for a year until I declare my income tax?

If wait for a year only can apply for one CCard, then susah la... no more autobilling....

This post has been edited by Gaultier: Mar 18 2011, 12:29 PM

126 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0337sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:45 PM